Customer Reviews for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk

Note: This Item Requires a 120V electrical outlet. Never cover mats; Never use indoors; Never use on composite decking; Never use for animals or animal houses; FOR SNOW MELTING ONLY. HeatTrak’s® Residential Heated Stair Mats are electrically heated mats designed to prevent snow and ice accumulation on stairs around the home. The mats are portable and plug into any standard 120V outlet generating heat to melt snow at a rate of 2” per hour. Each Heated Stair Mat 3-pk comes with three Residential Heated Stair Mats and one ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) plug. The mats are designed with watertight connector cables enabling them to connect to additional Residential Stair Mats or Residential Walkway Mats. Connect up to 15 Residential Stair Mats, 5 Residential Walkway Mats, or a combination thereof (up to 15 amps) on a single plug. Mix and Match stair mats and walkway mats to create your perfect snow-melting solution. Product Specifications: Dimensions: 10” W x 30” L   Weight: 6 lbs   Watts (per mat): 80   Watts (per 3-pk): 240   Amps (per mat): 0.7   Amps (per 3-pk): 2.1   Surface Material: Customized Thermoplastic   Color: Black   Length of Plug: 6’   Length of watertight connector cables: 20” For more information regarding this product please call HeatTrak® 866-766-9628.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 of 26(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Review 1 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Tahoe, CA
Date:January 1, 2013

Better than expected - a must have!

Pros: performs better than expected, matts are rugged, easy no-fuss installation
"We utilize these at our ski cabin in Lake Tahoe and couldn't be happier with the purchase of the stair matts as well as the oversized door matt.
These never disappoint and perform like a workhorse even on really heavy snow days when we are contending with 1-2+ feet of fresh snow per day.
Great buy that I woudl strongly recommend."
Review 2 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lutsen, MN
Date:December 13, 2012

Made for Minnesota winters!

Pros: very well made
Cons: should have bought them sooner
Model Number: HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
"Our back door steps always get hammered with snow and my daughter had been telling me about these so I bought a set. They have worked great! No more snow on our steps. We no longer have to worry about shoveling, slipping or constantly putting down salt."
Review 3 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chicago. IL
Date:December 1, 2012

5 stars

"My handyman bolted these to the cement stairs leading to my basement door. I obviously disconnect them in the spring but do not remove the mats. These survived the great Chicago blizzard of 2010/11 and still melted the snow in 2011/12. Hoping they still do the trick in 2012/13. Bottom line- since I installed these, no ice or snow on my stairs- GREAT PRODUCT"
Review 4 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Longmeadow, MA
Date:January 26, 2012

Brilliant!

"The stairs to our 1700s New England home, which are painted, were a accident waiting to happen whenever the cold arrived. We considered a number of options, the most likely of which was cat litter, to address the issue. Then I saw the stair treads, read the favorable reviews, and decided to give them a try.
In a word - MAGNIFICENT! Installation was a breeze, as it took less than 10 mintutes to connect two sets. Yes, the cords are somewhat obtrusive, but the treads work as advertised. I was concerned that they would slide, but each tread has holes in case you want to secure (which we did not, as it would damage our wood). But the treads have a no-slip bottom which holds them in place without the need to use them Love this product!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 25, 2012

Very good product

Pros: easy to set up, works well, arrived soon after ordering
Cons: expensive
"I ordered these for the front steps of my house since I'm often not around to clear the snow or ice off of my front steps. They have been great for the first few snowstorms, but I especially like them for the days afterwards, when melting snow refreezes into ice, which these remove very well.
They were very easy to set up, and they seem durable enough, although I won't know for sure for a few years.
The one knock is that they are pretty expensive, especially since I needed three sets to cover my front steps."
Review 6 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, Ohio
Date:January 24, 2012

Worth Every Penny

Pros: heavy durable, easy to clean
"This is the second season for our mats. We need them for our north-facing front entrance, which if you live in Ohio you know the north entrance never gets sun and the ice never melts. These are perfect. They keep the steps useable, even in the biggest storms. You need access to an outlet. Never shovel snow and ice off the steps again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:idaho
Date:November 29, 2011

heated stair treads

"excellent product, no mat to collect water like others keeps ice and snow off stair treds, does not slip"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, Wa
Date:March 16, 2011

a must if you live in a cold climate

Cons: do not know how many seasons these will last
"These electric mats work really well. This year we had a lot of snow and ice. they kept the steps really clear and dry. They were well worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brunswick OH
Date:February 27, 2011

Heated Stair Mats Perfect for Mid-West

Pros: safe to use, economical, complete and ready to use
"I had severe icing conditions on some pre-cast concrete steps I had installed this past summer. After the steps were installed, I was told by the vendor that I could not use any kind of rock salt or ice melter product on the steps. I found this product on-line at Costco and really happy I did. It solved all my snow and icing problems on the steps and entrance to my home."
Review 10 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bronxville, New York
Date:February 15, 2011

Beat Old Man Winter

"The winter has been harsh in the Northeast this year - lots of ice and snow. Our stairs were treacherous - visitors couldn't come up to the front door, mailman had to drop mail down by the garage, salt was ruining our bluestone steps. We plugged two sets of these mats in and PRESTO - no ice no snow, no slipping. Love them!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Overland Park, KS
Date:February 8, 2011

Works very well!

Pros: easy to install & use
Cons: open cords are noticeable
Model Number: 10" x 30" Residential Heated Stair Mats 3-pk
"I purchased these mats because our front steps were continuously icy when the snow would melt and then refreeze or just stay frozen if it never made it above the freezing mark. We only needed 3 mats and buying them from Costco was a plus. I knew if they didn't work to my satisfaction, I could return them with no problems. I didn't have to do that because they work great. The temps here recently have rarely gotten over 32*, and the steps with the mats remain free of any ice.
The one thing I wasn't happy about is the look of all the cords conncecting the mats together and then stringing it along our porch to the outlet. The mats are only 10x30 and our steps are longer, so when you put the mats in the middle of the steps, it is fairly noticeable. But it is something I can live with considering my steps are now ice free!
Ordering online was easy and delivery was on time."
Review 12 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:February 3, 2011

Follow-up to previous review of Jan. 11, 2011

Pros: met the challenge – the chicago blizzard of 2011
"I gave the heated doormat and stair mats 4 stars in my previous rating but, as I said then, the Chicago area snowfalls hadn't been much of a challenge as yet. Well, we just had the third heaviest single snowfall in the record books, over 20 inches, with winds up to 50 mph. The blizzard started during an afternoon and didn't end until early the next morning causing drifts over 4 feet high around our home.
The snowfall began extremely heavy and the mats didn't seem to have a chance, covering quickly with snow. In the morning I was disappointed to see they were covered with just as much snow as the surrounding area. Then, after the next few hours clearing the driveway and walkways with the snow blower, I noticed some of the black stair mats starting to show through the snow. And by early evening I was delighted to be able to walk up all the steps to the front door. The mats cleared even more by the following morning, looking very much like the photo of the heated stair mats and steps on the Costco website.
So I've change my rating to 5 stars in spite of the doormat and stair mats not being able to interconnect conveniently. It took them a little while during these extraordinary conditions but eventually they did the job."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2011

Great Invention!!!

"This thing does wonders on my stairs! We live in Tahoe and anyone from there knows ice and snow are a constant. Our stairs are the only one in the neighborhood that are not slippery or ice covered. They are actually warm!!!"
Review 14 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Candlewood Lake CT
Date:January 27, 2011

The winter that won't end

Model Number: 10" x 30" Residential Heated Stair Mats 3-pk and HeatTrak® 24" x 36" Heated Doormat
"We have a stone staircase that never sees the sun this time of year and has always been a safety issue. This year I installed 2 packs of heated stair mats and a heated doormat at the top and bottom.
With this being the snowiest winter in decades the stairs have not once had any snow or ice on them."
Review 15 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WI
Date:January 18, 2011

Great product

Model Number: Item# 464692
"This is a very good investment for safety. The product is very durable and easy to install and works just great. The only thing I did not like was not being able to order more than 3 in a single order, 4-5 would have been better for me."
Review 16 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:December 31, 2010

Couldn't live without!

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: wish individual steps were available
"I can't believe I ever lived without these! I purchased two sets of stairs to add to my heat mat this year. They connected to the mat with no issue. Every year I deal with ice melt being tracked into my house off the stairs, but no more. They keep my dogs from slipping and me from having to do early morning shoveling. I only wish I could purchase one individual step to complete my set. I highly recommend these, you won't be disappointed!"
Review 17 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:December 21, 2010

Winter Storm Peace of Mind

"We have beautiful brick steps (7 total) and brick walkways that lead to our front and side door entrances. Beautiful, that is until the Cincinnati ice storms cover them with a black ice film that lasts for weeks. The stairtreds and mats 348283 and 363297 have made quick work of clearing our snow last night. My only disappointment is that the stairtreds and mats do not connect together, we're still trying to figure out the most efficient way to hook up cords to connections and still have the Christmas lights on. The outdoor feral cat that adopted us and lives on the porch is loving the mat, I'm sure she thinks that we purchased this solely with her in mind!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 29, 2010

excellent purchase

Pros: easy to install, good value, works well
"Mat does what it says. Arrived and we put it down. Began snowing and then turned to freezing rain. Only place outside that was free of ice or snow was our mat."
Review 19 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire
Date:October 19, 2010

Best winter investment for safety

Pros: fairly inexpensive to run contiuously, sturdy and easy to install/remove
Cons: follow instructions don't stand on 'em til secure
Model Number: 464692 & 348283
"I ordered the doormat and two sets of step treads for my deck entry last fall and used throughout a snowy New Hampshire winter. They performed even better than I expected through heavy snow and ice. They were easy to install, and I went the extra step of covering the connections with electrical tape, although they have sturdy covers included. Follow the instructions and do not stand on the stair treads until they are secured in place, they are slippery til then. Ran 2 sets of treads and 1 door mat without shutting off (you never know when it will snow while you're out). Electric cost about $18 per month of non-stop use. I am so glad that I made this investment, just to not have to shovel steps from the top down ever again!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HeatTrak® 10" x 30" Residential Heating Stair Mats 3-pk
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buckeye State
Date:January 6, 2010

Great Item

Pros: safety
"I started searching for this item last winter after falling on the iced stairs off our back deck. Ohio winters can be a bit slippery.
It is wonderful to be able to take the dogs out in the morning and not have to clear the steps.
I also bought the mat as a companion piece. Wonderful item.
The cost beats a trip to the emergency room!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>