Customer Reviews for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer

Average Customer Rating:
3.292 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
14 of 24(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 28, 2013

Great function - poor supplies

Pros: fast printing and scanning
Cons: limited use for cartridge, cant find replacement cartridges, even oki website is on backorder
Model Number: MB451w
"The printer and scanner work very well. My only regret is that the cartridge is almost empty after light use for a few months. Every where I check, they are out of this cartridge. Shouldn't Costco supply cartridges for printers that they sell."
Review 2 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Missoula, MT
Date:August 17, 2013

Get What You Pay For

Pros: network scanning works pretty well., scanned images are decent quality., low cost.
Cons: everything else.
Model Number: MD451w
"The review comments on short toner life are right on. I'm going to start tracking how many/few pages I'm getting per toner cartridge. It's noisy and I'm not talking about fan noise. It squeaks and sounds like they didn't lubricate a single gear. It pulls a LOT of current when it first starts, which I understand helps reduce the amount of time to first page output, but this unit dims the lights (and my old Brother didn't). I wish I would have stuck with Brother."
Review 3 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 9, 2013

Waste of money

Pros: looks good
Cons: expensive to operate toner does not last long
"Total garbage. Looks nice and sleek, but controls are not intuitive at all. Toner has a chip which will shut down machine saying you need to replace it even though it is still printing ok. I had to buy this chip in China to use the toner efficiently. Still, according to my calculations, it is 3.4 times more expensive to operate that printer than to operate Brother."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:June 18, 2013

OKI data has no product support

Pros: low initial price
Cons: high priced laser cartridges.
"Purchased OKI data MFP laser printer and could not use over 1 and a half years as OKI data did not develop printer drivers for windows 7 and newer versions of operating systems."
Review 5 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:June 17, 2013

Recognized and Set Up on Network, still wont print

Pros: makes good use of the usb port for file transfer
Cons: wast of money
"Go elsewhere for wireless printing. Will not print form any windows computer on network although all software says it is funciioning. Can only copy file to usb and then print from that. No scan function either.
Not Recommended.
"
Review 6 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:June 8, 2013

Amazing Value

Pros: duplex printing, duplex scanning, postscript support, native scan-to-email (not driver-based), wireless, inexpensive
Cons: no color (but hard to expect color for this price), user interface isn't shiny
Model Number: MB451w
"I bought this having never owned an OKI product before, and not knowing what I was getting myself into. But from reading the online specifications, this seemed to pack in an amazing number of features for the price, and with Costco's satisfaction guarantee, I was willing to give it a try.
I don't print alot-- in fact, so infrequently that inkjet print heads dry up on me-- so I knew I wanted a laser printer.
I scan frequently, and love that the document feeder can duplex automatically. This saves me tons of time and aggravation.
I have been burned by past printer and scanner purchases where drivers stopped working with new operating system releases and manufacturers didn't bother making updates. I knew I wanted a PostScript-capable printer since I can print with a generic driver indefinitely, even should OKI choose not to build new drivers for this model in the future-- this model supports PostScript and provides a PostScript printer definition file.
I also knew I wanted *native* scan-to-email, should OKI choose not to provide updated scan drivers, and this model has it. What most manufacturers in this price range call "scan-to-email" is driver support for scanning to email through a connected computer. This model supports scanning to email without being connected to a computer.
The PostScript support and native scan to email make this a great choice for Linux users, or even Mac or Windows users who don't want to install lots of drivers on their computer.
This model also has wireless, so I can tuck it away in a closet rather than having to dedicate space for it in my home office.
This model doesn't have color, but for the price I couldn't expect it. Color is not very important to me anyway.
The user interface isn't the best. Many competitive models have touchscreens. Once I got used to the interface and how to navigate around it quickly, I was fine. I can see where some people could have difficulty, especially with initial configuration.
This model has every feature I wanted, and the next best option was more than double the price. If you're more concerned about value and feature set than color and whiz-bang UI, then this model is really a steal. Overall a fantastic buy for what I wanted."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Gate, CA
Date:June 4, 2013

Easy Setup if you can follow directions

Pros: ezy setup and install would by another :)
Cons: it wasnt under 100.00 lol
Model Number: OKI MB451W
"After reading all the prior reviews about how difficult it was to setup this wireless printer, I have to disagree with what others had to say. Im not a networking person and own both a MAC and a PC, and didnt call customer support either to set this up all in all about an hour and that included opening up the box and installing the drivers on the pc and finding it on the network ezy pie !!! and great print quality and lots of options and features great Product Oki Data :)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:June 2, 2013

Best for Price

Pros: laser network scanner duplex scanner/printer
Cons: none for the price
Model Number: MB451w
"The MB451 was purchased online and was delivered promptly. I could not find another laser, network scanner, duplex scanner, duplex printer, fax, multi sheet feed copier, multifunction within a $100.00 of the delivered price of this OKI. We unboxed and installed the OKI on a wired network within minutes. We are delighted with the OKI but we have only run 3000+ through this unit. The only jammed scans/copies were from paper that were crumpled beyond recognition or heavy cardstock which should not have been run through the sheet feeder but instead scanned from the flat glass scanner. We were skeptical about purchasing the OKI-451 at the low price and have been delighted with the performance and quality. We retired 2 old printers and the OKI is now our primary printer. The OKI 451 has all the options and speed for the professional office at a price for the average user. With all the wireless security protocols that the OKI supports I would suspect to keep your wireless network secure the wireless network novice should budget to have this printer professionally installed. If you want a laser printer LOADED with options and a low price this is the perfect printer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frederick, MD
Date:May 28, 2013

Very good printer and good techinical support

Model Number: MB451W
"The printer provided easy wi-fi set up. However, there are no instructions how to set up scan to computer. I call the technical support to make it work. The technical support is very knowledgeable and friendly 24/7 that better than Brother (no phone# provide). The design is very smart and great price to all in one in laser printer market. I would thanks to OKI DATA."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SW Michigan and Chicago
Date:May 24, 2013

Good machine but ya need a degree in IT

Pros: good copy quality, great for duplex printing and scanning
Cons: set-up is a nightmare!, frequent scanner bulb malfunction
Model Number: MB451w
"Good copy quality. Great for duplex printing and scanning. Set-up is a nightmare! What were they thinking? Oh, they weren't. Frequent error: scanner lamp malfunction that requires cleaning the glass and/or turning off the machine"
Review 11 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:May 2, 2013

Good for basic printing, faxing, scanning

Pros: sturdy meets basic needs cheap! decent speed, many useful options
Cons: advanced setup user interface power consumption, larger than expected
Model Number: oki mb451w
"I'm an IT person and I must say that this has the most difficult interface/configuration of any printer I have worked with. Setting up for basic printing, faxing, scanning is easy enough. Just make sure to give a static IP by entering it manually because it likes to get new IP address all the time if you use DHCP. But if you want more advanced settings such as faxing, scanning to an email or networked drive, then this thing is a nightmare to set up. It does not use well known standards and protocols or one that no one ever use anymore. Inconsistent wording and an attempt to use regular eveyday language for setup instruction makes the configuration harder to understand. It asks you question to fill out forms and use that for setup. Some you don't know what it's asking your or why. I will definitely have to call support to help with the setup. Would not recommend if you are computer phobic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2013

Nice machine once it is connected

Pros: double sided printing, double sided scanning
Cons: switching from wireless to wired setup difficult, some features aren't easy to use, paperport didn't work with windows 8 pro
Model Number: MB451w
"I've connected four computers to this printer using Windows XP, 7 & 8 plus Linux Mint on two boxes (dual boot) but it wasn't easy. Oki support is very helpfull and patient if you need them. The connectivity software is not automated enough find the printer IP address if you switch from wireless to wired. I had to manually make changes on each computer twice, once for the printer feature and once for the scanner. The manuals on the supplied disk are not the best. However once everything is working and you have learned how to use it it is nice. It does double sided printing and double side scanning plus it was cheap."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:April 22, 2013

Liked it so much I bought another!

Pros: 24/7 tech support!, cheap toner ($45 delivered + tax), it's a laser printer...great print quality!, it's light colored; much easier to see than black, feels/operates like a sturdy piece of equipment
Cons: long time to setup (spent 3+hours on tech support), avoid connectivity issues; set ip address manually
Model Number: MB451w MFP
"I needed a cheap laser printer for use at my elderly parents' home, where I've set up an office, as I take care of them. Their ancient inkjet printer didn't have compatible hookups for my MacBook. Beyond that, I don't use a printer enough, so that the ink often dries out, rendering the machine unreliable.
A Costco electronics geek recommended a laser printer, instead of inkjet, as a way to deal with the reliability issue.
Found this model on Costco.com for a great price...was somewhat concerned about it being too cheap (as in, what's wrong with it?) But, generally, I'm very happy with it, so much so, that I bought a second printer of the same model to use in my place in Pittsburgh.
They do exactly what I need to do in my home office...copy multiple documents, scan multiple documents...I can create duplex documents, and scan multiple duplex documents, which nearly instantly appear in a file on my desktop...
I have one model hardwired to the wifi modem, and have wireless communication with it. While, at my home, I have the printer connected wirelessly to my wifi network, so it only needed a power source to function.
The tech service varied, by the individual, for installing/activating various feature, such as scanning, but I found that if I communicated what I wanted to do with the machine, the techs were eventually able to get me where I wanted to be.
Sometimes I need a printer in the middle of the night, so being able to call OKI's 24/7 Tech Support for an issue arising at 3:30 am is a big help...in all cases, we got the matters resolved.
Two thumbs up, guys!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Okemos, MI
Date:April 18, 2013

Good Buy and Super machine

Model Number: MB451w
"Bought this from costco web site. Good price for this super laser printer with WiFi. Easy to setup and no any issue. Just want to mention I am IT person."
Review 15 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bothell, WA
Date:March 25, 2013

MB451w

Pros: double sided scanning
Cons: set up and understanding all the features a bit co
Model Number: MB451W
"Good, no great printer for a small office. fast output and the key feature for me was the double siding scanning then saving to the computer. Set up could have been easier but once up and running and figured things out I love it. I am a tax accountant so I live and breath by my copier. Had it for 5 months now and it's been a good one."
Review 16 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ashburn, VA
Date:March 17, 2013

Very Nice & Valuable

"Very nice mulifunction for this price, very economical and so quit, so far I'm happy for this perches."
Review 17 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:chicago,il
Date:March 11, 2013

dissatisfied buyer

Pros: inexpensive, really fast
Cons: not user friendly esp the networking, purchasing of supplies is a big hassle stack up, costco doesnt even carry the toner at local store
Model Number: mb451w
"you better watch out, it will give you a lot of headaches when you install or try to networwk this with other computers. Also, you may want to buy a lot of toners to avoid the hassle of waiting online when you need it. really amazed me that costco doesnt carry the toner at the local store...I am returning this product today."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 5, 2013

Great price!

Model Number: MB451w
"The price is great, but the wireless settings are difficult. I have a Netgear Router which does not have a Push Pin for configuration."
Review 19 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:S.F. Bay Area
Date:February 28, 2013

Good COPIER bad networked device

Pros: nice copy machine
Cons: networking interface and set-up., wireless set up, configuration
Model Number: MB451W
"If you only want a copy machine, then it is very nice. But, the networking interface is virtually impossible to set up. In fact, I have only put two hours into it and gave up untill I have a few more hours to call customer service.
In comparison to my Lexmark Pro 905, which used simple, easy to run interface, this Oki is TERRIBLE. Shame on you OKI for pushing out this junky and complicated printer interface. Truly an abomination and only suitable
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for OKI MB451w Wireless Digital LED Black & White Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:February 28, 2013

Great deal on a laser printer!

"I received my printer about 2 weeks ago for use in tax preparation for clients. Everything has gone without a hitch, this has been a great printer at an awesome price. No problems setting up the wireless for me, and everything works great, including multipage scanning and copying.
Since the printer is so inexpensive I have been using it carefully to avoid paper jams and sometimes you have to wait a couple seconds for the software to load for the scan to computer option, but I kind of expected that for a value priced product. I would recommend!"
1 2 next>>