Customer Reviews for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress

Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress

The Dream visco memory foam mattress is designed to be an ultra plush, soft sleeping surface. The Dream cradles the body while the base foam provides the perfect level of support. The top layer is made of proprietary Slumber Tech visco elastic memory foam comfort layers and rests upon an open cell air comfort layer. The base is made of our Support Tech foam. The open cell design of the air comfort layer promotes air circulation in the center of the mattress, creating a temperature neutral sleeping environment. The mattress cover is made of a bamboo blend fabric that is cool to the touch and acts as a natural wicking agent.   Bed frame not included; headboard and footboard brackets not included Sleep Science Comfort Scale – Ultra Plush Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 – Federal Flammability (open flame) standards 8” Dream memory foam mattress fits into most bed frames Mattress Top Layer = 3” of proprietary slumber tech Visco memory foam Middle Layer = 2” Air comfort layer, open cell structure for maximum air flow Bottom Layer = 3” proprietary support tech base foam Hypoallergenic and dust mite resistant   Visco memory foam conforms to your body to relieve pressure points and improve circulation Visco memory foam is temperature reactive, therefore the mattress will react uniquely to each individual’s body temperature Mattress cover sleeping surface is made with a bamboo blend fabric The mattress is rolled and compressed for ease of delivery There will be a slight foam odor when first opened that will dissipate within 24-48 hours This mattress should rest upon a flat solid surface for best results First time Visco memory foam sleepers, please allow 30-60 days to adjust to sleeping on a Visco elastic memory foam mattress Limited Warranty: 20 Years against manufacturer defects Queen mattress Dimensions: 60”W x 80”L x 8”H; Weight:  67 lbs If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco. Model: 8-64-Q
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
28 of 33(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Review 1 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:November 4, 2013

Too soft for me

Pros: soft and squishy, arrived quickly, easy to return
Cons: too soft for my liking
" My old mattress had started to cave in at the center, so I decided to look for a new mattress at a price fit for a student budget. Admittedly, I limited my search to costco.com because the return policy cannot be beat. I ordered this mattress because it had excellent reviews and the price was right. I thought I'd have no problem with a soft mattress, being 110 lbs. How far could I possibly sink in?
The mattress arrived within just a few days. After removing the packaging, there was a chemical odor, but it only lasted a few hours. The mattress had expanded to full size within 3-4 hours. It felt really comfortable. It was really squishy and formed to my body. I didn't have a bed frame or box spring, so I slept with the mattress on the floor. They suggest it lay on a flat surface, so that worked.
The first night was fine. I woke up without any pain. But the second night and every night thereafter was bad. I woke up with this terrible pain in my backbone. I sleep on my back. What was happening was that my hips were sinking in lower than the rest of my body, and it was making my spine bend too far the entire night. I think that even though I am petite and light weight, the way my body is proportioned with more weight in my hips, it just wasn't right for the softness of the mattress. The mattress was too soft to balance out my weight so that my spine would lay correctly. My boyfriend (140 lbs) slept on the mattress one night and loved it. He did complain that it was hotter than most mattresses, but I never noticed.
I desperately wanted to like this mattress. I kept it for 2 weeks. I tried different things, like sleeping on top of the comforter to lessen the sinking in, sleeping with a pillow below my hips, sleeping with a chair cushion under my hips. Nothing worked. So it had to go back. I returned the mattress to my local Costco with no problems. I'm looking at purchasing the Novaform 14" Gel Memory Foam mattress in hopes that it is firmer.
My suggestion is, if you like soft mattresses, give this one a try. If it doesn't work, you can return it. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 29, 2012

Very Soft/Plush

Pros: very soft/plush, good for side sleeping
Cons: off gasses (air it out for a week during the day)
" After 2 months of sleeping on this I can say:
1) I ascertained correctly that this is the "very plush/soft" memory foam mattress model that Costco sells. I know that Costco doesn't do a very good job of saying where each of the mattresses that they sell fall on the firm vs soft scale. I wish they would list it. (I had to parse it together by doing a broad internet search of reviews of mattress names.)
2) Gassed Off a lot. There was a pleasant initial odor that disappeared after the first night (I did sleep on it right away) but even after that odor dissipated I experienced about 2 weeks of waking up with nasal congestion and dry mouth which I presume was the off gassing. I ended up ripping the covers off and letting it gas for about a week with the windows open and that seemed to do the trick and now it's fine.
3) It takes about 4-6 weeks to get used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress. I had come from an innerspring mattress and while I slept like a baby on the first night I found that I would wake up in the morning with a crink in my back or neck (due to my body "sinking" into the mattress) that went away post morning shower. After about 4 weeks my body got used to how soft this mattress is and now I sleep like a baby all the time and love it. (In fact innerspring mattresses now feel too firm to me.)
4) This mattress is great for side sleepers. Yes, it's 8 inches but it's plenty deep for side sleepers. I'm 5'9, 160 lbs and tend to fall asleep on my side and then toss and eventually wake up on my back in the morning and this mattress is great for both. I haven't tested it sleeping belly down. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 25, 2013

Comfy!

Model Number: 582193
" The only reason I didn't give this purchase 5 stars is because we've only had it a month. Curious to see how many years it lasts. We've slept great on this mattress since the first day we had it! No more back aches in the morning. One thing that is not mentioned when you make your purchase is to MAKE SURE YOU PUT your memory foam mattress ON PLYWOOD OR OTHER FLAT SURFACE. We put plywood over our original base,(box spring) and put the memory foam mattress on top of that. It's perfect. It's much shorter than our old bed but definitely not lacking in comfort. The odor from the new foam was not overpowering and we were able to sleep on it the first night we had it. The smell disappeared within a day. I love how this mattress cradles your body. I can now sleep on my side or stomach which I couldn't do with our old mattress because over time it had formed a slight dip in the middle. I don't for see that happening to this type of mattress since it doesn't have any springs. Time will tell, but I think overall this was a great purchase! "
Review 4 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ..
Date:January 3, 2012

FANTASTC SERVICE

Pros: both product and service, none so far
Model Number: Sleep Sieince Queen size 8' mattress
" I ordered one for my self and was sooo happy I then ordered one for my mother. She has a bad back problem and has had three back operations and a lot of added hardware installed. Up to this point she has only been able to catch short naps in a reclining chair and not able to use a bed in years.
I ordered the bed 1 week before Christmas and she received it in just 4 business days from my order. FANTASTIC service and even received a call from the president of Sleep Science[so much for the surprise. NO PROBLEM]
She slept on it Christmas eve and had her first all night sleep on a mattress in several years. The product was even better than the service.
I am TOTALLY pleased with the product and just as pleased with the service and the follow up.
WAY TO GO COSTCO AND SLEEP SCIENCE You made this Christmas the best in years for our family AND Dreams to come. THANK YOU!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2012

Great Choice!

Pros: super comfortable and affordable!, doesn't make you hot; breathes well, one of the best decisions i have made for awhile!
Cons: none buy it!
Model Number: Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
" For more years than I care to remember, I have had morning backaches, especially upon waking, so I finally decided to try this mattress. So many people said they liked it and, hey, it was Costco - what could be the risk? I could return it if it wasn't any good. Well, I am so glad I did! The very first morning, I woke up without a backache, no kidding! The bed did not smell funny, after airing, as some people have said, and it was ready to go in about 2 hours (filling back up with air). I was even able to manage the box, opening the bed, and setting it up by myself and I am a 57 year old woman (I walked the box down the hall). It is much lower than my previous mattress (12 inches vs 8 inches) so it looked a little funny for awhile, but the sheets stay on (because it is heavy once the air fills) and it is soooo comfortable! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:February 2, 2012

Priced right and 8 inches is plenty!

" I bought this bed when it was $50 off last month or so. I am 5'7 130lbs and before it arrived I thought 8 inches would be too thin for a memory foam, and could imagine myself sinking to the bottom. I am a side sleeper and this is perfect. Not too firm, not too soft. I don't get hot in the middle of the night. Sure I would have liked a 10-inch just to make it look higher, but I could not justify the price difference. I didn't know a lot about the company but I know if anything unnatural starts happening with this mattress, Costco will stand behind this product. Will try to give an update in a couple months to let you all know how it's holding up. So far so good! "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2011

Love this mattress!

Model Number: 582193
" Within 24 hours of ordering my Sleep Science 8" Mattress, I received a call from the president of the company, thanking me for my purchase. Amazing customer service! When I received my mattress a few days later, I rushed to set it up. I have scoliosis and have heard raves for the help it gives for those who have chronic pain like me. After seeing the high prices for Tempur-Pedic mattresses and reading rave reviews for Sleep Science, I decided to give it a try and I can honestly say, after sleeping on it for almost a week now, I have no back pain! This is amazing!! I highly recommend this mattress! A superb product at a fraction of the cost! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:April 14, 2014

hot hot hot!

Pros: costco's great return policy
Cons: you sink deep into the mattress and its very hot!
" Was excited to receive this mattress after reading all the reviews. Our old mattress had a memory foam topper which we liked so assumed we would like a memory foam mattress. But, this truly was a case of to each his own! We found the mattress to be very soft and hot! It was like sleeping in a hole, and it was difficult to roll out of this hot hole! We felt as if the bed was swallowing us! We are average to below average size so not sure why we would sink so much. We tried for over a month to get used to this new bed and just became walking zombies from lack of sleep. Costco was great and came and picked it up! "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montebello, CA
Date:August 3, 2012

It took no time to get used to it.

" We went ahead and ordered this mattress, since our traditional mattress had developed a big crater in the middle. After reading some of the comments, I was prepared for a period of adjustment and the foul odor many talked about. Taking it out of the box there was no odor that I could smell. Even after putting it on the bed, no bad odors were present. The first night we slept on it was just like if we were sleeping on a mattress that we had used for years, meaning there was no period of adjustment. This made me sleep the entire night without tossing or turning. We both are glad we made this purchase. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 25, 2013

It IS a Dream!

Pros: great warranty and/or return policy, affordable, high quality, fast shipping
Cons: only available online
Model Number: 582193
" After reading LOTS of reviews online, we finally ordered the Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress online on 08/16/2013. It arrived on 8/20/2013 via FedEx Home Delivery (from Pomona, CA) in a 67 lb box. It is really wrapped well inside the box - make sure you have a large area in which to open it. The only odor I noticed was when I initially first opened it and it began fluffing up. We let it settle on the floor for 72 hours. Slept on it for the first time last night and it was quite possibly the best sleep I've had in ages. "
Review 11 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 10, 2013

Way too soft

" After reading all the positive reviews we ordered this mattress. It was very easy to set up and took little time to "inflate". There was no center hump that some of the other memory foam mattresses have. Unfortunately, the mattress is much too soft - you sink right down into it and it cradles you making it much too hot. I woke up with a killer backache, although my husband didn't seem to mind it too much. We both determined we need something more firm. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Excellent Comfort

" I bought this Mattress in October for my King-Sized bed and I honestly can say I've never slept better. Trust me, I did a ton of research on mattresses. My friend paid $5,000 for the same type of mattress but with a more marketed name...it's the same darn mattress!!! So when it came time to buy another one for my guest bedroom, I had no qualms going for this product through Costco. The product is amazing and the customer service from Costco is amazing "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 1, 2011

Great mattress

Pros: comfort coolness, ease of delivery and setup
" This mattress arrived very quickly by Fedex. Once the box was opened and the compressed mattress was removed from the plastic it took about 15 minutes to expand to normal size. Pretty amazing.
I get very hot at night while sleeping, sometimes waking up in a sweat. I haven't had any temperature problems since using this mattress. It usually takes some time to adjust to a new mattress but, for me, this one was comfortable right off the bat. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:July 22, 2015

Perfect

" We bought this mattress for the teardrop trailer my husband built. It was actually 4" too long so we thought we would have to cut it. We laid it in with each end touching each end of the trailer then we got on and it adjusted to the space perfectly! Wall to wall bed. We took the camper out for its maiden voyage and the mattress is a dream. I would sleep in the teardrop when we are home! I LOVE this mattress. "
Review 15 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011

Back Saver

Pros: confortable nights sleep
Cons: none yet
Model Number: 582193
" I'm a retired police officer with a job related back injury. Over the years I have tried all of the popular mattress brands including the tempurpedic and traditional spring mattress.
None of the aforementioned have come close to the Sleep Science Dream " Queen
in providing me a comfortable nights sleep.
The dream provides support and comfort
I highly recommend it.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 27, 2014

From all the positive reviews very disappointed.

Pros: fits old foundation., priced competitively.
Cons: not as soft as led to believe. firmer than orginal, no handles. hard to handle by one person., unable to try in store before buying.
Model Number: Model:8-64-Q
" Having slept on the ORIGINAL 8" Memory Foam mattress for 20+ years we were extremely disappointed the Sleep Science Dream 8" Mattress was none softer. I've a bad back. My wife is severely arthritic. As to repackaging it in the same box as required for return via FedEx, forget it. It will not compress. So, it will be used as a guest bed. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clearwater , Florida
Date:August 16, 2011

Great Compromise

" I was concerned that a foam matress would be too hot for me, but at this price I could take a chance. I am glad I did. It works as it is stated, the center foam core helps to keep the mattress from holding body heat. I am tall and 195lbs. , my wife is shorter and lighter and we both sleep well. We have owned it for several weeks. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lawrenceville, GA
Date:August 1, 2012

GREAT value!

Pros: value
Cons: takes a few nights to get used to sleeping on., had stiff back 1st week but fine now.
" Needed a new mattress and read all the great reviews and decided to try it. One of the best purchases I've ever made. Worried that 8" foam would not be enough, but it is fine for me, I'm 5-10, 170 lbs. Would have paid over $1,000 for this quality. Costco is outstanding-ordered on Tuesday, received on Thursday!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014

Comfortable but does has a bit of a smell

Pros: accommodating feel
Cons: lingering smell
" I've had this mattress for about two weeks now and sleep quite well on it. Like all memory foam, it is firm but accommodating to ones body which I really enjoy. I let the mattress air out for a few days because of the factory chemical smell. The mattress still has a lingering smell but its not nearly as bad "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 5, 2013

A Good Night's Sleep

Pros: not too heavy not too thick not too firm., not too expensive.
Model Number: Sleep Science Dream 8" Queen Memory Foam Mattress - Item# 582193
" Shipped quickly and not hard to move since it is only 80lbs, not 100lbs like the 14 in memory foam mattresses. Let it air out a couple of days. Took a few nights to get used to it, but after 2 weeks I can say that it was a good choice for a back and side sleeper. Not too firm, not too soft. "
1 2 next>>