Customer Reviews for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS

Full Featured 5” GPS Navigator Magellan brings you the all new RoadMate 5235T-LM. This 5” GPS navigator not only comes with exclusive features such as AAA TourBook Guide and OneTouch Favorites Menu, but you also receive Free Lifetime Map Updates and Free Lifetime Traffic Alerts and adds exciting new high end features. It even comes with a protective pouch for storing when not in use.                            New features make navigation easier and more enjoyable. With the all new Landmark Guidance your routing instructions incorporate landmarks as well as street names. You’ll hear instructions like “In 300 feet, turn left at the Shell Gas Station”. The upgraded Junction View generates realistic images of freeway signs and arrows guide you to the correct lane to make driving easier, safer and less stressful. Traffic Camera Alerts by PhantomALERT are included at no additional charge for one year! These audible and visual warnings alert you to fixed red light and speed cameras. This is verified crowd source data that you refresh on your unit by the free Content Manager from Magellan. You can even become one of the many reporters on the street by submitting your own discoveries or rating the reliability of the alerts you are shown. Premium content is available for an extra cost which includes blackspots (high accident areas), school zones and dangerous intersections. Best Parking is a great feature that makes parking in the city a much easier affair. Also updated by Content Manager, Best Parking provides parking garage locations with both their hours of operation and directions to the entrance. Choose the garage that is open and close to your destination. Once you have selected a garage you are guided directly to the entrance. No more searching for the entry! Navigation experience that is both intuitive and robust. The Magellan exclusive AAA TourBook Guide provides ratings and descriptions on AAA approved places to stay, play, dine, and more. The exclusive OneTouch Favorites Menu allows you quick access to your favorite places or even your favorite searches with a single touch by creating personalized bookmarks. As you type the first few letters of your target address QuickSpell instantly narrows the search based on your destination. SayWhere technology speaks the street names throughout the preloaded maps of the 50 United States, Canada and Puerto Rico. Additional Features: 5” Touch Screen Display: Large vibrant display with day and night views for easy visibility Free Lifetime Map Updates: Download the latest map information (up to 4 times a year) for the life of your Magellan RoadMate navigator. Free Lifetime Traffic Updates: Real-time, subscription-free traffic updates sent directly to your GPS unit to avoid traffic jams and other delays. Highway Exit POI: Search and route to millions of preloaded destinations near upcoming highway exits Junction View: Realistic images of freeway signs and arrows guide you to the correct lane to make driving easier, safer and less stressful Landmark Guidance: Receive directions using landmarks as your guide versus street names, making it a more intuitive way to navigate Multi-destination Routing: Plan a trip with multiple stops in the order you want, or let your Magellan navigator select the most efficient route OneTouch Favorites Menu: Easily create shortcuts to your favorite destinations and previous searches with personalized bookmarks so you can quickly find them anywhere you travel Traffic Camera Alerts: Receive audible and visual warnings of red light and speed cameras along your route QuickSpell® with Smartcity Search Best Parking: Provides parking garage locations, hours of operation and directions to the entrance Millions of Points of Interest: Search and route to millions of preloaded destinations such as gas stations, restaurants, hotels, attractions and other points of interest Spoken Street Names: Hear street names and directions for a clear understanding of when to make the next turn while you keep your eyes on the road Speed Limit Warnings: Manage your speed along your route with optional settings for visual and audible alerts AAA TourBook® Guide: The Magellan-exclusive built-in AAA TourBook® guide provides ratings and descriptions on AAA approved places to stay, play, dine, and more AAA Roadside Assistance: Now AAA members can get information on their location, to get emergency assistance. Package contents: Magellan RoadMate 5235T-LM Pre-loaded maps of United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico Windshield Mount Vehicle Power Adapter USB cable Quick Start Guide
Average Customer Rating:
2.929 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
7 of 14(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Review 1 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:gig harbor, wa
Date:November 27, 2012

Thankful for Costco return policy

Pros: thin
Cons: screen not touch sensitive, wouldn't turn on/off by itself most of the time
"Mine lasted 4 months, then wouldn't turn on, returned it for the other brand that I have used."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:November 2, 2012

Magellan 5235T-LM

Pros: great features.....more than garmin has aaa, love the one touch features, costco price is well below other retailers
Cons: needed to update the software....but all is well
"Great product after I got the latest software from the Magellan content manager, recommend this unit, easy to update,"
Review 3 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 20, 2012

Good Product

Pros: easy to use, thin, easy to update software, free lifetime map update
Cons: had to update the software but it was easy
"Overall it's a good product, at a great price. I had some issues initially, but after updating the software they were resolved. Now, I won't travel without it.
If you're looking for a full featured 5" GPS navigator at a good price, this is a good value."
Review 4 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:November 9, 2012

Hard to use

Pros: suction cup is good
Cons: hard to use
Model Number: RoadMate
"We replaced our Garmin with a Magellan. We found the Magellan much harder to use and are going back to the Garmin product. It's hard to get back to the start menu. The typing screen doesn't always respond to touch on the edges of the screen. The address book is an ambiguous icon on the bottom of the screen. It's slow in finding satellite on start-up. Not happy with Magellan."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:November 1, 2012

Terrible GPS

"I agree with the other reviewer that this GPS is terrible at directions. I returned it in two days. Wanted to test it out so I had it give me directions to places I know like work, work to the gym, gym to home etc. Every time, it got confused at the last mile. Used it in 6 tests in two days and failed every single time. No use buying a GPS that is not good at giving directions"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colfax, NC
Date:January 8, 2013

Easy to use, positives

Pros: address book, pc software - synch capability, unlimited map updates, traffic where available, familiarity if youve had magellen before, excellent price, ac adaper, nice feature set, costco customer service, touch adaptive screen like ipad
Cons: not a con but not bluetooth enabled for phone, no additional voices
Model Number: 5236T-LM
"I was able to use the pc software to set up my addresses that I wanted to save and sync with this and an older 1440. The address book is an excellent feature that was not present on the garmin I got for christmas. That went back to costco. It was extremely unfriendly. New Magellen similar in function to the 1440 only updated. Software works. Now have a Magellen for each car. Synch capability of address book to your Magellen devices from PC is excellent."
Review 7 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2012

Works well and love some features

Pros: navigation, directions like a real person
"I was expecting a base GPS at the price I had budgeted but came across this one with all the premium features at such a good price.
It works well so far and has directed me where I needed to go with no hassle. That is all I was looking for.
The bonus that I love is that instead of street names that I find hard to see at night, it tells me to turn at the next gas station. Finally, some thought has been put into GPS devices that have just been the same old same old in different packaging these past few years.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:November 3, 2012

Great for business use

Pros: directions using landmarks, quick searces
Cons: only one voice
Model Number: Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
"I travel all the time for business and I always have the Magellan with me. I have used Garmin and Tom Tom and this is by far the easiest to use. The Magellan is the most accurate calculating time of arrival, and I love how easy it is to route around traffic. I can save my favorite searches and get to them quickly, so I can find my favorite restaurant chains or coffee shops no matter where I am, without having to drill way down into the menus. The directions based on landmarks is the best. That's how people really give you directions, and it really helps at night when you may not be able to see street signs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:November 3, 2012

New is not better

Pros: -price -life maps, plus costco’s full package -cover -cords -brackets
Cons: takes a ‘very’ long time to load and calculate, gets confused often, next turn mileage to small to read while driving, screen map will not stay reduced to show more map, its calculating when you need it fast and most
Model Number: Magellan RoadMate 5235T-LM
"Purchased the 5235T-LM especially for long trip travel. Had an older Magellan Road Mate but wanted life maps feature. The 5235T-LM does not compare to the old one. After two very long multi-state trips and several in state, I don’t go w/o printing a Google map too. The old RoadMate was faster and better. While the 5235 screen stays the size you set it to while the auto is in motion, it will not stay that size for more than a few seconds when stopped. My old RoadMate screen stayed the size you set it until turned off. Should have returned the 5235T-LM after my first long trip. Personally, I think Costco should no longer offer this unit in its warehouses."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 1, 2012

Loving my new GPS...

Pros: large screen, saves me time in my commute, better than the navigation app on my phone, great price point
Cons: none yet...
Model Number: Roadmate 5235T-LM
"I bought this GPS from Costco not too long ago and it has saved me quite a bit of time in my daily commute. I like the fact that I do not have to use mapquest any more or using my cell phone, since the screen on my phone is so much smaller. Anyhow, upon purchasing the device, I noticed that Magellan had a new software update for the device. All I had to do was download their content manager, connect my device, and it showed me what updates were available for my unit. Long story short, after the update, my GPS works great. The cool part is that Magellan's content manager works like Windows Updates... whenerever there is an update to software or maps, I receive notifications/alerts.
Can't wait to take more trips with this my new gadget..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:January 26, 2013

Bought it twice, return it twice

Pros: convenient ding ding sound as reminder., can choose to maximize highways
Cons: lots of software problems and bugs.
Model Number: 5235T-LM amd 36T-LM
"I bought this unit and the equivalent Garmin and used them side by side to compare. This unit takes about half a minute to start up. The Garmin is instantaneous. On an out of town trip, when routed to a construction lane, it lost its bearings and went into "recalculating" mode for 15 minutes! I had to turn the unit off and re-start it before it figured out where it was. Back home, it did not reset to the correct time zone by itself although it is set to Auto time zone. I had to manually intervene so it could figure out the correct time zone. I had returned the first unit thinking it was a defective sample but the second unit was no better. It is obviously a poorly designed device. I have always owned Magellan GPS but this time I am moving on."
Review 12 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:November 1, 2012

Free maps...just kidding!

Pros: big screen, ease of use
Cons: maps are extremely far behind
"I am returning this device to Costco. I gave it a chance. I have lived in my neighborhood for over 5 years. No street here is found on the GPS. What worries me is: if my 5 year old streets are not on the latest map, then what else may be missing? And, yes...I made sure I am running the latest map update.
I also emailed Magellan. No surprise that their response was for me to report the missing address and wait on an update to correct it. Remember: this isn't one address that is missing...it is my entire neighborhood. Which currently has over 150 homes (and is easily found on my phone's GPS).
As I was checking out at my local Costco warehouse, the associate told me he likes his Garmin. I regret not turning around and replacing this Magellan with it immediately. I would not recommend this product to anyone!"
Review 13 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 2, 2012

Good value

Pros: good price, announcement of things i can see to help make turn
Cons: not as well known of a brand
Model Number: 5235T-LM
"After reading these reviews, I was skeptical to buy one but I figured saving a few dollars in case it worked was worth it. I shop at Costco weekly and could always bring it back if I didn't like it. I previously used a TomTom unit that I bought at Costco but it got stolen out of my car, tried Garmin before and worked for a few years before the TomTom. Their funny commercials actually persuaded my purchase. So Magellan is a new brand for me.
So far, the device has worked as they advertised it. The GPS was easy to install since the plugs and stuff were already attached. The kids actually put it together and I suctioned it to the window. The cigarette lighter plug is bigger than I expected but it makes it easier to remove when I need to use the socket for other things. The TomTom had a smaller one with a USB cable that I kept yanking out.
The voice announcements with the gas station names is useful since they are easier to spot with my less than perfect eyesight compared to the street signs. I don't always trust the distance the GPS gives me but it seems to be accurate.
Otherwise, the other features are nice to have but I don't really use them often. The AAA is good since I am a member but don't know how often I would use it. The picture of the lanes at the freeway ramps is nice, I could see people who don't pay attention find it useful. Traffic works just like the other brands that I've had, accurate enough.
The screen is not as bright as my built in screen in another car, but it's good enough when the sun hits it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magellan 5235T-LM 5” Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 27, 2012

Has many problems

Pros: aaa information and upcoming rest areas
Cons: directions information and the screen
Model Number: 5235T-LM
"I don’t write many reviews, but because this GPS was such a disappointment I thought I should. I have used it two days and I am going to return it. I know that no GPS in my price range will be perfect and occasionally they will take you for a wild ride. I figure that if you find a GPS that is 95-98% accurate you are doing pretty good.
In the past I have had a number of Garmins. They are pretty good, but I always thought that I would like a Magellan because it has the AAA guide, which rates motels, etc. I liked the idea that it shows upcoming rest areas on the highways. In addition, this GPS was fairly cheap.
On the first day it routed me from my son’s school to my home in a most unusual way. It had me going down a street that is closed. I figured this was one little glitch that someone had not picked up. I could live with that.
Yesterday I drove from Northern Arizona to Phoenix and it was a disaster. My first complaint was the screen. If any direct sunlight hit the screen I couldn’t see it. All my Garmins have had a little of this problem, but not like this. I turned on the screen to full brightness and that did not help the problem.
The drive to Phoenix was a debacle. I started off on a highway that routes me quickly around several small cities. It seemed that at every exit the GPS wanted me to exit and go through neighborhoods, instead of staying on the much faster highway. I also noticed that for over 20 miles on this and another highway the GPS said the speed limit was 55, when in fact it is 65. 65 has been the speed limit for years.
As we approached Phoenix I was having some anxiety about finding my destination. I had looked at a map before I left and had a general idea of how to get to the location. As I was approaching Phoenix proper the GPS told me to take an exit that I suspected was totally wrong. I had my son look at the GPS on my phone to see if we should take the exit. It told us to continue on the interstate and not exit. I had my son look at the GPS to see the suggested route. It gave him instructions to exit the interstate, take a short drive in a neighborhood and then reenter the same interstate again.
When we finally took the correct exit, we had to drive about 5 miles before getting to our destination. Unfortunately, after about 2 miles it had us taking a left turn that would have taken us further away from our destination. We did find the place we wanted, but mostly with the aid of our phone.
I am not the best directional driver in the world and I use the GPS to help me get through areas that I am totally unfamiliar with. I also like as much lead time as possible so I am in the correct lane when I have to turn. I need a GPS I trust, knowing that none are perfect. I do not trust this GPS and that is the reason for this recommendation.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.