Customer Reviews for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan

Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan

Fernwood Fan Description: The Hunter 70” Fernwood ceiling fan features a Premier Bronze finish with White Snowflake Linen glass bowl which has a modern rich look sure to impress. The large strong motor and 70” blade span produce almost 8,000 CFM which is sure to keep you cool in the summer and circulate the warm heat down in the winter. The included remote control, Dust Armor finish, and Hunter’s motor warranty make this a great value for your great room. Dust Armor™ Nanotechnology Blade Coating Repels Dust Build Up: Hunter Fan Company recognized one of the largest complaints with ceiling fans was cleaning dusty fan blades and the unsightliness of having extremely dusty blades in an otherwise clean home. To combat this problem Hunter Fan Company is proud to introduce Dust Armor. After years of research we have formulated a blade coating which helps to repel dust build up through a breakthrough nanotechnology. How Dust Armor Blade Coating works: 1. The blade surface is coated with a layer of nano particles. 2. The nano particles repel small moisture molecules. 3. Dust particles gather to water molecules and when the density of the dust/water particles is low enough, light air currents blow the combined particle away from the surface. Hunter Fan Company: Hunter Ceiling Fans have been energy efficient ways to move air in homes for over 125 years. In the summer we help cool. In the winter we help move heat down from around the ceiling to the living area. All year round our fans allow you to change your thermostat and save money by not having to run your air conditioner or furnace as much. Our heritage of 19th century craftsmanship, combined with 21st century design and innovation, ensures that every product we make is as tough on the inside as it is beautiful on the outside. Backed by our tradition of excellence, you know you can count on everything Hunter Makes for unmatched quality, style and performance. Features: Fan Finish: Premier Bronze Glass Color: White Snowflake Linen Fan Size: 70” Dust Armor: Yes Remote Control Included: Yes Rated for Indoor Use Comes with 5 Dark Maple/Dark Walnut blades 180 watt light kit uses 3-60W candelabra bulbs (bulbs included) 3 position mounting system: flush, standard or angled Limited Lifetime Motor Warranty Powerful Whisperwind® Motor for years of quiet reliability Can be mounted with or without light kit CFM Data: o High Speed 7910 o Medium Speed 5725 o Low Speed 4018 RPM Data: o High Speed 104 o Medium Speed 74 o Low Speed 51 Fan Dimensions: o Ceiling to blade bottom 12.21" o Ceiling to light bottom 19.21" Model: 28839
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 8(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga
Date:June 28, 2013

Great Fan

Pros: quality build, moves lots of air, quiet, attractive, well balanced
Cons: none
Model Number: 28839
"This is a great fan. It is big, and moves lots of air. I believe Hunter makes great basic fans, much better than Harbor Breeze or Hampton Bay. Motor is quiet for such a large fan. Install is straight forward. My fan did not need to be balanced at all. I did not use the remote as I have 2 dedicated switches for fan control and rather avoid the possibility of the RF unit going bad / remote being lost. I also used CFL candelabra base bulbs as accent lighting (dimmer function would prohibit this if installed)"
Review 2 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wildomar, CA
Date:May 5, 2013

Great Value

Pros: looks amazingly good
Cons: directions awkward
"Looked forever for a dark blade ceiling fan greater than 52". This fan not only met sizing and coloring, but is extremely quiet, well balanced and such a great value. Other fans of same size and coloring without the light kit were already $500. Highly recommend snug mounting as well. Directions a bit complicated, but for such a great fan/ value..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:May 2, 2013

Love this fan!!

Pros: super quiet, beautiful
"We put this in our master bedroom, hanging on a 4-ft downrod. It looks so elegant. Completely silent and even though the fan blades don't seem to be moving fast, it moves a lot of air. We had someone install it for us and he didn't even get the directions out of the box. We did not use the remote. We will be buying two more for other areas of the house!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Belago, CA
Date:April 8, 2013

Great fan!

Pros: beautiful, really moves air well, efficient, quiet, value
Model Number: 28839
"We spent a lot of time looking for and researching ceiling fans to place in our living room (L-18 W-18' H-10'). It had to be large, have lights with dimming capability, remote control, multiple speeds, efficient, quiet and enhance the look of the room.
This fan fit the bill perfectly. It is everything we were looking for and is absolutely gorgeous. We love it. The installation was pretty straight forward with 0 issues. The fan moves the air very well and beautifies the room even more.
I was skeptical at first due to the reviews I read on here along with the price it was offered at. I'm so glad we bought and installed it. It betters many fans that costs 2-3X more.
I highly recommend this fan to anyone looking for the same things in a fan that we were."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:napa, ca
Date:June 25, 2013

Beautiful high quality product, bad instructions

Pros: quality, value, quiet, dimmable, fan effectiveness, phone support
Cons: instructions, light output dimmer than expected
Model Number: 28839
"The fan is nearly silent and moves a good amount of air even on low. On high the room cools very quickly. It looks beautiful, all hardware is solid, feels of good quality and finishes are attractive. The style and colors look good with traditional or modern decor.
The main reason I selected this light was because I had to have a fan with reverse and was dimmable. The light doesn't get as bright as I hoped for 3, 60-watt bulbs, but it is bright enough to read by at night, for all but the smallest of print. They call the glass dome "White Snowflake Linen", but a better description is mostly opaque, speckled with white (even more opaque) to more accurately indicate that the light is more diffused than not.
The remote works well, but does have a slight delay beforeit responds. A nice touch is that there are manual (pull-chain) controls that do everything the remote does (except dimmer functions).
Assembly took 3 hours, 1 hour of that was because I had to mostly disassemble it after realizing they omitted instructions on where to put the light/fan control. That part is not mentioned in assembly instructions whatsoever. There are also several parts listed that are pre-installed but not mentioned as such, and if you don't look through the instructions, appear to be otherwise missing. When I called and waited on hold for 10 minutes, but the rep who answered was extremely knowledgeable and was able to help me within 5 minutes.
I highly suggest that you review the parts lists and insttructions making sure everything is there, and call before starting assembly. Ask for an explanation about how to mount the light and fan control unit. This is because if you put the fan together as per the instructions, the fan/light control unit remains in the box without knowing where it goes. Be sure to let them know if you are mounting it flush or at an angle, and if you are wiring it at the wall with two switches (one ea. for the fan and one for the light) or just one for both.
Bottom line: I would buy the fan again and love it's look and function and was a good value for the money. Save yourself time and frustration before putting the fan together and review the parts lists with the instructions accounting for each piece, then call them for guidance on where the fan/light kit is assembled."
Review 6 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:February 20, 2013

Good fan, bad directions.

Pros: quality color balance easy install
Cons: directions
Model Number: 28839
"Overall the fan is great. It is quiet, well balanced, looks large and impressive, you can feel the wind from the couch with 10" ceiling distance and looks pretty to boot. Directions were not the best. There are no directions for the remote part of the fan. (We ended up tossing the remotes and wires to it.) The main wires did not match exactly to the directions. My husband had a friend show him how to wire the first one (we bought 5) and from there the rest were easy. I say about 1 hour to hang when working alone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:July 6, 2013

Bad instruction manual/customer service

Pros: looks nice
Cons: missing vital instructions, shockingly bad customer support
Model Number: 28839
"We wasted 2 hours installing the fan this morning only to discover that there were no instructions included anywhere in the instruction manual for the remote control transmitter. VERY FRUSTRATING. No info found on Hunter website. Called Hunter customer support. Spent 20 minutes on hold. Agent was very curt and unhelpful. Kept insisting that the instructions were on page 10 of the manual, after debating back and forth with her she finally accepted that we did indeed have the wrong instruction manual. She directed us to the Hunter website for the correct version, but the web page has an error and directs us to call Hunter Customer Support!!!! I asked if she could email it to us. She said she could not access it and she would put it in the mail!! No apology, no empathy. I asked to speak to a manager, she said none were available and she would have one call me. One hour later I am still waiting. I had to pay a handyman $50 today for 2 hours of wasted time. When the manual arrives I will have to pay another $50 to have the fan removed, the transmitter installed and the fan rehung. I am truly appalled at the lack of ownership Hunter showed in regards to an error that was clearly theirs. I have since found several reviews on the Costco website from other customers who have had the same problem dating back to January, yet they have still not corrected the problem and provided the correct instruction manual. Very disappointing."
Review 8 for Hunter Fan Fernwood 70” Premier Bronze Ceiling Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 7, 2013

Worst product ever purchased from Costco

Pros: looks nice
Cons: directions were incomplete and wrong, remote does not work, hunter technical support was useless
Model Number: 28839
"I never take the time to write reviews but this experience has to be shared. The directions are completely wrong. The wiring details do not even account for the RF module to make the fan work with the remote. Called Hunter and they were useless. Save yourself the hassle and do not buy the fan. I will be returning this to Costco promptly."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.