Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Processor & Memory: 3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM Processor 2.2 GHz (up to 3.2 GHz) 6 MB Cache 8 GB shared Dual Channel DDR3 (2 DIMM) Drives: 1 TB (5,400 RPM) SATA Hard Drive 8x Tray Load CD/DVD Burner (Dual Layer DVD+/-R Drive) Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 8  (64-bit) Windows 8 is Beautiful, fast, and fluid. Personalized: Make your Start Screen your personalized home for the things you care about.  Organize and customize it the way you want. Connected: Now everything is in one place to share.  Integrate your online favorites – Facebook, Flickr, Hotmail, etc. – with content from your PC., such as photos and contacts. Graphics & Video: 15.6" High Definition (720p) LED Display with TrueLife™ Intel® HD Graphics 4000 Communications: Intel® Centrino® Wireless-N 2230, 2x2 bgn + Bluetooth 4.0 10/100 Network card Integrated HD 1.0MP Webcam with Digital Mic Audio: Stereo speakers with Waves MaxxAudio® 3 processing Keyboard: Dell chiclet keyboard with multi-touch touchpad I/O Ports & Slots: 3x USB 3.0 Ports + 1x USB 3.0 PowerShare    1x VGA 1x RJ-45 Ethernet 1x HDMI™ v1.4a 1x Multi-media Card Reader 1x AC Adapter Connector 1x Headphone Jack 1x Microphone Jack 1x Kensington Security Lock Power Supply: 6-cell 48 WHr Lithium Ion Battery Additional Information: Color: Moon Silver Exchangeable Lid Dimensions: 14.88" W x 9.92" D x 1.18" H front - 1.34" H back Weight (Approximately): 6.05 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 122
(out of 129 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (129 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
40
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
16
98 of 129(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Review 1 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:January 9, 2013

Bad Touchpad - Jumpy and erratic cursor

Pros: excellent spec - core i-7. 8gb ram. 1tb hd.
Cons: faulty touchpad. very poor screen resolution.
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel Core i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
"Purchased the same Dell model 15R (but core i-5 not core i-7) from another online computer store on BF 2012. Had to return it due to the faulty touchpad. The cursor became jumpy and erratic when the laptop was connected to power adapter, or not connected but was near another laptop. Dell sent an onsite technician to replace the whole touchpad palmrest circuirtboard. But that didn't fix the problem. The techinican had 0 idea what went wrong. I had to return the laptop to the store. Got a full refund. Then purchased the same Dell 15R (core i-7 8G 1TB) from Costco thinking it would be a good one this time and hoping to give Dell another chance. Unfortunately, the laptop is having the exact same issue. Called Dell and they suggested the same 'solution' - replacing the touch palmrest. I told them ah ah no no. I am returning this laptop. Will never buy any Dell laptop again. BTW, Dell customer/technical support staffs were friendly and helpful. No problem dealing with them."
Review 2 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:December 20, 2012

OK for the price; support slipped big time

Pros: speedy enough, decent quality, nice screen, large (1 tb) hard drive
Cons: dell support slipping, keyboard problem that dell can not solve, ms office not included, windows 8 horrific!, random loss of wi-fi connectivity
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
"Been a Dell customer for decades now. Got some issues with their support. Only options are: 1) replace hardware (ie keyboard) or 2) reimage the computer to as-built state. Nothing else.
Comments on the laptop:
* Bigger than expected but not overly heavy.
* Nice screen for the price
* Lacks MS Office
* More than speedy enough for most people
* build quality a hair better than last version of the pc
Cons:
1)others mentioned this - lose wifi connection time to time. strange
2) windows 8 horrific!
3) problem with right <SHIFT> key - acts like <control> key - 2 weeks working with support (4+ hours so far) 2 keyboards and motherboard - still not fixed (returning laptop to Costco for new one)
Unsure if the keyboard problem I am having is a windows issue or Dell. Going to try another one before passing judgment
I would give 5 stars if I didn't have the keyboard problem. Read other reviews with other keyboard/touchpad problems."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento ca.
Date:December 1, 2012

Very happy with my purchase so forth

Pros: the price for all it offers
Cons: none at this time but ill look.
"I purchased this computer on thanksgiving day and it arrived on 11/30/12. This what I was looking on a computer all the specs and around this price range. I looked everywhere and could not find one with all this in this price range. It took me a few hrs to figure out windows 8 but ones you figure it out its perty cool. I was very pleased with the quickness of the computer it download pages in a instant even though I don't have a very fast Internet out there it's a 3 g of speed. When you brows to fotos of Facebook is super quick. So far I'm happy with my purshased so far we'll se what the future brings.remenber you have 3 months to test it out."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2012

Great while it lasted...

Pros: speed, sound, os
Cons: quality, design
"This computer was really nice. It was so fast, the sound was pretty good. The display was eh but ok. It was however very bulky and not very sleek. but still nice at the same time. However, the first day there was a squeaky noise coming from the trackpad clicker. it got so bad that the computer was just bothersome to use. then on about the 4th day, it got very stiff. and then by night time...CRACK! It broke. Its a shame that such a high powered computer, can be plagued by something as simple as poor workmanship. Thank god for costco's return policy! I most likely won't be buying dell again and i'll be sticking with apple/samsung."
Review 5 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:December 4, 2012

Excellent Value Quad-Core Laptop

Pros: cpu, performance, storage
Cons: display
Model Number: Dell Inc. Inspiron 5520
"You can't review this machine without considering what you're getting for the price. This is as good a value I have seen for a quad-core laptop, combined with 8GM RAM and a full 1TB drive. Nothing else comes close. Geekbench 32-bit score of 9314. Windows 8 is not so great, but you can get it to work like W7. The main downside is the built-in display of 1366 x 768. However, just hook this up to a 1080P monitor (also purchased from Costco.com) and you've got yourself a high-power workstation. For the price, pretty amazing. I'm not going to use this much as a true mobile laptop, but more a basic home PC with excellent performance."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:December 3, 2012

Inferior Dell Quality

Pros: configuration
Cons: cheap build very cheap, windows 8
"The laptop looks like a cheap plastic toy computer for kids. I wasn't impressed with the quality at all. Dell has progressively gone down in terms of quality but this was a stretch. I think to make the configuration available for less than $700, they had to cut costs somewhere else. But no point of having a high powered laptop which will break into pieces if it falls on ground. I returned the item the next day, mainly due to it's construction. COSTCO was VERY GOOD and friendly. They were super fast and returned all my money"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2013

Broken computer, worse customer support

Pros: none
Cons: broken product woeful dell customer service.
"Purchased this Dell laptop from Costco for Christmas gift. When opened, the keyboard was broke as keys kept popping off. Contacted Dell for support. After much run around, all I got was more runaround. Customer service manager basically said I could wait for a tech to come and fix it at their leisure or return the product. SO I guess now I will be working with Costco's customer service because Dell's is the pits. This is the first and last Dell product I will buy."
Review 8 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 2, 2013

Excellent Value

Pros: price, well equipped
Cons: about 1/2 pound heavier than it should be
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2
"Got this laptop for Xmas and I love it. I already upgraded it to 16GB of RAM (specs say 8GB is the max however that is incorrect.. 16GB is working great for me). Windows 8 takes some getting used to but it's fine. The touch pad is large but if it gets in your way use a wireless mouse and disable it. Then you'll have no problems. I have no difficulty avoiding the touch pad when I type. This laptop is an excellent value."
Review 9 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 17, 2012

Hard to type...big mouse pad..

Pros: great system...
Cons: wide mouse pad...
"The wide mousepad is troublesome- while typing, it's very easy for the palm to touch it and moves the cursor in another place.kept going back & forth..overall I still love the rest of the specs... returned it back to Costco and just try the other ones..."
Review 10 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:December 4, 2012

Great Laptop!!

Pros: 1 tb harddrive i7 wireless display to tv., good quality audio cheap.
Cons: none
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
"I really like number of features it delivered in such a reasonable price. Like 1 TB harddrive with i7 processor. Its super fast and i loved watching hi-def videos on it. The audio is quite good too.
All in all a nice laptop to own!!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:January 5, 2013

Black dot, but other than that great

Model Number: Dell 15R, i7, 8GB RAM, 1 TB HD, No Full Office
"The one I received had a spot of "dead" pixels on the screen - so it's going back to Costco. Other than that - Fast processor. Great amount of RAM and HD space. Windows 8 will take some getting used to."
Review 12 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM 2.2GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:December 27, 2012

not a good laptop

Pros: specs apper to be impressive for the price
Cons: randomly loses wifi, speakers are not loud enough, bulky and heavy, short battery life
"While the specs for the price are impressive, there are too many shortcomings. Returning it to Costco."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.