Customer Reviews for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100

The Ninja™ Kitchen System has 1100 watts of professional performance power! The Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100 includes 72 oz. pitcher with a lock in pour spout for all of your frozen blending needs.  The Ninja blade technology can crush and blend whole fruits and vegetables into smooth and creamy drinks in the matter of seconds! Create delicious doughs and batters with the 40 oz. processor and easy to use attachments.  The kitchen system motor is equipped with Smart Speed Technology controls the speed as the ingredients come together, allowing you to knead doughs, crush ice into snow, blend fruits and vegetables all at the touch of a button. Features: • Professional 1100 Watts Blender and Food Processor • 72 oz. Blender Jar for Frozen Blending and Complete Juicing • 40 oz. Bowl for Food Procession and Dough Making • Makes Dough in less then 60 secs • Cord storage to keep your counter tops clear • 3 speeds + pulse • BPA Free pitcher and bowl • Easy to clean control panel • Dishwasher safe parts • Dimensions: 6.2” L x 8.1” W x 17.5” H; Weight: 7.8 lbs. Model: NJ602CO
Average Customer Rating:
2.72 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
16
20 of 50(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Review 1 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Castle Rock, CO
Date:January 17, 2013

Baby Food Machine

Pros: stable, value, multi use, two pitcher sizes
Cons: lid design, loud
Model Number: Ninja Pro System 1100
"I bought the Ninja 1100 Pro System purely because it fit in my budget much easier than the outrageously priced VitaMix and Blendtec blenders. I needed a blender that could easily make meal replacement smoothies for me and baby food for my son. Everything else that it could do were just perks.
1) Smoothies- I think the blender does a really nice job with smoothies for the most part. I do on occasion find ice chunks floating around but they are pretty small and easy to deal with. Frozen fruits and veggies don't seem to be a problem as well as ice cubes.
Smoothie is smooth enough for government work, if you want it to have a more slimy texture the VitaMix would be better. (That's what it reminds me of during the VitaMix Demos).
2) Baby Food- Blends baby purees beautifully. Carrots and butternut squash come out silky smooth. Green beans however remain a bit grainy (for lack of a better word) but such is the way with green beans I guess. I did have to let it run for a little bit to make sure everything got blended down properly.
The biggest problem that I have with this blender is the design of the lid. It can be hard to remove from the pitchers. I don't like how they lock and if you are like me and always find you need to add something else to your mixture you can't just crack the lid open and throw it in. You have to turn the whole thing of, hit the release button, pull the lid out of the pitcher (which is involved on a good day) put your stuff in, then get the lid back in, locked, and running again.... Whew!!! Twelve times later and I'm ready to throw the thing across the room. They are also hard to get completely clean. If you miss a little bit of Margarita mix in the rubber seal and put the lid back in the pitcher you will need the Hulk to pull it out for you. Then you worry about the possibility of breaking the handle off.
The blades are extremely sharp and can be a bit tricky to clean but be careful like you would cleaning any other knife and you should be fine. PAY ATTENTION TO YOU HANDS
The last thing I would like to say is that this blender is loud. Don't try to have an important conversation while mixing anything.
I have not tried to make anything else much with it yet but once I do I will try to update my review. Would really like to see if it can actually handle cookie dough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2013

Good, but not great

Pros: small and large pitcher, good for smoothies, safety features
Cons: cannot replace food processor, does not always blend smoothly
"Like many others, I purchased the Ninja because I didn't want to splurge on the Vitamix.
One feature I really like about the Ninja is that it comes with a smaller pitcher that is plenty big enough to make a single smoothie in. I use this pitcher 99.9% of the time, and it will fit on the base underneath my upper cabinets.
As far as the performance of the Ninja, I find it does a good job with smoothies most of the time. Sometimes if I put ice cubes in my smoothie I will end up with some ice chunks though, which is annoying.
Perhaps my biggest complaint about the Ninja is that it will NOT, I repeat, will NOT replace your food processor. I tried to puree strawberries in it and ended up switching to my food processor because the short little blades just fling everything to the sides of the pitcher. You really need to have a liquid in it to keep things moving. If they re-designed the pitcher so that stuff would fall to the bottom to be caught by the blades the whole thing would be much improved. As it is, the blades are just not long enough and the square pitcher is poorly designed for processing.
The blades themselves are SUPER sharp, which is great, but they can be quite difficult to clean without slicing your fingers. The safety features (e.g., lid has to be put on a certain way and locked before the unit will blend) are a nice touch.
I'm keeping the Ninja because it works fine for what I need it for most of the time, but at some point I may go ahead and get the Vitamix, because I think that with the Vitamix I might actually be able to get rid of my food processor."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New City, NY
Date:November 25, 2012

Use at Least 3x/day & LOVE IT!!

Pros: sealed containers; steel blades pulverize
Cons: wish i could get a bigger than 72oz for 2x recipes
Model Number: NINJA 1100 NJ602CO
"I had a juicer which I rarely used because of the remaining pulp & the cleanup. I bought the NINJA 1100 figuring if it did not work out, I would return it. I make health drinks daily for my family:Child#1 likes FROZEN berries/whole strawberries w/flax seeds, Greek yogurt & protein- & it turns out perfect; Child#2 likes protein, wheat germ, fresh cubed pineapple, fresh pomegrante and FROZEN berries-again all is blended; I do DR OZ green shake and all is blended-apple is quartered w skin left on. My kids now eat hummus since it is made to their tastebuds and I know it is 100% pure. I blend fresh tomatoes for salsa, chili, spaghetti adding other ingreds including peppers, ginger, etc. For healthy gravy I blend 2 c broth and fresh vegs including carrots, puree & then roast the meat in this stock; when done I make the gravy. My children love the taste and there's no argument of "eat your vegetables". I have made cookies, cakes, soda bread and the only complaint is I cannot double the recipe. NINJA 1100 containers are SEALED so there's NO SPILLS/MESS while it's blending. CLEANUP IS A BREEZE-take lid off; pour contents out while holding one finger atop SHARP blade/plastic blend; pull blade out & rinse immed/place on paper towel to air dry;plastic blade I rinse and place in dw along with the rinsed container & top AND NOTE, it does not take up the entire bottom of your dw-like the Cuisinart & JL juicer I have. I love this machine so much I am giving it as a present this holiday."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:December 6, 2012

Ineffective and defective

Pros: good price at costco
Cons: beware defective models, and very noisy!
Model Number: NJ602CO
"We purchased our Ninja system at our local Costco store. Though noisy, the Ninja made great smoothies. That said, the pouring spout cap attached to the lid of our 40 oz. pitcher would not seal tightly without holding onto it.
Then we tried the same 40 oz. container to make pizza dough, using the Ninja cookbook recipe. Perhaps due to the squarish shape of the bowl or too small of a dough paddle, the dough absolutely would not mix on its own and we had to keep opening the lid to scrape the sides of ingredients. Current infomercial models show a 40 oz. container with a rounder shape that might make such mixing more automatic.
Finally, we assembled the 72 oz. pitcher for the first time, the lid of which sealed quite well. TOO well, in fact, because when we tried to open it again the thing would not budge despite following all the directions of pushing the release button and putting the handle in the proper position. But two adults could not pry that lid from the pitcher to save their lives.
We returned the defective system to our Costco store for a refund. Later in the week we bought the Ninja Pulse from a competing store and everything we have tried with that model has worked extremely well. To cope with the noise, we wear hearing protectors when we use it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 27, 2012

Excellent Blender

Pros: powerful easy to clean works as advertised
Cons: none
Model Number: Ninja 1100 BL660
"I cannot understand the negative reviews from some for this amazing blender. We bought the Ninja 1100 with the small individual serving/mixing glasses, rather than the Kitchen System but both share the same 1100 watt base and 72 oz pitcher. It makes perfect smoothies and has the power to blend hard fruits and vegetables with ease. It is much easier to clean than my Juicer and only has three parts to rinse and air dry. If you rinse them off right after blending, they come clean easily. The blades are sharp, indeed, but common sense and a little care in handling will avoid any accidents. Besides, they are not any sharper than any other food processor or blender with bottom blades. I laughed out-loud at the review that complained about the blades falling out! If you leave the lid on and pour out the contents through the pouring spout built into the lid, the blades are held safely in place. If you made something very thick that would not pour through the lid spout, simple remove the lid, grab the blades from the top shaft and remove them while you scoop out the contents. I guess it does take some common sense to work the thing so, if you are short in that area, don't buy it but, if you want a great blender for under $120.00, this is as good as it gets!"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pacific NW
Date:July 6, 2013

Stopped working after few months

Pros: good for green smoothies margaritas & pizza dough, price costco return policy smaller jar
Cons: problems with consistancy & reliability, motor may have a problem with gear mechanism.
Model Number: Ninja pro 1100 blender
"We made green smoothies and fruits added for flavor. Worked well. We bought one for our daughter, one for our in-laws and gave one as a gift for our friend's daughter's wedding. It worked well for making pizza dough more than anything including the kitchen-aid. We also bought the Blendtec and returned it because it was not any superior than this one. However my wife liked the Blendtec as it was easy to use.
Some people commented about the ice was not crushed to smoothy consistency. It may be true and may need to let it run more time. Margaritas are great. It also needs more liquid to stop the chunks sticking to the walls.
We have to return one as the lid wouldn't fit. We returned the last one yesterday as it stopped working. Electric connections were ok. But the blades stopped turning. We waited for an hour, changed the jar and the blade, still did not work. I will still buy another one if it is available thro Costco again as I could not find one now in our store and the staff said that they weren't sure when they will get them. Taking out the lid may be hard at times but I think it is the safety precaution. It is easy to clean without touching the blades as we can put water and little soap and run it for few seconds.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:March 21, 2013

LIke it but I don't love it

Pros: well made, easy to clean, performs well, reasonably priced
Cons: smoothies are a little pulpy, only three speeds, no opening to add ingredients as it blends, needs liquid to puree anything
Model Number: 1100
"LIke many reviewers I purchased this as an alternative to the Vitamix due to the cost. I have recently started blending my fruits and veggies into a daily smoothie and have been using an old Osterizer blender. I think the most useful thing I can say about the Ninja is that it blends foods differently than a standard blender due to the arrangement of the blades. All the fruits and veggies are evenly blended and there are no big chunks of anything. I even did the Ice thing and it seems to have created a fine "snow" as advertised. Over all the Ninja gets the job done and can handle all the fruits and veggies that I can cram into the pitcher with ease as long as there is adequate liquid. On the down side, it doesn't break up flax seeds that the Osterizer caught when they fell to the bottom. Also,the Osterizer which had 14 speeds seemed to create a creamier consistency to my drinks and the Ninja leaves them a bit more pulpy. This model also comes with a dough paddle and blade which I have not tried yet, so I cannot rate. I've only been using the Ninja for a few days and I do like it; just not sure I love it."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 14, 2012

Black liquid in my smoothies

Pros: worked great before we noticed the black stuff
Cons: black liquid mixing into our smoothies
Model Number: NJ602CO
"We are returning our NINJA to Costco today because we've been noticing a black liquid coming out into our smoothies. Sometimes we see it sort of streaked through the top part of the smoothie and sometimes it comes off on my fingers when I pick up the blade to clean it. Sometimes we don't see it all, which is scary because that makes me think that it's already mixed in and we just can't see it. I hate to think that I'm drinking my "daily dose" of oil, (or whatever it is) each time I have my healthy smoothie! Horrible. And it's sad because I've loved the Ninja up to this point...I use it everyday, and it would get a much better review from me if it wasn't for this issue. We bought our Ninja a few months ago..less than a year. We first noticed the black liquid in the taller pitcher about 4 weeks ago, so I though I'd use only the small one and wait and see...but today it was in the small one as well. I'm not sure what we'll get to replace it yet, but it won't be another Ninja, for fear that this will happen again. I'm not willing to risk mine and my family's health."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:philadelphia, pa
Date:October 24, 2012

this blender rocks

Pros: i think this would grind concrete!
Cons: it is big and noisy
"after burning out motors on 2 small blenders, plus on a waring and a kitchen aid while making smoothies, I really wanted a vitamix or blendtec, but was just too cheap, so I got this. I was a little worried b/c people said the design was dangerous. I don't know what those folks do with their blenders, but I think this is in fact safer than trying to clean those little bitty stuck in the bottom blades. You remove the lid, grab the top of the cone and remove it and lay it flat in your dishwasher (or rinse immediately and use your long glass cleaning sponge). In any case, I use whole (giant) costco strawberries (11 to be exact) to one cup of milk and 2 big handfuls of kale, plus a few other things and this thing is a champ! blends till smooth. My husband warily agreed to try a smoothie w/ kale in it and then grudgingly admitted that it was so smooth he couldn't tell he had "lettuce" in his drink. i am buying these for both my daughters. the ninja doesn't struggle one bit no matter how much rock hard frozen fruit i dump in there"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:July 26, 2013

Excellent, Better than all the rest.

Pros: i use it for smoothie a lot & think it's the best., this baby turns ice into snow.
Cons: i must admit i've not had the reason to use it for, anything else but have no doubt in it's ability to, perform it's best.
Model Number: Ninja Pro Kitchen System 1100
"Unlike the negative ratings I've read this is the best and I've just about tried them all. I still have broken or burnt out blenders of those I've not thrown away as of yet, on my table & waiting to be discarded. I've actually had this blender for quite a number of years now & it makes the best smoothies & I mean SmooooooTH. Would not trade it for the world & looking forward to buy 1 or 2 more. I've even had friends who saw it's results and immediately went out and got themselves one. For those who have stated that it leaves chunks, they just do not know what they are doing. I've placed my fruits all frozen into the pitcher each time and depending on how thick or liquify you want it, it will give you a very smooth result. Everyone who come to visit, especially the kids,the first thing they request is my smoothie. Get yourself one quick, you won't regret it."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tulalip, WA
Date:June 28, 2013

Terrible for Frozen Fruit or Leafy Greens

Pros: cheap, multi purpose, easy to clean
Cons: poor consistancy, quality, poor performance, chunky stringy texture, unable to push thicker mixes down to blades safely, blades keep coming up during thick mixes
"We bought this after doing a TON of research. Even consumer reports said it was decent! Well I am a texture person big time. We'd been doing smoothies every morning for a while and wanted to upgrade. We bought this and were VERY disappointed. It was so bad, after trying it for a month we returned it, and splurged for a Vitamix. Its like comparing a tricycle with a Lamborghini- SERIOUSLY. We give smoothies to our toddler as it's a great way to get veggies into them, and the daycare asked what we did differently cause she started sucking down the smoothies like they were cookies. She asked if we changed the recipe, when all we changed was the blender. Seriously- don't buy this junk. I KNOW the vitamix is expensive- but it will last a lifetime, the warranty is great, and really nothing compares to it. It is AMAZING."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:October 23, 2012

Real disappointment for Smoothies

Pros: cute name nifty appearance
Cons: doesn't do anything well. overly complicated.
Model Number: Ninja Kitchen System 1100
"PLEASE, forget about this for smoothies. It's design prohibits making anything at all smooth. The blades are on the thick center pillar and it can't create a vortex, so nothing gets pureed. Lumpy, very lumpy. My old classic Waring with half the power does a better job on them. I didn't bother with some of the attachments before returning. Why the overly complicated lids aren't interchangeable is truly bizarre and inconvenient. It doesn't work well as a food processor either. It's a jack of all trades and master of NONE. I wouldn't even give it Journeyman status. Watch out for those blades after blending when you go to pour, they come right out when you least expect it and are VERY sharp. If you are on a budget get the Kitchenaid 5 speed. If you want the real deal, Vitamix or Blendtec."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fillmore, CA
Date:November 24, 2012

Ninja Gives Black Belt Performance

Pros: powerful. easier to clean. easy to pour.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: Ninja Kitchen System 1100
"Bought the Ninja Kitchen System 1100 mainly for vegetables and fruit for healthy smoothies, dips, and soups. Gave up on Waring and Osters, with their hard-to-clean, unsanitary, jar-affixed blades with little room to insert utensils (wooden spoons or scrapers).
Wide jar enables true power chopping, control over consistency (use short bursts), and great visibility, so you never end up with pulp where a chop was required.
If users are getting to much pulp in their juices they (1) need to add more liquid; (2) need to strain if you want a clear juice; and (3) blend it a longer time. BTW, pulp is fiber which is good for us. Our bodies are meant to have this fiber.
For best "snow," freeze the jar a few minutes, add ice, and run it on high until you get the desired consistency."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cedar Grove, NJ
Date:October 24, 2012

Great Blender

"Not sure why the few negative reviews. I've had the Ninja now for 3 months and use it literally everyday. Its awesome making smoothies and shakes. My morning starts with an apple, banana, strawberries, almonds, water and a scoop of protein powder. It takes it down wo a problem to a nice consistency. The larger container helps as well...something a few of the other blenders dont have. Think the ninja is a true 72 oz. Trust me, you'll need it. Also I use for soups and its great. I dont need a blender to warm up my contents. I simply put the soup into the pot afterwards and heat it up. Plus, lets not forget, the Ninja a 1/4 the cost of the other 2 blenders. Happy shopping!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 5, 2014

Poor for green smoothies

Pros: great for simple smoothies
Cons: cannot puree kale greens
"We just received this for Christmas, and have been using it every day to make simple smoothies (yogurt, berries, ice). Worked great, but we started using celery and than kale and mint today. My husband made a smoothie with an apple and celery today and couldn't even strain the pulp with a strainer it was so thick. And I just made a green smoothie (kale, strawberries, mint, coconut water) and unfortunately it is chewable. So unappetizing. Think we will have to return this to Costco and upgrade to the Vitamix. I will say the blades are extremely sharp and it works better than our normal better, just not what we are looking for."
Review 16 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:November 24, 2012

Go with the Vitamix

Pros: low cost
Cons: fails at fruit/veggie smoothies
"At one fifth the price of the Vitamix, I brought the Ninja home on my last Costco trip. While it's well constructed and better than other blenders we have owned, it was very disappointing in making smoothies. We knew from store demos than Vitamix smoothies made with whole fruits and vegetables are absolutely, well... smooth. The Ninja leaves pieces no matter how long you blend and at any speed. We decided to purchase the outrageously priced Vitamix after this sad result. Moment of truth was the first whole-fruit smoothie... completely smooth with the Vitamix. The Ninja is headed back to Costco, the Vitamix is here to stay."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:May 15, 2013

Great BLENDER

"This is a BLENDER- NOT- a Vitamix or a food processor. With that in mind it works great. The blades are VERY sharp and need to hand rinsed and carefully laid out to dry- I feel very bad for the reviewer that needed stitches from cleaning the blades. The last time I needed stitches on my hand it was from a regular kitchen knife and it's not fun to cut your hand.
I have a Kitchenaid mixer for dough and a Nutri-bullet that use for my daily smoothie so I only use this on occasion for those large batch recipes. But I just made some chunky salsa with it using the small blender jar and it worked great!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:December 21, 2013

Love this Ninja

Pros: workhorse
Model Number: NJ602CO
"I have had many different blenders and when a daughter received it as a gift, we were so impressed, we bought one and it has not disappointed. I have made smoothies almost every day, salsa, ground up candy canes for topping on Christmas baking and pesto sauce. The small one is big enough to make 2 smoothies and the large is big enough for all other jobs. The blades are SUPER sharp. Be careful to remove, rinse, and then cover it with something while drying. I have bought at least three others for gifts and all have been nicely received and well used. Highly recommend."
Review 19 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2014

Cleaning NOT easy

Pros: for the most part it blended satisfactory
Cons: too hard to clean
Model Number: Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
"Like most people i have a busy schedule and want to be healthy. I juice and do smoothies as a supplement meal when on the go. This blender has way too many moving parts and NOT easy to clean. It blends ok? Not too happy with the quality of how it performs. The first few weeks it blended fine and I thought I'd keep is simply because it worked good. Shortly following I noticed it wasn't performing as well. It left chunks of skin from fruit/veg up inside the lid. My main complaint is the cleaning process is why i wasn't happy with this blender."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ninja™ Kitchen System 1100
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 14, 2013

Horrible design

"I will be immediately returning this to Costco for two reasons:
1) The blades are IMPOSSIBLE to wash even with good care. I washed the smaller blade and ended up severely gashing my thumb requiring stitches. It was a terrible experience. If you buy this, just know that there is a 100% chance you will cut yourself at some point.
2) When the blades turn, lots of food or fruits get stuck on the wall of the blender and don't get mixed properly.
I will return this and just stick with a standard blender with only one blade."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>