Customer Reviews for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs

Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Newman’s Special Blend 160 K-Cup® portion packs: This inspired blend of medium-roasted Central American coffees and darker-roasted Indonesians is rich and robust, with ample body to stand up to all the cream and sugar that you might want to add to the party.   100% Arabica coffee   Fair Trade and Organic Certified   Kosher Certified   Medium Roast   160 K-Cup® Packs   For product related questions please call Green Mountain Coffee Roasters at 1-866-639-2326
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
14
13 of 32(41%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Review 21 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2013

What happened

"I used to love the k-cups with the red label. Now they switched it to the orange labeled top and it's horrible. I hope costco reads these reviews and makes a change back to the red label or at least green mountain so they can go back. I won't be purchasing these anymore till I know the red top is back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:December 9, 2012

Please bring back the extra bold!

Pros: none
Cons: taste and price
"My family is so disappointed with the new medium roast. The extra bold kept us returning to Costco on a regular basis. We will not purchase the medium roast again, especially at the new price point. It is watery and weak. The search is on for a replacement. Hoping another retailer still carries the extra bold."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Crescent City, Ca
Date:December 6, 2012

Still good but not the same

Pros: great when it was bold smooth but lots of flavor
Cons: not worth the price anymore, watery
"I have got this for about 2 yrs now and always loved it better than anything else.
BUT.... I have noticed it seems to be no longer BOLD( more coffee in cup). Very
weak. I just bought 2 more boxes and I guess after this is finished I will move to
another brand. I understand the increase in price but not the change in coffee.
"
Review 24 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 9, 2012

Box and K cup pictured don't match

Pros: price
Cons: weak
"The K Cups with red label pictured are not what come in the box pictured. The red cups are the "Organics Extra-Bold, Newman's Special Blend". The box pictured contains K cups with a gold label that reads "Newman's Special Blend Medium Roast Coffee Extra Bold". This product is a Medium Roast now. I can make a 12oz cup with the red label and it is plenty strong. When I use the gold it too weak."
Review 25 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Jersey
Date:November 26, 2012

Excellent Coffee

Pros: robust flavor not bitter, you can use on larger cup size
Cons: none
"I love a strong coffee - not burnt or acidic in taste. This is SUPERB. I use half and half in my coffee and this blend holds up to the test even when using the larger portion choice on my Keurig Platinum (which is also wonderful). I LOVE this coffee and recommend it for coffee lovers who like a robust flavorful brew. I have purchased several of these large cartons of coffee and I have never experienced a broken cup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 15, 2014

Red top K cup discontinued. Mustard tops inferior.

Pros: none
Cons: bad coffee
"Newman's Own has ceased making the red top version of this coffee. It was robust, full of flavor, really good tasting. I was in my local Costco and bought a case. I buy them every two months. They switched from the Red tops to the Mustard color tops. A totally different product. Inferior. Bad tasting. I will be looking for something else or just buy one of those refillable stainless K cups and fill with my own coffee."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 12, 2012

The Old Switcheroo

"I have been ordering Newman’s Special Blend 160 K-cup for over a year. I go to the website, see the product and order. It never occurred to me to read the description again. Low and behold the coffee arrives this time in the same box but the K-cups are different-- they are medium roast and not extra-bold as the box clearly states. Someone at the manufacturing plant has made a big mistake. The only thing I recommend is a recall."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2013

Newman's xtra bold = xtra weak

Pros: seems to be coffee
Cons: extremely weak, poor flavor
"Loved Newman’s but stopped buying because quality had diminished. Other options were not as good so tried Newman’s again hoping all the complaints would have inspired change. Sadly no - it was actually WORSE. It tasted so bad I could not drink it, extremely weak almost like instant coffee. Also, the lid is a mustard color not red as pictured and seems to have very little product in container as compared to other brands. I plan to return."
Review 29 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bolingbrook.IL
Date:March 20, 2013

Please get the Red tops back!

Cons: taste is weaker than the red topped ones
Model Number: Newman's Own Tres Bold Fair Trade coffee
"When my close Costco stopped carrying the regular Newman's Tres Bold Fair Trade coffee I found out another area Costco still had them. I went there, bought them... and found out the tops on the individual K-Cups were carmel color (even though the box looked the same). The taste was not as full bodied and I was disappointed. I recently found a box I had purchased at a regular store last year with 18 of the Red topped Newman's Own...and WOW I realized how much better the Red topped k-Cups were!!! PLEASE COSTCO GET THE RED TOPPED K-CUPS BACK!!!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 28, 2013

Excellent all-around choice!

Pros: great coffee flavor for most coffee drinkers., excellent value., extra bold means can use a larger cup.
Cons: haven't found any.
"I love the Newman's Own Special Blend. A good coffee flavor and I find it works well for most coffee drinkers young and old. We have a lot of coffee drinkers in our family and everyone likes it. I also like the fact that it's an extra bold (more grounds, not flavor) which means it works better with a bigger coffee cup without diluting it. Overall, the best value for your money in a k-cup. By the way, my favorite is actually the Starbucks House Blend but it's $.20 more per cup and you have to use the smaller cup size or else it gets diluted.
Hope this helps.
"
Review 31 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Costco's in Winchester VA, in Leesburg VA
Date:February 11, 2013

Buyers beware - This is NOT the correct coffee

Pros: none
Cons: the review says is all
"The NEW Newman's Own Organic Extra Bold Coffee (Red Lid) is now packed in the same shipping boxes only the Kcups inside now contain a new MUSTARD colored LID and a taste that is absolutely "horrid" compared to the RED LID Cups with "Tres Intense" and "MILANGE Special" as part of the cover. I bought and returned Three (3) boxes of the new stuff as I could not stand the new "Improved Taste". I have been back to Costco twice since then, opening two of the boxes and looking at the Lid Cover inside, and, they contain those Mustard Yellow lid coffee. BRING BACK THE OLD ones and give us our "HighTest" coffee we are used too....."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Newman's Own® Special Blend Coffee 160 K-Cup® Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2013

Better than the others

"I have tried several of the K-Cups that Costco carries and I have found the Newman's Own to be my favorite.
Fair warning, I do like a little raw sugar and half & half in my coffee, so maybe that changes the flavor profile for coffee purists.
The pacific bold and tully's french roast have a burnt taste that I don't care for. I love the flavor of Caribou, but it is much weaker than Newman's. Green mountain was a little flat to me. I also had some donut house and I didn't mind their house or breakfast blend (can't remember which one), but they typically sell a variety pack and I don't like some of the more eclectic blends, like the cinnamon bun.
Anyways, I have found Newman's to be smooth, not bitter, and the right boldness for my taste."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2