Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Get an additional $20 off when you add this HP printer to your purchase of a tablet. Must be purchased on same order. Offer deducted at checkout. For qualifying items, enter search term HPAUG14M. Valid 07/26/14-9/27/14. While Supplies Last.
Average Customer Rating:
3.975 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(285 Reviews) 285
(out of 285 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (285 reviews)
5 stars
153
4 stars
60
3 stars
20
2 stars
16
1 star
36
221 of 285(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Roanoke, VA
Date:February 10, 2014

Wanted to like it...

Pros: easy setup (my 13 yr old did it)
Cons: not reliable
"... Unfortunately, after a brief period (I mean, maybe a week?) of easy set-up and excellent printing, this printer apparently became "confused" and offered unexplained error message. Wasn't able to resolve it easily and decided I've had enough of HP's declining quality and service. Perhaps extended time on the phone would have brought resolution, but after dealing with HP on another printer in the past and being charged an unexpected $200 by HP with still no working printer, I'm done.
Fortunately, Costco can be depended upon for excellent customer service, and the defective printer was easily returned with full refund.
I will continue to rely upon Costo's reputation for quality products at an excellent price, knowing they stand behind every product they sell.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Queens, NY
Date:September 11, 2013

Defective Out Of The Box

"I consider Costco to be such a good selector of products that I normally feel like I can pick up any product of their shelves and it will be high-quality. Unfortunately this printer has shaken my faith. The moment I started to set it up, I could see that the parts were flimsy and didn't fit together well. When I first turned it on, it made all kinds of "unhealthy" sounding buzzes and whirs. The alignment page printed ok except with a small crease, but then every job I tried after that jammed. Customer support was absolutely awful -- they couldn't understand anything I said (I was born in the US and I don't have any accent), and they took me through steps that were clearly a waste of time. Before I could get to the person who was supposed to process my replacement printer, I realized it made more sense just to return it and not deal with HP anymore."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014

Fine until you need cartridges

Pros: easy to use
Cons: problem with the ink cartridge. waste of money
Model Number: 6515
"I just purchased my second set of 564 and third black ink cartridges. In the combo pack only the black was a 564XL and it did not print. I tried everything recommended by HP blogs to no avail. Thinking it was the XL, I purchased a regular black cartridge which doesn't work either. I just wasted $70 on ink and the printer still does not work. Now I have to purchase another printer or pay to have this one repaired, and unless I can use these cartridges on my next printer, I just waster $70. I could have purchased a new printer for a $100. Really, a new printer every two years? I hardly used this one."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 8, 2014

Worked until it didn't

Pros: nice quick printing
Cons: stopped printing black and was unable to fix it
"I had this printer for about a year and it worked wonderfully for seven months - great picture printing, nice photocopying, etc.
After seven months, the black ink stopped printing. Like some of the other reviewers, I assumed it was a cartridge problem and went out and bought all new cartridges. After those didn't work, I spent time cleaning the printer and doing everything I could think of to make it work. After some internet research, I learned that this problem isn't uncommon for this printer. One day the black stops working and there isn't much you can do about it. I returned the printer and was glad to have it out of my house after spending so much $$ on toner to try to get it working again.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:redmond, wa
Date:June 25, 2014

excellent printer

Pros: sharp images print, beatifull photos, easy setup, wifi - network connection, hpeprint - remote printing services, easy print from android devices (wifi), touch screen for set up/navigation, sdcard memory slot, sharp and clear text printing in black/white/color, 5 ink cartridges (vs 2 on similar competitors)
Cons: none
"very sharp images (photo), 5 cartridges ,
good scanner, easy setup on network, hpeprint - very cool service - i can email prints from phone to execute print at home, prints directly (wifi) from my android devices, memory card slot.
excellent (7 months so far) printer. when not used goes into power saving mode - no need to turn off/on.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2013

Wireless setup never worked

Cons: wireless setup, poor documentation, poor support, extra software forced on you
Model Number: 6525
"I purchased this printer to replace an HP 1610 all-in-one that I had for a few years. Not a great printer, but OK enough to try HP again. I saw this one at Costco and liked the feature list and price. Now I wish I had taken time to read online reviews and do more comparison (as I usually do).
My main interest was in wireless printing. We have an increasing number of laptops and wireless devices and having only one PC connected to a printer has been a real pain, so easily hooking this up to our network and having all family members be able to print to it was a real selling point.
Unfortunately this has cost HOURS and hours of frustration. None of our computers can connect to the printer over the network. HP support has been no help. I'll be returning this to Costco shortly."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:July 20, 2013

Return it to HP!!!

Pros: inexpensive printer; ink -- as always -- pricey
Cons: cannot print mailing labels small and medium
Model Number: PhotoSmart 6225-e
"Bought because I needed a new printer; had previously good experiences with HP. This one NOT SO GOOD. Print quality good to very good; photo printing not so good, but the main complaint is that it cannot line up print to AVERY (or other) mailing label templates. Using MS WORD SW, print starts okay, but by 1/3 down the page, print shifts outside of label template. By end of page, print is out of alignment by almost 1/2 a label. No such issue with previous HP printer; just this one. Customer Support and HP website NO HELP!!! No SW upgrade or recommendation other than shift alignment manually, which doesn't help as shifting pattern changes, but still out of alignment."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:computer professional
Date:July 30, 2014

Loses wireless connection every 15 minutes

Cons: useless to be wireless if sleep drops connection
"There are about 4500 comments in the HP website about this. It has a wacky change to try for a windows machine but we have iPads and Mac. You have to walk up to the printer and manually turn off wireless then turn it back on when it goes to sleep. You can choose up to 15 minutes but not turn this feature off!
We had an hp5514 which worked and reconnected just fine, this is obviously a serious flaw they do not want to fix. This is going back to Costco immediately.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:July 14, 2014

Good printer but unreliable

Pros: printing from an ipad, copier function, makes excellent color prints
Cons: 1 year warranty
Model Number: HP 6525
"Great printer when it works. First one I purchased experienced a power supply failure in less than 1 year and was replaced by HP with a refurbished model under the warranty. The refurbished unit stopped scanning recently and is now out of warranty. All other features continue to work. If you purchase this unit, use a credit card that doubles the warranty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Citrus Heights, CA
Date:May 21, 2014

Printer only lasted one and 1/2 years

Model Number: Photosmart 6525
"I bought my Photosmart 6525 in January 2013. It was working perfectly, loved the printer. All of a sudden it's not printing right. First lines across the paper than nothing except black ink. The printer shows that all cartridges are 1/2 full. I always buy HP ink. I tried taking them out and shaking them. I tried everything it said to do. Clean the cartridges, check the alignment, etc. no luck. Very disappointed. Sure hope the 7525 I just purchased will last longer than this one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Schaumburg, IL
Date:May 1, 2014

HP6525 - WORST HP PRINTER - CONSTANT INK PROBLEMS

Pros: none!, ok! excellent hp phone customer service
Cons: waste of ink! downtime! excessive calls to hp!, tired of diconnect power source + replug = startup, xlarge ink ! too small, cheap quality hp product! can't believe hp!
Model Number: HP PHOTOSMART 6525
"Over the past 20 years I have only purchased HP printers! I "downgraded" to a smaller printer due to counter space. My COSTCO tech person is ALWAYS perfect for suggestions! This machine is a piece of junk! CONSTANT INK issues! Wasting ink! X-LARGE cartridge is small! Spoke direct to HP customer service was EXCELLENT! and Helpful BUT! Need to unplug at power source + replug + start up to achieve good ink quality is a waster of TIME! Tired of called HP for help, too! It is a CHEAP quality machine! I WILL RETURN TO COSTCO! DON'T BUY THIS MACHINE! IT IS A WASTE OF INK! CUSTOMERS SERVICE phone calls! Thank goodness HP Customer Service is excellent!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago NW burbs - maybe it
Date:March 21, 2014

Easy setup, simple all-in-one printer

Pros: easy setup functions well as simple all-in-one
Cons: zero ability in creating custom page sizes, hp won't provide help to add the function, my old hp c5280 could create any page size
Model Number: HP Photosmart 6525
"The printer works well after an easy setup process for wireless. I even eprint from my iphone.
Even HP can't get this thing to allow youu to create your own page sizes, like special size envelopes or greeting cards to process thru it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 6, 2014

Not a Good Choice

Pros: easy to install but takes awhile
Cons: paper jams poor color printing clicking sounds
Model Number: HP6525e
"I purchased this Printer a few months ago because my 7 yr old HP printer was making clicking noises. Installation went well and had only one problem with it. This was also clicking every 7th printing. Frequent Paper Jams. Poor quality color printing. Than after 3 months or so it just kept up with a error message saying something was jammed.I followed everything I could to resolve this and it still would not print. So just took it back to Costco. I asked for credit as I wanted to purchase a different model and I brought the Epson all in one as it had very good reviews. So we shall see how the Epson fairs. Shame on you HP for Making such weak products lately. It will come back to bite you in the future when no one buys your products anymore."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 26, 2014

Got Maybe 1 Year

Pros: worked for a while with ok results
Cons: cheaply made
Model Number: HP Photosmart 6525
"Cheaply made. Went through one set of printer cartridges before the paper tray."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:September 9, 2013

Very Nice

Pros: prints fast
Cons: does not hold much paper
Model Number: 6525
"I got this to replace my older HP C310. It has almost the same features but holds less paper. I compared photo printing between the two and they look identical (C310 has extra photo cartridge). I set up the eFax and it works fine. I did notice that this printer is quicker to print vs the C310 and copies look better. The printer is not as robust (thinner materials) vs the C310 but I'm pleased overall."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Calif.
Date:August 26, 2013

Excellent Value!

Pros: easy setup, excellent print quality
Model Number: HP6525
"If you're looking for an All-in-One printer for home use, you'd be hard pressed to find better value than the HP6525. At a discounted price of $100, it's a real bargain!
Set-up is easy and straight forward and, most importantly, everything works flawlessly. Fast print speed and excellent quality. Have always been impressed with HP products and the 6525 is no exception."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2013

Ok Printer, Terrible Scanner

Pros: price
Cons: poor scanning, unable to network
"I bought this printer primarily to have a scanner for photos/faxes, and occasionally to print. When connected via USB to my laptop it printed well for general prints, and only fair for photos on the sample photo-paper.
Two huge issues:
1 - when scanning, there was always a blue cloudiness apparent in the images, regardless of the settings which I adjusted. This is fine for faxes, but not when trying to scan high-res photos for printing (which I would not do with this printer after testing.)
2 - I could not get it to connect to my wireless router for the life of me. I'm an engineer and have set my router up with a multitude of devices using advanced settings (DDNS, mac filtering, etc.) It just WOULD NOT CONNECT."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toketee, OR
Date:October 27, 2012

INK WASTE

Pros: scans prints
Cons: insanely expensive ink
Model Number: 6515
"This little guy was close to perfection... I looks nice, has a cool little scanner... but it wastes SO MUCH INK. First, HP sells these with enough ink to print 30 pages MAX - so then you have to buy their "XL" cartridges which are the same size, but actually full of ink...
With that said, there are refill kits out there - i'm going to try one because i'm not paying for their INSANELY EXPENSIVE INK."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 21, 2013

MISLEADING: "LEGAL-size Flatbed Scanner" -NOT TRUE

Cons: scanner is only letter-size despite advertising
Model Number: HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Injet Printer
"I bought this scanner SPECIFICALLY because it said it had a "LEGAL-size Flatbed Scanner". When I opened the box, I found this to be COMPLETELY MISLEADING!!
While the "flatbed surface" itself is indeed legal-size, the smaller "scanning" screen in the middle is definitely only LETTER-size!!!
I bought this printer/scanner so that I could scan larger family photos. I already OWN a LEXMARK printer that is almost identical to the one I just purchased from HP. Because this printer will not fill the main function for which I bought it, I will be returning it to Costco immediately.
I'm sure it's a great product, and does what it says it will do. But the advertising is completely misleading when it leads you to believe that it will actually SCAN LEGAL-SIZE photos and documents.
I'm definitely bummed, because this means that I can't trust ANY of HP's products to have a larger scanning screen, even though it says so in their advertising.
I used to have a stand-alone HP Scanner in 1999 which scanned a whopping 11"x14". I guess they don't make these any longer. I'm very disappointed..."
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 6525 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 6, 2013

Don't bother

Cons: wastes a lot of ink
Model Number: Hp Photosmart 6525
"Started out great.. however it seems to use WAY to much ink.. I print 1 of an item for my classroom so maybe more than some but I am finding I have already had to purchase ink 3 times... 2 packs of black ink and 2 combo packs. I think I am better off going with a differnt printer. I am also now having trouble with the black ink. Time for a new one and definately not this model"
1 2 next>>