Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright

The WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright features an easy cord rewind, 5 position carpet height adjustment, and the easy-to-clean Air-Powered Pet Hand Tool. There's no loss of suction* with Hoover® patented WindTunnel® technology that traps and channels dirt into the dirt cup** and minimizes scatter. It's everything you asked for and more! Features: Easy-to-Clean Pet Attachments - rubber blades and rolling brushes Cord Rewind with 27' Cord - no more winding, gently tap the pedal to activate the 27' Cord Rewind and retract the cord to store neatly inside Intuitive Power Controls - conveniently positioned where they should be - right at your fingertips Fabulous Filtration - Carbon Filter absorbs musty pet odors; also features a rinsable filter and high-quality HEPA filter 27-Foot Power Cord - vacuum a large room without re-plugging System Check Indicator - indicates when the filter needs to be cleaned or checked Easy Belt Change System & Brushroll Access - simply flip two levers to change the belt or access the brushroll 5 Position Carpet Height Adjustment - adjust as needed to clean all flooring types efficiently On/Off brush roll Dimensions: 11” W x 13” D x 44” H Weight: 16.5 lbs. Limited 2-year warranty Included Accessories: Air-Powered Pet Hand Tool - rubber blades collect hair and powerful suction carries it away, reducing need to clean blades Telescoping Wand - extends reach of the hose Pet Upholstery Tool - rubber blades pull stubborn pet hair away from upholstery. *Per IEC 60312 4th Edition, Clause 2.9. Test results within accepted variability tolerance of 5%. **On carpet, per ASTM F608 Model: UH70240
Average Customer Rating:
3.184 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
11
20 of 38(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:May 19, 2014

Good for the price

Pros: no bags to deal with and easy to dump out, cord winds itself, quite, attachments are good for pet hair
Cons: it did break once but was replaced for free., dog still barks at the vaccum...ugh!
"Ours broke a couple months after having it but Costco replaced it with no questions asked. Our new one has worked great ever since."
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 21, 2014

Don't Waste Your Money

Pros: it's cheap
Cons: very cheap quality overall, overheats easily can't vacuum the house at once, hose is so short it's worthless, height adjuster broke after 2 weeks of use, hepa filter kept popping out i taped it closed!, dust container is impossible to empty, after 9 mos. of use cord rewind is failing, dust filter clogs easily
Model Number: UH70240
"This vacuum is $99 for a reason. Please don't waste your money on this one. I have 3 kids and two Labrador Retrievers. I vacuum A LOT. We had a 15 year old Hoover Windtunnel, bagged vacuum that still works, so I didn't think twice about buying a newer version when the old one's height adjuster broke. After two weeks, the height adjuster broke- apparently this happens frequently on this model. The dust container is impossibly tiny and has to be literally emptied after vacuuming one room and I vacuum frequently. Emptying the dust container is horrid. I'd much rather have a bag to cleanly and quickly dispose than dumping this tornado of dust and debris. Not to mention, if you don't empty it right away, hair and fuzz gets caught inside and doesn't come out without reaching in and pulling it out. Not at all clean or convenient. The hose is impossibly short and basically worthless. It doesn't reach anything. It's cheap in price and even cheaper in quality. Very disappointed. I'm surprised Costco would carry such an inferior product. I've never been displeased with anything I've purchased from Costco until now. This vacuum is junk. After less than a year of service, I'm shopping for a new vacuum."
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:March 6, 2014

It works...for a month

Pros: price
Cons: belt slips, messy emptying
"The vac works, but the brush belt started slipping within just a few uses. I also had problem when emptying the cannister... The bottom would empty fine, but I'd have to disassemble the top portion to get the animal hair out, which was easy but very messy because it would "pop" off and send everything you just vacuumed airborne."
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los angeles
Date:February 27, 2014

The worst vacuum cleaner I have ever had

"I purchased this vacuum cleaner just 5 months ago. I used it just once a week to vacuum my small apartment . The brush stopped turning. I figured to give a call the Hoover customer service to discuss their 2 years warranty. Guess what they carried less that their product is a garbage . They don't fix it!!! Don't waist your money. I should've gotten the shark vacuum as my sister suggested. I guess I have to through this one away and get the sharks vacuum. I would put 0 stars for this vacuum if I could."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Murphy, NC high in the Smokies
Date:January 30, 2014

Ear Protection Recommended

Pros: cheap price (when on sale)
Cons: next to impossible to keep machine clean
Model Number: UH70240
"Extremely noisy and filthy dirty to empty. It's a cheap vac at a cheap price. In other words, you get what you pay for. If you just don't care about lots of dirt and lots of vibration and lots of noise and cheap feeling EVERYTHING, then go for it. Otherwise, try something else FIRST--you will probably be much happier! It's going back for a refund--thanks for the COSTCO no hassle guarantee."
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA.
Date:January 9, 2014

Amazing Vacuum

Pros: cheap!, powerful!, don't have to wind up cord!
"I bought this hoover vacuum because it had a manufacture discount and I figured I would try it out and if it didnt live up to my standards I would return it. I was so surprised how well this vacuum worked. I could not believe what my old vacuum left behind. I vacuum a lot because I have a dog, a one year old, and a messy husband! I have used so many different types of vacuums including a dyson. I am not just saying this, but no joke it works almost better then a dyson (and a couple hundred dollars cheaper). I would recommend this vacuum to someone who is a clean freak and likes to save money. The suction is so powerful I accidently vacuumed up one of my daughters soft books. This is an awesome vacuum and an even better price. I will never spend hundreds of dollars on vacuum again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:california
Date:January 4, 2014

Would not purchase again

Pros: cheap
Cons: completely lost suction after only a few months, the canister was quirky to snap on after emptying
Model Number: uh70240
"Purchased this vacuum at our local Costco after our old Hoover died. We decided we didn't want to spend a lot of money and were happy with our old Hoover lasting us over 10 years so we decided to purchase this fairly cheap Hoover. Well less than 6 months later suction has stopped working. Luckily we contacted Costco and they are willing to give us our money back upon returning the vacuum. So today we are heading to Costco to return and purchase a higher end vacuum. Maybe Hoovers just aren't made like they used to be."
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2013

get what you pay for

"Low price cleaner over heated 3rd time using it. We don't have pets but it still didn't suck like previous Hoovers. Short hose. Cheap parts."
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:The Woodlands
Date:December 9, 2013

Cheap parts

Pros: decent suction power
Cons: wire does not always retract smoothly, cheap parts
Model Number: 70240
"Purchased this item in June. Less than six months and the parts start breaking apart. Not impressed with customer service at Hoover. Would never by another product made by them again."
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 26, 2013

Overheats Quickly

Pros: great at cleaning carpets
Cons: overheats too quickly, hose to short
"Great at cleaning carpets and getting up pet hair. However, it overheats before I can vacuume all the rugs in my home. We have mostly hardwood in our home, so it is disappointing that the vacuume overheats so quickly when we only have two rooms, a hallway and two 5X7 carpets to vaccume. In addition, the hose is too short. We have only had the vacuume for a few months, and I am very disappointed. My other Hoover WindTunnel Rewind has never had these issues, and I have had it for over two years."
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:August 26, 2013

Good vacuum for the price

Pros: lightweight, hose attachments are easy, gets into corners, fair price, longer cord, automatic rewind of cord
Cons: could have more suction, very plastic, not sure how durable it will be, stickers on it are difficult to remove
Model Number: Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
"Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright - A good vacuum for the price. Enough suction to pick up dog hair off the carpet, fairly light-weight, and easily put together out of the box. It's nice to be bagless, and also to see what has been sucked up in the cannister."
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 14, 2013

Truly amazing

Pros: easy to use, excellent suction, easy to switch to an attachement, great for pet dander
Cons: needs longer cord
Model Number: UH70240
"This is probably the best vacuum I've ever had the pleasure of operating. I have cats, dogs, reptiles and humans and a medium-pile carpet, so a good vacuum is my friend. I have been vacuum challenged recently, with several going through electrical problems. After researching, I decided to try this one, especially for such a good price. I brought it home, it was super easy to assemble and a joy to use. It got so much dirt and hair up, I was mildly disgusted. the cup would fill up in just about every room. I vacuum frequently (4+ times per week) and just had my carpets cleaned two weeks ago, but it seemed to get up even more ground-in dirt than the cleaning equipment. The attachment tools are SPECTACULAR. Others have commented that it is hard to push, I didn't find that to be the case, I noticed that it DOES, however, get harder to push when the cup needs to be emptied. The one thing I would change is giving it a longer cord. I have fairly small rooms and quite often couldn't complete the whole room without changing plugs, in some cases three times. Over all, though, I couldn't be happier with this vacuum!"
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:August 1, 2013

Doesn't pick up debris

Pros: power switch on handle, long cord, cord winder
Cons: poor suction, attachments fall off, cord gets in the way, super heavy to push/pull--not self propelled, manual height adjustment inconvenient, messy to empty cup, cup is difficult to get clean without rinsing, attachments don't work well, s-l-o-w shipping by costco (13 days from order)
Model Number: UH70240
"First let me say I am a nearly obsessive vacuumer, with a mighty clean house, and I had my last vacuum, a Hoover Windtunnel canister vac, since 2000. It lasted a good 13 years, and I cleaned other people's houses with it as well--it got a LOT of use!!! It just died, and we ordered this Hoover--based on reviews and price-- to tide us over for a couple years til we could get a Miele. So---it just arrived last night after we waited 13 days from the time of order. Strike one--but that's Costco, not the product. Strike two, it made my arm hurt! It was absolutely impossible to push/pull on the shag carpet throughout this house we are renting. The first room I did, I had the height on the middle selection and almost died. I changed it one up, second from highest, and that helped, but then it wouldn't pick up any large particles or debris. I went over some dried out grain remnants of my preschooler's previous dinner about ten passes on both carpet and one of those plastic office chair mats for carpet (we keep under her place because she is so messy!) and NEVER was able to get them up? What is up with that? Strike three. I had to just pick them up by hand. THEN, the cup that holds all the guk you vacuum up clogged up after one room (true, we hadn't vacuumed in the two weeks we sat waiting for Costco to deliver the dang vacuum, but the cup was nowhere near full!); the stuff accumulated on one side of the cup rather than circling around, so I think that somehow caused a loss of suction. (We had a cheap Eureka bagless for the last few years when we had two stories and didn't want to lug vacuums up and down, and that one essentially made a cone of debris, never clogged, and you'd just dump that clump of debris out. Everything continued to circle around inside there until it was too full. But this Hoover hardly had anything in it and it lost suction and the filter obstructs the cyclonic type action and everything just stops up!) Strike four. When I went to dump it, the dirt went EVERYWHERE. So I had to get out the Dustbuster and clean THAT up. Nice. Strike...I'm losing count. Five. Yes. And there are lots of little crevices in the cup/lid for dirt to get stuck in, so it's not like you can just tap it and it's emptied--I had to get a damp paper towel and wipe it out, and that didn't even get it clean. Am I really going to rinse it out EACH time I use it, and wait for it to dry in between? Additionally, the little "pet" attachment sits on the side and gets knocked off (which it did shortly after I began vacuuming). That's six. The Cord winder is nice, but the cord comes out from the bottom, and you have to clip it into this little clip near the handle to get it out of the way or you are constantly vacuuming and tripping over it. But if you want to extend the cord, you have to unclip it, extend it, reclip it. Dumb design. Strike seven. Going from carpet to hard tile--which I have to do constantly as I travel throughout the house from room to room--you have to manually readjust the height. Very inconvenient. And even adjusting it to "bare floor" did not result in successfully vacuuming up debris in the kitchen (or anywhere else). It was like the vacuum wasn't even on--no suction. Now I must say, there was PLENTY of dirt and cat hair in the cup, so I know the vacuum was doing something. But I do want my vacuum to vacuum up bits of paper, string, cat litter, grains of dropped rice, sugar, etc---this vacuum got none of that. The brush on/off switch (going from carpet to hard floor or throw rugs) is a plastic foot pedal. It worked fine, but the old Windtunnel had a toggle switch on the handle, which I loved. I tried the little air-driven upholstry thingy on stairs and that was pretty useless if I put any kind of pressure on it.The brush just stops. My old Windtunnel attachment cleaned my couch, chairs, stairs with ease. The vacuum is too big to do stairs (cumbersome), and there's not really an attachment to do them. Shall I go on? I was so livid after having waited two weeks--the worst part is we don't have a Costco in our town--I have to drive to another STATE! Lovely. Needless to say, I do not like this vacuum and would not recommend you purchase it. I did not use any of the remaining attachments. What did I like about it? It is not super heavy when turned OFF, the power switch is on the handle, the cord is long (but not as long as I'd like...could use 5 more feet). Otherwise, I hate it and will be making the drive to return it as soon as I can carve out the time. At least I got the house vacuumed!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SANTA CRUZ CA
Date:July 16, 2013

Dont waste your money !

Pros: the price, power cord has an excellent lenght and it rewinds, see thru canister
Cons: feels like i am pushing a heavy object, very very short hose to use attachment, feel the dirt & hair in the carpet after vacuuming, cheap looking attachments
Model Number: UH70240
"Just bought this vacuum, but will be returning it ASAP. This vacuum leaves me with back problems, because even using the "HI CARPET" setting, I still have to drag the vacuum up and down my carpet. Worst of all, after putting my "back" into it, I walk barefooted on the carpet and I can still feel hair and dirt."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2013

Hoover WindTunnel not so Windy

"I bought this Hoover and it was great at the beginning with amazing suction. But after using it for a few weeks, the suction is not strong at all anymore. I checked to make sure that all the connections were tight and there was no blockage."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 6, 2013

good and bad

Pros: seems to pick up alot of dirt and hair, auto cord rewind
Cons: hard to clean dirt cup, dirt cup must be emptied 2 or 3 times per room, not ergonomic or user friendly, doesn't pick up on hard floors without brush
Model Number: UH70240
"not user friendly. hard to maneuver, falls over, will not turn easily. dirt cup traps dirt and hair and must be completely dissembled to empty. I keep a canister vacuum in the garage and have to use it to clean the cup on this one. Cord is always in the way, even when attached to handle. Cord is often hard to pull out of storage. NOT FOR APT DWELLERS. The dirt cup MUST be emptied out doors or held deeply in trash can, dust and dirt go everywhere. Does not pick up anything on hard floors without the brush - no suction at all. UH70240"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:georgia
Date:March 31, 2013

best suction for animal hair

Pros: good suction and easy to clean
Cons: none
Model Number: uh70240
"this is a great vacume. i had a bagless years ago and did not like it but this one is great. we used to have a dog that shed all the time and our old vacume i thought was doing a good job but this one is getting up hair from the carpet that has been in there for a year. wonderful!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2013

Great value in a windtunnel cleaner

Pros: great suction and fairly quiet
"Product was delivered on time and works as advertised. Wife loves the retractable cord."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 1, 2013

I wanted to like this vacuum

Pros: great power ...when it works.
Cons: over heated and shut down upon the 4th use.
"I SO wanted to like this vacuum! I liked the weight. I liked the power. I liked how much cat hair and dirt I saw being sucked up from my carpets. I didn't like how during the 4th time I used it the power cut out. I thought I tripped the circuit breaker. No. I thought I unplugged it while stretching the cord too far. No again. Apparently it shuts off if it gets overheated. Really. Overheated? A vacuum? Shouldn't you design the thing to at least be able to vacuum an 1800sq ft house cause I'm guessing that some people using this thing have houses bigger than mine. Sure enough the directions say, "Wait 30 minutes for unit to cool down and try powering up again." Yup it worked ...for about 5 more minutes. I took a total of 5 hours to vacuum my house. I'll be taking this back tomorrow."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel® Rewind Pet Bagless Upright
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 24, 2013

Great Vacuum at a Great Price

Pros: great value, cord rewind, attractive design (sorta...it is a vacuum)
Cons: hard to use hose
"This is my second one of these. The first one died because I ran it for an extended time when it was clogged and ruined the motor (first clog in 3 years and I was an idiot who couldn't figure out why it wasn't seeming to "work right"). I blame myself and not the vacuum. I picked a brand new one up at the warehouse. For the price, this is a great machine. I use it primarily on hardwood surfaces with a few area rugs. It is outstanding at picking up dog hair. I get dog hair clumps that waft around the house and this vacuum has a strong enough pull to suck them right in (whereas a broom tends to just send them swirling around). The hose is short and tricky to use. If you are going to be using this to clean a lot of upholstery and furniture then you might want to look at a more expensive Hoover model. I hardly ever use the hose so I find this vacuum warrants a 5 star rating. I don't think I'll ever go back to using a bagged vacuum again."
1 2 next>>