Customer Reviews for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Discover the science behind a better night’s sleep. The very first of its kind, the Novaform® Gel memory foam mattress combines the comfort of memory foam with the smart support of gel. Together, they minimize pressure points, providing more balanced support. You’ll sleep faster, deeper and wake up rested and refreshed. Innerspring mattresses can cut off circulation which compromises sleep comfort and causes you to toss and turn. The patented gel technology responds to these pressure points and your body’s temperature, creating a more restful sleep experience. Enjoy the new Novaform® Gel memory foam mattress providing the ultimate sleeping experience with comfort, support and luxury combined into one! 12 in" in overall thickness   Top layer: 2.5” of gel-memory foam infused with gel beads   Middle layer: 2.5” of textured foam   Base layer: 7” of superior-support foam   Patented gel-infused memory foam technology   Box spring not included   Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633-Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Flame-retardant cover conforms to strict Federal standards   Premium memory foam molds to your body; returns to original shape after use   Superior pressure point relief which improves circulation   Cover: Luxurious quilted jacquard circular stretch knit cover, polyester-cotton top and quilted side panels, durable and long-lasting   Memory Foam – 100% Hypo-allergenic, CFC-free   Great for platform beds and slatted frames   20-year limited warranty   Compressed & packaged for easy transport and delivery   Memory foam made in the USA   King mattress dimensions: 76" W x 80" D x 12" H; Weight: 112 lbs.   For more information about this product, call the Sleep Innovations Customer Service Center at 1-888-999-0499. Model: 554629
Average Customer Rating:
3.662 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
(out of 77 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
11
1 star
14
51 of 77(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Review 1 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon
Date:March 10, 2011

Great Bed For The Price

Pros: comfortable, better night sleep, easy setup, value
Model Number: 554629
"We picked up this mattress at our local warehouse. It was easy to take home the way it was packaged, which I really appreciated. I was confident to purchase this mattress, despite the lack of reviews online, with Costco's great return policy. However, I love the mattress. It is so comfortable the way it molds to your body. It is a huge improvement over our previous pillowtop mattress, and my husband and I both sleep through the night without waking more often than we use to.
In order to protect the mattress and the warranty, we have put a waterproof mattress pad on it. I am not sure if it is the cover or the mattress, but I have found nights to be much warmer and that I sweat more through the night. I am going to try a different mattress cover and see if that is really the problem.
Regardless, I still love how comfortable it is, especially for the price!
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:March 27, 2011

Best night sleep ever

"We picked this up at our local Costco store. It took only about 12 hours for the mattress to come to full shape. The first night sleep was the best ever. It does sleep a little warm but not unbearable and not hot enough to make you uncomfortable. If you’re wanting a soft or plush mattress this one is not for you. It’s firm but not too firm."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 29, 2011

At sleep at last

Model Number: Nova Foam King 12" mattress
"I am so glad we got this mattress!
We have been sleeping on a very high quality traditional spring mattress with the nova foam pad on it. It was a good sleep but this new mattress is a great sleep. In fact I hate to get up in the morning!
Because the heat of your body makes the foam form to you, it takes a few minutes once you get in bed to get it to form to you but after that it is a dream.
Great for side sleeping. Your arm doesn't have that pressure point like a regular mattress.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011

Great Value

"A good value. I expected it would take 24 hours for the mattress to fully expand. However, it only took about six and we were on it that night. I did not notice any smell as stated by others. The cover is much better than previous ones we had. The mattress seems a little stiffer than another one we had, but works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:portland or
Date:April 9, 2011

Great mattress

Cons: none
"Excellent combination of firm and soft. Not to soft like some of the memory foam mattresses. Used to have pressure point problems with old mattress, but not now. Very happy with mattress."
Review 6 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2011

Good Value for the price

"The mattress is a very good value for the price. It does take a few days to get use to it. It is firm, when you first lay on it, but it does contour to your body after a few minutes. We have had the mattress for about a month, and it has really helped with the back issues and joint pains."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:April 28, 2011

No way

"Novaform Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This thing is stiff, stiff, stiff. Sure you can't feel your partner move, but I could barely move after a night on this thing. Tried it for a week and everyday was worse. Finally took it back to Costco (excellent service, as usual). I just wouldn't recommend this unless you like sleeping on hardwood floors."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 30, 2011

Good first impression, dissapointing long term

Pros: cheap price
Cons: cheap
"I bought one of these, and initially I was very impressed with the comfort, firmness, and what I thought was good value for the price I paid. But after owning it for a little over a month now, I am sorely disappointed (no pun intended). It just doesn't hold up, it it starting to not bounce back, it doesn't respond at all like it did in the first few weeks. The mattress feels old, worn out and tired already, at only one month. It is as if it is an old, worn out mattress but only a month old. When it was new after sleeping on it, it would bounce back and you would go to sleep the next night and it would be all firm again. Now when I go to sleep, it is all dented in and kind of flattened and not as firm, feels old and worn out already. The problem is, it's too cumbersome too pack up and return to the store for a refund, so I feel I am stuck with it. Maybe I got stuck with a bad one, I don't know, but based upon my experience, I would not recommend, I don't think they hold up for the long haul."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2011

Heaven- best mattress purchase ever

"My husband and I absolutely love our mattress. We have had it for 4 months now and didn’t know one could sleep so well! After sleeping on a supposedly “ top of the line” Simmons (junk) mattress for two years, that dented and dipped after 6 months we decided to try out the nova forms and go with Costco because of their awesome return policy. There was a slight odor with the nova form mattress, but was completely gone within a day or two. We did sleep on it the first night – yes there was a ridge-hump-line whatever down the middle but it was gone by the third/fourth night. Both my husband and I are large people (5’10- 220 6’4- 300) so we depend on a great mattress, this mattress is hard as brick, especially when it is cold. But within minutes of laying on it, it melts to your body heat and softens up slightly. Two years of sore backs and joints, we now sleep great with no soreness and NO back Pain. It did take me about a week to “love it” my husband loved it the first night. We are tummy sleepers, while I don’t have a problem, my husband sometimes does. Not to mention- you’ve got to love the price!! Happy mattress hunting."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2011

TOO FIRM

"I am totally disappointed with this mattress. I thought it would contour to your body, and that I'd have a great sleep night, but I was wrong. We've had it for a couple of weeks now, and it's still as hard as the first day. Not worth the money!"
Review 11 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2011

Very disapointed

Pros: didn't smell
Cons: poor quality
Model Number: Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
"We purchased this to replace our previous foam mattress from Costco which was great but developed a defect. They do not carry it anymore, so we gave this one a try. It hurt my wife's back and caused both of us to get poor quality sleep. We plan on returning it as soon as we can get it in the car. It's big and heavy."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Date:June 5, 2011

Sleeping through the night.

Pros: full support, can easily add a softer topper if needed, reduces motion transfer
Cons: initial feel is a bit too firm, heavy but i'm not going to move it much
Model Number: 554629
"We have had this mattress for about a month now and I wanted to give it a good test drive before posting a review.
While the initial feel of this mattress is quite a bit on the firm side, while you lay there for a few minutes, it does conform to your body and gives good support. Both my wife and I are sleeping well and it doesn't hurt my back at all compared to our old mattress. We have also not experienced any heat retention.
Setting up the mattress was easy. We started in the morning and by bed time it was ready to go. We had none of the smell and my wife has a good nose.
For the price we feel it is a good buy. I hope it will stay good long term. As far a the firmness goes I know I can make a bed softer pretty easy by adding a topper and it will still be cheaper than the big name mattresses."
Review 13 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midland, TX
Date:June 6, 2011

Great

"We have loved this mattress. Took my wife about 3 days to adjust, I adjusted immediately. Love the way it forms to your body type. Have never adjusted to a mattress this quick. It is definitely firm but very comfortable. Glad we made this purchase."
Review 14 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 21, 2011

GREAT MATTRESS!

Pros: super comfort
Cons: none
"Not too soft (and we love a soft mattress) and not too hard. A great buy. Rivals anything TempurPedic has to offer at a fraction of the price."
Review 15 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:July 5, 2011

don't buy

Pros: does not get hot sleeps cool, price
Cons: mattress is folded in box creating a lump, memory foam is not thick enough
"I purchased the Novaform Gel King bed three months ago. There were two major problems with this mattress. First is the way the bed is packed in the box. They fold it in half creating a a lump down the middle. I was told the lump would flatten out in 72 hours. Did not touch the bed for 72 hours and the lump was still there. Called the manufacture again they said try sleeping on it. I did, for three months lump is still there. Second problem is the 3 inch memory foam pad tends to compress so much I could feel the second layer of foam."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winchester VA
Date:July 5, 2011

Great Bed

Pros: easy set up, comfortable & supportive
Model Number: Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
""This is our first foam bed. Having gone through 3 traditional beds in the last 10 years, all from Costco and all returned because of a 'hump' in the middle of the bed. Thought we would try a foam bed out and see if it made a difference. Well, 5 weeks into the new bed and we love it. It is a very supportive mattress and the set up was a breeze. And talk about a good night’s sleep, I have turned into a 'late sleeper' since body parts aren't hurting anymore!""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:July 12, 2011

not a good value

Pros: comfy
Cons: slopes
Model Number: comfort grand delux
"The mattress is comfortable...on my side of the bed. My husband's side is a SLIDE starting from the middle it slopes to the edge. We just got it last night and he weighs 210 lbs. It also came out of the box with a brown stain the size of two quarters on the side."
Review 18 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA.
Date:July 13, 2011

Fibromyalgia Relief

"My wife has severe fibromyalgia and for the 25 years we have been married, we have slept on a spring mattress. She tosses and turns all night because of the pressure point pain. We made the decision to buy a memory foam mattress and see if it would make a difference. Costco had the Novaform Gel Memory Foam King in stock so we bought one. I had to build a box frame to get the mattress high enough off the floor but we put the mattress on the frame that night and actually slept on it the first night. There is a slight latex paint smell which is not strong and has gone away after five days. The feel of a memory foam mattress took me about three days to get used to but the difference is that my wife is sleeping the whole night pain free. This was a simple answer for a great price."
Review 19 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Roseburg OR
Date:July 14, 2011

Way too Hard!!

"Have had this for one month, wanted to give it a fair shot. Way too firm with too little gel form on top layer. We have a get form topper on our spare bed and it is great. So when we purchased this we were hopeful it would be a great. Not so. When I put the topper on it, it was softer, but my sheets wont stay tucked in and it slids around. Now the mattrass is slopping! So its going back."
Review 20 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:jersey
Date:August 1, 2011

great bed

Pros: firm but not hard, conforming, great savings, easy to deliver
"ok this bed is firm but i like firm and we use a featherbed and mattress topper on top of it. Still you do slowly sink into it and thats what i like most it should be firm and slowly conform to you not something you sink into the minute you lay on it, which was the whole point of getting a new bed, our last one had dips from long time use that you sunk into. I looked at this bed for two years and wish I had bought it sooner. I love it but what i love even more is not paying 2000 more for what i believe would be essentially the same thing made by a swiss company. Is their bed better? mabey, but i like this one just fine and i like the savings even more. Be advised I like a firm bed with lots of soft toppers and this fits the bill perfectly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>