Customer Reviews for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive

This item may be available at your local Costco for a cash and carry price. Model: STCA3000101
Average Customer Rating:
2.16 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
15
10 of 25(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Review 1 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Baltimore MD
Date:December 16, 2013

Seage Cust. Service asked me to Look up "backup"

Pros: small form factor
Cons: dies within a few months and no longer recognized.
Model Number: SRD0SD0
"Purchased the item from Costco warehouse, thank goodness. The drive is called "Backup Plus". I used it to backup my information and backups of my system. After a few months of use and 1.5 TB later the drive was no longer recognized. I called Seagate and they said I could have the drive replaced or would have to purchase their software to recover any backed up information lost. I commented that they are charging me to retrieve what was lost possibly due to drive error and the Seagate DIY Customer Service lady told me to look up "backup" in the dictionary."
Review 2 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2013

Avoid this drive

Pros: none
". My relatively new drive is no longer recognized by my computer. Here is the worst part: I can't take it back because it contains all my personal data, taxes, etc.. Seagate was unable to help to access the drive and claims it is must be completely crashed. Even with Costco's great return policy, it will do you no good with these drives.Costco sometimes sells their returned items to seconds dealers and if this drive got into the wrong hands, identity theft potential is a reality. Seagate said that their drives are very sensitive to any bumping or improperly unplugging the USB from the computer. Essentially useless as a back drive or secondary storage"
Review 3 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:November 23, 2013

My time is valuable why waste it fixing junk

Pros: price
Cons: stopped working without notice.
"Had this product for almost a year, and now it just sits there and slowly blinks at me, computer won't acknowledge its connected. I'm done wasting my time attempting to fix it by following Seagate's instructions and links and downloads. It was a second back up to my subscription with Carbonite Cloud Storage so I haven't lost anything but like the secure feeling of having multiple back ups available when necessary. Wont use Seagate products ever again."
Review 4 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:November 20, 2013

Don't buy

Cons: usb connection/driver is bad.
"USB drive for this HD will work for a few minutes and then the computer will not able to recognized the drive. I lost some photos because of this issue.
DON"T BUY as external HD.
I finally open the drive and install as internal hard drive. Hope this will last longer than depend on USB connection."
Review 5 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwest
Date:November 9, 2013

Great HD. Bought a year ago for $100 (Black Fri.)

Pros: cheap and reliable in small package.
Cons: none
Model Number: STCA3000101
"So far this HD is still working great after almost a year. I play movies at least twice a week using this HD. I am about to max out the capacity and thinking about moving to the 4TB one. I have no issue with this HD so far."
Review 6 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pelham, NY
Date:November 8, 2013

Piece of Junk

Cons: everything
Model Number: STCA3000101
"I'd previously bought WD drives and had no problems. The Seagate died within a year and I needed outside help to recover the data. I researched and discovered a lot of similar customer complaints for this model. This is a class action lawsuit waiting to happen as Seagate hasn't acknowledged the product is defective. I'll never buy a Seagate product again."
Review 7 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 5, 2013

Great hard drive for the money

Pros: great price when on sale
Cons: wish it didnt require a power supply
"I have always had great luck with Seagate drives. Having built my own computers for over 15 years I have only had WD drives fail on me and still use seagates I bought 5 years ago. This drive seems to be keeping my streak going. I have traveled all over the world with it in my carry on and while I take great care to not jostle it to much, it has taken its fair share of abuse and just keeps going."
Review 8 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
Date:November 4, 2013

I Always Trust Seagate

Pros: low cost for 3 tbs, very flexible usb cord and long power cable, durable quality
Cons: might be unstable - could have a broader base, slight fan noise when on
"The Seagate 3 TB HD was purchased almost 1 year ago and is still going strong. It is connected to our household router and is a backup drive and file-sharer for 3 laptop computers to connect wirelessly and backup throughout the day.
My mother's brand new 15" MacBook Pro internal HD died about 2 months after purchase and this Seagate 3TB drive resurrected it (through the backup in Time Machine). She couldn't have been happier because she's older and I had the foresight to make the backup. Even I was surprised because that was a rare fault on a new computer. The only thing I don't like about the drive is that it makes a noticeable fan noise when it turns on, it's not bad though.
Anyway, I have always trusted Seagate drives and they have never let me down. I don't know about other reviewers on here but my experience with Seagate has been great. They are the first brand I look for when buying an HD, others are LaCie, Hitachi, and even Toshiba. I have had several problems with Western Digital HDs (steer clear).
Seagate come with pre-formated software that can actually reformat/ partition the drive to how you want it even if you aren't a computer wiz. You can always reformat it if you don't like how it was done (in Disk Utility on a Mac). I also really like the very flexible cord that comes with the drives because it is much less likely to twist the mounted drive (this is the Achilles' Heel of most external HDs) and cause physical power-related errors with the HD. I have another External 1TB Seagate drive that I use for media storage and it works great.
On this drive, I saved the pre-installed drivers/software onto my computer first, then reformatted to the have 4 equal partitions - 3 for backups and 1 for sharing media over the network. Then, I setup the back ups to sync with each of the partitions (like they have their own drive). Worked flawlessly since then. You can even encrypt the backup now, which I'll try soon."
Review 9 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2013

Poor Quality

"Had this Hard drive for almost a year before it gave me the click of death. Now its a 3tb paperweight. Don't waste your money."
Review 10 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013

Another failure... big problem is data recovery

Cons: another failed drive by seagate
Model Number: STCA3000101
"After just 3 months, this drive has failed. The problem is that we need to recover SOME of the data (not all, as most was backed up elsewhere) and do not want to send it back to Seagate with all our data on it!! If your drive fails, I think Seagate should provide FREE software and data recovery. Seems like they make fragile/cheap drives and stay in business from data recovery on failed drives. I'm sure there's plenty more folks out there with problems that don't put reviews here."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albany,Oregon
Date:October 2, 2013

Does not work with Netgear ready Share usb

Pros: large capacity
Cons: failed miserably
Model Number: STCA3000101
"I purchased this Drive a day after I purchased a new Netgear Router ,also from Costco. The drive was recognized by the router at first power up. I configured all my systems backup's to point to this drive. All was fine until a reboot of the router. Next thing is the drive was not found at all. reseated the cables, nothing. rebooted router a few times, nothing..walked away for a while and tried again. drive was there but with zero space available yet I can see some files ..Arg! Later I reconfigured the whole thing, formatted the drive to wipe all Seagate s/w off of it. Started to work and then again, lost the drive on my readyshare port. Got it back but only folders were there with no files in them???!! Is it the Router or the drive? I plugged in my old Maxtor one touch 300GB drive , worked first try. Been up since with no down time now for about 3 weeks. This Seagate drive is defective. I returned it suggesting to not sell them at all."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2013

Big disappointment

Pros: none
Cons: sleep mode not available by factory default.
Model Number: STCA3000101
"The sleep mode has been factory-disabled by default. It spins continuously, never sleeps. Tech support says that is the way that it was designed to work. You can't convince me that continuous spinning is optimal when it only gets accessed a few times a week for secondary backup. I returned my purchase as defective."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, WA
Date:September 27, 2013

Ho hum

Pros: costco's good pricing and return policy is a plus.
Cons: software incompatible w/ xp 64 bit os.
Model Number: Model: STCA3000101
"I rarely get all that thrilled with backup software so I really wasn't overly upset when their Dashboard program refused to work with WinXP 64 bit OS, though it would certainly be nice if they made that distinction apparent before I had wasted an hour of my life coming to that conclusion. Seagate Tech support provided a download of a previous version of their backup software that DID work with the XP64.
I purchased two of these while they were on sale. One functions on all six PCs tried (excepting the XP 64 bit os referred to above) but the other gets "Delayed write failures" when attached to one of the PCs. Since I plan to phase that PC out I don't plan to return that drive unless it gives me a better reason to do so.
What gives me pause is why Seagate seems to be having so many mechanical problems thereby getting so many poor reviews. Nobody wants to risk losing vast amounts of data. A diligent backup scheme is essential. But if a backup system is of questionable reliability"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:September 26, 2013

very disappointed

Model Number: SRDOSDO
"I spent close to $1,500.00 dollars for a service to convert 20 years of family videos onto this external drive. I plugged the drive in and started reliving precious family memories. Within 30 minutes I accidentally bumped my desk and the hard drive tipped on its side. It is now not recognized by my computer. I cannot use it. I called Seagate for help. They ran a diagnostic utility and determined that I would need their disk recovery service. They wanted to charge me $300.00 for this. When I researched this I learned that this is a common problem. You can find many recommendations to always use this product on it's side. I felt that Seagate should warn customers of this. The product is designed to stand upright, yet does not come with any base to provide stability. It just has small rubber pads on the bottom and in my opinion could easily tip with the tiniest of bumps. I am very disappointed in both the product and the way Seagate handled this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2013

Broke after one year

"I had this drive for 1 year and it just stopped working with CRC error. Windows was not able to read any data. I formatted the drive but still get outage frequently."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Frederick, MD
Date:September 11, 2013

Best Purchase Ever, Not

Pros: is relatively fast and appears to be inexpensive
Cons: isn't inexpensive in the final analysis
Model Number: STCA3000600
"I bought two of these drives but one failed in less than a year. I purchased Seagate recovery software from the Seagate site for a $100 and was able to recover most of the files but recovery took days and days. Costco took the failed drive back for a full refund. You don't want this to be your only copy of data because it can die at any time without warning. So if you need one of these drives for data storage plan to have an additional drive for backup. Also, be sure to wear armored gloves when attempting to remove the drive from its packaging."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rivervale, NJ
Date:August 29, 2013

Quit after a exactly a month

Pros: usb3 inexpensive fast
Cons: stopped working
Model Number: STCA3000101
"Worked fine for about a month. Just as I was finishing copying my old external 160GB drive to this new one, it stopped working. The drive does not spin up, is not recognized by the computer, the light on the front keeps blinking, and the drive makes beeping sounds, almost like a busy phone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:san francisco
Date:August 19, 2013

junk

Pros: none
Cons: does not work
Model Number: seagate 3usb3.0
"this does not work on windows 7 even though the box says that it does."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 19, 2013

Does not support Win 7 Back up utility

Pros: seems fast
Cons: no windows 7 support, very unsupportive customer service from seagate
Model Number: STCA3000101
"Seagate customer support says this is a Microsoft issue. "not their problem" because other backup software works. There is no documented solution to get Win 7 Back up to work so after too many hours trying to get this to work I found that Seagate offers a free version of Acronis but this version does not support scheduled backups. In order to get this feature you need to upgrade and pay for the software. I have read that the included Dashboard software also does not work with Win 7 but did not test before returning the drive.
BIG WAS OF MY TIME"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Costa, Calif
Date:August 7, 2013

Great price for extra storage

Pros: price and storage space. speed is also good.
Cons: non
"I needed an external hard drive for backing up important Doc and Photos. The Seagate Backup Plus 3 TB Desktop Drive does the job. Even has its own easy backup software on it. Bada bing bada boom - done
So next time there is a Reverse 911 like the fire in San Diego 2008. I just grab the drive and go. No need to take the whole pc.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>