Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Average Customer Rating:
3.859 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(363 Reviews) 363
(out of 363 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (363 reviews)
5 stars
184
4 stars
77
3 stars
23
2 stars
25
1 star
54
272 of 363(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 22, 2014

Same as Others.....Beware

Pros: very versatile, small footprint
Cons: goes through ink fast, doesn't stay connected
Model Number: HP Photosmart 7525
"As others have mentioned - goes through ink extraordinarily fast. Don't think that it's a bargain because of all of it's great features at a relatively small price. You'll be buying ink within a month, irregardless of how many sheets the ink says you should get out of it.
That's not even the worst part - it constantly disconnects from my computer. I'll print or scan something, then 5 seconds later try to repeat the command and it mysteriously can't "find the computer". No amount of calls to HP will rectify the situation, and they have no fix for it. this is on a Mac with the latest software updates."
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:April 16, 2014

Such a Waste of HPs Goodwill !

Model Number: HP Photosmart 7525
"This printer had minimal use and was such a disappointment.
So many problems.....
Replaced all original cartridge (color too) after about 50 sheets of printing mostly b&w.
TOTAL zone-out when it went to sleep
NOT waking up when told to print
NOT staying awake
NOT printing and
NOT copying even though there was enough ink in cartridge
THANK YOU COSTCO FOR ACCEPTING THE RETURN. You have a loyal customer in me.
Now to find a reliable printer.... ; ("
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2014

not worth it

Pros: lots of features
Cons: must turn the print off-on every single time
Model Number: 7525
"Everytime I want to print I have to turn the printer off and back on. This means that the wireless features are virtually useless because I have to get up and go to the printer before I hit print. It also means the ePrint is useless too. I have the most recent software in the printer and in my macbook. I tried troubleshooting the way HP website said too and still no luck. There are loads of reviews and complaints out there about this issue - I wish I listened to them! Surprised that costco still carries this product. Thankfully, I did buy it at costco and I plan to return it asap."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Beach, California
Date:April 3, 2014

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: high quality printing at a good price
Cons: none
Model Number: HP Photosmart 7525
"This is probably the best HP Printer I ever bought. The print quality is just outstanding. I highly recommend this printer for printing photos."
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:chicago, il
Date:March 24, 2014

BEWARE!!!

Cons: simply a waste of money
Model Number: cz046a
"I wish I would have read the reviews on this printer before I bought. When your printer runs out of ink.. YOU CAN NOT REFILL it. HP has set a chip on its cartridges and it will simply not work at all... NEXT... when you DO buy HP ink for instance the BLACK XL.. it still does not work... in fact it doesn't work at all any longer. I have had this printer for 6 months and took great care of it.. I'm so frustrated that I will NEVER buy HP again. Just so you are aware... this problem I had is so COMMON that I can't believe they haven't pulled this printer off the shelves."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Miami Beach
Date:March 20, 2014

Overpromises and Underdelivers Overall but...

Pros: prints well and quickly, scans well hi resolution possible, relatively small footprint, good adf, touch screen is cool if limited in useability
Cons: frill features are poorly done, wifi drops from time to time, usb port does not work. can't save files to it., alignment is delicate. get the paper in straight.
Model Number: 7525
"Buying a printer these days is like buying a mattress. The price/feature match-up is almost impossible. In the case of printers, they all promise all sorts of amazing things at ridiculously low prices and, unfortunately, many of those features work, errrr, imperfectly.
What the printer does well: It prints, faxes, scans and copies in B&W and Color really well. The automatic document feeder works well and the printer is quick and the quality is quite good, especially considering the price. When printing or scanning contracts or color docs with pictures, this really does the job.
What it does not do well: Just about everything else. The wifi connection is iffy and falls off from time to time, the scan from the printer screen works sometimes...and sometimes not. The Mac software that comes with it is useless. Both methods provide limited options in tweaking your scans. The best I have found so far is using the Image Capture software that comes with your Mac. I also read a lot about problems with the USB port. I have had the same inability to save stuff to the USB as many people have. Tried different sizes and different OS formats, all failed 9 times out of 10. Spent an hour or so with a tech from HP via chat and they could not figure it out either. I was promised a solution via e-mail in 24 hours and it has been 3 days, still no e-mail, still no solution. Have not tried the SD Card port but would not be surprised if it also does not work.
Lastly, the two sided printing was an interesting and unexpected bonus but if the Duplex attachment is not aligned perfectly, it simply does not work. And, for my money, I find the web apps provided as completely useless. I don't need the NY Times printed on my printer every morning. That is what the iPad is for.
In the end, one has to be realistic about what you can really expect for less than $200. Did you really think they could squeeze this many quality features for such a small price? If they left out the frills that are done poorly anyway and just focused on the main stuff, I would still have purchased for the price as, after all, I just want a good printer and scanner that will get me through the day. Having e print and two-sided capabilities is great but I could probably live without them and would not miss it."
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:February 28, 2014

HP JUNK

Pros: hp service people try--feel sorry for them
Cons: poorly designed, poor reliability, troubleshooting process is terrible
Model Number: HP Photosmart 7525
"We gave them every chance. The first unit initially failed to recognize one of the print cartridges. Finally I got it working by adjusting the spring loaded contacts for the cartridge. When that cartridge was out of ink, I replaced it but no amount of diddling would get the printer to recognize the new cartridge (or the old one). Called HP and after 90 minutes of inane troubleshooting (read the SNs of each cartridge, plug it in, unplug it, replace the cartridges, etc.), they agreed it was broken and would send me a new printer. New printer arrives and it would not even get through the internal setup (print or ink failure). Incidentally, it was not a "new" printer at all--just a refurbished one (a recycled problem from another dissatisfied customer). Called HP again. An hour more of troubleshooting--no change. Finally I told them that I was going to send them back their replacement, return the original to COSTCO and HP had, forever, lost a loyal customer.
I am an engineer, unfortunately I have spent several hours now working with these units. In my opinion, the internals of these printers are poorly designed, mechanically cheap, and it is a wonder they work at all. HP needs to go back to building printers, not just cheap receptacles for expensive printer cartridges.
"
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:La Conner, WA
Date:February 24, 2014

What a printer

Pros: wireless is great load is easy connections great
Model Number: Photosmart 7525 all in one
"Once it is set up and running, the wireless works great, plus the feature to dial in from any where in the world from your smart phone and print. Problem I have is after the warranty expired, it will not print in color no matter what I do. I hardly ever print color, so its my fault."
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 19, 2014

Sleep Mode Disconnects Wireless

Pros: great print quality
Cons: does not stay connected to wireless
"Don't usually review products but this one has been a royal pain and a big time waster. If you don't want to be connected wireless then this printer may be fine as the printing quality is good.
Wireless Issues:
When the printer goes into sleep mode something happens with connection of wifi or computer. It will show that it is connected to wifi, but when you try and print it will give an error "unable to connect to printer". Only way to resolve is stop and reconnect the wifi by pressing button wireless on/off option on printer or re-entering wireless settings. So if you want to do this each time you want to print after it goes into sleep mode then go for it.
Spent several hours with Costco concierge, HP, and my internet provider. Even returned first printer and bought the same one thinking it would resolve the issue. Nothing has helped. I have seen a few more reviews with same issue so glad to know I haven't been the only one dealing with this. So I will return it for sure.
Hope this helps and I really wanted to keep this printer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:UTAH
Date:February 17, 2014

NEVER GOT TO EVEN USE IT!

Pros: none
Cons: didn't even get to loading the dvd.
"I bought my HP Photosmart 7525 on 2-9-14 and returned it on 2-16-14. I set it up and when removing the poorly designed top on the black ink cartridge it sprayed ink all over my desk and carpet. My wife is not a happy camper. My old C7250 was a pretty good printer but they couldn't even tell me what the error code ment except to say it was a gonner. Don't know which way to go now."
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Western PA
Date:February 15, 2014

Lousy Product overall

Pros: print quality is very good if you get it to work
Cons: paper trays are a joke.
"This is a lousy product. To shift between the photo tray and the regular paper tray has been impossible. The paper feed is blind so very tough to tell if paper is properly deployed. Lots of jams and waste. Not a reliable wireless product, seems to go off network frequently. Look elsewhere for a decent printer."
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014

worst printer ever

Cons: ink cast same as new printer
"i bought and returned this printer twice.
it has problems printing. regular prints have fading lines and hard to see letters but ink not low. photo prints end up messed up some colors show up barely others show up as wrong colors. Plus the ink cost more than the printer.
Costco is a very good store but this printer isnt worth the troubles.
"
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert, CA
Date:January 17, 2014

Almost bought another brand

Pros: easy installation.
Cons: ink cost
Model Number: 7520
"I have owned almost every brand of printer and was not too happy with some HP units. Read the reviews and decided to give HP another shot.
So far so good, installation went well including networking. I really like the 2 paper trays, one for plain paper and one for photo. I was happy when a photo printed on the photo paper without me selecting it.
Jury is still out until I use it for awhile longer. Cost of ink may be high? Ordered a complete set of XL from HP for about $112.00. Printer was only about $150.00.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sebastopol, CA
Date:January 17, 2014

Returned to Costco in less than a week

Pros: print quality looks very nice...eventually
Cons: printer did not work with supplied ac pwr adapter, printer wakes itself up when connected w/wireless, printer loses usb connection when my pc sleeps, printer would not update firmware without error
Model Number: Photosmart 7525
"Bought Photosmart 7525 at Costco to replace 2 year old Photosmart C410a that stopped printing black ink after 2 years. Right out of the box, new printer would not turn ON when plugged into a wall outlet. Discovered that AC power adapter was turning itself OFF after 10 seconds. Only way to use printer was to turn it ON within 10 seconds of plugging in power cord.
Once operational in wireless mode, printer woke itself up about once an hour and made mechanical noises! HP support instructed me to use USB cable to update printer firmware. Every attempt to update printer firmware failed. HP support then instructed me to SKIP that step? I was instructed to reset printer by pressing three buttons in a specific order. This printer has a touch panel and has a SINGLE button for power ON/OFF??? With USB cable now connected, printer repeatedly lost USB connection to my PC when the PC went into sleep mode. I had to turn the printer OFF, unplug it from the wall outlet, plug it back in, turn it ON within 10 seconds, and print before my PC went to sleep again...
After a few days of frustrating use and hours of additional research, I returned the printer to Costco and purchased a competitor's product. It installed easily and quickly and has been working flawlessly for the first 24 hours. HP has lost another loyal customer.
"
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Jackson, MI
Date:January 15, 2014

Paperweight

Pros: nice looking machine
Cons: doesn't work yet! keep hoping.
Model Number: 7525 e
"Purchased this printer at the end of Dec. to replace a 'disposable HP printer' that had broken hinges. According to HP replacement hinges would cost more than a new printer! Puchased this model after looking at several reviews. After several hours of set up with the disc and online downloads of drivers, I called tech support. The support people finally determined, after an hour or so, that the print head was at fault and they would ship a new printhead. Should have the print head by 1/13/14. Today is 1/15/14 and still no print head. Don't even know if this thing will even print because, right now, it's an excessively large and expensive paper weight. Once the ink cartridges are empty, it might make a boat anchor because I'll need another disposable printer!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Salem OR
Date:January 9, 2014

Won't stay connected to WiFi

Pros: photo printing was very good
Cons: will not not stay connected to wifi
Model Number: HP PS 7525
"I bought this at my local CostCo store. I wish I'd read reviews first.
The printer produces great photo prints, but it WILL NOT stay connected to WiFi.
My WiFi works properly with many other devices and I am experienced with home networking. I spent many hours over several days on the HP support web page and discovered that many others have the same problem. I tried more than a dozen suggested "solutions" and none worked.
CostCo Concierge service offered to connect me to HP support but had no other suggestions,
I am going to return this printer - and the more than $100 of ink cartridges that I bought - and purchase a different brand.
If you do not plan to ever use WiFi to connect the printer then this printer may be a good choice. I rate it 5 stars for printing and zero for WiFi."
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:January 7, 2014

not as great as I expected

Pros: can refill hp ink at costco
Cons: random noises, confusing screen with options i'll never use
Model Number: HP Photosmart 7525
"I thought this was going to be a really great printer; I am disappointed. It's loud, making random paper scrolling and other noises after printing just 1 sheet of paper, single-sided. Sometimes things just don't go to the queue; I have to hit print multiple times before I hear the thing kick in. It's just a weird printer. I've had it for several months, thinking I'd warm up to it. Sortof wish I'd stuck with Lexmark. My Lexmark lasted 8 years and worked great up until I upgraded Windows on my PC and couldn't get a scan driver."
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dublin, OH
Date:January 2, 2014

I would not buy this printer again....in a 100 yrs

Pros: ok looking
Cons: loses wireless connection, eats ink, auto feeder gets stuck
Model Number: HP Photosmart 7525
"I believe this printer got good marks in Consumer Reports, so I didn't do any reviews of it on Costco.com....and now I'm paying for it. Three issues:
1. It keeps dis-connecting from my wireless router. If I turn it off, then on, it re-connects. This should not have to be normal operating procedure. I have submitted multiple tickets (hours of my free time) with HP to no avail. When asked if this is a problem they see often, they tell me no. After reading the reviews, I'm not confident I'm getting an honest answer from HP.
2. INK - This thing eats ink. Consumer Reports just put out an article that said this printer eats $108 of extra ink a year in how it operates. For this reason alone I'm getting rid of the printer. Read the Feb'14 article. It's alarming. I have to buy ink all the time.
3. The auto document feeder works 95% of the time, which means 5% of the time it does not work.
"
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2013

HP 7525 - Alignment Issues

Pros: colors are good, printing is reasonably fast
Cons: alignment issue could not be resolved.
Model Number: HP 7520/7525
"When printing from Photoshop Elements on a Windows 7 HP PC, the prints come out miss-aligned. When printing in borderless mode, a white border appears at the bottom, increasing from 1/16th inch on the right side to 1/8th inch on the left side. Picture effectively looks off kilter. This border issue does NOT occur when printing from Explorer. I called tech support and they said this is a known issue and they don't have a solution. For me, I want to do all of my printing from Photoshop, so this was unacceptable."
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 7525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:December 9, 2013

Solid Product

Pros: easy installation, nice features for the price, eas of use, touch screen control panel
Cons: hp installation instructions., large foot print
Model Number: HP Photosmart 7525
"My first all-in-one printer. Purchased based on high ratings from by Consumers Report. Was able to easily install and connect from my desktop, laptop and iPhone 5 (even-though HP's installation instructions are not in sufficient detail, as usual). After a week, the printer has been working just fine. Able to print, scan and copy without any issues."
1 2 3 next>>