Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer

The High Performance 575 W motor with a Flour Power™ Index of 13 cups delivers the power to mix enough dough for seven 1 lb loaves of bread or eleven dozen cookies.  The combination of the legendary power hub and all the various KitchenAid attachments gives you maximum versatility to make homemade pasta, stuff fresh sausage, whip up ice cream and give fruit a squeeze.  The 10-speed slide control ranges from a very fast whip to a very slow stir. It comes with a flat beater, dough hook and wire whip. Also included is the KitchenAid Flex Edge Scraper beater, the only approved scraper beater for the mixer that ensures optimal operation of the mixer, while offering faster ingredient incorporation with minimal heat build-up. No wonder generations of cooks have cherished this beautiful and powerful addition to the kitchen. Attachments (Included): White Coated Flat Beater Flex-Edge Scraper Beater Dough Hook 6-wire Whip Features: 575 W motor 5.5 quart stainless steel bowl with comfort handle Flex Edge beater for complete mixing action All-metal gears with advanced controls Optimize in-bowl torque with less heat-build up 10 speeds to handle all your recipe needs Residential attachment hub Dimensions: 16" L x 12" W x 18" H Weight: 29 lbs. 1 year warranty Assembled with Pride in Greenville, Ohio Model: KV25MEX / 661133
Average Customer Rating:
3.217 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
8
13 of 23(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

disappointed

"I bought this to replace another KA mixer, in large part to increase capacity. Although this holds more,I have to make less, or clean up a kitchen disaster. Even the slowest speed is too fast, which causes ingredients to fly everywhere. Ironically, when making cookies, etc, it does not seem any more powerful. It is loud. And the scraper blade does not work well; plenty of manual scraping is still required."
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013

total disappointment

Pros: it looks nice
Cons: it didn't work (that's a big con)
"I bought this mixer with high hopes, it is a kitchenaid afterall. When I got it ready to start the "bowl to beater clearence" was too tight so I adjusted it per the instructions and it still kept hitting the bowl. It would hit the bowl so hard that it would knock the bowl off of the stand. The motor wasn't really loud, but the mixer didn't even work. So disappointed by it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 23, 2013

ignore the noise reviews

Pros: performance exceeds my expectation
Cons: was 1/2 an inch taller than costco said it was
Model Number: kv25mex
"I was nervous about ordering this product because of all the negative reviews. However, since Costco allows in store returns of items purchased on line I went ahead. I did not find it overly noisy at all. In fact, I ran it while the family was all still asleep and did not disturb anyone, not even the family dog. It performs very well and is a great addition to my kitchen."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Newport, ME
Date:February 13, 2013

Great REPLACEMENT

Pros: price
Cons: cheap accutraments
"I BOUGHT THIS TO REPLACE MY 10 YEAR OLD.
The new bowl is small and cheap. I put my old bowl on and it fits, I had to cannibalize the handle that raises the bowl and the spill guard as they do not come with this model. If you are buying your first, get a better model.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2013

Good product

Cons: none
Model Number: Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
"I really don't understand why the negative/unsatisfactory reviews of this mixer? I personally have no issues at all. Mixer works great; not much louder than the original model I had for 16 years. I do like the option of changing height of the bowl."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:missoula, Mt
Date:February 9, 2013

amazing mixer!!!! loved it!

Pros: easy to use, durable, gorgeous color, moderately quiet, doesn't slide all over counter
Cons: kinda hard to push bowl down so it snaps in place.
Model Number: KV25MEX / 661133
"I don't understand the negative reviews! This isn't a very loud mixer at all, and even with how powerful the motor is! The prices really can't be beat if you want a new mixer at this size and this amount of wattage. I have already started using mine, and love it! I did alot of research, and am very glad I decided on this one! I'd totally recommend it to anyone! I got the onyx black :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 28, 2013

I love my mixer!

Pros: quiet, easy to use, wide variety of speeds to choose from
Cons: wish it came with the spatula blade
Model Number: Professional 5.5
"My husband and I finally decided to invest in a stand mixer for our kitchen. I LOVE IT! I am so glad we purhcased it! I wasn't sure how much I would use it since I don't make alot of bread. I use my mixer all the time, bananna bread, cookies, etc! And it looks beautiful sitting on my counter. I can't say enough good about this mixer! LOVE IT!"
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:January 20, 2013

Really Disappointed

Pros: pretty color
Cons: impossibly loud
Model Number: KV25MEXER
"I just got the 5.5 qt mixer and am bitterly disappointed. This one is to replace a tweleve year old KSM50P (5qt) which was getting a grinding sound, meaning the gears are about to go out. I owned a bakery in the past and had five of the 5qt mixers for more than 8 years before they gave up under very heavy use. Even with all five running on high speed the noise was not as loud as this one. On speed 3 it drowned out the radio and I had to shout to be heard over it. The kind of noise that makes you tense and frantic after awhile. I will contact KitchenAid and may try a replacement to see if I got a 'lemon' but this one is going back! There is nothing relaxing about using a mixer this loud. I actually considered getting out earplugs to finish my cookies. The paddle also does not get close enough to the bowl sides so creaming butter and sugar took forever. I had to scrape more than ever before making cookies, despite the assurances of the packaging that scraping wouldn't be necessary. They have improved the 'pocket' on the bottom of the bowl so the beater scrapes better there. Now I have to decide if I'll get my old one fixed or try a different new one. What a dissapointment."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:January 10, 2013

Not good for making bread or pasta

Pros: looks great
Cons: shoddily made
"I bought one of these to replace one that died that I had had for about 15 years. The first one I purchased died while I was making pasta with the pasta attachment. It was only 4 months old. I returned it and got a replacement thinking it was a defective one. The new one died within a month! That one died while kneading bread. I read the users manual and did exactly as it said to for kneading bread. Both of the mixers sounded like the gears stripped out. A very loud grinding sound followed by a snapping sound and then the mechanics just stopped working. I returned the second one and bought a small Bosch mixer that works great! I would not ever buy a Kitchen aid again. Very disappointed."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF
Date:January 6, 2013

Excellent mixer but ear splitting loud

Pros: good overall quality
Cons: even on low speed the motor is very loud
"I'll join the chorus of reviews that claim this thing is loud. There are other reviews that claim we mustn't be reading the manual. My guess: the quality varies quite a bit on this unit. Even on low speed, this machine is LOUD!! I high speed can I can't talk, heck, I can't yell, to the person right next to me. I mean, REALLY loud. I've had a KitchenAid for over 20 years and really wanted to like this. The overall mixing quality is superb, I just can't use it with noise levels like this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:irvine. ca
Date:January 5, 2013

love it!

Pros: mixes great powerful motor sturdybeautiful
Cons: need instructions on snapping bowl in place
Model Number: kv25mex
"I have been wanting a KitchenAid for about 20 years. I decided it was time to treat myself. I am so thrilled with my purchase. I also cannot understand the critical reviews. Compared to my cheap hand mixer, it wasn't loud at all. The attachments work beautifully. It's great to slow the speed down and add ingredients as you're mixing. I do think there should be an added instruction about how to put on the bowl. It took me a half hour to find out I was doing it incorrectly. You must place the holes on the "buttons" at the same time and then with force, push down on the bowl to snap down. it's easy once you figure it out. The red is gorgeous. I love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:January 2, 2013

No Pouring Shield Will Fit :(

Pros: works like a charm
Cons: not a supported model of kitchenaid
Model Number: KV25MEXCU5
"I just talked with KitchenAid and this is not a supported model. This is a Costco Exclusive model. The only downside (and the only reason I am giving this 4 stars and not 5) is that the bowl has a flanged edge and therefore, the pouring shields that KitchenAid makes will not fit this model. I'm surprised neither Costco nor KitchenAid make one for it. The only solution they gave was that you can buy a 5 or 6 qt bowl with a normal edge then get a shield for it. Lame...I know! Other than that it works great!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:soCal
Date:December 28, 2012

great mixer

Pros: heavy duty
Model Number: 5.5 qt
"I too cannot figure out the bad reviews. This is a great mixer for a great price. Yes, it is noisier than my Kitchenaid Classic - it's a MUCH bigger mixer (far more powerful). No problems and I have had it almost 1 year now. I mix heavy cookie batters, and heavy buttercream icings."
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Valley, CA
Date:December 23, 2012

Don't listen to other reviews, best purchase ever!

"I do not usually write reviews, but after registering my KitchenAid I went through some of these reviews and I was astonished by people's comments.
My fiance purchased this mixer for me in early November and I couldn't be happier! I have used it many (15+) times and have made everything from cookies to mashed potatoes. This is my first KitchenAid, but my future mother-in-law has one that is 20+ years old and loves it.
-With that said, it is NOT as loud as a jet engine! It does make some noise, but about the same as a hand mixer.
-The bowl is a great size. It is wider than the old ones, but going back and looking at those, I wonder how you could fit anything in it. I can fit a huge serving of mashed potatoes in mine, whereas my mother-in-law (4-4.5 quart) had to do two batches. The mixer still gets everything mixed very well.
-The attachment with the silicon strip is fantastic!! I mainly use that one and is about $40 if purchased separately. It is an amazing bonus to this machine.
-About the comments of people's attachments hitting the side of the bowl or bottom, in the instructions it specifically tells you how to adjust the lift up or down depending on attachments or whatever you need by turning a screw on the side. I have left this how it came out of the box and has been perfect. Please read your instructions before you post negative reviews!
-It is easy to hook the bowl in. I don't know what is so difficult. You just place the tabs in the pins and push down. Super easy, just one try. To pull it back off, just pull up.
-Yes, you have to take the attachments off to pull the bowl out, but if you think about it logically, it doesn't matter! You would have to take it off to clean it. Even if you are starting another batch of the same thing, you have to take it off even if you had the tilt head because everything would drip all over your machine. It is very easy, just unhook, hold the attachment while you pop out the bowl and put the attachment in the sink/one tray/etc.
I love my mixer and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great mixer. I think it would be a great upgrade for previous KitchenAid owners or a great starter machine like mine! I plan on having mine for a very long time!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:December 16, 2012

What's Not to Love-fits every residential cooker

Pros: cost cost cost, white coated attachments, all metal gear head, great size that doesn't overwelm
Cons: doesn't slide on counter easily-chair pads fix it
Model Number: KV25MEX
"READ the INSTRUCTIONS before using!!! Human error would be the only reason this machine would not meet and exceed every expectation you have. After researching and reviewing KitchenAid for months, seriously like 4+ months I decided to go with this model and size from Costco for several primary reasons: I was able to go to Costco where one was on display and totally took it apart, messed with it, checked all components, made sure it was the right size to fit under my cabinets and committed to the "lift-bowl" feature vs. the "tilt-head". Price was my biggest factor, wish I was made of $$$ but alas, I am not, so for the price this was an amazing size motor and capaticity. The entire grear head is ALL METAL, so the review about plastic is totally bunk. This model is all metal. I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL BAKER/COOKER...I am a mom who cooks for my family and for all the needs a "normal" family would want this product delivers. It is not noisy like one review stated, it does not crawl (in fact I had to place chair leg pads under it so I could easily slide it on the counter for frequent use). Bowl and attachments clean up with simple rinsing after use. The white attachments were a major bonus due to the tarnished look of the metal ones. Seriously, this is an amazing machine that will easily handle all your needs. You have to try really hard to find fault with it. Use it as recommended and it will last forever!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Illinois
Date:December 14, 2012

I don't understand the other reviews

Pros: handles lots of heavy dough power is there
Cons: wish they offered a few more colors
"My mom got a 300W Kitchen Aid about 7-8 years ago. This thing is no louder than hers, and hers can't handle the heavy doughs like this Pro model can. I got mine frmo Costco last year (same ones). I've got no big issues at all. Yes the bowl is wider, hence why it's 5.5 quarts. And yes wish I got the new rubber edged attachment for cookie doughs etc, and I know many people with OLD mixers buying that same attachment now. Anyways, it was good buy and a good price. Enjoy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Already Broken

"I had a KitchenAid for over 12 years, and it finally needed a new piece. We took out the old, metal part, and replaced it with the new, plastic piece they sent us. Needless to say, it didn't last long. So, I bought this machine. It is already broken in less than a year. I will not buy from a company that uses plastic parts. No more KitchenAid mixers for me. Do not buy this. You may love it in the beginning, but it will not last. The days of great KitchenAids are over."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

sounds like a jet engine

Pros: mixes fine
Cons: loud!
"This thing is EXTREMELY loud. I've used it around 5 times or so, but I am going to return it because I can barely hear my TV when this thing is on. It mixes just fine... but the noise it makes is a deal breaker.
I am going to wait for Costco to bring back the 6qt mixer. That model had 4 1/2 stars and people said it was much better mixer than this one."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SLC, Ut
Date:December 4, 2012

Not what i expected

Model Number: kitchenaid pro 5.5
"I am disapointed. I like to bake and it was a biggest reason I purchased this mixer. I will be short and highlight only what I don't like in this product.
1. the bowl is oversized - too wide
2. hooks hold the bowl and raise it up and down- very uncomfortable to place the bowl on hooks.. will take you several tries.
3 - too loud... like a jet plane.
4. not easy to remove the bowl after the mix is done, because of mixing attachments - they need to be unattached and dropped inside the bowl to be able to remove the bowl.
4. The attachments scrape the bottom of the bowl.
I am planning to return it and buy something smaller and easier to use."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:December 4, 2012

The hunt is over..

Pros: strength look and sound of a man-machine.
Cons: cmpy. should put nfl team logos on them now.
Model Number: KV25MEX / 661133
"Decorated Christmas trees are beautiful, the Golden Gate is nice, apple and cherry pies are sweet....but this mixer is ridicously spectacular!! I've been looking for mixer that had the price and dependability...this work of art had it all."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>