Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Processor & Memory: Intel® Core™ i5-3317U Processor 1.7GHz 6GB DDR3 SDRAM Drives: 750GB Hard Drive 8x DVD-Super Multi Double Layer Drive Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 8  (64-bit) Windows 8 is Beautiful, fast, and fluid. Personalized: Make your Start Screen your personalized home for the things you care about.  Organize and customize it the way you want. Connected: Now everything is in one place to share.  Integrate your online favorites – Facebook, Flickr, Hotmail, etc. – with content from your PC., such as photos and contacts. Touchable: The new Windows 8 has been redesigned for touch but still works great with a mouse and keyboard Graphics & Video: 15.6” HD Widescreen LED Backlit Display, supporting 10 finger touch Intel HD Graphics 4000 Communications: 802.11b/g/n WLAN Bluetooth 4.0+HS 10/100/1000 Ethernet 1.3MP HD webcam with microphone Audio: Built-in Stereo Speakers Optimized Dolby Advanced Audio Keyboard: Backlit Keyboard + 10-keypad Multi-gesture touchpad I/O Ports & Slots: 1x USB 3.0 2x USB 2.0 HDMI LAN/VGA Combo Port 2-in-1 Media Card Reader Microphone-in Port Headphone/Speaker/Line-Out Port DC-in Port Kensington Lock Slot Additional Software: McAfee Internet Security Trial Power Supply: 4-cell Lithium Ion Battery Additional Information: Dimensions: 15.0" W x 10.0" D x 0.87/0.96” H Approximate Weight: 5.3 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
(out of 7 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 of 7(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Review 1 for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:November 25, 2012

Awesome Touchscreen Laptop

Pros: good touch screen, fast processor
Cons: none found yet
Model Number: Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop
"The touch screen works great & the laptop is very fast. It boots up in less than a minute compared to about 8 minutes for my Windows7 laptop. The touch pad works well also. The display is crisp & bright. The lighted keyboard is a nice feature too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Va
Date:November 21, 2012

Great Value. Great Laptop. Love, Love my Acer V5

Pros: touch screen, responsive, sound quality, wireless & bluetooth, solid / good quality, windows 8
Cons: battery life, windows 8 requires a windows user id
Model Number: V5-571P-6815
"This Acer Aspire V5-571P-6815 is solid, sleek and an excellent choice in terms of price, features & performance.
My typical tasks include web surfing, emailing, image editing, document creation, watching & creating videos (i haven't created video's with it yet). I usually keep all my apps open in the back-ground and it still runs quick & smooth.
The touch-screen is fun & responsive. Your power settings will determine how long the battery life is. I get 4-4 1/2 hours because I like a brighter monitor. I don't do gaming so can't comment on that. HDMI output is handy for watching Netflicks, HULU, etc., on your TV. My husband and I were surprised with the sound, its really good (that is, for a laptop). Bluetooth worked great with my wireless speakers. Initially wanted a smaller laptop but found my eye's appreciate the bigger screen. The cooling fan is almost silent. Widows 8, although frustrating at 1st, is relatively easy to navigate...there's a learning curve but if you use the apps on your android or iPhone you'll get a handle on Win8 quickly. A plus is that while you're adjusting to Win8 you can still use the previous version desktop & IE browser. Computer settings have to be changed with the Win8 os. It's not complicated. The keyboard is backlit and the setup works perfect for me & my fingers. It also has an on-screen "touch" keyboard. The added numeric keypad is a plus. The touchpad is sensitive but, for the most part I've gotten used to it. Acer did a good job creating value with this computer at a price point that's well worth it."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:November 17, 2012

I can recommend this laptop.

Pros: touch screen, back lit keyboard, very good audio output.
Cons: the battery may be to small we shall see.
Model Number: V5-571P-6815
"I have had it a week. It has two features that every laptop should have; a back lit keyboard and a touch screen. Neither of those features have been common up to now except on high end devices but at the price here at Costco you can't go wrong with this laptop.
Windows 8 has a learning curve but after watching a few Youtube videos I am getting the hang of it. The touch screen is a real asset for Windows 8. The cooling fan is very quiet and the screen is really good. I couldn't really think of any "cons" to write down here, its that good!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 20, 2012

wonderful laptop but for ?wifi problem

Pros: touchscreen for windows 8, backlit keyboard, windows 8 apps
Cons: occasional glitches in wifi connectivity, prefer separate buttons for mute and volume up/dn
Model Number: Aspire V5-571P-6815
"Got this thin laptop for the family as well as for my daughter to program her F.I.R.S.T. Tech Challenge robot in RobotC (when a previous Dell laptop from Costco stopped being able to open or save files?!). The laptop is quick and fun to use with the touchscreen. RobotC runs great as well as the various free Apps for Windows 8 that are available (weather, games, etc). However, in some cases (e.g. Wall Street Journal app) I prefer to simply go to the website since more features are available there. Occasionally get messed up when we want to point to the screen, then accidentally activate some process because of the touchscreen! Still on the learning curve of Windows 8.
One minor complaint is that the mute and volume up/down keys are function keys (need to press Function + the volume key). It's more convenient to have those accessible with one finger especially when someone else has previously set volume much higher than you want.
Sometimes have gone to video or webpage links only to have the page not load, or the video stop midstream and not be able to continue. Our other laptops don't usually have this problem on our wifi, and searches on the web indicate other users of Acer Aspire laptops have had problems with wifi that don't always have a fix (maybe every other brand also has the same problem at some level?). Considering buying another one to see if this is in all the Aspire laptops, or might also consider another brand. Hate to give this one up though, we really like it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:November 15, 2012

Touch on a laptop is the only way to go!

Pros: the touch interface works really well
Cons: very stiff space bar
Model Number: Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop
"Windows 8 is so new that I am having issues with some of my Java apps, but otherwise I love it especially when used on a laptop with a touch interface. I found that using touch on a laptop greatly improves the overall experience.
This is a very nice laptop and works very well with Windows 8, but I hate the keyboard. Specifically I hate the space bar because it takes several times more pressure to type a space than it does any other key on the keyboard.
FYI, I'm hoping that I have a faulty box because this would be a very nice machine if the space bar worked as expected."
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Date:December 17, 2012

Touchpad WAYYYY to sensitive

Pros: touch screen
Cons: touchpad mouse too sensitive
Model Number: Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
"There are a number of things to like about this PC, but the touchpad is not one of them. I have made multiple attempts to tone it down via control panel settings, but it still causes you to jump from the screen you are on to another when you don't want it to, due to its hypersensitivity. This detracts from the whole experience with the PC. We're going to try an external mouse and see if this helps. We're also having many more glitches than I care to see with a new PC, which I attribute more to Win 8 versus the machine itself. Examples include MSword 2010 routinely crashing and it taking forever to print .pdfs. Also find Win 8 is hard to navigate - they threw the baby out with the bathwater with this upgrade."
Review 7 for Acer Aspire V5 Touch Screen Laptop, Intel Core i5-3317U 1.7GHz
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edison, NJ
Date:December 8, 2012

Acer V5 touch expensive and poor build quality

Pros: touch responsive full windows 8 and ports
Cons: key board quality and fan noise
Model Number: ACer V5 Touch
"I have been playing with windows 8 touch Os and its seems really very nice. I wanted to love this computer but I hate to call myself a critic..
Pros: TOuch , i5 , responsive, comes with all ports and full win8 and a optical drive.
Cons: fan is noisy and keyboard is too flimsy. As I type this I must always hit the space bar exactly in the middle bit harder. While working I noticed my typing is s normal but my words we missing spacesinbetween . I really thought it was typing style on the new key board.
Later I found the keyboard space bar bit shaky and hitting at the edges not working.
"