Customer Reviews for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco wholesale for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. New TrustedCOMFORT by EdenPURE is an infrared heater that was designed, engineered and MADE IN THE USA to increase comfort and decrease heating costs. US engineers combined specially designed infrared SYLVANIA bulbs with copper heating chambers for a more efficient portable heater. Next, engineers redesigned how the air flows around the bulbs and the copper heating chambers for an amplified heating performance. These are not to be used as a primary source of heat, only supplemental heat. Features: TrustedCOMFORT has no exposed heating elements that can cause a fire. Heats room evenly, wall to wall and floor to ceiling. Can lower your heating bill; in some cases the savings may be substantial. 5-year warranty on parts and labor. Runs much quieter than other models. New super efficient fan system produces what is termed white noise, which blends into a home atmosphere and becomes virtually inaudible. Improved Thermostat.  Set to a much tighter tolerance to help promote comfortable, even, stable heat. Digital controls. Comes with a remote control Covers up to 1,000 sq. ft. Fire resistant black polycarbinate and galvanized steel shell. Overheat protection – sensor will shut off heater if it reaches an excessive heat level. Contains SYLVANIA infrared quartz bulbs. Average life expectancy on units is 10 to 15 years on unit/20,000 hours on bulb. Filter on the back of the unit is a lifetime filter that can be removed easily and can be cleaned with vacuum attachment or with warm water. BTUs: Approx. 5,000. Listed by Underwriters Laboratories Uses normal 110 volt outlet and 12.5 amps/1500 watts Made in USA *SYLVANIA is a registered trademark of OSRAM SYLVANIA Inc. used under license. Model: A5093
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
9 of 18(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Review 1 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 18, 2012

Works great but.....

Pros: non drying heat, even warmth, no cold spots, money saving
Cons: dependability
Model Number: A5093
"I had the previous model (usa1000) was advised by a Costco rep that I should bring that model back and exchange it as they had problems (mine was fine) and that the new design made it much more dependable, so I brought my previous model back...picked up a new one, returned it the next day as there was an annoying noise. Picked up another one, worked great for 3 weeks. Then it started smelling really funny, almost like an electrical/chemical smell. I called the number on the back. They were VERY nice and explained their agreement with Costco covered everything for 5 years. All I needed to do was email a copy of my receipt and they'd send me a shipping label, and send me a new heater once they received mine...I ended up going back to Costco and exchanging it because it was easier with no wait time for turn around.
Normally I'd never deal with this hassle. I would have taken it back and walked away. But I have to say. These heaters are amazing, it heats my whole place (2 bedroom condo) with NO cold spots. The floors are warm, I have a concrete foundation with hardwood and carpet. And the hardwoods used to get cold. I love the fact that the heat is a non drying type of heat. It even reaches into rooms where the doors are closed. So the fan must circulate the air very well. It's very quiet too. It's a noise that's non bothersome. If I don't have any heat on I can walk into my place and its 53 degrees. With in an hour it's 68 degrees and comfortable and holds that temp on the 2nd to lowest setting. I've left it on high and walked into the place being 76... Too warm for me.
As far as the overall savings, I've figured that this cost me about $.80 (avg cooler fall day) to $1.75 (cold winter months) a day to run. An average cold months savings of about $38.00 each month. Compared to the wall heaters that I've always disliked, since the EdenPure purchase. I haven't even turned them on.
As far as the new design, it really does heat faster. Anyone looking to give this a try. I'd say go for it, with Costco's outstanding return policy you've got nothing to lose.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:November 24, 2012

Best Heater I've Ever Purchased!!.

Pros: high quality, durable, quiet, heats entire house, safe around children and pets, energy efficient, 5-year warranty
Cons: none
Model Number: TrustedComfort by EdenPure
"I've tried them all and this heater heats up my two-story 1,500sf townhome the best.
The filter in back needs to be removed and cleaned weekly... Safe for kids and pets... Rolls on wheels, no lifting!! Quiet operation and remote is handy.... Not the cheapest heater, but like they say, you get what you pay for."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NW Montana
Date:November 3, 2012

Excellent Heater

Pros: there are many!
Cons: i haven't found any yet.
Model Number: A5093
"I purchased this heater to help out with the high heating bills (gas) we experience in the winter months. I also like it to just add a little extra heat in the room right now from the cool fall days, without having to bundle up. It is a very good heater, and it does indeed heat the whole room. I can stand up, and still feel the same amount of heat. It reminds me of heat from a wood stove..an all over kind of heat. It is low noise, and the white noise description is true. There have been several times I thought the 'noise' was the fan on my laptop. We have yet to get to the sub zero temps we often have in winter, but as of right now, I'm extremely pleased with this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Accomac, VA
Date:November 15, 2012

Toasty Warm

Pros: made in usa!!!!!
Cons: none so far
Model Number: A5093
"I bought this heater for supplemental heat in my most used room. I am trying to lower my home heating fuel oil costs which keep rising. So far, I am very pleased. I use a ceiling fan at low speed, as recommended, and it helps distribute the heat. I do have a thermometer in the room and bump the heat up or down to my comfort level."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Foresthill, CA
Date:January 6, 2013

EdenPure

Pros: quiet & efficient
Cons: none
Model Number: Trusted EdenPure 1000sqft
"This product is superb! I own 2 EdenPure's and heat over 2000sqft living in the foothills. No complaints!!! Costco has the best price available. Some complaints unfounded. My living area is wide open and we still keep warm. Bedroom over 300sqft and comfortable. If you want redhot stand next to unit!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 8, 2012

Safe, American Product with 5-Year Warranty

Pros: safe american-made 5-year warranty
Cons: remote control battery cover breaks easily
Model Number: A5093
"This heater is well-designed. It is stable. The heating elements are shielded well to prevent flammable items from touching. The battery cover on the remote control has flimsy ends. You will need to tape the cover or not use the cover."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2012

Wasn't reliable

"Sometimes temperature control worked..most times didn't... finally just took it back"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Wa
Date:November 2, 2012

Not what I expected

Pros: quiet
Cons: didn't turn off
"First of all, this heater does throw out a decent amount of heat. Second of all, it was very quiet.
However, I returned it because it never stopped running. I tried it at the lowest setting in a 69 degree room, and it kept running continuously."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 7, 2012

Thermostat doesn't work

Pros: nice looking
Cons: still uses 1500w like any other space heater does., not really an "energy efficient heater"
Model Number: TrustedCOMFORT Model: A5093
"I had it set on low for just a little bit of heat, but it kept running and I had to turn it off because it was getting too hot in my room. The thermostat doesn't seem to know what the room temperature actually is and fails to properly turn off."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lake Tahoe
Date:November 25, 2012

Big waste of money

"This doesn't heat 1,000 sft like box says. Returned it with in 2days got my $250 back and bought (2) other heaters for $40 that work better and smaller."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:November 24, 2012

Waste of money

Pros: nothing
Cons: waste of money, nasty smell, doesn't heat
"I had the heater 16 hours before returning it, due to the following. The smell that came out of the heater was horrid. With the heater cranked all the way on high, it couldn't heat the 100 sq foot room to more than 62 degrees F, even when it was 50 outside. The heat output was less than my 20 dollar heater from walmart."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:November 27, 2012

Waste of Money

Cons: bad product
"This product is a waste of money. It does not heat up to 1000 sf as stated on the box. It did not heat a 300 sf room. There are less expensive product on the market that will product more heat. I will return after 1 day of use."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albany, CA
Date:November 24, 2012

too big, heavy and NOT effective

Model Number: A5093
"Took too long to feel warmer in a 300 sq. ft. enclosed room. I can buy a same effective heater for much lesser price. will return it. Thank you Costco for your return policy."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:November 20, 2012

5100 BTU

Pros: nice piece of furniture
Cons: a waste of money too much can go wrong with it
"For about $35.00 you can buy any 1500w
heater that produces exactly 5100 BTU.
"
4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2012

WORTHLESS

"After 4 hours of heating in a closed, air-tight room, it was still cold. This product is worthless. Don't waste your money."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2013

disappointed

"This heater did not work for us. We bought it for a 400sq ft room with an open entrance. It didnt matter how long we had the heater on, the room would not warm up. Maybe it would work better in a closed room, not sure..."
Review 17 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 16, 2013

Warm at Last

"Enclosed basement area of 400 sq. ft at 62 degrees, soon became 76 degrees on high setting, Like 2 hours, so I dropped temp and set on auto... Love love love that it makes so little noise. Along with the instant in-store rebate. Nice to know I got a good item at a good price."
Review 18 for TrustedCOMFORT Quartz Infrared Portable Zone Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 28, 2012

good heater

"the heater works good, however the remote control not working. I have to exchange it to coscto for working unit with remote control"