Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Processor & Memory: Intel Core i5-3317U Processor at 1.7 GHz 6GB DDR3 (2 DIMMs) Drives: 500GB (5400 RPM) SATA Hard Drive + 32 GB Solid State Drive 8X CD/DVD Burner (Dual Layer DVD +/-RW Drive) Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 8  (64-bit) Windows 8 is Beautiful, fast, and fluid. Personalized: Make your Start Screen your personalized home for the things you care about.  Organize and customize it the way you want. Connected: Now everything is in one place to share.  Integrate your online favorites – Facebook, Flickr, Hotmail, etc. – with content from your PC., such as photos and contacts. Graphics & Video: 14" High Definition LED Display (1366 x 768) with Truelife Intel Centrino wireless 2230 802.11 b/g/n + Bluetooth 4.0 Communications: Inegrated 10/100 Network Card   Integrated 1.0 MP Webcam Audio: Stereo Speakers with Waves MaxxAudio 4 with Skullcandy speakers Keyboard: Chiclet Keyboard with Gesture Touchpad I/O Ports & Slots: 1x USB 3.0 + 1x USB 3.0 PowerShare 1x RJ-45 (LAN) 1x HDMI 1x Headphone/Microphone AC Power In 1x Kensington Lock Slot Productivity Software: Office Home & Student 2010 - Full Version Microsoft Word Microsoft Excel Microsoft PowerPoint Microsoft OneNote Power Supply: 44 WHr 6-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery Additional Information: Color: Moon Silver Dimensions: 13.66" W x 9.45" D x 0.81" ~ 0.83" H Weight (Approximately): 4.12 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.433 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 147
(out of 150 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
38
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
33
98 of 150(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Review 1 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:January 18, 2013

Great Laptop

Pros: fast lightweight good features affordable, ultrabook with a dvd/cd optical drive
Cons: need to buy 8gb flash drive to create recovery dr
Model Number: Inspiron 14Z-5423
"I was first hesitant in buying this model because of all the bad reviews. I've checked several other brands and models but I like Dell 14Z's features, looks and affordable price. This laptop is working fine without any problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2013

Right balance between size and performance

Pros: performance, light weight and portable, screen resolution
Cons: windows 8, more usb ports, should have a backlit keyboard
Model Number: Inspiron 14z 5423
"Solid performance for an ultrabook.
Size & weight is just right.
Could use another USB port and a backlit keyboard.
Definitely would recommend to others.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:February 13, 2013

Great laptop

Pros: slim light for a laptop, good battery life - about 4 to 5 hours or so, the boundled software - office home and kasparsky, very fast boot time, built in dvd r/w drive, windows 8 (after the learning curve), 2 year warranty from costco
Cons: screen resolution (1366 x 768) could be higher
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
"I bought 2 of these and both have met my expectations. I did not have the boot problem that is mentioned by others. The only precaution I took was to apply all of the Microsoft fixes (about 25+) during my first session and before I turn it off or rebooted. Actually the updates required a reboot which went flawlessly . I'm not sure that this bypassed the problem, or whether Dell has fixed it. Thanks to all of the reviewers that described this problem, they were very helpful. As for Windows 8, it is a bit of a learning curve. You quickly learn that it has two modes, the Start mode (all of the tiles that represent the "metro" apps) and Desktop mode which is very similar to Windows 7 once you get over the missing Start menu. It has taken some time to get these working like my Windows 7 laptop and XP laptop. This is Windows 8 not the Pro version but it can be upgraded for a price. I now like Windows 8, it is a very functional operating system. The laptop is responsive and boots very quickly. The display is very good. I haven't tried the audio and speakers yet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 16, 2013

Need Better Instructions??

Pros: good price
Cons: better instructions
Model Number: Inspiron 5423
"I'm just addressing the Bios problem. I bought a similar package of the 14Z from Costco on 1/31/13. I opened it and played with it. The next day it would not boot up. I took it back to Costco and got a new one. I opened the latest 14Z and the "My Dell Support Center" tile and discovered that I needed to download the Bios update from Dell. It's been working fine since then."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albany, OR
Date:March 11, 2013

Very Happy

"I have been waiting for this Dell laptop computer. It is small and at the speed I need. I needed some help with the disc drive and the help service was right there. Thank you"
Review 6 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ.
Date:March 15, 2013

Really Good Lap Top

Pros: software already included
Cons: i let you know when i find one!
Model Number: Inspiron 14z Ultrabook
"new dell computer with Windows 8
who needs an apple??
"
Review 7 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:germantown, MD
Date:December 11, 2012

excellent laptop

Pros: light weigth
Cons: there is no need for kaspersky
Model Number: dell 14z ultrabook
"it is a perfect size laptop with great features and it is easy to carry while you travel. windows defender is better then the Kaspersky security that comes with it..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:March 8, 2013

Good Machine for the Price

Pros: lightweight, comes with ms office
Cons: only 1 usb port, no vga output
Model Number: 4Z
"I purchased the Dell 4Z Ultrabook and have had none of the problems expressed by other reviewers. The machine boots and shuts down in seconds, and is very fast. I too was not overwhelmed with Windows 8 at first, but the more I use it, the better it seems. My suggestion is to read a tutorial on the Internet about Windows 8, and in a few minutes you should not have any problems. In fact, if you switch the the Desktop, it looks very much like Windows 7.
I did not experience any of the startup problems that many others complain about. Perhaps this is because the BIOS was automatically updated once I setup the machine.
Getting MS Office included in the price was a big plus, and was one of the main reasons that I purchased this machine. The other main reason was the weight (4.12 pounds). As others have said, the 4Z is a bit thick to be a true ultrabook, but at a bit over 4 pounds it is very easy to travel with.
I have only 2 complaints about this computer. Only 1 USB port (I will get an adapter to expand this to at least 2). My other complaint is that there is no VGA output port (Only HDMI). However, I think I can get an adapter to convert HDMI to VGA."
Review 9 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:March 8, 2013

Another Amazing Costco Purchase.

Pros: sleek, lightweight, windows 8, ms office, anti virus 1 year, super fast & responsive
Cons: no back lit keyboard
"I was hesitant to purchase this Ultrabook after reading all the negative reviews about the start up issues, MS office trial, etc. I am glad I called Costco customer service to verify that it came with the FULL MS Office and then decided to purchase, because WOW, this computer is AWESOME. Totally sleek, light weight, and portable. Windows 8 is awesome. So is the full MS Office Home/Student. MS Office was $150 upgrade on the Dell website, as was a year of anti-virus. What a great deal from Costco. I tried to convince my husband we need to splurge and get an Apple instead, I'm glad he was right for a change! This was an awesome deal and Ultrabook, I have already recommended to several friends and colleagues. Don't be scared off by the other reviews! You will not be disappointed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rahway, NJ
Date:March 13, 2013

Met or exceeded expectations

Pros: high quality case good layout excellent speed., it operates at a low temperature
Cons: internet explorer 10, unlighted keyboard
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
"I purchased this product because of its weight, performance, layout and that it has a DVD drive. I was more than pleased with overall design and layout especially with the strength of the case.
Any fears that I had concerning the difficulties that some buyers had with the system locking up, were quickly dispelled. The unit booted right up and after I made sure that all Windows and system updates were loaded, it never developed any problems with booting. I'm not proficient in Windows 9, yet, but I switched to using Chrome as my I-net browser, because Explorer 10 displays everything in large fonts and randomly arranged boxes. Not the kind of environment that is conducive to getting work done. An excellent machine for the price.
"
Review 11 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2013

Nice laptop once you fix the boot issue

Pros: lightweight, perfect form factor
Cons: secure boot feature causes unit to fail at bootup
Model Number: Inspiron 14z -i5
"Laptop performed nicely on initial boot. I set up Kaspersky and activated Microsoft Office, played around with the new Windows 8 OS. I love the new OS. However, when I powered up the unit the next day, the unit failed to boot and hung at the Dell logo.
Evidently, this model doesn't handle the new "Secure Boot" feature very well, so you need to disable it by doing the following:
(NOTE: Only preform this operation if you are comfortable changing the BIOS settings)
Press F2 during startup to enter BIOS. On the BIOS tab, set the Secure Boot feature to "Disabled". Save and Exit bios. I don't quite understand how Dell can ship units with this configuration.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton CA
Date:March 23, 2013

Dell Inspiron 14 Ultrabook is light and fast

Pros: light weight and fast
Cons: get blank screen from time to time., ok after reboot.
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 14 Ultrabook
"Light weight and fast; AC adopter is also in compact design"
Review 13 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ogden UT
Date:February 1, 2013

So far so good

Pros: comes with office, good price for what you get
Cons: windows 7, too thick to be an ultrabook, keyboard not backlit
Model Number: 14z Ultrabook
"I was expecting to have to change the SATA settings in the bios after reading all of the issues other people had. Mine worked fine from the start. Everything is as advertised. Fast, small and portable. Big (thick)for an "ultra-book""
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:February 17, 2013

Great computer - Bad OS

Pros: excellent speed size and display
Cons: windows 8! - i hate windows 8 !!!
Model Number: SAME
"Received unit on 2/15/13 started to load software and had problem with wireless. The Windows 8 turned off the wireless. While speaking with Dell support, they had me connect to remote help so they could resolve issues by loading new version of BIOS and replacing some drivers. They solved the problem. But I HATE WINDOWS 8!!!! I have same machine w/Windows 7 and LOVE IT- It is SO MUCH EASER TO USE!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 11, 2013

Dell Inspiron 14z Costco - Wifi issues

Pros: fast startup, attractive, great value, costco's return policy
Cons: wifi issues
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 14z
"Initially loved the computer despite the negative reviews. Didn't have any issues with startup because I made sure to update BIOS firmware. Fast, attractive and portable I was really happy until I logged onto my girlfriend's wifi. Initially the wifi was acting up so I turned off the wifi card on the laptop (fn+f2) to reset it to see if that was the issue. But the wifi card will not turn back on. I am about to call Costco concierge (because supposedly Dell customer service is notoriously bad) to see a workaround as there is no hard wifi button on the laptop. Googling the issue turned up few results for this specific laptop. Just a heads up. Other than that (granted no wifi/internet renders the laptop basically useless), I was very happy with it for the week that it worked."
Review 16 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:January 25, 2013

Lightweight, but not as fast as I want

Pros: light weight
Cons: too big screen size, battery power
Model Number: dell inspiron 14z ultrlabook
"The computer screen is bigger than I want, so it is more bulky for travelling. And the battery last about 3 hrs. But it's weight is light, only a little bit more than 4 lbs. So it is easy to carry around. The CPU it says is Intel Core i5, but its performance can be faster. Also, it comes with window 8, which should be a plus, but I found out it is harder to use than window xp or window 7, this may be due to my custom for those older system. For ports, it is sufficient to have 2 USB ports, 1 ethernet jack for internet."
Review 17 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:April 10, 2013

New PC, but MS Office is not full version

Pros: new computer every thing works
Cons: ms office is only a trial version ror 3-month, ms office is (full version) in spec but not.
"I ordered this ultrabook because it says MS Office student and home is included in full version (I still have the flyer). But when I received the PC, it only has a trial version of office for 3-months.
Besides this surprise, the laptop is in good condition, and the cpu speed is reasonable fast. The screen size is a little big for a 14" laptop, the next time I would get a 12 or 13" screen laptop.
"
Review 18 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:February 26, 2013

Meh... not really worth it.

Cons: win 8!!!!
"While I was initially pleased with the form factor, keyboard feel and overall build of this laptop, I soon came to hate Windows 8 followed by the USB host controller crapping out. This is the third recent laptop I purchased from Costco and the third that is going back within a couple months. I had an "el cheepo" Acer laptop I bought from Costco two and a half years ago for $450 that worked great and was totally problem-free. Unfortunately, it was knocked off the coffee table by the dog and fell to it's death. I sure wish I could have bought the same model to replace my old Acer instead of wading through this sea of Win8 junk. Bummer."
Review 19 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2013

Won't boot past the Dell logo either

Pros: thin and looks fab
Cons: umm... doesn't work!!!
"I concur with the other reviews. Got this for Christmas and it turned out to be a dud. Will not boot past the Dell Logo. The dell folks asked us to purchase additional software but it's ridiculous. it was BRAND NEW!! should work!"
Review 20 for Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook, Intel® Core™ i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Potomac, MD
Date:January 26, 2013

Died after 2 days

Pros: small sort of light weight
Cons: everything
"I really can say much about this computer because it does not pass the Dell logo. It was waste of my time for setting it up. I never buy another Dell laptop."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>