Customer Reviews for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set

Looking for the firmest option available? Your search is finally over! Were excited to introduce our Birchmere Ultra Firm. This mattress possesses extra firm resilience with the addition of our patented Marvelux® foam. Additional reinforcement from our leading edge Titanium DSi™ coil and CoreSupport™ center provides incomparable durability and support. A touch of memory foam helps to perfectly contour, preventing this mattress from being too rigid. Specifications: Mattress thickness: 12.25" Bed frame not included LiftRight™ surround handles Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 - Federal Flammability (open flame) Standards Ten-Year non-prorated limited warranty covers manufacturers defects Includes box spring Queen 2-pc Mattress Set dimensions: 60"W x 80"L x 21.25"H; Weight: 132 lbs Quilt Layers: Luxurious knit cover FlameGuard™ rayon fiber .5 in. SealyFoam® Comfort Layers: 2 in. Marvelux® 1 in. Memory foam CoreSupport™ center Support: Posturepedic Titanium DSi™ coil Coil density: 660 SitRight™ edge system Box Spring: StayTight™ foundation Box spring thickness: 9"
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
16 of 26(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Review 1 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New york
Date:November 24, 2013

Bad purchase

Pros: none
Cons: sagging and no comfort
Model Number: Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
"We have our third mattress in 4 months,All from Costco. The first purchase was a foam mattress. Terrible felt like I was falling off the bed the edges had no support. the second was Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set it was very hard and started to sag on both my husbands side and mine in only 3 weeks. We gave it one more try and now we now have Sealy firm and love it!! great comfort and no sagging.Costco was very helpful."
Review 2 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2013

Fantastic Firmness

"This mattress exceeds my expectations. I love the ultra firmness that it indeed is! I've enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep since having it."
Review 3 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 5, 2013

Seely mattress

"We purchased a mattress on line, and realized it was too firm. We talked to a Seely representative who recommended the proper mattress. She coordinated between Costco and us to get the mattress picked up and replaced. I am extremely pleased with Seely and Costco."
Review 4 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterbury CT
Date:July 31, 2013

Solid Purchase If you know what you're buying

Pros: stiff a board which means ultra firm!, good warranty, costco guarantee and customer support
Cons: too firm without topper, wish there was more guidance for finding the right
"First off, my wife and I were trying to replace a firm mattress we had for years that we really liked: The Stearns and Foster Exeter, which is no longer avaliable. Looking for a firm mattress can often be a crapshoot and the COSTCO return policies have been very helpful as this Birchmere is our second mattress. We had delivery problems but that was not COSTCO's fault and the COSTCO customer service was top shlef. It is VERY important to understand that beds are being made differently today, with memory foam, non-flip mattresses which you can only rotate,and a very limited number of coil spring mattresses. We love this mattress but I must explain. It is ultra firm and without a 1.5 inch topper, TOO firm. This excessive firmness is easily dealt with by finding the right TOPPER which suits your needs. My wife and I tried several 1-2 inch toppers and we settled on a 1.5 inch memory foam toppoer than has an egg crate design. Weird, but its VERY comfortable. My wife has hip problems and the topper alleviates the "too hard" feel of the mattress. Some may wish to go with a 3-4" topper? Either way, we are BOTH sleeping very well, adjusting to the mattress/topper combination in just a few days. Remarkable how my back problems ( three herniated disks) have been improved with this mattress. Bottom line: Great mattress, but the analogy is putting condiments on a sandwich. Without mayo or mustard, a sandwich can be very bland and unappetizing. But use the RIGHT amount of mayo. and you have a great sandwich. It all depends on your preference. This is a great platform to start with. Then go to Walmart/Kohl's and try the different toppers to find the one you like. We're both very glad to have this mattress. Thanks COSTCO!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:April 18, 2013

Not sure what normal wear is

"So I bought the mattress set 3-4 months ago and I do enjoy sleeping on it. However, my concern is the dents where my wife and I sleep. I mean they're not terribly deep where I need to return them ASAP but I definitely can see the dents where we sleep. Eventually I think I may have to get the mattress replaced. Costco will pick up the returned mattress and drop off the new one (hopefully the same day).
I hope I helped. Don't get me wrong, the mattress is really nice and firm and we love it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:April 5, 2013

very dissapointed

Pros: very firm as advertised, nice handles
Cons: quickly forms body dents, hard to change position after the dents form
Model Number: ??
"We wanted a firm mattress to give us a good nights rest. It wasn't hard as a rock, but just firm and restful. We were used to firm, so that was pleasant and easy to get used to. After just one week we found that the mattress was starting to form dents where we slept. After two weeks the dents were deep enough to make turning over difficult. We turned it back to the store and they kindly returned our payment. It is wonderful dealing with Costco."
Review 7 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, Ca.
Date:March 17, 2013

very firm

"I needed a very firm mattress for my back problems. This mattress fits the bill. Some may find it a bit too stiff!
But, if you’re having back problems I would recommend this mattress.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Derfield Beach Florida
Date:March 3, 2013

STILL SLEEPING IN A CHAIR

Pros: none
Cons: hard as a rock literally
Model Number: Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set Item # 651889
"Hard is not the word for this mattress. After 1 hour my back hurts terribly.
Spent another $125 for a foam topper so that the mattress would not dig into my body. This mistake cost me over $800. Sorry to say returns mean transporting back to a Costco location which I am unable to do so I am STILL SLEEPING IN A CHAIR.
"
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:February 26, 2013

slow delivery

Cons: slow delivery
Model Number: Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set - Item# 651889
"Ordered this set on Feb 3rd and received a confirmation from Costco on Feb 8th said the set has been sent to local delivery company on Feb 7th. up to today, Feb 26th, haven't recevied any phone call to confirm the delivery date yet. contacted each delivery company and cosco twice. The customer serive person said it will take 2-4 weeks to delivery, but their phone message said the delivery compeleted. Shopping around right now. Thinking about cancel the order."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2013

Very firm

"We had purchased the Ivory Forest Firm Mattress from Costco before we bought this one. The Ivory Forest was very disappointing as it was not as firm as we had expected and started sagging with permanent body impressions after 1 year (and we are slim people). Thankfully we were able to return it to Costco and purchase the Birchmere Ultra Firm Mattress. We figured we would give Sealy one more chance. The Birchmere is is a very firm mattress which my husband and I both like. It has been 3 months and so far it isn't sagging or leaving body impressions like the Ivory Forest did. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a very firm mattress that doesn't even bounce when you sit on it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 10, 2013

Too firm for us

"The quality of this mattress is great and as advertised it is a very firm mattress. It has absolutely no give and my daughter even commented that it was "rock hard". If you're looking for that then it would be great, for us it was definitely way to firm."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orland Park, IL
Date:December 4, 2012

Excellent Mattress set

"Have had this mattress set for about a month now and cannot be more happy. Still firm as day one and doesn't require a mattress pad on top. Really love the extra firmness of this set"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 3, 2012

VERY Firm - but VERY GOOD

Pros: really firm for those who want that., thought too firm but second night won me over!
Cons: none
Model Number: Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set, Item # 651889
"During and after my first night of tossing and turning I thought to myself 'how can anybody like this?' I gave it another night and seriously after the second night i was in heaven! I have had this now for about two weeks and it is the best thing!"
Review 14 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 2, 2012

Fast delivery

Pros: real ultra firmness
Cons: firmness does not last long on where you lay.
"i bought this mattress for couple of months. Frist, I really like that because it is real firm althought I feel it is hard for first few nights. I was thinking to return for exchange the regular firm. But it is ok later. However, it is hollow for few months now although it is firm around the edges and where you are not sleeping is still ultra firm. Now I can apparently see the mattress is not even where I have been laying. I weight only 116lbs. I have back pain so I chose the firmness. I dont know the hollowness stays right there or continue hollowing. Thinking about returning"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:November 21, 2012

Satisfied Customer

Pros: ease of ordering, delivery and set-up, well constructed, exactly as description
"Tough to purchase a mattress without testing it first, but have never been disappointed with Costco. Decided to replace our old pillow top mattress with a firm mattress. Delivery was great, but I thought we might have made a mistake ordering without testing it first. Mattress is very firm, but both my wife and I have never had such a wonderful nights sleep. Always felt the other rolling over with our old mattress, but not with this one."
Review 16 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2012

birchmere ultra firm

Pros: costco has an excellent return policy., costco has excellent customer service.
Cons: valley in the middle of the mattress.
"Mattress is extremely comfortable around the edges because it is firm and doesn't sag around the edges. However, the middle of the mattress caves in and you find yourself sleeping on the edge of the bed where it is firm. If Sealy could manufacture a mattress with the same firmness and stability from edge to edge of the mattress, I would purchase several of these mattresses."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:foothill ranch, ca
Date:November 15, 2012

poor due to hardness...

"My daughter requested ultra firm but this is like a ton of bricks. We called to return after night 2. We are exchanging it for the firm. If you like extremely hard this is for you! the mattresss and box spring is really nice and great quality."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, KS
Date:November 14, 2012

ultra firm means extremely firm

Pros: handles all around the mattress-easy to move
Cons: very hard
Model Number: 651889
"I like a firm mattress, but this one goes beyound firm. I fortunately have a foam mattress topper and with it on, the mattress is tolerable. Without it, it was like sleeping on a flat rock."
Review 19 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rancho Mirage, California
Date:November 13, 2012

Unuseable after only 7 days

Cons: unworthy of the sealy name
Model Number: Sealy Posturepedic Birchmere Ultra Firm #651889
"Edge failure within 7 days. Birchmere Queen Ultra Firm "SitRight" edge collapsed on both sides. Highest point of mattress is center, head to foot."
Review 20 for Birchmere Ultra Firm Queen Mattress Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gresham, OR
Date:November 8, 2012

Finally, a great Sealy mattress set

Model Number: 651889
"This is our third Sealy mattress set purchased thru Costco, and the best one so far. Very firm, but not so rigid that you will wake up with a sore back. I also like Costco's white glove shipping method. Overall, a very good shopping experience."
1 2 next>>