Customer Reviews for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set

The Spring Air latex mattress is constructed of 4 layers of eco-friendly latex and foam. This unique combination of foams creates a truly unique and versatile mattress. Made from the rubber tree, latex is the most naturally durable and comfortable cushioning material that nature has to offer. This luxurious and eco-friendly mattress is the perfect mattress for those that want a superior mattress that is comfortable, therapeutic and ecologically responsible. Mattress: Mattress thickness: 12.5" No Springs = less pressure All latex components are 100% pure latex Hypo-allergenic and anti-microbial Dust mite resistant making it perfect for allergy  & asthma sufferers Will Conform to your specific body shape to reduce pressure Latex foam is derived from the sap of rubber trees, a natural and renewable resource Latex foam minimizes motion transfer to reduce sleep disruptions Open cell structure promotes excellent air circulation for a cooler sleeping surface Hybrid latex is a patented foam design that promotes proper ergonomic balance of pressure relief and lower back support 1.5" Plush poly foam 1"  Plush latex 1"  Medium latex 1.5"  Medium hybrid latex .5" of latex lumbar support Support core: 7" Soy based HD poly core Made in the U.S.A. King and Cal-King size mattress sets include 2-pc Foundation King mattress dimensions: 76" W x 80" L x 21.75" H The patented Spring Air carbon negative Eco-Foundation is made from Canadian hardwood. This wood is Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) certified lumbar, which ensures that the wood comes from a responsibly managed forest. Manufactured in a 100% green facility that utilizes the highest quality standards. Box Spring: 9.25" High Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 633 Federal flammability standards Eco-wood foundation is patented, carbon negative and is extremely durable 10 Year non-prorated warranty Made in the U.S.A. If you have any questions regarding this product please contact Spring Air at 1-877-312-9959.
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 of 16(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Review 1 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:March 11, 2012

Finally...a worthwhile bed!

Pros: support, no off gas or smell, great value for a latex bed
Cons: none
Model Number: Helena Latex
"I am embarrassed to say that this was our third bed from Costco. We returned the S&F Portofino (a horrible bed) and the Sealy EuroFirm. The SpringAir Helena is a wonderful bed. You get all of the benefits of a Tempurpedic bed without the drawbacks of memory foam. Latex is the only way to go. You don't "sink" into the bed like memory foam yet you get the pressure relief and support. Most importantly, you don't get the off gassing associated with memory foam. After learning about the health benefits of latex, I would never buy anything else.
This mattress does not have a coil spring system. At first, I was concerned but after the first 30 minutes in the bed I was sold. I will never buy another coil spring mattress again.
This bed is firm but soft at the same time. It is hard to describe but you get a soft initial feel but also underlying support. Much like you would get with a coil mattress but without the "hardness" of support from a coil mattress- you gradually settle in and are supported without "sinking" in like memory foam.
I can't say enough good about this mattress. Delivery took 3 weeks but it was well worth the wait. You can't go wrong with this bed.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Garland, TX
Date:April 2, 2012

Surprised by previous ratings

Cons: hard
"My husband and I were in the market for a new mattress. We knew that we wanted to steer clear of spring. I just don't think they construct them the way they used to (once they did away with flipping). After much research and more importantly, relying on reviews we decided on this mattress. Like everyone mentioned, the delivery time is ridiculous. It's not the manufacturer since it ships almost immediately. It seems to be the delivery company that Costco chose to deliver this product. Communication from them does not happen and you're pretty much in the dark. The most disappointing thing is the bed! It's so hard that it's almost comical. Like if you were in a hotel with this mattress you'd be looking for the hidden camera thinking it was a prank. Definitely not worth the money. Return was a drag but Costco made good on the purchase eventually. Save your time and money and shop for a bed in person. It's pretty obvious from these reviews that one person's idea of soft is another person's idea of rock hard!"
Review 3 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2012

Nice quality but fairly soft

Pros: great "do not disturb" option, very nice quality, great customer service
Cons: poor communication of delivery details, quite soft and can feel very warm
"We were very excited to try this mattress, largely because we wanted a firm option. The mattress arrived very close to the four week mark (there were various issues with communication of delivery details, which were a bit annoying, but to be expected given others' experiences). The mattress looks really great and is very good for a "do not disturb sleep" with your partner.
However, if you are looking for a firmer mattress, this is not likely going to satisfy. I'm not sure why others found this mattress on the firm side as it's actually softer than the pillow top soft mattress we are replacing! It's fairly comfortable, but you do sink into it and as a result it feels quite warm. If you are looking for a nice quality mattress that will feel a little warm and soft on top, this is a very good option. If you want something you will not sink into that will keep you cool, you may not be happy with this option. Customer service has been super helpful though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:April 15, 2012

Comfortable so far

Pros: comfy medium/cushiony firm, value, hygienic green, latex
Cons: shipping time, wish came with protector
"After returning the novaform gel and waking up so achy. After returning tempurpedic cloud supreme bc it was too soft and didn't provide me good hip and back spine support. I didn't want to get coil springs bc of pressure points and it's not most hygienic. This was worth the 19 days shipping wait. After 2 days this bed is comfortable so far, my wife, 4 year old have no complaints. I'm 35 190lbs 5'11" and sit all day at work n car so I need right mattress to relieve back stress. This bed is cushiony on top then firmer support which is perfect. We can sleep on side and back. It is NOT HARD, those reviews are misleading. When I sit or lay on it, it sinks, hard/very firm beds do not sink. Unfortunately some reviewers don't know what firm is but I've tried so many mattresses I know. I highly recommend this as I believe my search is finally over after months of frustration."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:minneapolis, Minnesota
Date:March 3, 2012

Great Mattress well worth the price

Pros: motionless, comfortable, worth the money, easy to move, great quality
Cons: delivery time (but this is stated in description)
Model Number: 594676
"We replaces our spring Coil Mattress with this one and what a difference. Each night I sleep on it, it gets better and better. Other reviews stated that this mattress was firm, I disagree. It is definitely soft with firm support. plus the more you sleep on it, it forms to you, making it the most comfortable sleep ever.
I do agree with the delivery time, we receive the bed 3 1/2 weeks after I ordered it. but in our state the delivery service was great, no problems at all. do keep in mind that Costco does stated the delivery does take 2-4 weeks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:November 8, 2011

Great night sleep!

Model Number: Spring Air Helena Latex Mattress
"To be perfectly honest, I thought after the first night I would return the mattress. But I am a firm believer that when you are trying something new, you need to give it a chance. I am so glad I did. We have had it just over a month now, and we're loving it.
This mattress requires a little bit of a break in period. We turned the mattress every 2 weeks, just like the instructions said. I was pleasantly surprised that it was not overly difficult to rotate. Our old mattress was very heavy, this one is not.
This is a very good investment!"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2011

Love it!!!

"Love the bed. It is firm enough to give good back support but soft enough to enjoy. You don't "sink" into it like a lot of other softer mattresses. I don't notice my wife moving around during the night either. Mattress seems to be high quality. Delivery was a pain, though. I repeatedly called the company in charge of it and their system would be down repeatedly (this after being on hold about 20 min each time). After third try we finally got it to work. Very happy overall, though."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mount Prospect, IL
Date:December 22, 2011

Great mattress

Pros: great sleeping
Cons: long delivery time, high box spring
Model Number: Helena latex
"After testing all types of mattresses in a number of stores we knew we wanted latex foam. It is firm without the dead feeling we experienced on memory foam. More stable than inner spring and did not have the two side effect of an air bed. Sleeping like a log and releived back problems. Downside was long wait (over four weeks) and high box spring which makes it a job to climb up into bed."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kalispell, MT
Date:May 12, 2012

Love my bed!

Cons: is too soft for my spouse
"I purchased the Spring Air Latex mattress set in soft (sorry I'm posting here, but couldn't find a mattress listing for it) from a visiting Spring Air Group that comes to Costco often. I have spinal problems, health issues, insomnia, etc. This bed - wow! I can actually sleep on this bed. It is wonderful."
Review 10 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, ohio
Date:February 16, 2012

Why did I wait so long to make this purchase

Pros: both firm support and soft feel
Cons: no cons
"I would highly recommend spring air helena mattress and Costco. The mattress is very comfortable and promotes a restful night's sleep. Costco customer service promptly replaced the platform damaged in shipping. Helena spring air is the best mattress I have ever slept on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:June 8, 2012

Wish I found this sooner!

Pros: celsion latex, made in the usa
Cons: heavy
"I was not sure where to review this as I bought this through a 10 day road show but all I can say is I love this bed. I bought the most expensive and softest bed and I love it. It is supportive enough for me and soft enough for my wife"
Review 12 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:April 17, 2012

Too firm

Pros: the smell is not very strong and goes away quickly
Model Number: 594676
"I tried this mattress for a couple of months and it is just too firm. The Latex foam does not conform to your body like memory foam so it never softens after laying on it. I am returning it and trying something else."
Review 13 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:September 28, 2012

Hurt my back

Pros: eco-friendly all around
Cons: my back hurt every morning
"We were very excited about this bed because of all the eco-friendly materials, but it hurt my back. We returned it. What can I say? I really wanted to like it, but I can't sleep on it"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, California
Date:April 15, 2012

too hard!

Pros: good quality
Cons: very firm!!!
Model Number: #594676
"I just received this mattress. I ordered because it had such high ratings, but it is way too hard for my liking. In the process of returning it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rural Idaho
Date:December 8, 2011

Love This Mattress

"Can't say more, the longer we sleep on it, the better we sleep. Delivery was on time and courteous."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spring Air Helena Latex King Mattress Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Silverton, OR
Date:April 12, 2012

Too hard

Pros: well constructed
Cons: too firm
Model Number: Spring Air Helena
"Well made, but a little too firm for me. Unfortunately, we will have to return it because of this."