Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Westinghouse WH7000EC (EPA & CARB compliant) electric start generator includes the Westinghouse 420cc OHV engine, designed for power, durability and quiet operation with our low tone Pulse-Flo™ muffler. Utilize this generator’s full power output with Westinghouse’s 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp power cord.  Generator also includes electric EZ Start™ one-touch system and simplified color-coded user controls. Includes never-flat tires, 12V battery for electric start, high-leverage handles, assembly tool kit, first liter of oil and funnel to get you up and running fast and supported with a 3-year limited warranty. Features: 7,000 Running Watts / 8,500 Starting Watts with Electric Start and 12V Battery Main Features: Powerful Westinghouse 420cc, air cooled OHV engine One-touch electric start system with 12V sealed gel cell battery 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp,twist-lock plug and four standard household outlet power cord Rugged 32mm steel frame for increased protection High leverage handles and wheel kit allows for easy mobility EPA & CARB Approved for sale in California Exclusive VR System™ for consistent voltage regulation, resulting in clean, higher quality power output Low loss high efficiency alternator increases electrical output and decreases fuel consumption Unit Weight: 194 lb.s Assembled Dimensions: 27.5"L x 25.5"W x 26"H Package Dimension: 31.5"L x 21.4"W x 23.2"H Specifications: Generator: Rated watts: 7,000 Watt Surge watts: 8,500 Watt Frequency: 60 Hz Outlets: (4) 120v 5-20R, (1) 120/240V L14-30R twist-lock receptacle Automatic voltage regulation Smart Charge 12V (12Ah) battery is automatically charged while generator is running Fuel tank capacity: 6.6 US Gallons Run time @ 50% load: 11 hours Engine: Engine Model: Westinghouse 420cc with plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Displacement: 420cc Engine type: Overhead valve design offers highest engine performance and durability Engine cylinders: Plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Engine pistons: Forged pistons and connecting rods provide greatest strength and durability Oil tank capacity: 1.05 Quart / 1.0 Liter 3600 RPM: maintains a constant speed even under heavy loads for fuel savings and noise reduction Start system: One-Touch electric start (battery included) / Recoil Included in the Package: 20’, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp twist-lock power cord Never-flat solid tires High-leverage handles Assembly tools 1.05 Quart of oil Oil funnel 12V Battery Model: WH7000EC AC/DC Power: DC Power Air-Cooled: Yes Brand: Westinghouse Start Type: Electric Tank Capacity: 6.6 gallon Includes Wheels: Yes Length: 27.5 in. Width: 25.5 in. Height: 26 in. Weight: 194 lb.s
Average Customer Rating:
4.794 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(428 Reviews) 428
(out of 428 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (428 reviews)
5 stars
358
4 stars
62
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
422 of 428(99%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Review 101 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 2, 2014

Westinghouse 7000W generator

Pros: easy starting
Cons: none
Model Number: Item# 461225
"set up and it started the first time I hit the start switch. could not have been better. good gererator."
Review 102 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:metro detroit
Date:March 2, 2014

7000 watt generator

Pros: 3 yr warrenty electric start
Cons: none size and weight compare to the older gen.
Model Number: 7000 ec
"bought this unit to replace a 5000 watt generator w/o electric start. Started with first crank and noted it was quieter than the 2000 watt smaller machine with an after market muffler.I am growing older and will appreicate the electric start in the future I also added a float charger to keep the battery in top shape to be ready when I need it. after adding Stable to the gasoline I've placed it in storage . The 5 k gen ran all but the central air so this one will have no problem with the load."
Review 103 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 2, 2014

Best Product Purchased

Pros: the extra 20 feet 10 gauge power cord was a help
Cons: with the push on the start switch it was easy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"This portable generator is electric start no need to pull the cord so many times. Also comes with oil,funnel and 20 feet power cord 10 gauge and UL listed specified. All you need is the gasoline to start and have the power. Easy to assemble the hardware that was furnished."
Review 104 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:March 2, 2014

Great Generator

Pros: great price @ costco, easy to assemble, quick starting
Cons: must be careful when adding gas splashes easily, heavier than i expected
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I have put off purchasing a generator for years, the price and features of the Westpro generator were just what I was looking for. Haven't done more than a test run so far, but it started fast, runs well, all good."
Review 105 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:March 2, 2014

Good Buy and Visible Quality

Pros: 3 year warranty electric start parts availability, in usa
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Ordered and received the generator in a timely manner. Assembly was easy and straight forward. Added the supplied motor oil, poured some gasoline into the tank and with 3 to 4 pulls on the cord the generator started right up (also tested the electric start and worked flawlessly). Connected a bunch of loads to the outlets (circular saw, a small air compressor) and the generator barely hiccuped.
Noise level was acceptable for this size generator. Hope my first impression holds up when the time comes to using it when the next power outage happens.
Did a lot of research on this purchase and decided on this unit due to the 3 year warranty (longest out of all the others) and parts and service availability in the USA although it is made in China, but these days what isn't made in China, a shame.
"
Review 106 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Powhatan, VA
Date:March 2, 2014

great buy for the money

Pros: good name product for the price
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"This product was easy to put together. Had it together in 15 minutes and ready to run. Cranked up on the first try. The extension cord came w/the product and was a great bonus. Haven't had a power failure yet, but I'll be ready when it comes. Getting ready for a big snow tomorrow. Westinghouse has been in the business for many years and trust their products."
Review 107 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:March 2, 2014

Unbeatable Value!

Pros: westinghouse brand name, extreme value, build quality, electric start, power output, low noise, fuel efficiency, three year warranty, well engineered, positive reviews from other buyers
Cons: none absolutely none!
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I spent a long time researching generators and considered portable and standby units for a purchase. Living on Long Island, I consider a generator to be a necessity. Our area , like most of the Island, was hard hit by Sandy. At the time we had a 5000 watt, 6250 surge generator. It was adequate, but required using multiple power cords. This unit will be set up with an interlock kit into our panel. It comes ready to use with a high quality power cord, so you can add the provided oil and use it the day it arrives.
This generator is a major step up. It is powerful enough to run lighting that we need ,two refrigerators and a deep freeze, both zones of oil fired baseboard heat, a microwave and a garage door opener.
The electric start is a huge plus. I have no problem with a pull start, but it is nice to know that in my absence my wife, or 11 year old son can start the generator with the push of a button.
The generator is very well made. The build quality is excellent and little features like the use of a steel air filter housing instead of plastic like on other models impresses me. It is quiet compared to competitive models in its size. This is partly due to the large muffler and carefully thought out "curves" in the intake airflow.
It is a complete package that includes a battery,a high quality twist lock power cord, flip up handles, engine oil, a funnel, tool kit and a wheel kit.
For what I paid in my local Costco , this generator can not be matched. I shopped long and hard both in stores and on the Internet. Nothing even comes close.
It's a great feeling knowing that we are prepared for the next tropical storm and/or hurricane. Sadly, our utility provider does not give me the same confidence."
Review 108 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Darlington, Maryland
Date:March 2, 2014

A lot for the money

Pros: electric start and ease of operation.
Cons: no hour meter.
Model Number: WH7000EC
"This generator has worked flawlessly and kept the furnace, heater and 2 refrigerators going when the electric went out for 3 days in very cold weather."
Review 109 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Swanton, VT
Date:March 2, 2014

Nice Generator

Cons: none.
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Real nice generator. It is really easy to set up out of the box. About 10 minutes. It comes with everything you need to use the generator. The unit will run just about anything you need."
Review 110 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area,Ca
Date:March 1, 2014

Great Generator

Pros: easy to use
Cons: heavy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Quieter than I expected. Easy assembly. Started on the first try. I haven't really have to use it for any length of time yet, but I don't foresee any problems. Great buy."
Review 111 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose California
Date:March 1, 2014

Perfect for my home

Pros: quick set up compact #1 for home power emergency
Cons: none found
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Bought this Westinghouse WH7000EC through Costco On-Line. Arrived sooner than expected, but with phone calls from shipper prior for arrangment. Easier than expected to setu up. Fired up on first pull. Have no regrets."
Review 112 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central, NJ
Date:March 1, 2014

Good Product

Pros: great value, generator charges battery
Cons: no hour meter
Model Number: WH7000EC
"The Westinghouse WH7000EC seems to be a great value compared to other generators with the 7000 watt capacity. the generator was easy to assemble, I think they even give you tools if you do not have them. My only problem so far is that the generator does not have an hour meter, I thought it did.I do like the fact the generator charges its battery while running a plus over other generators."
Review 113 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2014

Great Purchase

Pros: great price, quiet, efficient, electric start
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Excellent generator. Highly recommended. Power cord that it comes with is a nice addition."
Review 114 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kanab, UT
Date:March 1, 2014

Excellent companion to the GenerLink Adaptor

Pros: portable, reliable, fairly quiet
Cons: heavy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Great Price. Easy to set up. Easily moved from location to location. Come with a 20 foot cord with a multiple plug end. Starts easily and reliably with an electric starter. Connected to the GenerLink whole house adaptor I purchased to connect it to my house it easily powers all of my essential household items during the frequent outages we experience in this part of Utah"
Review 115 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Metamora, Mi.
Date:March 1, 2014

Great Generator

Pros: very quiet
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I bought this generator to replace a smaller capacity generator that was pull start only. The Westinghouse generator is very quiet and starts with the click of a switch. It came with a 20ft. cord for multiple cord connections and the package came with oil, funnel and tools. The owners manual is clearly written and very helpful. I got a great price on it at Costco and highly recommend it to anyone needing a backup portable power source."
Review 116 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chapel HIll, NC
Date:March 1, 2014

Great all around Generator

Pros: well built comes with a cord and wheels easily
Cons: one handle would not bolt on correctly
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I did a lot of research before buying a generator and although there are a lot of goods ones on the market I believe for the price the Westinghouse is a very good value. The generator starts easily and delivers the power that I expected. I have not had to use it during an outage yet but I'm sure it will do exactly what I expect of it."
Review 117 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southwest Desert dweller
Date:March 1, 2014

Quality product

Pros: warranty a added value and peace of mind.
Model Number: Wh7000
"Simple set up, easy to operate, power sources easy to identify compared to other makes. Extra power cord a plus. Electric start works for my wife, carries the load I need for vital house loads. Works well with manual transfer switch."
Review 118 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:February 28, 2014

So Far, So Good

Pros: solidly built., easy to assemble, instant starting
Cons: heavy, a little loud
Model Number: 461225
"After doing a lot of research, I decided on the Westinghouse 7000W generator. The reviews on the Costco site were especially useful. The price was very reasonable. I'm not sure why it takes so many weeks from the time of order to arrival.. almost 3 weeks. The generator is very HEAVY at almost 200 lbs. The unit was easy to assemble with the tools that came in the box. It would nice if they told you how much oil it needed without having to pour, check, pour, check, etc. I ended up putting in the full quart of oil that came with it. Filled the tank with gas, hit the starter and it fired up immediately. The very next day, the power company was out doing maintenance on the lines and we were able to use it for a few hours. We didn't put much of a load on it. It is about as loud as my lawn mower. Tolerable. With the wheels and the handles, its not too hard to move in a level location. Getting it up a small hill was a chore."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dowling , MI
Date:February 28, 2014

a real treat to buy this generator

Pros: good looking simple to use easy to put together
Cons: none at this time
Model Number: WH7000EC
"can't say enough about this generator,simple,quiet,easy to assemble,came with extras"
Review 120 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:upstate new york
Date:February 28, 2014

great generator

Pros: built to last
Cons: none
Model Number: wh7000ec
"bought this generator because when i saw it i knew it was quality. i have since wired it up to my house and it runs the whole house. this product comes with battery, oil, tool kit, and even a funnel to put the oil in. all of my friends who have seen it running are very inpressed. very happy to have bought this westinghouse brand"
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 next>>