Customer Reviews for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports

Model: GW3DHDKIT IOGEAR's Wireless 3D Digital Kit takes wireless home entertainment and multi-room enjoyment to convenient level of connectivity, flexibility, convenience, and decor. It's capable of streaming Full HD 1080p with support for latest 3D movie content along with 5.1 digital surround sound audio up to 100 feet* away within the home or desired set up. The kit consists of a Wireless 3D Transmitter and a Wireless 3D Receiver with connections for your HDMI® enabled devices and a loop-through (local) port for an advanced 2 HDTV multi-room set up. It also includes Infrared (IR) pass-through for wireless control of your devices . Consolidate your HD A/V electronics, such as a 3D/Blu-ray players, DVR / Set-top boxes, DVD players and computers to design your own custom entertainment space. Multi-room - The ability to set up your living room HDTV and add an additional room wirelessly; like your bedroom, den, loft or kitchen.  Set up 2 HDTV environments in minutes, if you have access to a power outlet then you can place your HDTV there and receive your favorite HD TV shows or 3D movies wirelessly. The Wireless 3D Digital Kit does not require a line-of-sight placement, keeping home theater devices neatly out of sight, which enables a quick, simple, and flexible wireless audio / video solution. The configuration possibilities and usage for this solution are endless and a must have for today's digital home. Distances may vary depending on environment; solid objects such as steel, concrete and brick may view shorter distances. Features: Includes: Wireless 3D Transmitter, Wireless 3D Receiver, Remote Control, IR Blaster Cable and 1 HDMI Cable   Wireless 3D & HD audio / video streaming up to 100 ft.* away through standard home walls   Multi-room - Delivers content to 2 locations at the same time:   Living room HDTV can connect to transmitters loop-through (local) port   Bedroom HDTV can receive content from wireless receiver   Connect and wirelessly transmit content from your 3D/Blu-ray / DVD player and DVR / Set-top box   Wireless 3D support   Wireless Full HD 1080p and 5.1 channel digital audio   Video Resolutions: 480p, 720p, 1080i and 1080p (24 / 30 / 60fps) Create the floating HDTV in almost any location   Keep home theater electronic devices neatly out-of-sight   Built-in IR allows the user control over their source devices that are hidden away in a different location   No software or driver installation needed   HDCP Compliant     HDMI Inputs / Outputs :    Transmitter:    2x HDMI in   1x HDMI out (loop-through local port   Receiver:    1 x HDMI output   Requirements: Display:1 HDMI input   Media Source:1 HDMI output  
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
(out of 77 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
16
54 of 77(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Review 21 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Forestville, CA
Date:February 14, 2012

Jury is Still Out...

Model Number: Iogear Wireless 3D Media Kit
"I ordered this to use with my Dell 15z and VIZIO M3D460SR 46-Inch 1080p LCD TV. Right out of the box the monitor bottom third is pixelated. Spend hours playing with the configuration of the Dell with mixed results. I could extend the desktop with some settings w/o distortion, but the lag time was a full second; mouse and audio; not a good thing when watching a Sling box. When I tried duplicate screen, the screen on the Dell crunched up. direct connecting the HDMI cable worked fine. I'm only at the site with this set up on weekends, it would seem Iogear has no support on weekends. I'm starting to second guess relying on Iogear on anything more complicated then a card reader.
FYI... My Comcast cable box seems to work fine with the unit.
Update 2/13:
I talked to a support person last week, after first trying the chat help and getting disconnected before anything was resolved. She said she needed to get with someone about the problem and I would hear back, as of now, I haven't heard anything. I tried a Dell Studio this weekend and got the same thing, bottom third of the screen was pixalted. I found a setting after trying a few (30 hertz interlaced) that work, except for the delay problem with the mouse and the audio. I will will try later this week, when I have more time to waist.
"
Review 22 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So OC, SoCal
Date:January 4, 2012

Unfortunately Going Back

Pros: easy set-up good reception
Cons: does not work as described
"Easy set-up, Signal traveled about 50 feet. Worked like a charm for 5 minutes, then the primary pass through tv went to static. The outside wireless tv worked fine. A couple days later the same happens. It only works one tv at a time. We were able to enjoy the 80 degree weather outside watching football. Unfortunately, it will go back as it should allow both tvs to work at the same time. Which is necesary. It looks like the signal for the pass through is a little degraded when the wireless HDMI is off. The IR blaster is a nice touch although we have not used it yet."
Review 23 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Whittier, California
Date:September 6, 2012

It Works!

Pros: better than running wires
Cons: tv must be hd compatable
"It does do the job.
The hookup is a little tricky and you need to read the instructions (I usually don't).
It took me a few trys to get the plugs in the correct places, but it finally popped on.
It's sure cheaper than the one advertised by a certain cable company.
I just wish that you could change channels. Maybe it does..... if I would just finish reading the instructions."
Review 24 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2012

Great picture; IOGEAR needs better quality control

Pros: picture quality
Cons: ir remote issues
"The first unit I purchased exhibited intermittent lines of interference across the screen along with garbled sound. It would come and go but occurred most often when the unit was first turned on. Otherwise, the picture was great. I decided to order another unit and return the first one. So far, the second unit has not shown any interference but the Infrared (IR) pass-through is less responsive than the first unit. I have had times where my cable box remote didn’t respond at all so I unplugged the transmitter and receiver and re-started both, and it was good again but I have had to do this several times since. It’s like I may have a bad IR receptor in the receiving unit. I’ll give it a little more time but if it keeps happening, I’ll return this one too. It’s too bad because the picture quality is really good, but since the TV is in a different room than the cable box, I need the remote to work properly."
Review 25 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Saint Petersburg, Florida
Date:August 9, 2012

good pic quality but one big issue

Pros: good picture quality
Cons: remote does not work with my cable box
Model Number: GW3DHDKIT
"This was an easy setup and the picture quality is good. The only issue I have is i cannot use my remote. I spoke to technical support and they told me my cable box a dual IR receiver which they currently dont support. I was told a fix was in the works, approx two weeks. I hope this is true. I am currently using brighthouse cable and have a samsung HD DVR."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2012

Works but not as advertised

Pros: easy setup for picture delivery
Cons: cannot transmit through more than one wall, remote difficult to get it to work
"I had hoped to transmit from my living room to my bedroom which was 50 feet away however up to three walls. System CAN NOT transmit through more than one wall and depending upon structure that may be limited. I ended up putting it on my sun porch only 10 feet away from transmitter it did work (thanks to single pane windows, tech support said if double pain might not have worked). I had a lot of trouble getting the remote to change channels but after moving the IR blaster around and changing the IR settings. Not sure I will keep it as fairly expensive for the range allowed. If you want same room wireless would suggest looking at Vizio wireless setup for $40 less."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Watchung, NJ
Date:May 24, 2012

A good buy, if expectations are not high

Pros: good picture/sound quality
Cons: glitches mentionend in comments.
"I bought this two weeks ago and arrived promptly as promised and in good condition. Connections were straight forward. But depending on blinking lights to trouble shoot was a bit difficult. It would have been better if info/error messages were displayed on screen. Wireless connectivity is excellent. Problem number one is, the IR Remote module does not work with Scientific Atlanta Cable Boxes from Optimum. Problem number two, which I am not sure whether it is with this product or the cable box, it kept on switching the picture format in the cable box. Also if I select 1080i and switch off the TV, when powered back on the transmitter and receiver won't communicate. So I have to go to the living room TV and set it back to 720p again for this to work. May seems like small glitches, but if you have to do this every time u want to see the TV connected to the receiver, it is a bit painful. Once connected, work very good. No loss of clarity in picture or sound."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:dallas, TX
Date:January 31, 2012

great without receiver

Pros: work well with direct connection
Cons: does not work with some a-v receivers.
"worked really well if i had it hooked directly to my cable box but would not work with my av receiver. called io gear and they said that it was a newer product and they would have to setup a test environment and call me back. They never did. I then tried the rocketfish wireless and same thing. Ended up running a 35 foot hdmi thru the attic. my rx is an Onkyo TX-NR708."
Review 29 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vemont
Date:January 5, 2012

just got a lemon?

"the audio video worked out of the box, but the ir blaster did not work. Iogear support is clueless. They do not read the email describing what you have done, they just blindly go though a script to diagnose the problem. Most likely returning, but will purchase another, unless the next line of the script somehow finds the problem."
Review 30 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:December 22, 2011

Disappointing

"Our DVR and main TV are in the basement. We wanted to be able to view HD on our kitchen set. It is about 40 feet away, line-of sight, on the floor above.
I spent 2 hours trying to get a usable connection, but the best I could get was a 480p picture which would drop out every 30-60 seconds.
It seemed to work fine if everything was in the same room, But I would NOT recommend this if you are trying to connect to another room. I can't believe it is rated for 100 feet."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012
Pros: great picture on remote tv
"Reception is excellent. IR repeater (allows remote signal to source device) doesn't work very well."
Review 32 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:August 20, 2012

solid product

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: overheats frequently when used outdoors
"Good performance of HDMI transmission, through two rooms and a hallway (within 100 ft). I initially bought this so I could watch TV outside but the receiver would frequently overheat bringing enjoyment to an abrupt end. I added an IR to RF remote system and all is well now that the receiver is indoors. I ran an HDMI cable from the reveiver through the exterior wall to the TV."
Review 33 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Indianpolis
Date:August 10, 2012

Mixed Bag

Pros: easy to set up, excellent picture
Cons: strange "sleeping" habits
"I have two TVs to which I need to distribute video. Source in my basement, TVs on ground and second floors. I bought one ioGear pair, worked flawlessle, though I detected a slight lack of color depth...nothing serious.
I bought a second set -- worked flawlessly for 24 hours, then failed. I've returned that one and ordered another set. I hope it was a fluke. We'll see.
BTW, after a little fiddling, the return-path IR also worked flawlessly on the first pair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 1, 2012

Works as advertised.

Model Number: GW3DHDKIT
"Great way to get HDTV to second room.
Plugged my DirecTV receiver into the Transmitter HDMI input #1 and had great HDTV reception in my Living Room TV and wirelessly received good HDTV in my Kitchen.
Had a problem streaming Netflix with my wireless Sony Blueray DVD player when plugged into the Transmitter HDMI input #2. Was unable to stream a movie without losing the DVD player/Comcast Internet/Netflix signal at some point in the movie. Also, the DVD player would not sucessfully play a DVD disk through the iOGear Transmitter without losing transmission at some point.
iOGear problem? Sony DVD problem ?
Sony DVD player played ok when connected directly to my TV.
"
Review 35 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston. TX
Date:July 30, 2012

IOGEAR Wireless HDMI Tansmitter

"Good Purchase. The picture is great. The channel changer is a little slow but will get the job done for an extended room."
Review 36 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:July 13, 2012

Good product - works as advertised

Pros: very convenient, reduces system cables
Cons: signal recognition slow
"Read the reviews that seemed mixed, which appeared to be due to user error or inflated expectations. Hooked this up to use for a projector in the same room, so can't comment on whether the unit goes 100' or through walls.
Worked well on my projector. Very good picture, could not distinguish the picture from a 30' super high quality HDMI cable. Recognition is a bit slow; when first turned on, it takes a while to capture and lock on the signal.
Had a problem using an HDMI switching device into the unit. The transmitter did not recognize the signal from an LG BluRay player through the HDMI switcher. I use the switcher to go between cable and DVD because it would automatically switch sources. When I connected the DVD and cable directly to the IOGear, both signals are read with no problems, but now I need to manually switch between sources.
Wondering if I can get other receivers. Haven't checked that yet, but would be beneficial."
Review 37 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Broolklyn, NY
Date:July 13, 2012

good so far no problems

Model Number: IOGEAR wireless Transmitter and Reciever
"this item was just what i needed for my use
i have hand a few gliches when switching
between to diferent inputs on transmiter unit
but have to test further to know for sure, but so far so good.
"
Review 38 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Centralia, Wa.
Date:July 5, 2012

Happy

Pros: eliminates need for another sat receiver
Cons: warm up time (not really that bad)
Model Number: IOGEAR GW3DHDKIT Q1197
"This unit really works, only, it may take a minute or two to send signals to the receiver. Picture quality is acceptable and I can take my TV anywhere in the backyard, (SPORTS)"
Review 39 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:July 5, 2012

HDMI transmitter/receiver

Pros: priced fairly
"Unit does as advertised, which is unusual for these type devises. The instructions could give more operation detail."
Review 40 for IOGEAR Wireless 1080p HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Maria CA
Date:February 22, 2012

IOGEAR Wireless HDMI works great

Pros: supports 2 devices using hdmi and a passthrough
Cons: does not work well through wire mesh stucco.
Model Number: IOGEAR Wireless HDMI Transmitter and Receiver 3D Compatible 2x HDMI Ports
"This product is a nice improvement over others I have looked at. While it may not be able to really go 100 ft due to walls and other obstructions, for my needs which was about 2 walls and 20 ft it works great."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>