Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.331 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
(out of 118 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
6
96 of 118(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013

caveat

Pros: does a good job of removing pet hair
Cons: it requires too much prep and attention
Model Number: 595
"I've been using our Roomba for several months now and frankly am kicking myself for succumbing to gadget-mongering; this thing is in no way what I naively imagined it would be and I would never recommend it to a friend. In an online survey by iRobot I was asked about the feelings this thing engenders, and one of them puzzled me...it was "anger". I understand that now.
First, the Roomba is not intelligent at all. It has very limited powers of dealing with its environment and if you watch it at work for any length of time, I think you'll find yourself shaking your head and muttering things like, "how dumb can it be?". The answer is "maddeningly dumb!" If you have low tolerance for machinery that has to be monitored constantly to keep it from screwing up, you would hate a Roomba. Its sensory equipment is very limited; it CAN see a wall, up close, but it CAN'T see furniture that is dark-colored or raised above the floor. So, in an unfurnished room, it can follow walls and do a pretty good job, but in a room with lots of furnishings, it tends to go bumping along and wandering off on weird tangents. It can drive itself under things like chairs or beds and get stuck, leaving you in the position of having to rescue it. It can wander out of an area you want it to clean, like your living room and wind up lost in a closet or down a hallway.
It can get tangled up with things; iRobot touts its ability to detect entanglements and back off before it's too late. Don't believe it. If you carelessly leave something stringy lying around, the Roomba will find it and proceed to choke itself.
It requires a LOT of guidance; in our situation, I have to move furniture around to create an area that the machine can handle. I have to position the two "virtual walls" very carefully to restrict it to the space I want it to clean. I can't possibly simply turn it loose in an unstructured environment and expect it to clean that area first, then proceed to the next. It will never happen! I have had to resort to all kinds of crazy stopgap solutions to keep it out of traps that it especially loves, and I'm sick of it. The latest (in addition to things like pool noodles to keep it from getting stuck under a table); I've found I can use a mirror to turn the virtual wall into a corner. But, what a pain in the neck! The alternative...move some more furniture or buy another $50 virtual wall!
It requires maintenance after every use. You have to empty the dust bin and you have to remove and clean the brushes (three of them, one requiring a screw driver to remove). The filter really has to be blown clean with compressed/canned air after every use.
And the bottom line...under absolutely ideal conditions, the Roomba only gets surface dirt. It can do pretty well at that, especially pet hair but at the expense of a lot of effort on your part (see above). But down more than a few millimeters, it does nothing at all. iRobot tells customers that the Roomba is only a supplement to regular vacuuming; how true that is! Let the Roomba do all the vacuuming for a couple of weeks then run your regular vacuum...if it has a dirt detector in it, you will be shocked by how much the robot missed.
If you have a very simple floorplan, few furnishings, a lot of patience and enjoy the challenges that cussed machinery can toss you, then by all means, get a Roomba 595 and have fun. Otherwise, I'd suggest you think twice before buying one!"
Review 2 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hazel Green, AL
Date:August 11, 2013

Great Little Helper - Like having a live-in maid

Pros: works great on hardwood floors, easy to clean daily, easy to disassemble for thorough cleaning maintena
Cons: can get caught under low hanging objects, trouble transitioning from carpet to a thick rug
Model Number: iRobot Roomba 595
"I doubted the vacuuming ability of a small robot like a Roomba but after reading the manual and examining the collection bin and filter I realized the ability of it would depend on my attention to emptying the bin after every cleaning cycle as mentioned in the manual. This is not an issue since Roomba does all of the hard work. If your house is larger than what Roomba can effectively clean in a single cycle then clean out the bin, switch filters and let it charge before picking it up and moving it to another area before starting it again. The invisible walls are easy to position and should be seen as a means to keep Roomba out of an area or to confine Roomba to an area. Personally, I keep Roomba out of the master suite during the daily cycle, change the filter, let Roomba charge and move it to the master bedroom before letting it clean that area.
Don't try to figure out how Roomba is programmed to clean although the manual does give a good description. If you watch it you might think it has missed an area but in reality Roomba covers an entire area mostly with repetition. It should be understood that the Roomba cannot deep clean down into a carpet like a conventional vacuum but if it fits it will clean under objects like dressers, beds, chairs, tables and couches. Roomba is capable of cleaning the dust from hard floors and surface debris such as hair, fur and other small stuff from the surface of carpets.
By the way, once you've learned all of Roomba's limitations (1-2 weeks) you can schedule it to operate while you are out of the residence and when you come back it's as if the maid has come and gone. I just wish iRobot had a robot that would dust my furniture.
Finally, I just have to say that I'm delighted with the time returned to me from the chore of vacuuming and I don't mind a bit cleaning out the collection bin of Roomba. Also of note, the filter can be gently cleaned with a little soap and water in the sink, blotted almost dry and alternated with the other filter easily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida and NY
Date:July 1, 2013

A Mans Vacuum

Pros: works on it's own
Model Number: 595 Pet Vacuum
"This is a "Mans vacuum" the way men were meant to vacuum. Push the clean button, sit back in the recliner, turn on the TV and let the Roomba do all the work. It’s a hockey puck on wheels with a suction port at its heart that runs around you room. The first time I ran Roomba was in our house in Florida about a week after a cleaning service got it ready. It was funny to hear Roomba play its startup music then roll off the charger base and start moving around the room. The first use you should be there to watch and see if you need to make any changes in the layout. I was surprised to see how it moved along the walls making any course changes it needed as well moving around objects. How it slowed down before hitting something then bouncing off and changing directions. When it was finished it returned back to the charger base every time. Their was about half the bin full of stuff it picked up. I carried Roomba around the house letting it clean every room and it worked unbelievable well. You would not think a little hockey puck on wheels could do such a great job or such a small bin could hold so much, well worth the cost. I was also surprised how quite it is much less that a regular vacuum, it didn’t bother me once even with the TV on. All the advanced features work even the Dirt detection functions light glowed several time while the Roomba was doing its job. The programming function is a handy feature so you can set Roomba to start its job after you left your home. I also found that it doesn’t blow out dirt into the air like a regular vacuum does, the air stays clean and breathable. It involves a little more maintenance than a regular vacuum cleaning the sensors and such but it’s nothing biggie. My hat is off to the people at IRobot for making such a useful tool and making vacuuming a pleasure, now work on a robot duster and dish washer load/unloader."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, Arizona
Date:October 25, 2012

I Hate Vacuuming

Pros: you don't have to vacuum. yeah!
Cons: dogs bark at it.
Model Number: 59502
"Just bought this and am well satified so far. I must say that I read over 100 reviews on several different models. The one thing that I saw stressed is "Maintenance". If you are going to buy any model you should be dilligent in cleaning after each use. The side bushings pick up hair and it gets wrapped around them. The brushes get gummed-up with hair and debris. Cleaning doesn't take very long if you are dilligent and pays off in the long run. I ruined a steam cleaner by not keeping these two items cleaned and learned the hard way. Also, someone recommended using an air compressor to blow-out the filters to keep them clean and prolong the life of the filter. Sounds like good advice.
I like the two virtual walls that came with the vacuum. I position them so the Roomba cleans only one room at a time, that way I can pick up dog toys, cords and anything else so Roomba doesn't get hung-up on them. You don't have to do this. It can travel from room to room.
My little dogs thought this was an alien being invading their territory and barked and charged it. Roomba was determined to clean. After a while, they just gave up and watched her. Yes, her. We named her "Rosie the Robot". I've noticed most people name their Roomba's.
Well, I'll have to update you at a later date as to how she's doing. I've wanted one of these robots for several years now. From what I've heard, Costco has a very good customer service policy. I spent a couple of months doing research before making this purchase. I hate vacuuming. Know the pros and cons and go for it, just remember to keep it clean.
Happy Roombaing!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:JAX, FL
Date:May 31, 2013

"Pet Vacuum"

Pros: climbs tall "speed bumps"
Cons: does not have sensor to detect pet poo.
Model Number: 595
"We purchased our Roomba 3 weeks ago and we LOVE IT. Just set the schedule and it does the rest. It has enough battery life to vacuum the entire house (1900 sf). It even cleans under couches, tables, and chairs. The robot has sensors all over it and the way it works, from what I’ve observed, is that when it lightly bumps an object (wall, furniture, chair, etc), it turns and goes the opposite direction. It continues to do this until the entire house is clean and then it automatically returns to its docking station for a recharge. It has some other high tech features as well. One that is extremely advanced, senses “heavily soiled” areas. When a heavily soiled area is detected, the Roomba will go in circles to make sure it “picks up” everything. Once that area is detected as clean, it goes back to bumping/cleaning the remainder of the house. This is a great feature UNLESS YOUR 90 lb GREYHOUND TAKES A DUMP ON THE RUG!! The Roomba will actually sense the heavily soiled area, run it over two or three thousand times, then track dog poo all over the remainder of the house…under couches, under tables, against walls, over rugs…it’s amazing! The Roomba was designed with many intricate parts. I’d estimate that it takes at least two hours to remove the dog poo from all of those intricate parts…the tractor pattern tires do not make it easier to clean, however, they can leave a decorative poo pattern all over a brand new laminate floor.
Overall, I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars (I would have given it 5 stars if it would have actually scooped up the poo)."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:September 27, 2013

GREAT CONCEPT poor execution - terrible results

Pros: reliability, extra stuff included
Cons: no intelligence, no capacity to map home, no capacity to know where cleaned
Model Number: 595
"Spending $300 on a vacuum was hard to justify at first but after hours of research I settled on the Roomba.
Like all purchases I did my due diligence and researched the robotic vacuum options out there. The top choices were Roomba and Neato.
Roomba vacuums are less likely to break down compared to the Neato robotic vacuums (biggest advantage) but at the same time the iRobot's has inferior suction, NO INTELLIGENCE and worst of all no intelligence.
I was sold on the Roomba since I thought reliability was more important than intelligence -- boy was I WRONG.
The iROBOT is like a glorified toy car that moves around like the driver's asleep at the wheel... it spends precious battery life running over the same spots again and again, bouncing off the walls like a ball. The robot has NO IDEA where it's been and where it's going... it's absolutely stupid.
They've had this technology / product out for years YET they REFUSE to add any form of intelligence to it because they know people will buy it due to limited options in the market...
I've had it for about 3 days and it's a horrible investment --I realize the Neato is more prone to 'breaking down' but if it can get the job done & help me keep my home clean then it'd be worth trying.
The iRobot is going back to Costco because it hasn't been able to provide ANY VALUE to me or my household...
I've got tons of tech gadgets around my house and 'Smart' internet enabled appliances, this BY FAR IS THE WORST product I've came across in recent years.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:June 24, 2013

Great on hard surfaces, ok on carpet

Pros: picks up pet hair on hard floors, does a good job even in large areas, pets ignore it
Cons: hates shag throw rugs
"I highly recommend this item if you have hard floors. It picks up dust, pet hair, dust bunnies, and dirt. It has a very random pattern to its travels which is good as it usually gets into most rooms. I would say that after three cleaning cycles it will have covered our 1300 sq feet area completely. The roombe runs for about an hour before it returns to the base if it finds it. Sometimes it dies before finding the charger (because it is far away). This is not a big problem as I just set it on the charger when I get home.
But keep your expectations within reason. This unit will not replace a regular vacuum. You will need to vacuum once in a while to get into crevices and corners.
I am not overly impressed with how well it handles carpet. It seems to have trouble with pet hair, and honestly it does not have the suction power of a conventional vacuum. This is where conventional vacuuming comes into play on occasion. I did not buy it for carpet, and went into the purchase knowing I would have to pull out the vacuum for carpets every now and then.
If you have hard floors, then this unit is ideal. If you have tight carpet it will also probably work great also. It will replace your weekly vacuuming -which is why I bought it. Both me and my wife have junk knees, and the less time standing the better.
On a side note, our dog and cats do not bother the unit. It is just quiet enough to not cause any fear. The cats just watch it, and the dog totally ignores it."
Review 8 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Braselton, GA
Date:July 18, 2014

Love my Roomba!

Pros: does the work for you!, can reach tough spots like under the bed, is good at following edges of walls/furniture, has a "spot" feature to focus on one area
Cons: can't get on top of all area rugs, sometimes gets stuck in odd spots w/narrow entry, dust bin must be cleaned out each time (1 minute)
"I received this Roomba as a birthday gift and I love it. We have all hardwood floors, two dogs and a baby. With the constant shedding there is always dog hair on the floor and it just seemed gross for the baby, but we both work full time and can't be vacuuming daily. Now that I have this Roomba, I just set it to go and poof I have clean floors! We have a pretty split up floor plan so I found that it worked best to close the doors and do one half of the house at a time (open floorplans might need the virtual walls). The Roomba is surprisingly good at navigating around the edges of things which is great because that is where most of the dog hair seems to build up. Although the Roomba does have "anti-tangle technology" I found that it is best to just do a quick walkthrough and pick up any loose charging cables, belts, shoelaces, etc. You kind of need to do that anyway though because if there is stuff laying around (shoes, balled up socks, etc.) it is not going to be able to vacuum under them. I did find though that some things are so light that the Roomba will just drive them across the room, ha ha. My husband left his foam flip-flops out and I walked in to see the Roomba happily driving around pushing a flip-flop. Cracked me up! And for those who are complaining that it's noisy ... really?! It's WAY quieter than my Dyson. Yeah you might not want it running right under you if you're watching TV, but if it's even one room away it's not a problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

Its ok but damages trim and furniture

Pros: efficient software mapping/scheduling
Cons: causes damage to trim and furniture, doesn't clean fine dust/particles as well as other, loud, dust bin door is a stupid deisgn
"I have used the Moneual products and Roomba's. I would say the the software and algorithms for the Roomba are better and the ability to dock/schedule, that's about where it ends.
This Roomba has cost me more in damage then the cost of the unit bc the unit bangs into things so hard, its crazy. The bumper is made of a harder plastic then other brands causing it to cause minor scratches/dings. I like my trim in my house to be spotless and pop with the nice white paint, the Roomba has hit the trim so hard and made turns while rubbing up against it that it has white scuff marks on the front bumper. Then the little eye on top is made of hard plastic, so I have some low furniture that the eye keeps banging into, causing damage b/c its soft wood.
I have hardwood throughout my house with throw rugs, the Roomba does a ok job but I don't know if the vacuum suction isn't as good as the moneual bc the moneual will gets tons of the find dust that this Roomba is not picking up. I ran the Roomba 3 times in a room until I got nothing much in the bin, I put my moneual out, it picked up a lot of fine dust which the Roomba left behind.
There is a new moneual 68 pro coming out which I will buy to try it out and compare, the Roomba is going back b/c it doesn't clean as well as my moneual and causes damage b/c of its inability to do soft bumps, also the plastic is a lot harder then a moneual. The bin is also a stupid design with the mini door to open up."
Review 10 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue WA
Date:February 16, 2014

Don't use daily, see the difference

Pros: persistent, thorough, picks tons crud you've no idea where it came from
Cons: gets entangled - them baby socks, gets lost sometimes
Model Number: 595
"Technically the roomba uses a ping-pong heuristic algorithm akin to how you would scour a dirty heavily soiled pot - back and forth not missing any dirty areas, including some that seem lightly soiled but turn out to be tough stains.
This ping pong algorithm seems erratic and it is with the advantage that it covers every nook and odd cranny your house has. It does not take anything for granted persisting until it's gone over the same surface area at least a few times and then some.
When it encounters stringy carpet edges or carpet that coils, it doesn't not deal with it gracefully. But it does ping-poing away and try for cleaning it from a different angle.
Putting aside too much judgement about how "intelligent" it is, the outcome speaks for itself. When we don't use it for a couple of days, it's quite noticeable. With 90% hardwood, a 3 year old with a hefty toy sprawl, and a kitchen with various carpeted surfaces, the Roomba delivers great results day in-out.
If I were Dyson, I would worry. I'm sure they are. Nearly 1/5 of all households use Roombas now. Why vacuum when you can have a persistent auto-vacuum assistant do it for you, who doesn't tire and doesn't take any corner for granted.
I'm debating whether to get the new series that just came out which supposedly has triple the vacuuming power. It's also double the price. Rumor is Roomba is working on a Costco deal. Will pick it up in a heartbeat - one for each floor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando FL
Date:September 25, 2013

Amazed

Pros: quite, great job cleaning, long battery life, virtual walls keep roomba out of certain rooms
Cons: does not support virtual lighthouse
"After owning a Neato XV 21 for a month I thought nothing could compare to how smart that vacuum was,the biggest down fall was the vacuum only lasted 30 minutes tops then had to recharge for 3 hours then start back up again,so it got returned. I saw this Roomba at my local Costco and figured I would try it cause the worse that would happen is I would return it. All I can say is I am amazed at how well it cleans, I have it cleaning my family room,dining room,living room, and the kitchen. The Roomba does look like it has no idea what its doing at first starting in one area of the room then all of the sudden going to the other side of the house,but just let it be cause it will go EVERYWHERE and clean everything. The randomness of the Roomba assures that it hits spots multiple times making sure you get as much off the floors as you can.The battery life on this thing is outstanding, I got about 2 hours before the Roomba starting to find its dock and the battery notification light wasn't even blinking yet so I could of gotten longer. This Roomba is also quite compared to the Neato or a traditional upright vacuum. I have it set to clean in the morning and I can sleep right through it. One thing I must bring to attention is this model does NOT support the Virtual Lighthouse irobot sells. Overall I love this Roomba and if you were on the fence like me to get the Neato or Roomba go for the Roomba because you wont be disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Coastal California
Date:February 3, 2014

Should have got this sooner!

Pros: powerful, gets under furniture, whisks dirt out of corners and against walls, thorough
Cons: none yet after three months
Model Number: 595 Pet series
"Yes, I am a clean freak. I have a collection of cleaning supplies - vacuums, cloths, sprays, dusters, steamers, and on and on. A few friends have had Roombas and I always thought they were expensive and didn't trust their longevity.
I noticed that the newer models have gotten better and better reviews online. I looked to see if Costco sold them and sure enough they did. I think that clinched it for me. If I didn't like it or if the battery dies, I know Costco will take it back, so what did I have to lose?
I am kicking myself that I didn't get this sooner. It does a better job on my hard floors than I can with any vacuum. The Roomba's "whiskers" pull dust and dirt out of corners, against walls, under the bed and other furniture where I couldn't reach. Regular vacuum heads can't get into the corners and right up against walls where the dust gathers. For Roomba - no problem!
I divide Roomba's work into three separate areas for max effectiveness and because each area can fill up the bin (I have a dog and shedding wool area rugs). So I rotate using Roomba every day in one of the areas. It's so nice to walk on the floor barefoot and not feel a speck of dirt and not notice any little dust bunnies hiding in a corner or a layer of dust under beds. My house is now clean as a whistle! My husband is wondering when Roomba is coming out with a duster-bot or shower-bot!"
Review 13 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:November 28, 2012

Happy Camper Guaranteed

Pros: keeps pet hair dirt and debris at bay, can be set to clean automatically, gets under anything that can be gotten-under, manages corners various floor types & obsticals, super sweet gadget, saves a great deal of personal time, self-docks for charging
Cons: scares the pants off my animals, must clean out pet hair after every cleaning cycle
Model Number: KYN595021205240801167
"With three in-door long-haired cats, a constantly shedding Siberian Husky, and a boyfriend allergic to pet hair and pet dander, I spend an unprecedented amount of my time cleaning. Enter Roomba 595. I'll admit that I have been greatly hesitant to purchase this product, as the reviews regarding defective or inadequate Roomba's has deterred me in the past. Costco's excellent return policy, coupled with the killer price point, finally gave me an excuse to take the leap into the world of iRobots and I am never going back.
Roomba 595 covers every nook and cranny of my home (albeit, a teeny, tiny, two bedroom, but an entire home nonetheless) leaving minimal dirt, debris, or pet hair behind. It cruises under furniture effortlessly, even managing to get those pesky pet-hair pile-ups that gravitate and cling to the bottom of chair legs. Transitioning from hardwood floor to rugs, sliding over door jams, or avoiding cliffs to the outerworld? Not a problem. Cables, clutter, or (given the timing of this review) a Christmas tree? No big deal. Roomba handles all this and more with ease. My biggest happy surprise was the tiny extension spinner that snags muck from under the refrigerator and washer/dryer. Brilliant!
Hands down, the best gift I've ever given myself. I highly recommend this little gem to anyone with pets, dingy corners, or a love of rad gadgets."
Review 14 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:December 3, 2013

Buy Neato Instead

Pros: less expensive batteries, quieter than neato
Cons: doesn't clean entire house using the auto schedule, makes several passes over the same spot, doesn't finish rooms, forgets where it was cleaning after a charge, rollers need cleaning often, wheels need cleaning often
Model Number: 595
"Bought this to replace a Neato VX11 that we used for 2 years before the batteries gave out and replacements were $80. Thought the less costly batteries used in the Roomba would be beneficial in the long run. Well they would be if the Roomba would clean like promised. We have a ~1500 sq ft rambler with all hardwood floors. The Roomba could never finish the job and left rooms either unfinished, not started, or over-vacuumed. It spent 40 minutes in a small bathroom the other day! It would come back to base to recharge but not continue to vacuum after recharging. When I complained to their service center, the folks there said to divide the house into 2 sections and just clean one section at a time. Well that puts it on us to section off the house and manually start the second half which no longer makes the vacuuming automatic. It also needs the rollers and wheels cleaned once a week. The Neato never lost track of where it was in the cleaning cycle and always returned to where it left off after charging. I only cleaned the rollers every few months. It made efficient use of the vacuuming passes across the floor never repeating several times like the Roomba did. I returned the Roomba to Costco and bought the expensive batteries for the Neato. If they make it another 18 months before losing charge time I will be happy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dewey, AZ
Date:May 23, 2014

Can't Believe I've lived Without It!!

Pros: quiet for a vacuum, virtual walls, easy to operate, turn it on and walk away time saver!
Model Number: 595 Pet Vacuum
"We live on a 4,000 acre ranch, with lots of animals & dirt! Dust bunnies were taking over my house with little time to clean as often as I should. I had been trying to talk my husband into letting me get a Roomba for years, but he wouldn't...so I finally just did it without his permission knowing I could take it back to Costco if necessary. Even my husband is impressed and happy with the purchase!
We have tile, hard wood floors, and carpet and Roomba has no problem transitioning between them all. You have to make sure things are picked up of course, but you have to do that with a regular vacuum also! I'm not having issues with scuff marks on furniture etc. like others have experienced, but we have rustic furniture not white delicate looking stuff.
The first few days that I ran Roomba the dirt bin was full, it even picked up a large cherry tomato without squishing it! Two weeks after purchasing it I barely get much in the bin, and I am trying to run it in at least one room every day when I leave for work to keep up on the floors.
The only issue so far is sometimes it will get stuck under a piece of furniture and by the time I get home it needs to be re-charged, but that is the only draw back for me at this point and time.
We love our Merlin!! Can't wait to get the floor scrubbing robot!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kailua-Kona, HI
Date:March 22, 2014

Hard floors + Pets = MUST HAVE THIS

Pros: ease of use thoroughness effectiveness
Model Number: 59502
"We have 3 dogs (one who sheds like we PAY him to do it) and recently installed wood floors in our living room/study/hallway. Moreover, we live in a beach area so there is always sand from beachgoers, towels, etc.
I was vacuuming 2x daily and going nuts. We picked this up at our local Costco and it is amazing. It cleans the living room and study while we sleep and then we move it to do the kitchen & laundry room in the morning. It makes the floors feel GREAT underfoot and it is extremely thorough.
Yes, you need to move obstacles/cords/etc. to give it room to work, but that is SO much easier than actually doing the vacuuming (which if you do it right also requires moving the same stuff out of the way) and now we have a system for what gets picked up and put back, so it feels like NO BIG DEAL. And yes, you should dump the bin after it works -- again, not a big deal, takes 30 seconds and no need to touch anything icky.
I also see some reviewers complain about the noise. It does make noise, but ours is much quieter than a regular vacuum cleaner. I'd estimate it is a little louder than an average microwave oven. Does not interfere with conversation or make it hard to hear on phone calls or anything like that.
Anyway, as you can tell this is our NEW favorite household addition."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2013

good battery life and decent coverage

Pros: good battery life., edge brush is nice
Cons: marginal coverage., week vaccume
Model Number: 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"First bought a Neato which picked up the dog hair well. I have 2 100lb dogs a long haired Shepard and a black lab both shed constantly. I have to vacuum every day and programmed both vacuums to do so. The Neato picked up the hair very well but got lost a few times or stuck on a fan base and battery life was short. Sometimes if the neato didn't finish the house it would not start again and finish like it was suppose to. I heard good things about the roomba and thought I would give it a try.
Initially I was impressed the roomba ran for 90min without a recharge and seemed to cover most of the areas very well abeit very randomly. The problem is after one house cleaning I have to spend more time cleaning out the brushes and wheels axils than I would if I just used a normal vacuum. The brushes and wheels get clogged with hair before the vacuum has run for 33min. Even the neato I only had to clean once a week I also did not have this problem with the neato. The other issue is the vacuum is very weak on the Roomba and it will not clean the hair off our area rugs. It works good on hard floors and normal carpet and will probably work ok with dogs that don't shed as much. For the difference in cleaning for me the neato is the winner hands down even with it's quirks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:May 19, 2013

Stop looking and make the purchase!

Pros: very low maintenance., runs on a programmed schedule
Cons: doesn't always get up on my thicker throw rugs
"I thought about buying the Roomba since installing my hardwood floors and constantly seeing dog hair on the floors(chocolate lab). I finally decided to give it a shot and all I can say is I am thrilled! No more dog hair on my floors and all I have to do is empty the bin every morning.
I run the Roomba nightly in the down stairs living area minus the living room/dining room, bedroom and office. Just this space is about 1100sq feet. I have it programmed to run at midnight every night. Every morning I wake up to a full bin full of dog hair etc.. But, I must tell you what a big difference in the floors.
Tips: Use the virtual doors to limit the range of the Roomba. I put one to block my living room/dining room and the doorway to my bedroom. Before I blocked my bedroom doorway I was woken up by banging every night at 12am (Roomba bumping into the door)
As for my bedroom, living room/dining room I just put the Roomba in each area once a week and let it do its thing.
Once the carpet is removed from the upstairs and replaced with hardwood I will purchase another Roomba for upstairs.
Pull the trigger it's well worth it!
Also, just to be fair you will have to do some minor touch up here and there where the Roomba can't get to but not much."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 2, 2014

Love Roomba!

Pros: good price at costco with extras, efficient powerful long battery life, smart technology - doesn't go down stairs!
Cons: nada
Model Number: Roomba 595 (pet version)
"Initially, I was very skeptical of this machine. How in the world could it do a good job? I didn’t think that it could compare to a “real” vacuum. Researching it and reading so many helpful reviews encouraged me to buy it- and the fact that I could get it at Costco with all the extras it came with sealed the deal!
I love Roomba! We have 2 stories with a mixture of hardwood and carpet and 3 cats!!! Roomba picks up SO much – cat hair, stray cat liter, dust, dust, dust. It even picked up an edamame pod that I didn’t even know was there. I am amazed at how much this robot picks up!
It has smart technology, so it doesn’t go down the stairs, amazing! It will not suck up a cord, if it senses a cord is stops and backs up. The virtual walls it came with really work to block off a room or portion of a room you want Roomba to stay out of – it even came with batteries for the virtual walls! This model even allows you to schedule Roomba to work when you’re not there! Amazing!
Emptying it and cleaning the brushes is so simple. Because I bought it at Costco, it came with a lot of extras (replacement brushes, filters and virtual walls). I LOVE, love, love Roomba – it does an amazing job - Roombas for everyone!
"
Review 20 for iRobot® Roomba® 595 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Date:November 7, 2012

Awesome!

Pros: quiet cleans very well
Cons: miss the demo feature
Model Number: Roomba 595 Pet Series
"I bought my first Roomba 4 years ago from Costco, the Roomba 550. It died a while back, and I brought it back to Costco for a full refund. At this time they don't carry Roombas in the store, so I ordered a new Roomba 595 from Costco online. They look about the same, except the 595 has a much cooler case on it, looks carbon fiberish and is black. It comes with a ton of extra brushes, which is important. These do need replaced after some time, and it's great that they bundle these in the package. It's quiter than the 550, which is important to me. You can be on the phone while it's operating and it's very tolerable. I always read review on everything and was considering the "Neato Robotics" model, but everyone said it's much louder than the Roomba. It also has the side brush, which gets close and right up against your moldings, which is where all the dust and hair accumulates anyway. The "Neato Robotics" doesn't have this side brush and reviews have said it doesn't get close enough. Again, this made the decision easy to stick with the Roomba. The only thing I miss, is the 550 had a "demo" feature, and they removed it on the 595."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>