Customer Reviews for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Limit 1 qty. per order. If you would like to purchase more than 1 HP computer (whether it be the same or different item#) you must place a separate order for 1 qty. each time. 2 HP computers placed on the same order subjects 1 order to cancellation. Processor & Memory: 3rd generation Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM Processor 2.4GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.4 GHz 6MB Cache 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) Drives: 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive  with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 8 (64-bit) Windows 8 is Beautiful, fast, and fluid. Personalized: Make your Start Screen your personalized home for the things you care about.  Organize and customize it the way you want. Connected: Now everything is in one place to share.  Integrate your online favorites – Facebook, Flickr, Hotmail, etc. – with content from your PC., such as photos and contacts. Graphics & Video: 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080) Communications: 802.11b/g/n WLAN Integrated 10/100BASE-T Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 connector)   HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone Audio: Beats™ audio + HP Triple Bass Reflex Subwoofer Keyboard: Backlit Keyboard with numeric keypad Ports: 1x USB 2.0 3x SuperSpeed USB 3.0 HDMI VGA Multi-Format Digital Media Card Reader Productivity Software: Microsoft® Office Home & Student 2010 Full Version Microsoft® Word Microsoft® Excel Microsoft® PowerPoint Microsoft® OneNote Power Supply: 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery (Up to 5 hours 15 minutes of battery life) 120W AC adaptor Additional Information: Color: aluminum chassis in midnight black (metal) Fingerprint Reader: Yes Coolsense Included: Yes Dimensions: 16.38" W x 10.79" D x 1.24”~1.39” H Weight (Approximately): 6.94 lbs ENERGY STAR Qualified Warranty: 2-year limited hardware support
Average Customer Rating:
1.556 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
1 of 9(11%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:ID
Date:January 25, 2013

lemon

Model Number: dv7
"would not turn off or sleep. required a hard reset, and we all know that isn't good for the hard drive."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, Tx
Date:January 26, 2013

Received Defective

"Can't really review the performance because the unit was received defective.
The optical door (CD drive) would not open. It was not installed properly as it was misaligned. Had to return it for a refund.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irving, TX
Date:January 31, 2013

Poor Support, slow hard drive, bad gaming, LOUD

Pros: return policy
Cons: slow, loud, poor gaming, bad tech support, ships with defective bios, washed out display
"After 3 weeks and almost 8 hours wasted with HP support, this laptop is not worth it and going back, it crashes, is slow, and is bad for gaming. Oh yeh, and its LOUD! HP support states HP shipped with a bad BIOS and need to install an older bios, that helps, but fans are still loud and gaming and hard drive are slow.
HP has a run on bad laptops, buy SONY, SAMSUNG, or ASUS which are better for the same price and get better support!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:February 3, 2013

Died after 7 days

Pros: screen, sound, backlit keyboard
Cons: died after 7 days
Model Number: HP Envy dv7t-7200
"Beautiful screen, great sound, backlit keys all the features I wanted. But after 7 days, no signs of life. The power light was the only light on. Costco Concierge worked me thru the different startup/reset options to no avail, then transferred me to HP. HP tech was very nice, asked me a few details and what I had tried to get it restarted. Upon which he said that it needed to be returned to HP for repairs. I indicated that I would prefer to return it to Costco for a refund, which I did."
Review 5 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:February 26, 2013

Great Computer Horrible OS

Pros: hp seems solid
Cons: windows 8 is the worst os i have ever seen, cannot do 80% of what i used to be able to do, weeks wasted learning a sub-standard os
Model Number: Envy dv7t
"I've had this computer for over a month and can still only use it at about 50% capacity. It has taken hours and hours to get used to Windows 8, and there are many missing features in the new versions of Windows and Office that I used routinely in the earlier versions. Almost every file requires a re-work, and some (eg Mail, PPT, and DVD maker) have no similar software/features available in 8. I feel that I have an anchor around my leg. I cannot adequately express my disgust at Microsoft and this horrid system they have foisted on me. The HP is good, but I do have networking problems that require an occasional re-boot. This is my fifth HP laptop, so I'm more inclined to blame Microsoft than the hardware. All of my HPs have been reliable over many thousands of hours."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:February 11, 2013

This machine is a beast!

Pros: audio is supurb, display is also supurb, for a 17.3 inch machine this is thin and light, multi-touch pad actually works!
Cons: windows 8 takes some getting used to, no second drive kit
Model Number: HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM
"The only problem with this notebook is that this specific configuration wasn't available a few weeks ago when I bought. They have added the GeForce® GT 635M Graphics with 2GB of dedicated video memory and bumped the memory to 16 gig! Otherwiae I am extatic about my choice. It is fast smooth and a beautiful machine. the screen is the most attractive I've seen and the audio is by far the best I've ever heard on a notebook.
Some earlier reviews had problems with the wireless networking. I don't know about their issues, this has worked perfectly since day one at home and several roaming networks including Starbucks, hotel and motels and work environments.
The only real negative I have is that I purchased a 17.3 inch partially because I could and add a second hard drive and still have a Blu-Ray player. Although this machine supports one it does not come with the kit (cable and drive cage). Only available through HP and not cheap.
"
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 10, 2013

Wifi is fatally flawed

Pros: performance, fingerprint reader, lighted keyboard, display
Cons: the ralink rt5390 wifi card, the wifi antenna design
Model Number: Hp Envy Dv7t Quad laptop
"This is an excellent laptop except for the Wifi. Unfortunately this laptop comes with a Ralink RT5390 wifi card which does not work more than 5 feet from the wifi hub. Look at the Hp support blogs and you will see 20,000 plus views of issues relating to this Ralink wifi card. Updating to the v5.0.5.0 drivers, updatng the bios, updating the win8 OS, etc. did nothing to fix the problem. Changing the driver properties to maximum transmit power and receiver sensitivity also did nothing. I thought I had a defective laptop and ordered another identical one. Same exact problem. Hp support offered to replace the wifi card with another Ralink RT5390 but nothing else so I replaced the wifi card myself with the Intel Centrino wireless N-2230 and did get significantly better performance up to 30 feet this time. However, it is still far inferior to my existing 5 year old laptop which works very well (15m/5m) at 100 feet from the wifi hub. My only conculsion is that the wifi antenna design must be flawed as well. This is very disappointing and unfortunately for everyone both laptops will be going back."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 8, 2013

Not so good yet.

Pros: none yet.
Cons: has windows 8
Model Number: Model # B6B75AV
"When it comes to computers, it either works or doesn't. So it is either 1 or 5 stars. I bought this laptop last month when it first went on sale and it arrived a few days sooner than expected. I took it out of the box and started using it. Right off the bat, I was having problems connecting wirelessly to the internet. It was loading slowly. After a week of poor performance I was ready to send it back. I called the Costco concierge service and we spent about 2 hours trying to get it to work. When I hooked it up to the router with a cable it worked fine but would not wirelessly. They said I needed a new router even though other equipment was working. I contacted Verizon and after a few weeks they sent me a new router. Most of my equipment works better with the new router. This doesn't work at all. After 3 more hours on the phone with Costco and HP, I will be sending it in for warranty service. Looks like it has a bad wireless card or antennae. So far 6 weeks of ownership warranty are history and I haven't had the use of my new, fast, high tech equipment. 2 more weeks before I get it back. Do you think it will be out of date by then?"
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY dv7t Quad Laptop, Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM, Full HD 1080p Anti-Glare LED-backlit Display, Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 15, 2013

Great specs. Poor execution.

Pros: great specs., beautiful screen.
Cons: glitchy bios updates., hp support is less than worthless.
Model Number: A5F92AV
"I purchased this laptop in August through Costco, and it worked well for about two months. Then updates began failing, and applications began to "freeze." I thought it must have been a recent update, so I System Restored to an earlier Restore point still got the same problems. I contacted HP chat support, and after two hours with an agent, I had to restore to factory settings! Not at all happy! That seemed to fix things for another month or so. Then the same problem cropped up. Again I tried a System Restore, but again got the same results. Again I spent time with HP support chat, and again ended up having to restore to factory settings! Even less happy!!! The latest fiasco occurred about a month ago. This involved Windows not recognizing the video card! Again I spent time with HP support chat, and again ended up having to restore to factory settings! Are you kidding!!! However, this time, the factory restore did not work, and I had to send the machine back to HP! Really not happy!!!! After almost three weeks, I got my laptop back, and it had the same error!!! After two failed attempts a contacting HP's "special" repair tech support line, I finally got to talk to a live person. The tech had me roll back the BIOS, which (at least temporarily) "fixed" the problem. The tech told me not to install any BIOS updates!!!! Even the ones that HP's own Support Assistant recommended!! "They are working on the problem." Right!!!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.