Customer Reviews for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe

First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe

The First Alert 2087DF-BD .94-Cubic Foot Digital Waterproof and Fire Resistant Bolt-Down Safe is UL classified for 1-hour to withstand an external temperature of 1700-degrees Fahrenheit, while maintaining an internal temperature of less than 350-degrees Fahrenheit. The safe has been tested by an independent testing lab and verified to protect electronic media including memory sticks, CD’s, DVD’s and external hard drives. In addition, the safe will protect documents, electronics, and other valuables. The safe's concealed hinges are designed to resist prying and is waterproof even when fully submerged. The Ready-Seal™ safe is the only safe in the industry that can be bolted to the floor and remain waterproof and fire resistant with the warranty completely intact. Features: Pry-resistant concealed hinges Programmable digital lock with override key Digital media protection (4) live locking door bolts Fire resistant Waterproof even when fully submerged Adjustable storage shelf, key rack, and door pocket Ready-Seal™ technology 5-year limited warranty Specifications: Sensor: Digital Warranty Claim: 5-year limited warranty Package Type: Box Color: Slate Inside dimensions: 12.88-inches high by 10.38-inches wide by 12.25-inches deep Shipping Specifications (Individual Package Information): 17.8" x 15" x 19.8" (LxWxH) Weight: 83 lbs Model: 2087DF-BD
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
(out of 6 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 of 6(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe
Review 1 for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corona CA 92882
Date:January 20, 2013

Bolt-Down

Cons: should be removed from store shelves.
Model Number: First Alert 2087DF-BD .94-Cubic Foot
"This product should be recalled for the following reason. When the Safe is bolted down to the floor with the 1/2" bolt it is very deceiving, you would think no person in the world can carry it out and run with it. I am 155lbs. Testing this feature, within 10 seconds I yanked the safe out spilling its inner parts out, leaving 2" round hole in its bottom. This safe have All plastic attachment, poorly done. very deceiving safe."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By Costco BuyerOffice SuppliesAugust 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding the First Alert Safe. The safe can be secured to the floor by using the bolt-down kit which contains a main locking screw at 1-1/16" and six additional screws at 1" each. The kit is shipped with the safe. Again, thank you for your comments regarding the First Alert Safe.
Review 2 for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:November 9, 2012

A good value for the price

Cons: manufacturer suggest opening and airing the safe, out for 20 minutes every two weeks is a nuisance., also not advertised is that it is not recommended, for storage of fire arms.
Model Number: First Alert 2087DF-BD '
"This safe is what I have been looking for for several years. It provides every thing I needed. It is spacious inside with an adjustable shelf. Installing the bolting to the floor system was easy and gives me more theft protection plus the additional fire and water protection. Very easy to set your own security code and to operate."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:November 4, 2013

Office safe

Pros: easy to program, bolt down feature, price is right
Cons: smallish
Model Number: 2087DF-BD
"For my purposes, this safe worked great. I have a separate gun safe so I wasn't worried about that, but I needed a small safe for my office where I could store titles, passports, birth certificates, deeds, hard drives with pictures, and other important docs. This was the only one I found that was waterproof and could bolt down. Because I have a basement office, being waterproof was important to me. My basement has flooded before."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County California
Date:November 3, 2013

Note! This is not a Gun safe or a security safe!

Pros: it works for documents...period!
Cons: not made to be a security safe or gun safe., not for valuables!
"It's not supposed to be!
It is simply a DOCUMENT safe..you lock up your important papers, will, old pictures, passports, etc.
That's what it is made for. If you store guns in it, your gun will rust. If you store money, jewelry, car pink slips, etc...you can lose them when the bad guy breaks if open with just a hammer!
Thats why it's water proof,with a seal in th door to keep water out, it is made to resist water from the firemen from getting into your papers and damaging them!
I repeat...don't store cash, valuables of firearms inside this safe! Buy a gun rated safe for guns, and a security safe for valuables! Or get a safe deposit box from your bank!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:October 28, 2012
Pros: easy to use. good price on sale.
Cons: not disign for firearm.
Model Number: The First Alert 2087DF-BD .94-Cubic
"I got the product at time and UPS deliver to the apartment door. I bought First Alert 2087DF-BD .94-Cubic few weeks ago. I was planning to use it for firearm, but in instruction I found the safe is not design for firearm storage. The second issue is you have to open the safe every 2 weeks to dry the moisture. On the end the door wasn't lock when I move the handle to 6PM. I called the First Alert customer service and informed about door problem. I got advice to return the product back to COSTCO. It doesn’t looks like company QA checked the product, because it is a simple test to check if the safe locked."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for First Alert 0.94 Cubic Ft. Digital Ready-Seal™ Waterproof Fire Resistant Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:April 11, 2014

Exactly What I hoped for...

Pros: small in size - but plenty of room inside.
"I was looking for a small safe that could fit into a tight space and also be bolted to the floor. I looked over the specs of this safe online and compared it to a few others. It was a shot in the dark but when it came I was very pleased with my purchase.
It was very easy to set-up and the only issue I had when it camp to securing it to the floor is that the hardware sent with the safe is to fasten it to a wood surface and I was wanting to bolt it to concrete. I easily found the type of screws I needed at a big box store and the process was simple once I had all the necessary equipment."