Customer Reviews for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle

For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-NikonUX (1-800-645-6689) Mon-Sun: 8am-Midnight (EST) or email support.nikonusa.com. Features: A full-frame Nikon for your full-time passion - If you've been looking to take your passion to the next level with full-frame HD-SLR performance, your wait is over. Now the power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—stunning full-frame images, cinema-quality 1080p videos, superior low-light performance, blazing fast framing and burst rates, built-in HDR, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight HD-SLR. Optimized for full-frame shooting and versatility, streamlined for compactness and value, the D600 will fuel your passion like never before. FX-quality images and HD videos - Nikon’s most compact full-frame HD-SLR ever - Passionate photographers who seek exceptional full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. For the first time ever, that level of performance is available in a compact, affordable HD-SLR. D600's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor captures every detail with lifelike sharpness. Its EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 5.5 frames-per-second (fps) continuous shooting at full resolution. And the low-light performance synonymous with Nikon is again proven deserved—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations. The beauty is in the details - Highly accurate AF System for superior sharpness - One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images and HD videos—whether shooting through the viewfinder or with the LCD monitor—is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D600 has one of the best. 39 focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors and seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing. Every moment you capture will be razor sharp. Unwavering exceptional performance - Flawless metering and onboard intelligence - The D600 delivers consistently beautiful images and HD videos, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance. Cinema-quality HD video projects - Pro-level 1080p HD video recording features - Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D600 is proof of that commitment. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Maintain your creative vision with manual exposure control, fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking, dedicated inputs for a stereo mic and headphones, still image exporting, and much more. Enhance all that with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you'll dazzle with every video project. Wi-Fi camera control and mobile photo sharing - WU-1b wireless mobile adapter - With Wi-Fi compatibility, the D600 makes sharing photos even easier. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Adapter (included) and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D600—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots! Lighting studio optional - The D600’s built-in pop-up flash opens up new shooting possibilities—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D600’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results. What’s Included: Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera Body 24-85 mm VR Lens 70-300 mm VR Lens WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter Nikon Case 32 GB SD Card Nikon School Guide to Digital SLR Photography Rechargeable Li-ion Battery Quick Charger USB Cable NikonView NX2 CD ROM
Average Customer Rating:
3.634 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 172
(out of 172 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (172 reviews)
5 stars
87
4 stars
21
3 stars
12
2 stars
18
1 star
34
110 of 172(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Review 1 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale
Date:January 16, 2013

Disappointed in Nikon

Pros: great pictures, flash on board
Cons: terrible zoom on lenses - not smooth, not comfortable for my hands, couldn't delete pictures while viewing on hd tv
Model Number: Costco D600 Nikon Kit
"I grew up in a camera shop selling all brands but was always Nikon guy. Still own F3 titanium and FE2 and several fantastic AI lenses. I have been shooting with Canon 5D Mark II which I was very pleased with but wanted to switch to D600 so I could use my old Nikkor AI lenses. When the camera arrived I was excited to try it out and was immediately aghast to feel the quality of the lenses in this kit. The zoom was horrible in the sense it was not smooth at all. On the 24-85 it was sticky at the low end then improved as I zoomed. On the 70-300 it was sticky and not smooth through the whole range. From someone who grew up selling Nikkor lenses and was familiar with the excellent build quality of those old AI lenses I shuddered at how terrible this was. I could not smoothy zoom while making a movie and it was not a pleasure to zoom for pictures. If they did it to prevent zoom drift while carrying the camera then they over did it by far. Terrible work Nikon. To be fair the pictures I did take were great. No complaint there. I also did not like the smaller size for my hands, much prefer the Canon 5D, but that is personal preference. Also, when I plugged in the camera to HD TV pictures looked good but could not delete them or zoom like I could with same cable I used on Canon 5D. Maybe I didnt find the right way to do it, but if it can be done, then it should be more intuitive, it was so easy on the canon and very handy feature I used all the time. So I am taking the Nikon D600 back to Costco and sticking with my Canon 5D II for now. I didnt even bother checking for oil spots on sensor because of these other disappointing findings."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 2, 2013

Thank you Costco Customer service, but ...

Pros: fx sensor high resolution
Cons: sensor oil and dust issue
Model Number: D600
"I would like to say thank you for Costco's 90-day return policy. I really appreciate this. I am a portrait photographer and upgraded my camera from D7000 to D600 about 90 days ago. After about 1000 shots I noticed spots on my photos and I could not quite understand. I cleaned the lens but they still showing at the same place. I used different lens and still showed at the same spots. It start showing from F8 and smaller f-stops. I normally use aperture f5.6 or faster. You do not realize the oil spots are there at f1.8, f2.0 and f2.8 if you don't know where the oil spots are.
If you are a landscape photographer, this issue will drive you crazy.
I returned my D600 and bought another one at Costco a few days ago and did the test shots. They are there from my very first shot. I will have to return this one again. <cry>.
But now I am thinking, spending nearly $3000, could buy D800E body only. Those kit lens it come with D600, I never opened them anyways because I mainly shoot people and pets, those kit lens do not have good aperture range for me. So, I will try one more time with Costco. Fingers crossed.
If you are thinking of getting D600 just to be aware this issue.
I give only one star, since Nikon is stubborn and have not officially acknowledge this issue."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 30, 2012

Oil/spots on sensor Nikon fails to address

Pros: full frame.
Cons: oil spots small af area crippled video.
Model Number: D600
"Not sure why my last review was censored, but this is not a rumor, it's a fact. I have not found a single D600 user yet who does not have oil or spots on their sensor. Sure, all cameras get some dust on the sensor over time, but my D600 has an oil splatter on there that is visible in pictures shot at high f/stops against dark backgrounds.
Do a google search. I would not buy this again - especially now with the storm in the NE where Nikon is not responding to phone calls or emails.
Other issues - AF is weak in low light. AF has a small area that does not cover the rule of 1/3's. Video is crippled - you can't change the f/stop in video mode and you don't get full HDMI output (only about 95%).
This is a consumer camera at a pro price."
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:December 19, 2012

Excellent camera

Pros: fantastic full frame picture without comparison.
Cons: oil spot after +1000 actuation.
"I took a chance although there are many reviews of the oil spot on the sensor. I like the result of the pictures and I have been a photographer for 8 years now. Most of my work has been admired by my piers and I was using a D90 with lots of extra work after the picture was taken with some high end lenses (mostly F2.8).Took the risk and got this camera. Not at all disappointed with the result but have to bare with the defect until Nikon fixes it. You win some and you lose some. If you are ready, I would suggest that you buy a cleaning kit and open a case with Nikon so that they can fix it permanently "when" the recall happens. At the moment I will keep taking pictures until the spot appears. Not going to force it to happen."
Review 5 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:May 4, 2013

Very happy with purchase

Pros: great pictures videos excellent, great in camera post processessing
Cons: none for me
Model Number: D600
"This is a follow up of a review that I did after initial usage when I bought the camera in December. I now have about 5000 actuations usinf a large variety of shutter speeds, aperture openings, single frame shooting and rapid fire multi shots. All kinds of backgrounds. I am one of the lucky ones. No problems at all. No dust or oil. Extremely happy with purchase. Have always been Canon user and am very happy with D600. I highly recommend but, because of the others reporting the dust/oil issue, future buyers need to make their own educated decision. Buying from Costco is great. If there is a problem that you feel is totally unacceptable, they will take it back - no questions asked and no hassel."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago area
Date:December 17, 2012

Still has oil problems... wait until it's fixed.

Pros: fantastic camera
Cons: afraid to have it in the repair shop for weeks
"First off... fantastic camera. Best.
But... the camera still has oil / spots issue. My SR was in the ..05XXXX. Nikon still has not resolved the problem.
To check for spots... set camera at f22.. zoom out... shoot +1000 photos... aim at overcast sky. My spots appeared around +1000.
As soon as Nikon fixes this issue... I will buy the camera. Reason for returning it now... Nikon turnaround repair time is 4-6 weeks. Ouch.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san jose ca
Date:November 2, 2012

great package deal

Pros: full frame sensor brings new life to old lenses, auto switching between fx and dx lense framing, the two sd slot options
Model Number: D600
"i am very happy with this camera overall. thanks to the 24mp sensor i took a shot of a small (1") butterfly on a flower and i was able to print a 8X10 of just the butterfly. this camera paired with the 24-85mm lens is awesome even in low light. the wi-fi connector is a fun toy but i don't know how much i would really use it in my photo ventures. i have not used the video feature much to really form an opinion yet."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milton, WA
Date:February 24, 2013

I'm spoiled by the size of the DX lens.

Pros: great body
Cons: lens are a lot bigger and heavier.
Model Number: D600
"I loved the body, so many great features. As far as the oil spots one has to send the camera back to NIKON and they will repair a manufacturing error. (a drop of too much oil on the mirror hinge) I bought one at COSTCO and played with it for a few days. loved everything but after shooting the DX format for 5 years I just do not feel like carrying the big pieces of glass around. Waiting for the D7100."
Review 9 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ST George UT
Date:November 3, 2012

Fantastic

Pros: easy to use
Cons: none yet
Model Number: Nikon D600
"I've had my Nikon for about a week now. I am a novice and love how easy yet challenging the camera is to use. It's easy to just point and shoot. Photos are fantastic and so easy to take. Since this is an upscale camera as well, I have much to learn about photography to grow into the many other features. I love that I will likely never grow out of what the camera is capable of."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:April 29, 2013

Oil Spots after 200 clicks

Pros: great pictures
Cons: pictures come with dust and oil hitchhikers
"For the first 200 pictures, they were UH-MAZING! Then there's the issue of oil spots on the sensor. It's real, I've bought and returned it twice thinking I just got a bad one. Costco Customer service is the best though. Maybe you might get lucky, but I'd wait for the spotting problem to be fixed before buying this one. Come Nikon, QC!"
Review 11 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 22, 2013

Great BUT

Pros: excellent speed and photo quality.
Cons: spots after 1000 shots.
"Enjoyed using this camera for just over a week. Amazing technology enveloped in this device. UNFORTUNATELY, blur stops have appeared..."
Review 12 for Nikon D600 Full Frame DSLR Camera 2 Lens Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:October 27, 2012

D600 Sensor issues

Pros: excellent for night photography
Cons: fixed lcd
Model Number: Nikon D600
"Issues of Dust and Oil on Sensor
Nikon still have to recognise this issue so do further research before buying"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.