Customer Reviews for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Limit 1 qty. per order. If you would like to purchase more than 1 HP computer (whether it be the same or different item#) you must place a separate order for 1 qty. each time. 2 HP computers placed on the same order subjects 1 order to cancellation. Processor & Memory: 3rd generation Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM Processor (2.4 GHz, Max Turbo up to 3.4Ghz) 6MB L3 Cache 12GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) Drives: 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive  with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection Blu-ray writer & SuperMulti DVD burner Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 8  (64-bit) Windows 8 is Beautiful, fast, and fluid. Personalized: Make your Start Screen your personalized home for the things you care about.  Organize and customize it the way you want. Connected: Now everything is in one place to share.  Integrate your online favorites – Facebook, Flickr, Hotmail, etc. – with content from your PC., such as photos and contacts. Graphics & Video: 17.3-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600 x 900)   NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M Graphics with 2GB of dedicated video memory Communications: 802.11b/g/n WLAN Integrated 10/100BASE-T Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 connector)   HP Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone Audio: Beats™ audio + HP Triple Bass Reflex Subwoofer Keyboard: Backlit Keyboard with numeric keypad Ports: 1x USB 2.0 3x SuperSpeed USB 3.0 HDMI VGA Multi-Format Digital Media Card Reader Productivity Software: Microsoft® Office Home & Student 2010 Full Version Microsoft® Word Microsoft® Excel Microsoft® PowerPoint Microsoft® OneNote Power Supply: 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery (Up to 5 hours 15 minutes of battery life) 120W AC adaptor Additional Information: Color: aluminum chassis in midnight black (metal) Fingerprint Reader: Yes Coolsense Included: Yes Dimensions: 16.38" W x 10.79" D x 1.24”~1.39” H Weight (Approximately): 6.94 lbs Warranty: 2-year limited hardware support
Average Customer Rating:
4.198 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(682 Reviews) 682
(out of 682 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (682 reviews)
5 stars
394
4 stars
158
3 stars
53
2 stars
25
1 star
52
570 of 682(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Review 1 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:washington
Date:December 28, 2012

disapointed

Pros: back lit key board
Cons: not very fast
"the specs would indicate that this is a hot computer. it is not. not very fast and freezes during internet surfing all the time. sound is ok for a laptop, but not great. overall it is not a "bad" computer but i expected a lot more, from a core i 7 processor, very disappointed. if you can wait for something better that's what i'd recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:June 13, 2013

Worst service ever had.

Pros: wish i never bought it
Cons: service department at h.p. useless
Model Number: B6B75AV H.P. ENVY7T-7200 NotebookPC
"Been send back 4 times to texas repair center still not right. Have gone weeks with out unit while in repair. Bought in Dec. broke in May 4weeks in and out of texas."
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bucks County, PA
Date:February 27, 2013

Returned it....

Pros: price- but you get what you pay for
Cons: cheap construction- bad wireless card- windows 8
Model Number: HP Envy DV7T
"Just returned this computer after using it for 2 months. Thanks Costco ! The computer itself is one of the cheapest computers I have seen. The keyboard specifically. The keys are cheap plastic and the keyboard itself has a wave in it. The space bar had to be hit hard to work. I was constantly typing and going back to notice that I didn't have spaces between words. The wireless card its a piece of junk and you will need to replaced if you purchase it. It has NO range and does not find anything but 2.4 frequency. Don't get me started on Windows 8 :("
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern Colorado
Date:December 1, 2012

Windows 8 is the worst operating system ever!

Pros: not one thing!
Cons: everything from windows 8 to hardware
Model Number: HP Envy dv7
"What is Microsoft thinking? Windows 8 is nothing more than glorified extra large icons that you don't need!
Windows 8 is cumbersome, is difficult to maneuver around, and one wrong finger stroke jumps you out of your application and to the oversize icons. Very frustating! I have always been a fan of Windows until now!
This laptop feezes up frequently requiring several system restarts.
This laptop is going right back to Costco!
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:December 16, 2012

Fast

Pros: speed and power.
Cons: can't install windows 7 ultimate over windows 8.
Model Number: HP Envy DV7T Quad 7200
"A really fast computer with enough ram and processor to multitask quite efficiently. I'm a gamer so when it came time to shop I first went to look at Alienware but then this DV7T caught my eye with its 2gb of dedicated Nvidia ram and its i7 core with 12gb of ram. Not to mention the 1tb hard drive and the blu-ray 'BURNER' (a drive which is always the first thing I upgrade). I play all of my games on their highest possible video settings and the DV7T doesn't even break a sweat. I got this DV7T at about a third of the price of a comparable Alienware...thank you Costco! It's got an ample number of usb ports which is nice and three of them are usb 3.0 which is great because I've got five 3.0 3tb external hard drives and the data flies all around between them at speeds averaging 60 to 70 mbps. If I had to point to one draw back it would be the lack of Bluetooth; no real biggie though because I simply stuck a Bluetooth dongle into the usb 2.0 port and I get a wi-fi connection from my Galaxy Note 2 using Bluetooth dun with no problems. I had nothing but satisfaction with my old Pavillion DV4 for many years and I'm looking forward to the Envy carrying on the torch."
Review 6 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Charlotte. NC
Date:December 27, 2012

Returned--- a disappointment

Pros: nice to look at, fast when i could get glitchy windows 8 to work
Cons: no backlit keyboard, windows 8
Model Number: i7-3630QM 2
"Mine did not arrive with a backlit keyboard as was noted in the description so I returned it as I do much work in a low light setting and need that illumination. Some others have commented on how cumbersome and glitchy Windows 8 is. I too found it maddening and did not appreciate any positives compared to Windows 7 with my usage"
Review 7 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cordova, CA
Date:December 16, 2012

Not impressed

Pros: fast love the backlid keyboard
Cons: simple pass not working.
Model Number: HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz
"OK.........Windows 8 is horrible and they would have been better off with Windows 7. Windows 8 is not user friendly. Had the PC 3 days and Simple Pass is not working. Researched the issue online and found out that I am not the only person with this issue..........many many more people with the same issue. When I close the PC and try to turn it back on.....I have black screen and have to turn PC off in order to get it going again. I expected more from this PC. So...........at this point..........PC is going back to store."
Review 8 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2012
Cons: seems quality control has deteriated from hp
Model Number: HP dv7t quad
"Received Laptop as a Christmas present. Turned it on and it says Operating System not installed please contact HP. Product was dv7t. Returned the day after Christmas as it was useless."
Review 9 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Plano, Texas
Date:December 28, 2012

Check your order!!

Model Number: dv7t Quad Laptop
"My order should come with NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M Graphics with 2GB of dedicated video memory but just find out is come with Intel HD Graphics 4000.
May be I drink too much during the holiday...... I am going to talk to COSTCO later!
"
Review 10 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:N. California
Date:December 16, 2012

Frustrated with purchase

Pros: like the big screen and lighted keybord.
Cons: continual service and graphics issues., slow response from hp sometimes on issues.
Model Number: DVT7 -
"I bought this computer back in August and everything was going well. There are/were many things I liked about the computer - backlit keyboard, BluRay, speed, but then he graphics card (NVIDA) mafunctioned. No matter what I could not get the card to work. Called HP - went through deleing, uploading, dowloading the drivers and programs for NVIDA. No luck. Had to send it in finally to HP for repair as my 90 days had ran past wth COSTCO by 6 days. Had I gave it back to COSTCO rather than spend a week or more with HP help desk I would have been good.
Anyway, HP repaired/replaced the mother board an I had the computer returned. Now a week or so later I have the same issue with the NVIDA card. Unable to access it, and the computer thinks it is gone - again - the very same issue. NOT A HAPPY HP CUSTOMER."
Review 11 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:December 16, 2012

Fast with Nice Features

Pros: fast, nice backlit keyboard, nice screen, great sound for a laptop
Cons: possible reliability issues, windows 8 is not user-friendly
Model Number: HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, Blu-ray Writer
"I purchased this to replace a five year old HP laptop that I have never had a problem with. The computer came fairly quickly from China and I was able to get it up and running pretty easily including installing many of my software programs. However, I started having problems within a few days. Initially the computer would begin to boot up and then shut down. This is usually a hardware issue. Finally, I got a message saying that the smart drive had detected an imminent failure. After that, it would no longer boot up. All I got was a message saying that there was no system software installed-- a complete hard drive failure. I called the Concierge service last night and they will contact HP to see if I can get a new hard drive sent out ASAP because I leave for an extended vacation in five days. I understand that a hard drive failure can be unforeseen by HP, but we'll see how they respond. My rating will go up if they expedite the replacement. Otherwise, I'll just return it to Costco. I would rather just replace the hard drive than return it and order a replacement because everything else seems to be working just fine. Who knows what issues the replacement could have."