Customer Reviews for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket

Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket

Experience ultimate luxury with a premium-soft, RoyalMink™ Heated Blanket. Soft and smooth, this is our most silky fabric blend. This exclusive fabric takes heated bedding to the next level in comfort and added warmth. Exclusive wiring system senses & adjusts throughout the blanket for the highest peace of mind. Only from Sunbeam® Heated Bedding. Features: Colors: Apple, Breeze(Blue),Chocolate, Winter White(White), Honey Size: King, Queen, Full or Twin Material: 100% Polyester 200 grams per square meter, per side (400 total) Ambient Temperature Compensation: controller senses and adjusts to maintain your heating preference. Pre-heat feature warms up cold sheets before bedtime ThermoFine® technology senses and adjusts to deliver consistent warmth while you sleep. Selectable Auto Off: You can set the auto-off time at 2 hours, 6 hours, or 10 hours. To use the auto-off feature, press the Mode button until the "Auto-Off" words begin to flash. While the auto-off is flashing, use the +(dimmer increase) and -(dimmer decrease) buttons to scroll through the 3 auto off options. Five year limited warranty Made In China Care Instructions: Machine washable and dryer safe Dimensions (L x W): King: 100” x 90” Queen: 84” x 90” Full: 72” x 84” Twin: 62” x 84” Note: The digital images we display have the most accurate color possible. However, due to differences in computer monitors, there may be variations in color between the actual product and your screen. Please be advised that the primary colors are listed above. Using your Sunbeam® heated blanket can save you up to $131 on your heating bills.* *Based on turning down the thermostat 8 degrees/24 hours/day/ 25 weeks/year/ using Twin/Full 8 hours per night. Twin $131 / Full $131 /Queen $118 / King $105. Calculated using information from Energy Information Administration, March 2009.
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
3
6 of 18(33%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Review 1 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 25, 2014

Warms well, but slides off the bed!

Pros: plush soft thick, warms quickly
Cons: slides off the bed, controls are not easy to adjust in the dark
Model Number: 995996 (number on box)
"I was thrilled to find this plush thick electric blanket, after many years of only seeing those awful thin ones with heavy wires. It feels as lovely as it looks, and has heated very well. But it's so slippery it won't stay on the bed, and we're up several times in the night, hauling it back on. We're reluctantly going to return it - we even tried to use elastic bands designed to hold sheets in place, but that didn't work either.
I do think the controls could be designed much better for use in the dark. The several buttons are flush, so you have to actually look at the control to adjust. The old fashioned large dial ones you could adjust by feel.
"
Review 2 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:November 6, 2014

Returning this product

Pros: material feels nice
Cons: does not heat up
"Purchased on 11.05 & set up blanket. After about 10 minutes, nothing, then an "F" started flashing. Unplugged and re-plugged and neither side got warm on setting 5,so I increased to 10, 15 then maxed out at 20. I did begin to feel some warmth but I have a small throw that heats up better than this on a much lower setting. The blanket will be returned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014

Sunbeam RoyalMink Electric Blanket -

Pros: soft and comfortable
Cons: one side consistently fails to heat up
Model Number: 785295
"I have had two dual control king size blankets and one side continually does not heat up. I bought my 2nd one today and again, one side will not heat up! On the pro side the material is soft and very inviting. When it works it is amazing, but unfortunately its been unreliable for me. Maybe other models are more reliable."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014

Failed after 3 nights

Cons: failure after 3 uses
"After just three nights of use, the controller starts flashing an "F" and despite following the directions to reset the unit, the failure would not clear. Contact to Sunbeam indicated I could return for repair for a "small fee"...NOT. I returned it to Costco for a full refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Inland Empire, CA
Date:February 17, 2014

Quality Heating Blanket

Pros: heats well and keeps you warm
Cons: fabric could be a bit thicker
"Just got my new heating blanket - works like a charm. Great quality, always have enjoyed Sunbeam's products. Definitely would recommend!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:san diego, CA
Date:February 2, 2014

OK blanket

Pros: heats up quickly and is comfortable
Cons: preheat function is very poorly designed.
"OK blanket. Could have been designed much better. Preheat function is very poorly designed. You can program it to automatically come on the exact same time every night (7 nights a week), but I don't know anybody who always goes to bed every single night, at the same time, including weekends, going out, vacations, etc. I found this function useless. If you want to turn the preheat function on manually you have to: 1) hit the on button, 2) hit the mode button, 3) hit the mode button, again, 4) hit the up button. My previous electric blanket had a Preheat button, that you hit once. It was easy to use and I used it every night to have the blanket nice and toasty by the time I got into bed."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:January 25, 2014

Good one, with a catch

"I have had this one for over a year now. It is as advertised, a heated blanket. Overall, it is reasonable.
Pros : In the beginning, does not take much time to become heated, average 3-4min, I don't mind. When its heated, its great.
Con : Shuts off automatically after 10hrs. I did not find a way to stop this feature. Auto-shut-off is 2,6,10 hrs. This is extremely irritating feature, specially in the winter, if you want to stay in the bed for a some time. Again, if you like to control the shutting off yourself, DO NOT buy this. I thought it was power-saving, but getting out of bed in the morning to restart this is not worth saving those pennies. This is the reason I started hating this now.
On a different note, it started dying on me after a year. The start-up time becomes almost 15 min (compared to 3-4min in the beginning). But super-friendly costco would not mind returning. I am buying this one instead (no auto shut off feature)
Safe & Warm™ Luxe Plush Low Voltage, InvisiWire™ Electric Warming Blanket"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:January 24, 2014

sensational

Pros: a pre setting to warm bed. ahead of time
"We have had single digit temps and use to use lots of blankets but now we use just 2. Also I like the idea that it has time settings for more than just 3 hours. You can even to set it to stay on."
Review 9 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eureka, CA
Date:January 15, 2014

Wrong Control received - Costco corrected

Pros: costco customer service
Cons: sunbeam customer service
Model Number: Sunbeam Royal Mink & Choice Touch Control
"By reading the reviews, I, too, received the wrong control. I contacted both, Sunbeam and Costco to see how to go about receiving the control that I paid for. Costco went right to bat for me and I received the correct control, ChoiceTouch, within a month of receiving my royal mink electric blanket. As to Sunbeam, I did receive a timely email from them stating that they do not sell the Royal Mink with the ChoiceTouch, "on their website" and to return it to the seller and get the correct one. The blanket works great and I have no problems with it, except for it sliding off of the bed each night. As to the manufacturer of the blanket; well, I probably will never buy another Sunbeam product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:December 21, 2013

Mixed Results

Pros: heats well and fast.
Cons: slides off the end of the bed.
Model Number: Velvet Plush Heated Blanket
"This blanket gets warm/hot very quickly. Although I have trouble getting warm in bed, I have to turn the setting down to a very low setting on this blanket vs. blankets I have used in the past. The biggest problem, and one that means I am going to return it after 3 weeks of use, is that it slides down on the bed during the night - 12-18 inches each night. Then I have to totally remake the bed in the morning, taking off the coverlet, rearranging the sheets, etc. I can't see myself doing this for the life of the blanket. If this doesn't bother you, you will like the blanket."
Review 11 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013

Good Purchase

Pros: heats up beautifully.
Cons: color choices for the blanket and cord.
"I recenty purchased the Safe & Warm™ Luxe Plush and had to return it because the controller would not stay lit (others have reported the same problem). The one I had purchased in 2010 developed the same problem a month ago. I was hesitant to buy the Sunbeam blanket but decided to give it a try. I've only had it a few weeks but thus far, it works great. I would have preferred an off-white color as the white one I purchased is stark white but I have it under another blanket so no problem. The only other thing is that I had a blinking "F" just after I had it all plugged in. The directions are useless so I googled Sunbeams and learned that the blinking "F" means that the connection to the blanket was loose. You really have to give it a good push to get the piece fully engaged. I'm now warm and comfy so am a happy camper for now."
Review 12 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palmdale, CA
Date:December 15, 2013

Slides off the bed, tedious controls, very heavy

Pros: very warm, pretty, soft
Cons: heavy, slides off the bed, dim control, not easy to adjust
"It's so heavy and smooth it constantly falls off the bed. The controls are not as shown. With 20 settings you have to find the right button on a dim control and keep hitting it to adjust the temperature."
Review 13 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:December 4, 2013

Controllers are not the controllers pictured

Pros: decent heating blanket
Cons: misrepresented controllers on costco site
Model Number: Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
"This blanket is sold many places for about the same price, I choose to purchase from Costco because I preferred the controllers pictured on the site however they are not the ones I recv'd. The ones I recv'd are the standard ugly (imho) dark gray controllers which do not light up enough to see at night. I would upload imgs however this does not appear to be supported on the Costco site yet.
It's a decent blanket from a good company (Sunbeam) however my time spent comparison shopping was wasted.
Life goes on however : ) peace.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:November 7, 2013

Washing instructions misleading

Pros: feels soft
Cons: can't be machine dried.
Model Number: Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
"I did not use this product, but returned it as soon as I read the instructions. The item description says it can be machine washed and dried, but the blanket instructions say to take it out while damp and drape it over furniture etc. to finish drying.
I was recently diagnosed with asthma, and must wash and dry ALL my blankets and other bedding every two weeks. The sheets are done every week. I can not hang things outside in case there is pollen, mold, or dust in the air. If they are hung damp inside the mold becomes even more significant; dust mites also like humidity. Heated dryer air kills dust mites and mold and slows developement of mold."
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Costco.com
Date:October 12, 2013

Cosy and Soft

Pros: auto shutoff, clock, lots of settings, soft, nice color
Cons: haven't found any yet
Model Number: BRR8SKS
"Nice blanket good features. Controls loaded with settings, warmups and shutoffs. Warms nicely. Soft, cosy and light. Would highly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chesterfield, MO
Date:February 20, 2013

does the job but could do better.

Pros: attractive silky shiny fancier look, costco return policy backs you up if it breaks!!, really pretty brown color if you get brown one
Cons: no 2/4/6 hour shutoff only 10 hour, check fabric for damaged areas upon arrival
"This blanket only has the 10 hour shutoff feature not the 2/6/or 10 hr options other models have. Also, it has 20 heat settings but I put it on the hottest to preheat b/c the preheat feature doesn't seem to heat fast enough (a half hour and still its cool). When I unpacked the blanket the fleece was matted in the center and looked flawed, at that point I had considered returning it due to Costco's amazing return policy of customer satisfaction no matter what on a item like this. I like the color its a pretty, warm expresso color brown and it is soft. It is beautiful fabric, although not very thick at all, which must help the heat come through easier. You can feel wires if you run your hand along it but wearing it over me while sleeping having it over one layer of flannel sheet I can't feel them. Based on reviews I've read of other blankets at other sites and people say the "wireless" type blankets have such thin wires they tend to snap and go bad quickly so I feel better about the "ancient" thicker type. They don't bother me and I can't feel them unless I intentionally search for them with my hand as I said. Overall, its a good buy considering Costco's return policy which is exactly why I paid more for this in case it breaks which these type of blankets tend to do I've read. It's working fine, just wished the fabric wasn't damaged and the settings had a 2 and 6 hour shutoff like some on the market do by this same brand. It does the job and is overall a good choice. I guess I may return this in the future to get one that has the features I wanted."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerHomeMay 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the Electric Blanket. You can set the auto-off time at 2 hours, 6 hours, or 10 hours. To use the auto-off feature, press the Mode button until the "Auto-Off" words begin to flash. While the auto-off is flashing, use the +(dimmer increase) and -(dimmer decrease) buttons to scroll through the 3 auto off options. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Review 17 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 12, 2013

Disappointed. Returning.

Model Number: Item # 707049 Sunbeam Royal Mink Electric Blanket
"As soon as I opened the box, I felt like it was maybe a return. But I set it up anyway; I immediately noticed the wires as they were a bit bigger than my old one. Then when I plugged it, it immediately gave error messages. I checked the manual to see why and followed the instructions on how to reset. One side kept getting error messages. So I set the time on the other side following the instructions diligently but it wouldn't set,it kept blinking and eventually gave error messages. I emailed Sunbeam and they gave me exact same instructions as what I have already been doing or if not send for repairs. This is a supposedly brand new electric blanket and easy to set up. Frustrating so am returning. Must be as I suspected, a returned item."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sunbeam® RoyalMink™ Electric Blanket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Illinois
Date:January 31, 2013

Plush electric blanket

Pros: preheat and auto shutoff functions
Cons: covers may slide off bed because of plush surface
"This is a great electric blanket. The fabric is very plush. Controls are easy to use. Has a great preheat function that warms the bed, then drops to the preset heat level. Also has an auto shutoff. We liked ours so much I bought two twin size ones for my parents. The only drawback is that the plush fabric is a bit slick and some comforters or blankets may tend to slide off the bed when they are placed on top of the electric blanket."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.