Customer Reviews for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System

The Bio Shield UV-C Sanitizer System cleans, sanitizes, and freshen air in your entire home.  With UV-C ultraviolet light kills the bacteria and viruses that can cause allergies, asthma, colds, flu, and sinus infections.  The Bio Shield Sanitizer attacks and sanitizes allergens and pathogens blowing throughout your heating and air conditional ductwork; guarding your family for less than the cost of operating a 25 watt light bulb.  The system has an added benefit of eliminating the need for costly duct cleaning.  Easy to install into ductwork within 15 minutes. Improves comfort and reduces A/C run time Safe 24V low-voltage system 120V plug adapter included Convenient, reliable and affordable Fast and easy to install within 15 minutes High output 17-inch Philips UV-C lamp Delivers sanitized air for pennies a day
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Review 1 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AUBURN WA
Date:January 18, 2013

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: every home should have this installed.
Cons: we can't think of any.
Model Number: BUVAS-1
"since we installed the light my asthma and allergies have improved dramatically. My husband has stopped snoring and sleeps thru the night, yea!
We hope it continues at this level!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Trophy Club, TX
Date:January 13, 2014

Piece of mind

Pros: easy to install.
Model Number: BUVAS-R
"Purchased 2 units at the same time. Arrived as planned and only took 30 minutes to install. Very simple installation process based on the instructions. All necessary parts for installation are included."
Review 3 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lemoore CA
Date:January 28, 2013

not sure I like the product

"This product was easy enough to install, but I am not sure I nstalled it in the right place on my system. That part of the instuctions need to be clearer. I have not experienced any differences in illnesses, utility bills, etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New market, Md.
Date:January 4, 2014

Good Product

Pros: works and very easy to install.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: Item #708926
"In the summer with the air conditioner running I started to smell musty air in the house. I saw this at the costco web site and purchased it.
About a week after installing it, the smell was gone and has not returned.
Happy, Happy, Happy.
"
Review 5 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Orchard, Wa.
Date:January 18, 2013

BIO Shield System

Pros: very easy to install
Cons: none at this time
"The product was very easy to install. The hardest part was adding an outlet in the room to plug the trnasformer in to. So far the blue light is on so I guess it's working. It may take some time to tell if the little bugs are actually bring sapped by the blue light."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:el paso texas
Date:January 14, 2014

very pleased

"bought this product and installed it the same day it arrived. very easy to install, i feel it works great. we have 3 indoor dogs and we wanted something that would kill the everyday odors and germs. we have noticed that odors are3 no longer there plus the constant sneezing has been virtually eliminated."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:York, PA
Date:September 24, 2014

Seems to work, but how well?

Pros: may help with mold and bacteria in house air
Cons: don't know how well it works when air is flowing., wish it turned on and off with air flow for energy, do not install near uv affected materials.
"Fairly easily installation except was confusing as to location. Nothing was said about location near rubber gaskets or flex joints. Asked for info from manufacturer, but they never called back with answer. Since I remembered UV attacks rubber< I decided I needed to cover the rubber with UL approved Aluminum tape. That took longer then installation. Also uses 25 watts even when furnace is not running."
Review 8 for Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:September 9, 2014

Double check your duct width

Model Number: Bio Shield UV-C Air Sanitizer System
"I purchased this unit to replace a UV system that was installed with a new Trane Heat Pump a few years ago. When I shopped for replacement bulbs for the Trane unit their cost were over $200.00 so I bought this Bio Shield unit to completely replace the original.
I decided to add the Bio Shield about six-inches to the right of the existing Trane unit because it's hole had a non-removable integrated bracket. I drilled the hole as directed and mounted the base in the duct then assembled the bulb and lamp socket. This is where it all went south. My duct is 20" wide well above the 18" depth of this assembly but my ducts have 2" of insulation internally on each side of the duct making the actual inside width only 16". It's needless to say that I had to disassemble and reevaluate my location options.
The only reason for this review is to warn you guys about this so you make a more informed decision on installation locations. The unit works as advertised."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.