Customer Reviews for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-652-2666 Mon-Fri: 10am-10pm (EST) or email carecenter@cits.canon.com. Super Zoom, Super Compact. The PowerShot SX500 IS gives you all the power of super zoom in a camera that's sized to go everywhere! The extremely powerful 30x Optical Zoom with 24mm Wide-Angle Lens (35mm equivalent: 24-720mm) gives you true shooting versatility, while the Optical Image Stabilizer ensures crisp, brilliant images at any zoom length. Image quality is spectacular thanks to the 16.0 Megapixel sensor and Canon DIGIC 4 Image Processor, and you can capture stunningly realistic 720p HD video in stereo sound with a simple press of the movie button. An enhanced Zoom Framing Assist button helps you track and capture subjects for sharp super telephoto photography, and new High Speed AF dramatically reduces lag time so you'll never miss a shot. Just hold the PowerShot SX500 IS in your hand to experience what makes the new design so special. The camera's slim, compact body is proportioned in perfect relation to the giant zoom, while rounded corners with angled grips are a natural fit for the palm of your hand. Zoom right onto the field to capture sports action, achieve those wide-angle travel shots, preserve memories of special events as beautiful HD video - it's all possible with the PowerShot SX500 IS! Specifications: Effective Pixels: 16.0 MP 1/2.3 CCD Sensor Lens Specifications: 30x Optical zoom lens (24-720mm) 4x Digital zoom (120x total zoom) LCD Monitor: 3.0" TFT LCD (461,000 dot) Motion Video Quality: 720p HD Video at 25fps Image Stabilization: Optical ISO Sensitivity: Auto, ISO 100/200/400/800/1600 Images Per Battery Charge: Approx. 195 shots Dimensions: W 4.09" x H 3.16" x D 3.16" Weight: Approx. 12.0 oz. Storage Media: SD / SDHC / SDXC Features: Powerful 30x Optical Zoom with 24mm Wide-Angle Lens - Given the PowerShot SX500 IS's compact size and attractive proportions, it is especially impressive that the camera is equipped with a mega-powerful 30x Optical Zoom. With a 35mm film equivalent focal length that extends all the way from 24mm to 720 mm, your shooting reach is superb: you'll capture telephoto shots with detail like never before. The Wide-Angle Lens gives your images a distinctive sweep and grandeur, capturing landscapes, cityscapes, tall buildings and wide groups of people with ease. 16.0 Megapixel Image Sensor - The PowerShot SX500 IS's 16.0 Megapixel CCD sensor delivers impressive photos with fine detail and brilliant color. The high resolution ensures superb image quality even when cropping or making very large prints. Canon DIGIC 4 Image Processor - The DIGIC 4 Image Processor has ushered in a new level of picture quality and accelerated processing, making possible features such as high-speed continuous shooting, Full HD video and Face Detection Self-timer. New, more powerful noise reduction algorithms also provide improved low-light capture. Canon HD Video Advantage - The PowerShot SX500 IS lets you record highly detailed 720p HD video at 25 frames per second with clear stereo sound. Watching your videos and sharing them with family and friends is especially easy with the camera's HDMI output: you can connect the camera directly to your HDTV with an optional HDMI cable. Dedicated Movie Button, Wind Filter and Optical Zoom While Shooting - The PowerShot SX500 IS has a dedicated movie button that lets you start and stop recording instantly. The camera also incorporates an electronic wind filter, which suppresses wind noise that can muffle or distort the sound. And the PowerShot SX500 IS lets you use the full range of optical zoom when you're shooting a video, without sacrificing HD video resolution. High-Resolution 3.0-inch LCD - Composing and checking your shots is easier with PowerShot SX500 IS's clear, high-resolution LCD. The extra resolution also makes using the camera's menu functions more convenient. Clear and bright, it also features Night Display for easy viewing in low light. Enhanced Zoom Framing Assist Button - With its 30x Optical Zoom lens, the PowerShot SX500 IS has the telephoto reach to capture subjects a long distance away. Zoom Framing Assist makes it much easier to use the camera's powerful zoom lens. When you press and hold the Zoom Framing Assist function button, the camera will automatically zoom out to include a wider angle of view, enabling you to more easily locate your moving subject. Once you find it, releasing the button will cause the lens to return to its original zoom position, intelligently keeping the subject in focus until you're ready to shoot and capture the perfect close-up moment. For enhanced versatility, the PowerShot SX500 IS now allows you to make adjustments to zoom while the button is pressed, with an animated assist frame that makes viewing easy. When the button is released, the lens will return to the adjusted zoom position. High Speed AF - The PowerShot SX500 IS is equipped with Canon's latest advancements in Autofocus (AF) technology. Canon's newly developed AF achieves a significant increase in speed, for a shooting experience that's spontaneous and natural. The remarkably responsive High Speed AF lets you capture great shots as they happen, with reduced lag time. In addition to improved AF algorithms, the camera can process multiple sequences simultaneously, and takes advantage of reworked controls between AF and the start of shooting. What's Included: PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera Battery Pack Battery Charger Lens Cap Neck Strap Interface Cable Digital Camera Solution CD-ROM Bonus Items: Camera Case, 8 GB SD Card
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Review 1 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon Coast
Date:February 19, 2013

Great Camera

Cons: camera case too small
"Love this camera. Takes fantastic pictures but the camera case is too small for the camera and doesn't have room for the battery charger. Super zoom."
Review 2 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jenison, MI
Date:February 17, 2013

SX500IS

Pros: great pictures
Cons: body design awkward, case too small
Model Number: SX500is
"Camera is very good,excellent pictures, quick flash recharge. The bundle is poor however, too small a case and my SD card just died after 50 pictures.
Little strange to hold, buttons awkward to find and push.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2013

Great Little Camera

Model Number: Canon sx500 IS
"I haven't had this very long, but I'm enjoying it a lot. The color of the photos is good and the zoom is wonderful. The images are clear even when moving slowly. There is much for me to still learn. I have an SLR camera that has lower pixels, but wanted one with higher for larger reproduction. I still like the steadiness of the SLR with the viewfinder. This camera is the next best thing. A very good price too."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Omaha NE
Date:June 14, 2013

Great zoomed pictures but not normal pictures

Pros: great zoom clarity, comfortable to hold
Cons: slightly blurry spontaneous pictures
Model Number: Canon Powershot SX500 IS
"I am a novice with cameras, I've had my Sony for 9 years and it has always taken great pictures, but we need a new one. We tried this Canon SX500 and noticed all the normal pictures without zoom were slightly blurry, and I was really making sure it was focused. But when I zoomed in all the way to objects it took a very clear, great picture. Lots of reviews said it was a little blurry and I agree, except with the good zoom. It is very comfortable to hold though. We need better spontaneous pictures so we took this back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2013

Great camera with a few kinks

Pros: nice vibrant photos; auto setting does the job!, image stabilizer is great video quality is great
Cons: manual flash function; lens cap ring fell off;, no name sd card provided & was defective in mine
Model Number: SX 500 IS
"The first time I bought this camera was for a recent vacation and halfway through the trip I noticed the lens cap holder fell off somewhere so I had to be extra cautious to avoid scratching the lens. I returned it and purchased one from online. When I got the one from online, the SD card wouldn't work; I got a reading error message, so I ended up returning that one too. It takes great photos and I love the image stabilizer function, especially with the video function. I hope to get the same one again (3rd time's a charm?) and hopefully everything will be functional & proper."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:February 13, 2013

Best Photo Value - by far!

Pros: image stabilization, zoom range
Cons: none
Model Number: SX500 IS
"The image stabilization on this camera is AMAZING. We purchased this camera before a recent trip. While we were whale watching, we were able to get clear, stable pictures even with 2 meter swells. The manual flash on the camera is great for visiting museums and other places with "no flash" policies and actually delivers much clearer images in most lighting situations. I found the extreme 30X optical zoom to be overkill for the most part, but the zoom range was useful. The battery lasts for hundreds of shots (400-500 depending on how long it takes you to take the shots since the display eats the battery). I would recommend purchasing a second battery to carry with you on trips.
Bottom Line: I've had many cameras. This is the best by far."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Apple Valley, CA.
Date:December 6, 2012

best digital for the money

Pros: image stabilization, hd video/photos, battery life great, canon quality
Cons: cannot charge battery thru camera(no big deal), flash does not pop up automatically(easy lift)
Model Number: SX500 IS
"Bought this camera to replace my Canon powershot pro 1(8.0mp). This is by far the best digital camera for the money. Image stabilization is excellent. It now has the ability to zoom in and out while shooting HD video until you run out of battery or fill your sd card. You cannot charge battery thru the camera, so buy extra batteries. The first charge on battery has lasted more than 180 shots/video and still going. No thru the lens viewing, which took some getting use to. Easy to use, with help items that scroll across screen. Very, very, light weight, with some cool shooting parameters. If you are familiar with Canon cameras, you will be able to take right out of box and use. I consider myself above amateur status and with this camera, you will not be disappointed."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, CA
Date:July 8, 2013

Like the Camera Overall

Pros: very easy to use and great photos for the price
Cons: dane-elec memory cards failed both purchases.
Model Number: Canon Power Shot XS500 IS
"I am a camera novice and wanted to purchase something that was easy to operate and had a decent zoom on it. This is in preparation for a trip that we are taking later this year. I had to take back the first camera I purchased due to a bad SD Memory Card. They could not replace just the card but had to replace the whole camera because it was sold as a bundle. When I got the second camera home I was able to take about 10 pictures before I got the same SD Memory Card error. I contacted the Costco concierge service and we determined it was likely the memory card (Dane - Elec) that was bad. I went and purchased a SanDisk Memory card and the camera has worked perfect since. Seems Costco should provide a more reliable card which in turn would reduce the number of returns on the camera."
Review 9 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay area, CA
Date:December 20, 2012

Excellent value for money

Model Number: Canon Power Shot SX500 bundle
"I purchased this for the family. it is small, compact, light weight and does the job as good as a any professional camera. The zoom feature is simply amazing. It is small enough to fit in wife's purse. It is not good for taking video as it drains the battery rapidly. The colors are ok and could have been a little better. It cannot be charged from a computer and have to remove the battery to charge. Since this comes with a 8 GB card, you can take a ton of pictures without running out of space. I took pictures of kids playing basketball and the results were good. There is a TV mode - not sure the value of that other than using it for fast action sports events. BTW: There is no room for the battery charger or the cable in the carry case, so it needs another bag to carry. Since this is camera without mirror, there is no viewfinder and you can see the images through the display only."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon Powershot SX500 IS Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2013

Costco does it again

Pros: excellent zoom, great customizable modes, tons of power and potential in a smaller package
Cons: manual flip up flash
Model Number: SX500
"This camera is perfect for someone who wants more than just your typical point and shoot, but does not want to break the bank on a DSLR. Also this camera has a good deal of built in modes that make it easy to dabble in customizing your own shots without feeling like you are in over your head. The 30x optical zoom is excellent (one of the big draws for me), and the ergonomic grip makes it feel secure in your hands. I just received this camera so I have not had a chance to tinker with it too much, but from what I see so far I do really like. The one drawback is that even in "auto" mode you still must manually flip up the flash, but this is dwarfed by the fact that you can adjust the brightness of the flash as you like. Some reviews on this product mentioned it did not do great in low light situations, but I have to strongly disagree; in a half dark room and no flash in "auto" mode the camera took an amazingly bright photo, without a long delay to write the image.
And the icing on the cake: Ordered this Tuesday night, by Thursday early evening it was on my doorstep. Costco has amazing customer service/shipping as usual and for the price this camera cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.