Customer Reviews for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB

Smarter Tools 9500 Watt Portable Generator with Electric Start, Battery, and No-Flat Wheels. EPA and CARB Approved. Don’t be without power!  The Smarter Tools GP-9500EB has a powerful 420cc engine and is the perfect size in case you need some temporary power in an emergency situation or for every day usage at the construction site or other off-grid location. This workhorse is packed with features usually found on more expensive units such as a digital Hour/Volt/Htz meter, electric start with 12V 17Ah battery, and no-flat tires that keep you rolling even around surfaces with sharp objects like a construction site. With four standard outlets, a 120V 30A twist-lock, a 120/240V 30A twist-lock, and a 12v DC plug, you will have plenty of power to work with. The generator is backed by a 2 year limited warranty and is EPA and CARB emissions approved. Features : Continuous Watts: 7500 Starting Watts: 9500 Electric start with 12V 17Ah Battery (included) Engine Size: 420cc Engine Type: 4 Stroke Air Cooled OHV Low-oil Shutdown Durable Tubular Steel Frame 10” No-flat Wheel and Handle Kit Outlets: (4) 120V 20A AC (5-20R),  (1)240/120V 30A Twist-lock (L14-30R),  (1) 120V 30A Twist-lock AC (L5-30R), (1) 12V 8A DC Runtime: Over 10 hours @ 50% Load Tank Capacity: 7 Gallons Noise Level: 73 dB Includes Digital Hour/Volt/Hz Meter Overload Protection Voltage Regulation EPA and CARB Emission Certified (50 State) Dimensions: 27” x 24” x 27”; Weight: 185 lbs Warranty: 2 Year Limited For all product technical, service and warranty inquiries please contact Smarter Tools at 888-241-8498 Model: STGP-9500EB
Average Customer Rating:
3.529 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
11 of 17(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Review 1 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sutter Creek , Kaleeforneeya.
Date:October 3, 2012

New Generator

Pros: price hertz/volt/hour guage wheels to move it., 240 output
Cons: a little noisy but used to a honda 3000., haven't used it yet so no complaints
Model Number: 9500EB
"The box was pretty beat up so I expected the worst. But it was in great shape. After adding oil and gas it started right up. Ran it for 1/10 hr. There was a leak in the fuel line after the shut of valve. There was enough tubing to cut it back a bit and re-install. Problem solved. The battery cables could be a little longer so they don't stick out the side, but I know how to fix that for a few bucks."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bethlehem CT
Date:October 23, 2012

Same unit sells for much more!

Pros: large fuel tank
Cons: it is heavy
Model Number: GP-9500EP
"Took about 30 minutes to assemble. Easy to manuever. Started first time after about 5 revolutions. There is nothing like a Honda engine. Runs smoothly ad quietly. Priced similar units with same engine for 1200 to 1400 dollars."
24 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:October 24, 2012

Too good to be true…

Pros: long list of features
Cons: deosn't work!
Model Number: ST-GP9500EB
"Assembly was not too difficult despite the minimal instructions. The wheels were not of the best quality and the alignment isn’t great (they actually rub against the frame) but no big deal.
Generator started easily BUT it was “galloping”. Called tech support (Eric who forward me to Brandon) on a cordless phone where Brandon confirmed that there is an issue just by listening to it over the phone. His advice was to take it to a service center “nearby”. I gently stated that it will be very difficult for me to lift the nearly 200 lb machine (assuming I have a vehicle to do the job) and maybe there a better way to deal with the issue considering this is a defective product from the start. I was told they would send me a replacement carburetor that I should be able to replace myself. Two day later I was told that, based on my Serial Number, the “rules” don’t allow them to do so.
Now I have a 200 lb lump of metal to drain of gas and oil, and get it to a Costco center somehow.
Very disappointed in the product and the service."
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ollala, Wa.
Date:October 27, 2012

Great Price

Pros: very easy to assemble
Cons: none
"The generator was delivered right into my garage. Assembly was easy about 20min. As the first review stated it turned over 4 or 5 times and fired right up eased off on the chock it ran nice and smooth. I pluged in my 30amp. switch box turned off my main breaker (sense I did have power) ran my house with no power loss or bogging down which I had with my 5500w generator. Ran it for 5hr. just to check it out it did GREAT!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Elgin, IL
Date:October 28, 2012

Worst Costco Purchase

Pros: it has a key start.
Cons: not enough space allowed for negative elements
Model Number: Smarter Tools STGP-9500EB
"I received my Generator this week in good shape. The generator was lacking the required parts to complete assembly.
Nuts were missing from one of the handles, not sufficeint washers to install wheels, as wheels rub on metal frame, both wheels. Once washers purchased and installed the cheap wheels barely rotated. The Red battery terminal cable is not long enough to properly make connection.
I must have bought the very first generator from this company. Regardless of price, where was the R and D of this product! I love Costco, I hope they dump Smarter Tools from their product line. Costco has always been known for quality products.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:clovis,ca
Date:October 28, 2012

Great generator for the money.

Model Number: Smarter Tool 9500W Generator
"I have look at many generators, the last month and this one on sale is by far the best value. I found the finish to be good. It fired up right away and the tires don't rub if you use the spacer washer they provide.One thing I like was the fuel shut off is metal and attached to bottom of tank. I also found that it runs only 4 db louder than 6hp Honda pressure washer I have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2012

very disappointed

Pros: ran quiet nice metal fuel valve
Cons: oil fill cap hard to reach. non-gfci plugs
Model Number: gp9500eb
"I was impressed with the price for this 7500 watt generator. It came undamaged, and went together without a hitch. however i agree that the positive cable is not long enough to fit well. this started up and ran for about 40 min. I then started it with the pull cord and it started very easily. Sandy hit, the power went out and this thing would not start. i mean the recoil pull would not turn more than 1/4 turn and then it stopped. I removed the spark plug and it turned the motor over easily. I re-installed the spark plug and it would not pull past 1/4 turn (when pressure in cylinder built up?). no electricity for 2 days and a generator that is junk! returned it today. i will stay away from this brand & this motor regardless of the price."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Brandywine, MD
Date:November 3, 2012

Misleading description on Engine

Pros: good price and good specs
Cons: not the engine originally described
Model Number: 9500W
"When this product was ordered, the website stated that the engine was a Honda engine. When I assembled the product, I noticed that the engine was from a Chinese manufacturer that I had never heard of."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:November 4, 2012

really wanted to like this generator but...

Pros: cheapest gen for that capacity, 2 year warranty
Cons: very cheaply made
"wheels do rub. Had to scrounge up some 1/8 in washers. Real problem is this thing would quit every 10 minutes. It would restart but that's not acceptable. After about 20 minutes total run time the starter solenoid came apart. It's going back tomorrow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mc afee, NJ
Date:December 20, 2012

Not bad for the money.

Pros: powers half the house.
Cons: a little noisy but have emergency power.
Model Number: STGP-9500EB
"Arrived intact, battery was charged and ready to go due to Huricane Sandy. Just remember to use the choke & stabilizer, it will start quicker!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lovettsville, Va
Date:January 14, 2013

MISTAKE

Cons: everything so far!
Model Number: 9500EB
"Received this generator and put it all together and the electric start did not work. battery is charged but still it does not even attempt to turn motor over or click. Ran generator using pull start 2 times for less than 15 minute total time. Generator hydrolocked with fuel in the cylinder and filled the crankcase with gasoline. Now the closest service center is 30 miles away! VERY DISSAPOINTED! you spend this kind of money and it should work right when you get it as well as not have issues! STAY CLEAR!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:northern VA
Date:January 19, 2013

I Love It

Pros: working great!
Cons: none so far!
Model Number: GP-9500EB
"I bought the generator to get ready for winter storms back in December 2012. I really love it so far. I do not consider myself as a handyman, but it only took me 20 minutes to unpack and set it up. We had a power outage about a week ago, it just kicked in and for the first time, I did not need to worry about power failure again. I will definitely recommend the brand to my neighbors in this pretty old community. My tip for them also will be: anything from Costco is the BEST."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northren Michigan
Date:January 21, 2013

Great purchase

Pros: fast service and great price.
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"We recently bought the Westinghouse WH7000EC generator. It arrived sooner than we thought it would and was in excellent shape. After putting on the wheels,adding oil and gas it started right up. We are very pleased with it also it was a great buy. We will use it for home power outages. Costco comes thru again."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NW NJ
Date:January 21, 2013

Whole House Power

Pros: higher wattage than the 'other' one costco sells., free shipping., quick customer support from smarter tools, oil included-with small funnel., easy warranty registration process., "made in usa" --assembled in usa.
Model Number: ST-GP9500EB
"I was very happy to find Costco had these in stock. I ordered mine the end of December and arrived less than 2 weeks after. I did months of research on these items. This one got GOOD reviews. Either BAD or NO reviews for the other ones Costco sells, so this was it. The carb did leak fuel on the first try-after 10 minutes. Called customer service and they suggested to use carb cleaner additive. Did just that and now everything is fine. Load tested it-everything works without a hitch. I needed 7500/9500 watt vs the 'other' one listed for only 7000 watt. Overall, glad I got this one. "made in USA"--means parts from Japan-assembled in USA. But then again, ALL generators are like this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:January 30, 2013

Best generator

"we last power last week, my friend brought one smarter tools 95ooW generator to me, in 15 minuts inset it up(easy set eveything up). generator start right up. we running about 3 hours , it running whole my house. it is a great generator."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island,NY
Date:February 26, 2013

Great company to deal with

Pros: great generator that does the job.
Cons: a glitch with the electric starter
Model Number: GP9500EB
"We received this generator in January and had the occasion to use it once during a power outage. Worked great but the issue was the electric starter did not work. We had to start it manually. We called customer service and the rep, Eric, worked with us first by sending a new battery and a different connection. Unfortunately, the electric starter still didn't work. To make a long story short, Eric had a new generator shipped to us and picked up the defective one. This kind of customer service can only mean the company really stands behind their products. Wonderful experience."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smarter Tools 9500W Portable Generator EPA/CARB
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:March 14, 2013

Good & Works!

Pros: comes with 12v cord, works as advertised, plenty of power and outlet options, electric start is nice, price
Cons: noisy but arent they all in this class?, heavy
"I needed a 7500 watt + generator to run my transfer panel and this one fit the bill.
Shipping was fast, but then I'm only one state away from the Manufacturer. (Direct shipped)
The delivery guy unloaded without extra fee. Make sure to ask when setting up appointment.
No problems assembling the product. But then, I read the fine manual first!
Tested remote start and recoil start both worked fine.
Connected to my ground wire, then transfer panel and was able to power everything for about 30 minutes, no issues.
Real test will be the next storm or outage for several days. Now I'm prepared."