Customer Reviews for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation

Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation

Specialty bedding such as memory foam and latex mattresses perform best when on a solid continuous surface. Spring mattresses can also benefit by the support of the solid wood surface of the Sleep Science Folding Mattress Foundation. This foundation replaces a box spring and the need for a bedframe. It stands 14” high with ample storage beneath and fits into any standard bed frame. The Sleep Science Folding Mattress Foundation provides optimal support in a complete sleep system, with a solid wood top and reinforced metal legs.   The Sleep Science Folding Mattress Foundation was designed for easy 1-2-3 assembly. Simply follow the instructions included in the box. It only takes three easy steps and can be assembled in 5 minutes!     1. Unfold the frame   2. Attach the legs   3. Put the cover on   Replaces a box spring & the need for a bedframe   Can be used as a stand-alone platform bed   Fits inside most bed frames   Meets the requirements of 16 CVR Part 1633 – Federal Flammability (open flame) Standards   Solid wood top surface instead of wire that can damage a mattress after prolonged use   Includes a foundation cover which is machine washable   Easy to assemble, no tools required   Queen Foundation dimensions: 59" W x 79" D x 14" H; Weight: 101 lbs   If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
17 of 21(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Review 1 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Alamos, NM
Date:October 7, 2014

Necessary cover did not fit-really!

Pros: assembly ease, costco's excellent handling of customer service
Cons: product cover sizing was truly incorrect, product's customer service was sub-par
"Arrived, fast, assembled easily until it came time to fit the cover on the wood surface (and the cover is absolutely necessary unless you want to tear up your mattress!). It simply would not fit, We tried everything, including letting it stretch over two days. When I called the product CSR line, she insisted it must be the correct size and when I said I'd be returning it if they could not take a chance and send me the QUEEN cover, she said "ok". Bummer. Costco itself was awesome though."
Review 2 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 14, 2014

Great Foundation

"This was easy to setup and very sturdy. We don't have any squeaks or creaks. I like the extra room below and this does not make our memory foam bed feel more firm."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Escondido,Ca
Date:May 8, 2014

Nice foundation

Pros: easy to assemblesimple but guite nice looking
Cons: was mising a few washers
Model Number: 665830
"Quite sturdy, works well with memory foam mattress, no need for headboard or rails if space is an issue. Check to make sure all parts are in box prior to bed being delivered. I received bed later but waited to open box and found I was missing some washers for legs. I called and they were sent fairly quickly."
Review 4 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Singer Island FL
Date:April 13, 2014

Good foundation for platform bed

Pros: solid., simple assembly
"This is very sturdy.
It was heavier than expected but it is solid. Assembly was simple - no tools required. They recommend two adults but I got it set up easily
The cardboard crate literally fell apart in transit but this product is not delicate. I"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:February 27, 2014

OMG this bed is awesome

Pros: solid wood foundation and sturdy steel frame
Cons: price is a bit expensive
"My wife was looking for a good sturdy wood bed, stumbled on this and thought it looked good, so she gave it a try. It was everything we wanted, we put a 3 inch foam topper on it, and this bed performs beautifully."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitewater, WI
Date:March 8, 2014

Great design

Pros: steady heavy weight won't bend or slide
Cons: none
"We ordered two of these type of bed frames and they were great. They are heavy and sturdy and can handle the weight of two people sleeping on them with no issues. We had tried two other brands and one the bed bowed in the middle and the other we had to screw in every slat to stable it and then it wasn't level and every week we had to put the legs back on. We can't say enough good about these frames. They are quick to put together and we aren't constantly bumping our toes on the legs since they are under the mattress."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ft Myers, FL
Date:March 4, 2014

Folding mattress foundation review

Pros: easy assembly, good height, well constructed, good storage underneath
Cons: it's heavy; you might need help setting up, instructions barely adequate
"We purchased a new king sized gel foam mattress (separate review), and needed a good foundation with space for storage underneath. This type of platform (plywood base) is the "best" option as you don't need box springs, just a solid flat surface. This " king sized" foundation is actually two twin sized frames sent in two separate boxes, and that's good because they are heavy by themselves. You easily unfold each frame which is hinged in the middle leaving it on its side, then assemble each leg (two different sized pieces) by screwing them together and then screwing them into the six locations on the frame. No tools required. Flipping the frame onto the legs is easy, but they are heavy and you may need some assistance. Included are six sets of split foam with strips of two sided tape. Don't throw them out! There is no mention of them in the instructions we received with the foundation (the reason we gave 4 rather than 5 stars), but they fit nicely on the top half of each leg providing a cushion against bumps and bruises. This is a nice touch...too bad you have to figure it out for yourself. Finally there is a mattress cover or skirt that covers the top and goes down about half way on the legs. This is another nice touch that makes the foundation look good while still allowing easy access underneath for storage.
Overall, we are very pleased with this purchase.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:tucson, az
Date:February 4, 2014

Missing pieces, bedskirt wrong size

Pros: the wood looks sturdy, assembled quickly
Cons: no way to connect the two foundations on cal king
Model Number: 665829
"I was very excited about this foundation for our Cal king memory foam mattress, but when I opened the box, it was missing some of the pieces that fit between the legs (which are two pieces) and the pieces that fit between the legs and the frame. We assembled the frame without the missing pieces. There were two boxes and two twin XL frames with no mechanism to connect them. Will they slide apart? Time will tell. The bedskirt was too small (likely a twin, not twin XL) and we ended up putting the mattress directly onto the wood which looks quite ugly. Don't know if we'll return, maybe."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013

Didn't last 6 months

"We bought this in February, and by June the middle legs broke off! In the middle of the night as my husband and I were sleeping, one leg broke off making the mattress sink in the middle. By the morning, the other middle leg snapped off."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 9, 2013

It broke!!

Pros: liked how it folded up.
Cons: slides on hard floors., legs break off, seems to be made with cheep stuff.
Model Number: 665830
"I had the foundation for less then 2 weeks till one of the middle legs broke. Seems kind of flimsy. I looks nice but for the price it should have been made with better materials. Or added a 7th leg. It's not the best foundation hard floors. Not for a foundation with two people. Max weight I would say is 250 at most."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:we are a couple over 65, one of us is heavy
Date:September 13, 2013

solved all our problems

Pros: easy to assemble slides around well, very sturdy, put together in 1/2 hour
Cons: needs two people to turn it over after assembly, you don't want to bend the legs, sort of heavy in two boxes but ok for two
"We had an easy time setting up this platform! It is very sturdy with screws thru the wood into the steel frame. Our old mattress set had a squeaky box base, and only 7 " underneath for storage. This is great, no squeaks, 12" storage height for our big suitcases. The old mattress is even nicer on this base, but we are getting a new mattress soon. It comes in two pieces of 36" X 84" and you just put them next to each other. The legs have smooth surfaces and you can adjust easily on carpet, no sliders necessary."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 17, 2013

Very easy and sturdy

Pros: easy set up
Cons: none
"It was pretty much a snap to set up and is very sturdy. Can't wait for my new mattress to arrive to put on it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2013

Simple, solid

Pros: strength, simplicity, storage
Cons: weight
"Minimalistic, sturdy, and simple to assemble. A tad heavy to handle alone, but not impossible. Attractive with storage room below."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:March 23, 2013

just what I was looking for

Pros: easy to assemble, simple design
"Put it together by myself in half an hour (I'm a 43 year old woman), after which I found the instructions, which were taped to the outside/top side of the frame. I found this odd, considering you have to have the underside visible to put the thing together. No biggie, because it's pretty intuitive. Works beautifully with my memory foam mattress. Small downside is I found the included cover to be a very tight/awkward fit."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2013

Great Foundation.

Pros: this will fit inside any queen-sized bed frame
Cons: none
Model Number: Item # 665830
"I wanted something that looked modern(I am a minimalist) and would support my new memory foam mattress. This foundation is very sturdy and easy to put together - I am a woman so that is a big plus. Good value as well."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:March 11, 2013

Love it!

Pros: clean lines very stable and sturdy.
Cons: none so far as i can tell.
"We have been looking for a platform for a while. This one fits the bill! My husband wanted something clean and contempory while I was wishing for storage underneath. We purchased this, and a Sleep Science mattress at the same time and love both the overall look, and the comfort. Also, as the platform is over a foot off the floor, should I care to put stuff under the bed, there is lots of room. But it looks so nice as is, I doubt I will choose to clutter that look."
Review 17 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:March 8, 2013

Great Product- purchased with the memory mattress

Pros: easy to assemble lightweight.
Cons: none
Model Number: 665830
"We bought this bed frame to go with the Sleep Science memory foam mattress. It was easy for my husband to assemble and also easy for us to move into place since it's so light weight. It replaces the need for a traditional box spring, and my bed skirt still fits nicely with more room underneath for storage than with the old box spring."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:January 27, 2013

Used with traditional mattress

Pros: sturdy easy assembly
Cons: no headboard attachments
"Got this at my local Costco. Very pleased with the price and great quality. Very easy to put together and very strong steel construction. No noise or movement. My traditional queen mattress fits perfectly and gives my bed a fresh, contemporary feel."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:January 23, 2013

Simple and functional

Pros: minimalist
Cons: no headboard.
"Stong and easy to assemble. Simple to fold, move and store."
Review 20 for Sleep Science Queen Folding Mattress Foundation
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 7, 2013

Be Patient; It's Worth It

Pros: cost quality comfort appearance
"I got this bed because it was 100% memory foam at a much lower price than Tempurpedic or iComfort. For the first few days, I didn't love it. It was odd having support on my lower back, which doesn't happen on a traditional mattress. However, the mattress formed to my shape in under a week and has been a dream ever since. I love it."
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>