Customer Reviews for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer

Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer

Get Free Paper, Item # 677772 when you buy this printer, Item # 705466. Valid 10/1/14 Through 12/31/14.  While Supplies Last.
Average Customer Rating:
3.489 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
32 of 47(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon
Date:September 2, 2014

Best Color Laser for the Price

Pros: print quality, price
Cons: slow print speed
Model Number: 6015/Ni
"I was wanting to replace my inkjet printer at home since I do not print often and was tired of replacing dried up ink cartridges and wasting a ton of money on the supplies, especially for such a poor quality printer.
I did a lot of research and visited many local office supply shops to get an idea of what I might want. I was leaning toward a Brother machine, but was willing to try this one first, especially at the low Costco price.
The reviews were a bit all over the place with network and setup complaints, but I am pretty tech savvy so I decided to go for it. It's Costco, so I always knew I could return it at the end of the day if it wasn't very good.
It was great! Setup was easy, even on our hidden network. Windows 8 was a bit more work to setup, but ended up using the drivers preinstalled and that fixed the issue.
My only complaint, and why I gave it 4 out of 5 stars, is how slow it is to print. This is not really an issue for our personal printing, but this would be a pretty big issue in an office space. I love that I can print from anywhere using the Xerox Print Back app. Makes capturing something on my iPad or Android phone very easy.
Print quality is great, especially compared to those that we looked at in stores.
I am very pleased with the purchase.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:August 5, 2014

difficult, difficult, difficult; Less than 1-star

Pros: there are no pros to this printer.
Cons: too many cons to list
Model Number: 6015NI
"I too moved away from ink and was hoping to avoid returning my printer every 1 to 1.5 years. I should have returned this one after the first month, but continued to work with it and virtually got no where. It takes way too long to receive information from the que, if it ever does and is the slowest printer I have ever used. Difficult to set up; Difficult to connect to wireless network, and difficult to get anywhere near the number of pages per cartridge it claims; and certainly not a "plug and play" unit. I would feel bad about selling it to anyone else and plan on sending it to the "dump"."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 25, 2014

Small office solution

Pros: small footprint
Model Number: Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015Ni Color Multifunction Printer
"We were tired of having to clean print heads due to inactivity so moved away from ink. We need the ability to scan as well as copy."
Review 4 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Highland CA
Date:February 21, 2014

Lousy machine with rotten service practices.

Pros: real easy hook up
Cons: unacceptable service requirements
Model Number: 6015Ni
"This printer delivers excellent pictures and was very easy to install; however, when I wanted to print business cards, it would not pick up light card stock. Xerox Service people said they would send a repairman and that if it could not be fixed, it would be replaced. That part was ok so far but then they said that they would place a debit on my credit card equal to the price of a new machine until the malfunctioning machine was received by them. Since I had already paid Costo for the purchase, I would not go along with that idea.
Then, they said that they would not guarantee a new machine as the replacement and that I might (pronounced "most likely")get a refurbished machine as the replacement. That idea really stinks since I had bought a new machine and was not ready to swap it out for a refurbished one which was, no doubt, one that had previously been someone's problem child.
All in all, the Xerox 6015Ni was returned to Costco the next day with absolutely no problem whatsoever, at which time an HP Officejet Pro 8600 was purchased as the replacement for a lot less money and it does as good as the Xerox."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:October 20, 2013

Buyer Beware

Pros: prints clear crisp pages
Cons: yields per page are very misleading, extremely expensive to print
Model Number: Xerox 6015Ni
"This printer does not even come close to getting the yield per cartridge that it claims. Black cartridge says yield up to 2000 pages. Yes, up to, is a qualifier, however, under 1000 pages isn't even close to 2000 pages. They may have well said up to 100,000 pages per cartridge, either way they weren't being forthright. Very frustrating and I expected more out of Costco and Xerox."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 2, 2013

Toner used up in under 4 months; sorry, returning.

Pros: cheap unit, automatic scanning easy to use
Cons: document feeder dificult to work, toner doesn't last
Model Number: 6015
"Could not set up to wireless, not true wireless connection as printer still needs to be connected to router.
Had difficulty with document feeder. My 15 year old black only laser printer is still a better machine in terms of print speed, quality, document feeding and toner longevity.
Check out reviews that are at least four-five months for toner replacement frequency."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick, NJ
Date:September 1, 2013

Great printer for the money; works great

Pros: great image quality, fast printing, easy scanning, easy faxing, built-in ethernet & wifi, simple print driver - doesn't take your pc hostage
Cons: document feeder is slow, sometimes won't wake up & needs power cycle, paper tray is average
Model Number: 6015NI
"I researched printers for awhile. I noticed that Xerox based this printer on a Tektronix Phaser print engine (they bought that company a few years ago). While I was in college I worked at a print shop where we charged $2 per print from our Phaser, and it was worth the cost if you were printing something important, so I was curious to see how this stacked up. I ordered the sample print and was impressed when I receved it in the mail. It works well. Image quality is great. Scanning to USB is reliable and easy, though as another poster mentioned, scanning via email or ethernet is a bit challenging for most users. Printing via USB or ethernet is great. We use it via WiFi, too, which is easy since we have it plugged into our WiFi router. I'd recommend that rather than using the built-in wifi, and that's basically true for all printers. All the devices in the house can print to it. I use it for casual printing around the house as well as important presentations for work. I don't know that I'd rely on this in a busy group office environment, but for small office / home office it's a solid investment and a terrific piece of equipment."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 20, 2013

Defective Out of Box

Model Number: 6015NI
"Upon receipt of the printer, I spent a lot of time talking with various people at Xerox. The result was that they ordered another printer to be shipped to replace the defective one. I received it today and will set it up tomorrow and keep my fingers cross that it works."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodstock, GA
Date:August 20, 2013

Consolidating printers/functions

Pros: nice printing and copying., after sw load works right out of the box!
Cons: need better instructions to differenciate between, between printer driver and all the other sw that, comes with the all-in-one.
Model Number: 6015Ni
"I have an OKI color laser that is nearing its drum life so I needed another color laser. I also have a brother B/w all-in-one that I want to replace with one unit. This one did it all at a very good price. So far it prints very well and copies nicely. I have not used the scanner function yet and do not plan to use the fax."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 14, 2013

Could be better

Pros: good print quality., fast and quiet.
Cons: poor support for network scanning
"As a printer this device is terrific. I was disappointed in the supporting software. Be advised that if you wish to Scan to computer your best bet is going to be via a USB cable connection. As another reviewer has already pointed out, scanning from your PC via Ethernet requires advanced computing skills and a lot of determination.
As a printer/copier I can recommend it. As a total Print/Copy/Scan workcenter it simply falls short of expectations in a networked environment."
Review 11 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach, FL
Date:August 9, 2013

worst printer installation

Pros: nice looking
Cons: not worth the installation effort
Model Number: 6015NI
"I have installed many printers over time and this is by far the most difficult installation that I have experienced. After 6 hours I still cannot scan a document. This is why Xerox is not big in the personal printer business"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2013

Not What It Seems

Cons: not true network wifi
Model Number: 6015NI
"This is not direct wifi capable. It must be hooked u p to a computer that is wifi. So if your have a notebook or ipad in another room you can not network to this printer. HP products you can and would recommend their products over Xerox."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:March 28, 2013

Not so good tech support

Pros: superb print quality bw and color. fast and quiet
Cons: tech advice poor available only 9-5 est m-f
Model Number: 6015NI
"Lightning delivery - less than 48 hours - kudos to Costco.
I set this up with an ethernet connection to my network - a USB connection to one computer may be simpler. Do download the full user manual from the CD, you'll need it. Xerox tech support is in the Phillipines and there were some language difficulties. E.g. when I asked what the "remote receive code" was, I got a long dissertation, but all I wanted was the number of the code. I never did get it.
The print and copy functions set up easily and the print quality is top notch. The manual and the tech insisted that you must have a dedicated line for the fax to work. THIS IS INCORRECT! It sends and receives fine with a shared line and gives a number of options for priorities between phone, fax and answering machine. It helps if you have someone who can fax and receive to/from you to help you decide your configuration, but it is no problem to fax.
Scanning was horse of a different color. No problems from the machine itself to a USB memory stick, so you know the scan function works.
To scan to your computer WITH AN ETHERNET CONNECTION you must set up a shared folder to receive the scan. The manual has excellent step by step setup except that there is one error. It includes a "\" in the name of the folder - MISTAKE. Just put the folder name in - no path, no nothing. This will save you a lot of heartache.
Fine - now you want to scan FROM your computer. Buried in the manual is the news that "Express Scan Manager" which was installed from CD only works if you are connected by USB cable ie it won't work on a network.
Windows Fax and Scan does not detect your scanner. Don't panic. Included in the software are 2 Scansoft products which were auto installed. Using SS Paperport I was able to scan OK. The other program OCR, works fine.
It took me quite a time to set up the Scansoft Paperport but I'm not familiar with the software - in the end I googled my problem on the net and found how to do it.
Everything now works at least for 6 days I've had it.
The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is the poor tech service.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xerox WorkCentre™ 6015/Ni Color Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane Valley,WA
Date:March 14, 2013

only used for one week

"so far so good. I have only recently set it up. I did get tech support to aid me in whole house set up. Prints good quality color & black & white. Smaller than my last printer, but not small by any means."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.