Customer Reviews for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™

DC44 Animal is the new Dyson Digital Slim™ vacuum cleaner – the cordless machine that doesn’t lose suction. It has been engineered for floor to ceiling cleaning. Powered by the Dyson digital motor, it is the most powerful cordless vacuum. It has an increased run time compared with DC35: 20 minutes of constant high suction. The motorized floor tool has anti-static carbon fiber filaments to remove fine dust from hard floors. A mini motorized tool removes pet hair and dust from awkward spaces and upholstery. DC44 Animal comes with a 2 year warranty – parts and labor. Features: Patented Root Cyclone™ technology for strong constant suction Dyson digital motor creates the most powerful cordless vacuum Center of gravity located towards the grip for easy handling up top, down low and in-between Motorized floor tool with anti-static carbon fiber filaments for hard floors and stiff nylon brushes for carpets Double the cleaner head power of DC35 to drive bristles deeper into the carpet with more force Fade-free nickel manganese cobalt battery releases its charge evenly 20 minutes of constant high suction – a boost mode enables 8 minutes of higher suction power for difficult tasks Detachable long-reach wand made from lightweight aluminum Motorized head attaches directly to the machine for cleaning stairs and car interiors Mini motorized tool removes pet hair and dust from awkward spaces and upholstery Articulating cleaner head – pivots 180° without losing floor contact Hygienic bin emptying – just push the button to release the dirt Combination accessory tool – nozzle converts to a brush tool for dusting Crevice tool for cleaning in tight gaps and narrow spaces Dimensions: 44.1” x 9.1” x 11.8” Weight: 5.07 lbs. Warranty: 2 years parts and labor Includes: Dyson DC44 Animal cordless vacuum cleaner Mini motorized tool Multi angle brush Combination accessory tool Crevice tool Extension hose For further product related questions please call Dyson at 1-866-275-9006 Model: DC44 / 25459-01
Average Customer Rating:
4.689 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1707 Reviews) 1633
(out of 1,707 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,707 reviews)
5 stars
1,282
4 stars
371
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
19
1,647 of 1,707(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Review 1 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 23, 2012

Dyson upwright slim vacum cleaner

"I have the lower model & it is works very well.I like the newer model with longer charged battery time."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 4, 2012

My best cleaner

"This was that what I wanted for long time. It's light, handy/easy to operate, powerful and not so noisy. It picks up my dog's hair very well."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, CA
Date:January 7, 2013

Mostly good, but one BAD design flaw!

Pros: great suction, light weight, easy to empty, easy to switch from handheld to floor style, easy to change out attachments
Cons: no "on" switch must keep the trigger pressed, sounds like a blow dryer, charging cord little too short for docking design, must return to charger or will be dead next use
Model Number: DC 44 / 25459-01
"I have only had this vacuum a week, so I can't give a review on durability. I purchased this for hardwood floor use primarily and, I know now, I definitely wouldn't want this for a whole-house carpet vacuum. That said, it is light weight and maneuvers easily in tight corners. It has great suction for pet hair. (I also used the upholstery attachment on my couch for pet hair and it worked better than most vacuums I've tried.) The bagless "cup" is simple to empty, however, the contents often get stuck and have to be plucked out. Other than that, the only three negatives I have are, first and foremost, there is no "on switch." The index finger must hold the trigger in to keep the motor running. (Picture a blow dryer that has a trigger instead of an "on" switch. Now aim your blow dryer toward the floor and this how this unit feels in my hand during use.) So while I'm vacuuming, the unit will suddenly shut off and I realize I have let up on the trigger too much (Dyson, what were you thinking with this design??) Secondly, the back part of the motor rests right at the web of my hand, and it is kind of uncomfortable after a bit. Lastly, it comes with a docking station which requires the unit to be hung on the wall. Unless you hang it right over an outlet, the cord isn't long enough. But there is also the option not to dock it, as the charger plugs right into the vacuum itself. Overall, I think this will be a great vacuum with the exception of the minor design flaws I mentioned."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:January 20, 2013

Really great product

Pros: lightweight, easy to use
Cons: charge time, on/off switch
Model Number: dc44
"This is a great vacuum cleaner. It gets into the hard to reach places and maneuvers real well. Like the other review stated, the biggest flaw is the on button. But hey, this is still worth buying. I no longer have to drag the dyson canister around which is really nice."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MIAMI, FL
Date:February 4, 2013

Too heavy,not long enough and low battery life!

Pros: picked up dog hairs nicely
Cons: moves awkwardly not enough battery life, too heavy when vacuuming curtains walls, when you empty dirt bindirt sticks inside plastic
Model Number: DC44 ANIMAL PLUS DYSON DIGITAL SLIM
"I couldn't wait to get this Dyson vacuum and was dissappointed as it was too heavy for me to hold up to vacuum curtains, verticals, etc. Using it to vacuum the floor I felt it could be longer and it moves awkwardly while vacuuming. The charge really isn't long enough. Also, when you empty the dirt bin, some dirt sticks inside plastic container and you have to clean it out with a paper towel!!! However, It did pick up dog hairs well. For me this wasn't what I wanted, so I am returning it and getting a vacuum with hose in handle and tools on board by by electrolux!"
Review 6 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:February 5, 2013

Good product, no customer support

Pros: fills need for a quick pick up of visual debris
Cons: could use more suction
Model Number: DC44
"This product is a niche product, but fills that niche well. When the dog hair begins to take over, I use this device exclusively. But, as Dyson states, it is not for whole house cleaning, you need a real vacuum cleaner for that.
So, I was thinking about getting a bigger Dyson and had a quick question that could have been answered online by Dyson in about 10 seconds. Guess what? There is no online access available. Yeah, the Dyson website says there is, but go ahead, try to click through to 'support', 'get help', or 'contact us'. This is not an outage or a temporary failure, or a browser issue (tried 3 browsers); it is either by management design or management incompetence. I tried to call, got the usual run-around, and put myself in queue to be called back. After 24 hours, no call back. I did manage to persevere and after about a 15 minute wait, got to speak to someone.
This company is squandering its good image by behaving like this.
"
Review 7 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:February 15, 2013

Wow even better than advertised!

Pros: very light, great power
Cons: bin is a little small
Model Number: DC44 Animal
"Very light and very powerful. Easy to set up and use, this is perfect for wood floors."
Review 8 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:pittsburgh,pa
Date:February 24, 2013

hmmm...

Pros: convenient, stores easily
Cons: slightly bulky, holding in the powerbutton while maneuvering, hair sticks to the attachments
"so i was extremly excited to purchase this for quick clean up, brooms are a pain. I am very dissapointed at how awkward it is too hold while having to hold in the power button. I am extremly dissapointed with that feature! If dyson changes the power button feature this thing would be awesome. This does fill up fast especially with pet hair. my one other peeve with my dysons are i noticed pet hair sticks to the outside of the vacuum tools."
Review 9 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redwood City, CA
Date:March 13, 2013

The best vaccum for PET HAIR and much more

Pros: very multi functional many convenient uses, fantastic for pet hair, strong suction, lots of attachments to fit different needs
Cons: i'll let you know if i find one
Model Number: DC-44 for pet hair
"I have all hard wood floors and this vaccum has made my life easier and my home cleaner. I still use the dust mop for the main part of the floor, then I use the vaccum for all of the corners, edges, and underneath furniture. It's great for under the bed and furniture with about three inches clearance from the floor.
Since I bought it I use it also for window sills, cob webs, base boards, the track for the sliding windows, behind the TV, bookcase etc. I also use it on the stairs, which are carpeted and it works great. The tools are varied so you can do most anything with it.
The run time is plenty for me. One reviewer said that the on button is a hassle, well, he's right. But I found that after a few times using it, I got used to it and no longer have a problem. It has actually turned out to be convenient when you turn it on and off frequently in order to vaccum specific spots.
I bought this specifically for pet hair and it has met/exceeded my expectations. All of the other conveniences of having this vaccum to me are above and beyond bonuses. I love it!
"
Review 10 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:March 15, 2013

Good quality product--a few shortcomings

Pros: quality product., replaceable batteries.
Cons: pricey, have to hold down the on-switch.
Model Number: DC44
"Well-built vacuum. My main complaint, like others here, is that you have to hold the power switch on all the time. There is a hard plastic trigger guard with makes this very uncomfortable after a minute or so.
I got some one-inch wide stretchy velcro at the hardware store, which I wrap around the handle and use it to hold down the switch.
Since the dirt receptacle fills unevenly, you will have to use your finger from time to time to empty. Or, bring home a disposable chopstick next time you eat Chinese.
We bought this to replace our Electrolux Ergorapidio cordless vac, which had non-replaceable batteries, and the whole unit had to be replaced every year or two. This vacuum has a replaceable battery, which the Ergorapidio did not have, although the battery will cost almost as much as the whole Ergorapidio vacuum."
Review 11 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SBA
Date:March 23, 2013

Rediculous

Cons: only cost if that's a deterrent.
Model Number: DC44 animal
"Ridiculously good that is. Truly amazing. I saw it in the store, thought it way too expensive, but decided to just try it and return it if not amazing. It is... Great engineering, super powerful, many unique attachments, pulls hair right off upholstery, car interior, etc. Many uses around house, zips along, fun to use..."
Review 12 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 16, 2013

Best Vac Ever, I'm IMPRESSED!!

Pros: well made powerful lightweight
Cons: trigger "slightly" annoying
Model Number: Dyson DC44
"I HATE vacuuming and am no stranger to pricey vacs. I've had a couple of Meile's and countless stick vacs, and nothing measures up to the Dyson DC 44. I have mainly hardwood, stone, and area rugs, plus a big dog and 2 birds. This machine has cut my vacuuming time down to nothing and it is no longer a chore that I put off and hate. Since I don't hate it, I also stay on top of vacuuming more vs putting it off and having it be a big deal. Initially I had a concern about the 20 min run time, but you can move so fast with this thing, that you get a lot done in the 20 minutes and somehow it seems to last longer too. It is very powerful, very light weight, very well made, and has strong suction. It is one of the best purchases I have made in a very long time. Oh, and one thing I wanted to mention; the trigger is "slightly" annoying but not when you consider all the upsides. Great product!! I have referred it to all my friends."
Review 13 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Suburban Philadelphia
Date:June 17, 2013

Hope you never have to call Dyson

Pros: does a fairly good job except for the defect
Cons: not reliable especially for the money
Model Number: DC44 Animal
"Our unit has a problem with the micro switch on the trigger. Power will not stay on. Called Dyson, waited forever on hold, then chose option for them to call me back. Reviewed the problem, went through the trouble shooting steps for 20 minutes. Finally objected to the representatives insistence that there was a clog, when in fact there was not one.
Dyson refused to send any replacement parts. While their warranty is two years, they won't replace parts after 30 days.
Happy we bought it at Costco since they will take it back.
Too bad Dyson DOES NOT UNDERSTAND CUSTOMER SERVICE. If only they could learn from Costco.
"
Review 14 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2013

I love this vacuum!

Model Number: DC44
"Although I have an old Dyson that I bought 5 years ago that is still going strong, I treated myself to this cordless for the quick vacuum jobs in the apartment. No more sweeping. Grabbing this cordless is simple and quick. Amazing suction power that cleans my floors in 5 mins! Purchasing from Costco, you get additional attachments. They need to be stored separately, no place to attach onto the base charger. The 20 mins of suction power is more than enough to get small / medium jobs done. You will not regret this purchase. I feel such satisfaction when vacuuming w a DYSON!!!!"
Review 15 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, az
Date:August 9, 2013
Model Number: dc -44
"We purchased our first one , used it for 2 days, stop working, exchanged for another , 2- lasted 2 hrs. the problem when you have an attachment on the pressure on the arm to the unit , it get a loose connection and stop working, call dyson, they no about problem but have not fixed it, other wise works great when working, handy unit."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson DC44 Animal Plus Dyson Digital Slim™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 21, 2013

nothing special

Cons: doesn't work as well as it should, expensive for quality of vacuum job
"For the price, this product is nothing special. Doesn't hold up to the Dyson name.
1- with the wand/floor attachment (as if using it like a regular push vacuum) it doesn't pick up things like cheerios or dried play doh flecks. I have to use a smaller hand attachment for those type items.
2- rechargeable battery is nice, but takes a while to charge. On MAX the battery only lasts 8 minutes. And takes 2-4 hours to recharge again.
3- you must always use it on MAX for good results. On regular it doesn't pick up all that much (that is the advertised 20 minute run time)
4- after 8 months the machine will all of a sudden stop mid use. It's not that big of a deal because you just pull the trigger again to get it to start working. However, it becomes more persistent as it gets older. Today, it's 11months old and will only run for 3-6 seconds before dying and having to re press the trigger. Annoying.
Going back to Costco today"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.