Customer Reviews for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Discover the science behind a better night’s sleep. The very first of its kind, the Novaform® Gel memory foam mattress combines the comfort of memory foam with the smart support of gel. Together, they minimize pressure points, providing more balanced support. You’ll sleep faster, deeper and wake up rested and refreshed. Innerspring mattresses can cut off circulation which compromises sleep comfort and causes you to toss and turn. The patented gel technology responds to these pressure points and your body’s temperature, creating a more restful sleep experience. Enjoy the new Novaform® Gel memory foam mattress providing the ultimate sleeping experience with comfort, support and luxury combined into one!   12 in" in overall thickness   Top layer: 2.5” of gel-memory foam infused with gel beads   Middle layer: 2.5” of textured foam   Base layer: 7” of superior-support foam   Patented gel-infused memory foam technology   Box spring not included   Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633-Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Flame-retardant cover conforms to strict Federal standards   Premium memory foam molds to your body; returns to original shape after use   Superior pressure point relief which improves circulation   Cover: Luxurious quilted jacquard circular stretch knit cover, polyester-cotton top and quilted side panels, durable and long-lasting   Memory Foam – 100% Hypo-allergenic, CFC-free   Great for platform beds and slatted frames   20-year limited warranty   Compressed & packaged for easy transport and delivery   Memory foam made in the USA   Queen mattress dimensions: 60” W x 80” D x 12” H; Weight: 91 lbs. For more information about this product, call the Sleep Innovations Customer Service Center at 1-888-999-0499. Model: 526165
Average Customer Rating:
4.009 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
(out of 114 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
16
86 of 114(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Review 1 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2013

Do not buy

Cons: none
"I have now bought 3 versions of this bed in the past 5 years, stubborn frugality and a desire for the other reviews to be right..
its usually a great bed for the first 2-4 weeks then begins breaking down very quickly so that be the second month I am honestly setting up on the floor as a better alternative. I actually turned the bed over and slept on the side you are not supposed to sleep on (i.e. not really a bed!) for 3 years because I did not know I could return it and couldn't afford yet another bed.
"
Review 2 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:January 4, 2013

Big Mistake....just give it time!

Pros: cost
Cons: too firm, caused back and neck pain
"We traded in a double pillowtop for this gel foam mattress several months ago. We had to spend about $250 extra on a 4" mattress topper because the mattress itself was just too firm to fall asleep on. For the first couple of weeks, it was great. Woke up feeling refreshed and stayed cool through the night. However, over the past few months I started waking up with really bad upper back, shoulder and neck pain (which results in frequent headaches). I tried changing pillows several times and didn't realize it was the mattress until I slept on the couch a few nights and the pain went away. Would not recommend this mattress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:October 23, 2012

I'm Bummed

Pros: great price and love costco!, hope i have another pro after replacement.
Cons: mattress won't unfold!
"I opened my mattress three days ago and it is still folded in half. The left side of the bed is sticking straight up in the air. I went to the Novaform website to see if I was supposed to turn it upside down to get it to open. They have a video there that showed the exact way I opened mine. I then found they had a link to Costco, which is where I bought it, and started reading reviews. This is apparently not an uncommon problem with this mattress. If two others wrote the same problem there are doubtless many others who didn't write about it. It really is a bummer that I will have to call and get it replaced. I do not like to shop and am one of those people that never returns anything. I usually just throw things in the closet, tags still on and never see them again until they go to charity. Can't exactly do that with a mattress that sticks up on one side. Darn it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2012

Hard, Hard, Hard

Pros: none
Cons: beyond extremely hard!
"This bed was hard as a rock after one week of waking up with horrible back pain, I took it back to Costco! Thank Goodness for their excellent return policy! I was hoping for the best and really wanted to give it a fair chance but I couldn't even move the next day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

Awefull

"This is the worst bed I have ever slept on, hard as a rock. We turned it over and the support foam is softer."
Review 6 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:florida
Date:April 24, 2012

Was so hopeful

Pros: price was awesome
Cons: hard as concrete
Model Number: The queen gel from nova form 12"
"This is by far my worst purchase from Costco. We threw the box out( no room for it). So how do we get it back to the store. We did not have an odor issue after just a few hours, but the back pain I am experiencing is crazy. This bed is like sleeping on concrete. I thought about getting a memory foam topper for it, but I guess that defeats the good deal we got. Thinking of taking it back somehow."
Review 7 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:On line
Date:April 3, 2012

No good for all.

Pros: price
Cons: unknow quality
Model Number: Foam Queen Mattress
"I can't sleep for more than 4 hours because I got a pain in my waist. Maybe the mattress is too width or too soft. :(
The floor is better."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2012

? good reviews?

Pros: costco takes returns!
Cons: how do i get this back to the store!?
"I bought this and was excited to try it. My son has a similar one (memory foam) by the same company. I wanted to try the cooling gel foam. The mattress was fairly easy to set up, but its only 10 inches thick (advertised as 12 inch thick) and HARD AS A ROCK! I was expecting soft and snuggly comfort that molds to my body, but thats not at all what this does! It is very uncomfortable!
Now how do I get this back to Costco?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Date:January 12, 2012

Caused mid-back pain

Pros: costco return policy, no odor
Cons: caused mid back pain, took a long time to expand
"I purchased this mattress thinking it would get rid of some occasional lower back pain I've had. After the first night sleeping on this mattress, I had a new mid back pain that I've never had before. Tried sleeping on the mattress for two more nights with the same result each morning, mid back pain. Switched back to my old mattress and had no mid back pain.
I sleep mostly on my side, so maybe that's why I got the mid back pain. The mattress seemed very firm. So firm that circulation in my arm would get cut off when I slept on my side."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:January 3, 2012

Don't do it!

"This thing was great for the first 3-4 months!
Then it started to 'break in' I guess. Now there's a "hole" where sleep. It no longer reforms back to it's orginal position, and now my back is SCREAMING for me to get rid of this thing. I'm 180 lbs, and now my 125 lb wife is also complaining of back aches when she wakes up.
Now, I just need to figure out how to get this big thing hauled back to Costco for a return..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

Painful Mistake

"Bought this based on good reviews, price.
I weigh 190, 5 11", wife 5 7" 135 so we are "normal".
We both woke up with severe neck pain/stiffness. The description fails to state this is only for back sleepers, I prefer to sleep on side and wife on stomach, etc. A bed should be able to accomodate all types of sleepers.
I also have lower back pain now after trying it for 2 weeks to give it a full chance.
Even when I slept on back, I ended up with lower back pain. Couldnt go to work.
I write this to help others avoid this painful mistake. Now I have the hassle of returning this back and shopping for either a Tempur-pedic or spring mattress.
Yes I'm stumped on how others are OK with this product. Just realize that there is a chance that this will cause you pain or your back is different and can work with this but if both my wife and I wake up with really awful back/neck pain then do you want such a product that can fail some users this bad and work for others?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Milford, CT
Date:October 19, 2011

Way Too Hard

Pros: costco return policy.
Cons: too hard, does not conform to the body, horrible to sleep on
"This mattress was way too hard. My back and hips were achy each morning. It was just very uncomfortable to sleep on. We have the other Novafoam mattress at our guest house and love it, so we thought this would be good mattress too. Good thing Costco has a good return policy."
Review 13 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Milford, CT
Date:October 16, 2011

Too hard to sleep on

Pros: easy set up, costco's return policy
Cons: way too hard, heavy
Model Number: Gel Memory Foam Mattress
"My boyfriend has the Novoform Deluxe Mattress and I love it. So I thought I would try this mattress went it went on sale. This mattress was way too hard to sleep on! My hips and back ached. I tried this for several nights, but could not stand another night of sleeping on it. It is way to hard and does not support my body. I am very glad for Costco's return policy. I will purchase the Deluxe Mattress instead, as my body feels cradled and I do not wake up with aches and pains."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:April 21, 2011

Too Hot to Sleep!

Pros: great price, transportable
Cons: too hot to sleep!, did not fully expand after 1 week, smell
Model Number: Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
"After much prompting from my girlfriend to replace my old mattress and reading the mostly positive reviews, I took the plunge on what appeared to be a great value (after manufacturer's rebate). I purchased one from a local Warehouse. With some help from a Costco employee, it was fairly easy to transport; fitting on the folded down backseats of a 2003 VW Passat (impressive). I took it out and moved it in myself, but would recommend two people. It expanded quite quickly out of the box and fit perfectly on my platform bed. The smell was fairly strong, but had mostly abated after a week of running the air filter. There was a raised ridge in the middle from the main fold that did remain, as well as a dent on the lower edge. All things I could live with.
Unfortunately, I could not sleep at all during that week due to the heat that generated wherever my body contacted the mattress. I'm 6' 1", 175 lbs. My petite girlfriend had the same experience. I suspect that the gel infusion has a lot to do with this phenomenon.
Transporting it back was quite an experience as I had to tie it to the roof of the car. However, it is Costco. So there was no problem with the actual return.
It would be great if each Warehouse provided a demo model to avoid repeated returns!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California, S.F. Bay Area
Date:April 6, 2011

Like Sleeping on Concrete

Pros: price
Cons: total lack of comfort
"I'm with "Salesbot" who also gave only one star. This thing is as hard as a rock. We have a Novaform Gel topper that we bought from Costco and I LOVE it -- like sleeping on a cloud. I was expecting that this mattress (same brand and same product line) would be similar and as such, took a chance by bringing it home without ever having tried it out. It is horrible. You barely sink in at all and when you turn over, all you feel is a very hard surface. Now I too have not the foggiest idea of how I will get it back to the store (sure can't get it back in the box...)."
Review 16 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Date:March 5, 2011

Worst purchase I've made from Costco

Pros: easy transport
Cons: extremely uncomfortable, lower back hurts every day when i wake up, neck hurts after sleeping
"I was SO excited to get this mattress. I read review after review on this manufacturer and memory foam mattresses before I picked it up. Awesome that it was easy to transport, but that's where the awesomeness ended. I have had the WORST week of sleep EVER! I only have a sheet over the mattress, so that my body heat does what it's supposed to do, but I just can't get comfortable on it. I have muscle aches that I've never had before, every morning when I wake up. My lower back and neck have never hurt when I wake up until I slept on this mattress. Like sleeping on a cement slab. Now I have to figure out how to get it back to Costco :-/"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Westerville, Ohio
Date:January 20, 2013

Way too FIRM

Pros: easy to get home and get upstairs
Cons: extremely hard
"My fiance and I loved the fact that we could pick this mattress up in my car! The convenience of it coming in a box is awesome! But we were sadly disappointed once we opened it and tried sleeping on it. IT IS TOO FIRM! When we lay on it, it only SLIGHTLY conforms to our bodies. I am 25 and he is 38, and we both wake up with pains we've never had before since sleeping on this mattress. If you are looking for a soft, or even medium mattress, this is not the one for you. Thankfully, Cosco has a great return policy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 22, 2012

Gel foam is a double edge sword

Pros: comfortable under certain conditions
Cons: no consistency whatsoever
"The biggest selling point for gel foam is that it reacts to temperature, that may or may not be a good thing. The mattress can take on many faces.
On a perfect spring/fall day, when the room temperature is nice and comfortable, the mattress feels firm. It reacts to body temperature and form a perfect cradle to support you. Feels great.
But as the night goes on, if you sleep under cover, your body slowly warm up the entire area, and the foam becomes very soft. So in the morning, you wake up almost sleeping directly on the harsh support foam beneath it.
In summer time, if you, like me, do not run air conditioner and keep the room at a perfect 68F, the foam soften significantly as the temperature rises. At around 80F, it lost almost all support and you are laying directly on the support foam, which is extremely hard and uncomfortable.
So in summary, there's no consistency in this mattress. It changes its nature season to season, night to morning.
That's my take on it. Thanks Costco, as always."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Whitewater, WI
Date:October 23, 2012

Dissapointed with this Model, but love the Deluxe

Cons: sinks too much when you sleep in it, edges too soft and you slide off the bed.
Model Number: Memory Gel Bed
"When the mattress unrolled it had a hump in the middle of the bed. We thought it would flatten but never did. The mattress sloped down towards the sides and you felt like you were constantly falling off of the bed. If you got too near the edge of the bed. The bed is so soft that your entire body sinks down while your legs and arms are higher up. We were very dissapointed in this model. We have the King Deluxe Comfort Model and love it. We returned this and are buying the Deluxe Model. It is firmer and provides more support. Thankfully, Costco has an excellent return policy."
Review 20 for Novaform® Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, North Carolina
Date:August 20, 2012

strike 2

Pros: easier to get home than a traditional mattress, backed by costco's return policy if unhappy., price!
Cons: won't lay flat!
Model Number: Item #526165
"I purchased this mattress, brought it home and set it up per the instructions. The smell that I have seen others mention was not a problem at all, I really didn't even notice any smell. When the bed is cut free from the plastic it begins to take shape right away. One whole side of the bed was "humped up" I figured it would go flat over the next 72 hours as stated in the directions. I slept on the mattress alone, and did get a good nights sleep. It was very comfortable, not hot or cold, no backaches. Not too hard or soft...but, after a week, the hump remained. It looked a bit like a hammock on the one side. I called the manufacturer, they said this was very unusual, and was told they would deliver another one in about a week and remove the old one. We ended up taking the mattress back to Costco ourselves because I didn't want to deal with waiting for a delivery person to come and have a stranger in my home when I was alone. (It was fun, trying to get the mattress folded like a "taco". It was nearly impossible). I wish I had had the company bring the new one. We managed to get it loaded into my Explorer and returned it to Costo, no problems with the return! I bought another mattress, followed the directions, and...same problem. This time the hump is worse. When you lay on the side of the bed with the hump, the other side of the bed actually lifted up and my cat crawled between the mattress and box springs. If I tried to sleep the the bed with someone, whoever is on the hump side would be rolled into the middle of the bed! I am very leary about purchasing a third mattress but I haven't seen any other reviews with this problem. I am on the fence about that decision."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>