Customer Reviews for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress

Discover a sleep experience created for you alone – with the personalized comfort and support of the Serfina memory foam mattress. This luxurious 12" mattress is crafted from three layers, each designed to provide unique sleeping benefits. The top layer is designed with premium memory foam infused with gel beads, for a perfectly balanced sleep experience – the ultimate combination of cradling comfort, healthful support and ideal sleep temperature. The second layer is made with our Luratex® CustomWave™ foam to provide resilient support and increased airflow.  And the bottom layer of premium base foam delivers added stability and therapeutic support. The three layers, working together interactively, provide an unmatched level of comfort and support. You'll find that they gently adapt to your body's contours, relieving painful pressure points and promoting proper spinal alignment. You'll fall asleep faster and sleep more soundly, with less tossing and turning – and wake refreshed and re-energized.   The Serafina mattress offers the deeply restful, restorative sleep you need to be at your very best, every single day. If you have any questions regarding this product please contact Sleep Innovations at 1-888-999-0499. Box spring not included   Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633-Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Cover: Waterfall design with stretch-to-fit platinum swirl top   Side panels: Quilted jacquard   Flame-retardant cover conforms to strict Federal standards   Feel: medium/firm   Therapeutic support: medium/high (4 out of 5)   Conforms to body: medium/low   Mattress thickness: 12”    Top layer of mattress: 2.5” of gel-infused premium memory foam   Middle layer of mattress: 2.5” of Luratex® CustomWave™ foam   Base layer of mattress: 7” of durable, premium base foam Enhanced breathability and airflow, for a comfortable sleeping temperature – all night and every season   100% hypoallergenic foam   20-year limited warranty   Durable and long lasting   Memory foam molds to your body; returns to original shape after use   Relieves pressure points and improves circulation   Great for platform beds and slatted frames   Memory foam proudly made in the USA   Compressed and packaged for easy transport and delivery   Queen mattress dimensions: 80" x 60" x 12"; Weight: 97 lbs   The Serafina mattress comes compressed and packed for delivery, with simple instructions for setup, use and care.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
17 of 22(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Review 1 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:January 18, 2012

You won't regret it!

"Took a leap of faith on this one as there are only a few reviews out there. Husband and I prefer a firm mattress but it still has to be comfortable--this mattress delivers! It only took a few hours to expand, the smell is minimal and is supposed to be gone soon. This is our first memory foam mattress, and we're never going back to innerspring. Woke up refreshed and feeling great. I'm a side/stomach sleeper and it was very comfortable in both positions. Do not hesitate to purchase this mattress if you like a firm, supportive mattress that is like sleeping on a cloud. If you prefer a softer mattress, keep looking."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2012

Hard to beat our old bed

Pros: good support, competitive price, breathable
"This isn't the first mattress we have purchased from costco.com. The bed we truly loved had a manufacturer's defect and the manufacturer had gone out of business. Costco honored the warranty and refunded our money. So our choice as to where to purchase the replacement was clear. Costco.com.
I researched memory foam mattress' before the purchase. This bed is firm. So if you want a squishy mattress do not buy this bed.
Straight out of the box the mattress is hard as a brick. But after the 72 hour break in period, it is so comfortable. I also like that the bed does not hold body heat and get hot nor does it remain too cold. So fat we are extremely satisfied with our new mattress.
T"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:February 17, 2012

SERAFINA REVIEW

Pros: excellent support, good value
Cons: very firm
Model Number: SERAFINA
"We have had the mattress for one week now
1. Smell is disapating..slowly
2. Very firm..top layer has very little give on initial lay down then very slowly cradles you. Excellent support from below .
3. Side sleeping ...little too firm
4. Not a luxurious feel
5. Sleeping ok but not sold that this is the mattress for me...Maybe I need to add a mattress topper to get a softer top .
Will continue to trial it and update. Generous 4 stars right now judging it as a firm mattress.
Recommendations...try a firm memory mattress locally before you buy this....most of the mattresses I tried were alot plusher than this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:madison heights, Mi
Date:January 24, 2012

Wonderful

"We received this mattress and set it up within about 15 minutes. We have had wonderful nights of sleeping ever since. It was the best purchase i have ever made. The smell was not bad, and disminished within the first 24 hours. If you considering one, I would highly recommend it. I have no more joint pain ever since i purchased this mattress."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cheste, VA
Date:January 23, 2012

Just as described...Comfortable

Pros: firm but comfortable
"As the first reviewer said, nothing to go on review-wise so I too took a chance. Not disappointed...yet...have only had it 2 weeks. This mattress is firm; not hard. It fully supports the body but you don't sink-in to the point it's a chore to turn over. Fits beautifully over existing box spring. Mattress can trap heat/get warm. Hope this isn't a problem in summer. There is an odor, but we didn't find it too offensive; slept on it the first night."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, VA
Date:January 27, 2012

Would not trade it for another bed

Pros: sleep well, body support
Cons: none
"I have had this bed for 3 weeks and love it. I have not slept this well in years. The bed initially feels firm when you lie down on it, but then it contours to your body while still providing support.
I was concerned about the heat retention of foam mattresses but have not had any issues.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North CA/Bay Area
Date:July 23, 2012

FIRM FIRM FIRM

Pros: costco return plicy!
Cons: way too firm
"I am writing this review with a severely sore back and just finished calling Costco to return this bed. My wife and I gave this mattress 6 nights before finally giving up on it. We wanted to give it at least 2 weeks, but we just can't handle it anymore. We neither looked forward to going to bed at night, nor did we have the feeling of not wanting to get out of bed in the morning. In the past week, the thought of going to sleep on this bed was just pure torture each night.
Let me preface by saying, I spent approximately 10 hours of research online and in store researching in our quest for a new mattress. We tested the tempurpedics, the icomforts, the innersprings at the local mattress stores, then we stumbled on all the glowing reviews online about the Novaform beds. I called Sleep innovations 3 times to verify firmness level on their mattresses as the online descriptions left much to the imagination. The reps said the serafina was the med/med firm level. Our existing bed was a med plush, so we did not want to go too firm.
Allow me to emphasize we REALLY wanted to love this bed as much as 80% of the reviewers online. We thought we could get the same Tempurpedic feel at a fraction of the price. We were sadly proven wrong.
The bed was way too firm, and not even firm with softness like we were hoping for. I respect that there are people that appreciate extremely firm beds, but not for us. The foam on this bed does not feel anything like the Tempurpedics in store, the foam did not sink and caress our bodies at all. I woke up each morning with back pain. For background, I am in early 30s, 5'7" and 180 lbs. Never had a history of back pain or injuries.
Like you, I read through all the glowing reviews and and the few negative sporadic ones, thinking those people must be particularly fussy with their bed preferences.
Well, returning the bed with Costco was an absolute breeze, they are sending a truck to pick it up in 10-12 days. So, at least it was a risk free trial, that was the only way we would buy a bed without even trying it out.
Looks like we are going with a Sealy Posturepedic and good old Innerspring!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, Ia
Date:February 11, 2012

Pleased

Pros: easy to order arrived in a timely fashion.
Cons: somewhat heavy and hard to place on the bed frame
Model Number: #596794
"I was a little hesitant of ordering on line and getting a 97 lb box of mattress. The mattress came and no problems getting into the bedroom. It took about four hours to unfold, not much odder that I noticed. I did open the window a small crack for the four-hour unfolding period. I then put on the bed coverings, mattress cover, heated mattress cover, sheets and etc. Eight hours later we were sleeping on the bed. Firm but not too firm, not rock hard as some have described. One thing I have noticed is that this mattress supports my back all the way up and down my spine. I can feel the mattress on my back, which is new for me. This is the first gel mattress we’ve owned. The reviews I’ve read were mixed but mostly positive, so this was a leap of fate. I viewed this as an experiment of sorts; in the long run the price of the product ($700 to $900) was the clincher. The way I saw it was to pay $2000 for a serta icomfort bed or $700 for the Novaform bed. If it didn’t work out, take the bed back to Costco. One week into the bed I’m happy to report that it has been a great purchase, my wife and I are very pleased."
Review 9 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:February 6, 2013

Mattress Pad Warning should be included!

Pros: great price, very good confort, easy to move packaging
Cons: a little smelly but not that unpleasant
Model Number: Serafina - Queen
"Bought this about 8 weeks ago and hoped it would be as good as the foam mattresses are claimed to be. It was delivered in freezing weather and we unpacked it after work and still slept on it the first night. Seemed a bit firm but understandable that it was the first night. After 1 week I wasn't having the best sleep on it, seemed too firm for a more plush model. My lower back quit hurting but now other parts of my back were sore and my shoulders hurt. I'm a side/stomach sleeper. My wife (who I had to talk into trying the mattress) loved it. After 1.5 weeks I decided something needed to change, I wasn't enjoying my sleep like I hoped. We had bought a new Costoc foam mattress pad for the new mattress. It had maybe 1" or less thick foam on it and was very nice. My theory was this was somehow interfering with my body heat warming the actual mattress and thus preventing the mattress from contouring properly. Sure enough the night I removed the mattress pad was a great night of sleep. My new and old aches and pains were quickly fixed and I love the mattress since that night. I probably need to find a thin pad specifically for foam mattresses some day soon but some of the "too firm" complaints you hear may be due to a think pad preventing the foam from working as intended!!
Just so you know I'd say the Serafina is more firm than the plush iComfort. I think there's 4 levels of iComfort. If 4 was the most plush I'd say this is 2.5.
Also for more data points. My wife and I are early 40's, athletic, at about 125 and 160 lbs.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson
Date:March 24, 2012

So glad we did this

"Climbing in and out of a waterbed was getting to be a hassle as we got older. After a lot of research, we decided on Novaform memory foam. The first few nights were a little rough for me because even the gel-infused bed holds and reflects back heat. But we both felt the difference in our joints right away - his shoulder, my hips.
I adapted to the heat after about a week. Now we both sleep really well.
PRO: The mattress weighs about 100 lb, which makes it easier to move the bed. CON: our aging Lab mix also finds it therapeutic, so we needed a bigger bed.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:February 9, 2012

Very firm and bad smell

Pros: none
Cons: everything
"I received my Serafina mattress a week ago and I'm giving it one more before it will be returned. I hope I dont need to do this though because it is quite heavy [ 98 lbs}. First off, it had a strong chemical smell when I unpacked it and one week later it is better but I can still smell it at times during the night. My wife thinks it is unhealthy and she still hasn't slept on it. I called Novaform customer service and that was a mistake also.
She told me to put it outside for a few days and that it could take up to 2 weeks before the smell goes away before she hung up on me rudely.I guess she didn't like me telling her what my feelings were about her companys mattress. Also it is quite firm and thats ok with me, but if you like a soft mattress do not buy this one.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 30, 2012

GREAT MATTRESS

Pros: relieves pressure points
Cons: weight
"I did a lot of market research before purchasing this mattress. You can't beat it for the price or otherwise. I have lower back problems and this mattress has relieved much of my pain."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:January 29, 2012

Hardest Mattress Ever

Pros: quick delivery, easy online purchase, easy setup
Cons: extra firm, not good for side sleepers, aches and pains guaranteed, finding a truck to return the item
Model Number: Serafina item # 596794
"Difficult to sleep on. The top 2" layer is the only layer the molds and all the other layers are way too firm. I am a side sleeper and I found myself waking up with side aches and pains. My wife could not sleep on it at all. After 4 nights of use this mattress must go!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2012

Why haven't I purchased this sooner!

"I have to say I waited forever to make the switch from a traditional mattress to a memory foam one, mainly because of price. I was hesitant to invest in one I couldn't try out first, but knowing Costco's great customer service and having trusted them for years with major purchases, we took the plunge. It arrived quickly, only took a few hours to fill out and there was little to no smell at all as referred to in other posts. There was a noticable difference after the very first night in how rested I felt the next morning. The foam 'feel' takes a bit getting used to, and it does feel firmer, but after a few minutes, you feel comfortably supported, and I'm a side/stomach sleeper. My only regret is that I wish I had gotten it sooner - there is no better value!"
Review 15 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:February 15, 2012

Fantastic purchase

Pros: value, no back pain anymore!
Cons: absolutely none
Model Number: 596794
"Purchased this bed from Costco on Jan 19th. Arrived within 4 days and have been sleeping on it since. Best mattress I have ever purchased hands down. Will never go back to a spring matress. Such a great value. I know some reviews have complained that it is too firm. Hey, if people would look at the product description it states that it is mediam firm to firm. There is somewhat of a smell initially but I cracked my window for three or 4 hours when I first set up the matress and have not noticed a smell since. I have virtually no back aches or joint pains anymore. Just remember that if you are used to sinking into a spring matress it will take a little time to get used to a memory foam matress. I am truly sold on this matress."
Review 16 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 11, 2012

Excellent value

Pros: quick delivery, easy setup, very comfortable
Cons: mattress is heavy and awkward for 1 person to move
"I ordered this online and received it within 7 days of my order. The mattress came in a wardrobe-sized box that, thankfully, had handles on the side to make for easier hauling. It was a bit of a challenge for one person, but I got it upstairs and unpacked onto my existing box spring within an hour. Well worth the effort, because it is, hands down, the most comfortable mattress I have ever purchased. Also, I no longer wake up with back pain or side pain (I'm mostly a side sleeper) like I did with my innerspring mattress. The chemical smell is present but not overpowering, and it hasn't stopped me from getting a good night's sleep. So far, so great!"
Review 17 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:WA state
Date:September 8, 2012

Serafina, OK

Pros: quality construction, decent phone support from mfgr, returnable
Cons: medium/firm is more like medium/soft, zero support at edges
Model Number: Serafina
"The Luratex layer in the Serafina model really makes it less firm than the other models. This would be a nice choice if you're not looking for a firm mattress, but it was really to mushy for us. My wife is a stomach/side sleeper with a bad lower back and there just isn't enough support for her back. It was OK for me, but I still don't like that you can't sit on the edges without them collapsing (and I'm a lightweight). Will be trying a 'lower end' model without the extra layer to see if it's firmer. Also considering alternatives that have foam bolstering on the edges."
Review 18 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 4, 2012

So far its been the best mattress

"Bought this on July 17th and want to give it some time before giving it a review. I live in Morgan Hill California and it can be a little warm here, say close to the 100s and well this mattress has held its cool. My wife weighs in around 135 and myself 150 it has been perfect with firmness and temperature wise. I was a bit amazed when UPS dropped it off, it showed up in a roll but with the easy steps it was no problem. We both sleep alot better, OH and we have only owned spring mattresses before buying this one and this totaly beats it by far."
Review 19 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 17, 2012

Excellent mattress. Disappointed with delivery

"I was surprised to find a 100lb box at my doorstep without previous warning. Luckily, my husband was able to bring it upstairs on his own. Not hard to set up if you plan your game ahead.
This mattress is absolutely the best value for your money. We tested dozens before and the Serafina feels like the expensive brands, at an excellent price. It supports your entire body and the smell goes away in a reasonable period of time (24-48 hrs) if you ventilate the area well. Highly recommended."
Review 20 for Novaform® Serafina 12" Queen Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bucks County, PA
Date:May 12, 2012

Totally Pleased!!

"I'm not an impulsive buyer when it comes to large purchases and buying a new mattress had me doing my homework. I couldn't be happier with my choice!
Having it delivered to my front door was great, setup was easy (it's better if you break the seal on the bed), and it totally decompressed in a few hours. I didn't think the smell was bad at all and it totally dissipated in about a week.
Best mattress I have ever owned.."
1 2 next>>