Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Westinghouse WH7000EC (EPA & CARB compliant) electric start generator includes the Westinghouse 420cc OHV engine, designed for power, durability and quiet operation with our low tone Pulse-Flo™ muffler. Utilize this generator’s full power output with Westinghouse’s 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp power cord.  Generator also includes electric EZ Start™ one-touch system and simplified color-coded user controls. Includes never-flat tires, 12V battery for electric start, high-leverage handles, assembly tool kit, first liter of oil and funnel to get you up and running fast and supported with a 3-year limited warranty. Features: 7,000 Running Watts / 8,500 Starting Watts with Electric Start and 12V Battery Main Features: Powerful Westinghouse 420cc, air cooled OHV engine One-touch electric start system with 12V sealed gel cell battery 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp,twist-lock plug and four standard household outlet power cord Rugged 32mm steel frame for increased protection High leverage handles and wheel kit allows for easy mobility EPA & CARB Approved for sale in California Exclusive VR System™ for consistent voltage regulation, resulting in clean, higher quality power output Low loss high efficiency alternator increases electrical output and decreases fuel consumption Unit Weight: 194 lb.s Assembled Dimensions: 27.5"L x 25.5"W x 26"H Package Dimension: 31.5"L x 21.4"W x 23.2"H Specifications: Generator: Rated watts: 7,000 Watt Surge watts: 8,500 Watt Frequency: 60 Hz Outlets: (4) 120v 5-20R, (1) 120/240V L14-30R twist-lock receptacle Automatic voltage regulation Smart Charge 12V (12Ah) battery is automatically charged while generator is running Fuel tank capacity: 6.6 US Gallons Run time @ 50% load: 11 hours Engine: Engine Model: Westinghouse 420cc with plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Displacement: 420cc Engine type: Overhead valve design offers highest engine performance and durability Engine cylinders: Plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Engine pistons: Forged pistons and connecting rods provide greatest strength and durability Oil tank capacity: 1.05 Quart / 1.0 Liter 3600 RPM: maintains a constant speed even under heavy loads for fuel savings and noise reduction Start system: One-Touch electric start (battery included) / Recoil Included in the Package: 20’, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp twist-lock power cord Never-flat solid tires High-leverage handles Assembly tools 1.05 Quart of oil Oil funnel 12V Battery Model: WH7000EC AC/DC Power: DC Power Air-Cooled: Yes Brand: Westinghouse Start Type: Electric Tank Capacity: 6.6 gallon Includes Wheels: Yes Length: 27.5 in. Width: 25.5 in. Height: 26 in. Weight: 194 lb.s
Average Customer Rating:
4.794 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(428 Reviews) 428
(out of 428 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (428 reviews)
5 stars
358
4 stars
62
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
422 of 428(99%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Review 1 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle,WA
Date:January 7, 2013

Excellent Buy

Pros: great value, designed in the u.s.a., 3 year warranty, electric start
Model Number: WH7000E
"Recently purchased a Westinghouse 7000/8500 generator. After looking at reviews for other similiar generators, I decided on the Westinghouse. I did some research on the internet using their website, and then just using a search engine and tons of articles popped up. This generator is designed/enginered in the USA, and built in china. I checked the nearest service center in the event that it needs to go in for warranty service. Nearest location for us is 30 minutes. This generator carries a 3 year warranty which gives me piece of mind. The unit was left by carrier outside my house ready for me to put together. Directions were really easy to understand. There was even a set of tools included that helped with the assembly (I found it useful to have an adjustable wrench to aid in the process). The owners manual has excellent pictures to show where everything is located and a description of all the maintenance they recommend, and storage procedures. The push button start is awesome!"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 2, 2014

Great Product

Pros: tons of wattage, long running time, good price
Cons: loud, very heavy
"My husband and I bought this generator a little over 6 months ago primarily to use camping with our trailer. It is perfect for what we use it for. It goes quite a long time on a tank of fuel. We can run everything in our trailer without tripping anything. Which is great. So over all for the money we are happy with it.
Ok now for the cons to this product. It is heavy. One person cannot lift it. It is a two person job. It is over 200lbs. Also it is loud. No louder than most of this size and equivalent but nonetheless is will get annoying. We are kind of a joke to our friend who has the 2000w honda that you can barely hear and that he can lift quite easliy all by himself. Until he wants to run his air conditioner or microwave at the same as someting else. then the joke is on him.
If I had the money to buy two quiet honda generators to run everything then I would have. but since I didn't and got this one, I have to say I am satisfied. When I get older and weaker this will not be a viable option. But for now it was a great price for a great product.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quilcene, WA (By Olympic Nat'l Park)
Date:January 8, 2013

More than fair!!

Pros: 25' cable expensive accessory
Cons: so far none.
Model Number: WH7000E
"Purchased 12/16/12. Arrived & put together 12/31/12. Very easy to set up. Very detailed manual (MINOR problem: poor pictures - not clear) Easy oil loading then gas - impressed that manual says ok for Ethanol in gas (10% max) First make sure gas line open (clear picture) then put choke on press start switch - IMPRESSIVE - first push & engine started immediately. Have tried 4 times & started everytime.. Much quieter than my old Gentran. Impressed!!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:January 12, 2013

Just what I needed

Pros: quiet, electric & pull start, reasonable price
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I purchased the Westinghouse generator after numerous storms knocked out power in our house. After reviewing numerous generator options I decided on the Westinghouse 7000 since it was large enough to run my furnace, electric water heater, refrigerator, coffee maker, and even a light or two (as well as the Costco return policy). The instructions were clear and it took about 15 minutes to install the handle and wheels. After adding oil & fuel it started up immediately. I hooked it up to my home's transfer switch and it worked perfectly. Note: I also watched the Westpro video on Youtube (recommended) which supplemented the instruction manual. I am now all set for the next power outage (which I frankly hope doesn't happen). The only recommendation I would have is to clarify the oil capacity in the engine when adding oil for the first time (a quart is included with the generator) and provide an option for a 30amp/30amp cord (for homes with a transfer switch). Overall, I would highly recommend this unit."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:February 12, 2013

Good deal at Costco

Pros: power cord, not too heavy compared to other makes, electric start w/ battery included, 3 yr warranty, service center not too far away
Cons: manual could be more detailed, shipment experience not as expected, output display would be nice
Model Number: WH7000EC
"After lots of research for a portable generator, I narrowed it down to two models, both from Costco: the Westinghouse at Costco.com, and a 7000W model of a different brand in the local Costco warehouse. I found that both brands seem to have decent reputations. I also looked at a comparable generator on Costco.com, but I found some older reviews on that model which were mostly negative. Ultimately, I thought that the Westinghouse was the best value among them.
My opinions:
-The weight of this generator is a little on the lower side when compared to generators of the same class. This can be significant when transporting something that's already around 200lbs.
-If gas supply during an outage is an issue, the somewhat low fuel consumption of the Westinghouse compared to other models is a good feature to have.
-The power cord included with the Westinghouse is about 80 bucks if purchased separately, and is a nice feature to have until I install a transfer switch. An output display would have been nice though.
-The three year warranty is a nice little bonus.
-I would have preferred if the manual had exploded view illustrations, part listings, and a wiring diagram.
-The Westinghouse claims to work fine for electronics, marketing their 'exclusive VR System'. However, I have a feeling that their method for voltage regulation isn't anything special.
-While the other brand generator at the local Costco warehouse could have been at my house three weeks prior, I'd still have to load and unload that heavy thing into and out of my SUV. The curbside delivery process for the Westinghouse didn't quite go as Costco.com described. It turned out not to be a big deal though because I was still able to find out the shipping date, (which as a bonus happened to be my day off).
I set up the Westinghouse as easily as described in prior reviews. It took a couple of tries, but I got it started up and running. I ran a halogen work lamp, flourescent lamp, and space heater, to test it out.
I didn't want to store the generator with gas in it, but I also I didn't have time to find a way to drain the tank or carb. So I only filled the tank with about 2/3 of a gallon of gas and ran the generator until the fuel was used up. The owner's manual says to drain the tank for storage over 3 months, but I didn't see an easy way to do that at first glance.
Although it is one of the lighter models in its class, it took a bit of effort to get it in my shed, which doesn't have a ramp. Since then I've made some room for it in my garage and hooked up the battery to a float charger to maintain the charge.
I won't quite give it a five star rating yet because I'd like to see how it does over the long haul. The closest service center is less than 30 min away from where I live, so that is somewhat helpful. Also, Westpro Power System, who is the manufacturer, is a relatively new company. I'd like to see how their service and support are well after the purchase.
By the way, the reviewer that said the Westinghouse could not be converted to propane/natural gas didn't do enough research. Other generators have the same frame/air intake box interference issue, and workarounds for the issue exist. I briefly contemplated outfitting my generator with a tri-fuel kit, but ultimately I decided not to pursue the idea.
In the end I found that the Westinghouse to be an good value with its brand reputation, the features, the included power cord, and the free freight & liftgate service. Deals like this are what keep me a Costco member year after year."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hudson, Ohio
Date:January 14, 2013

Another Excellent Deal at Costco!

Pros: as advertised and delivered to my door!, battery starter started the engine in 3 seconds., unit is easy to maneuver., exhaust is easily "aimed" away from the house., control panel is easy to access and understand., crankcase drain-easily accessible for maintenance., 3-year warranty, 25' 10 guage power extension cord, no flat tires, high leverage pull bars
Cons: no 12 vdc output connector, no output voltage meter, no copper grounding rod and wire
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I ordered the Westinghouse WH7000EC 7000 watt portable generator at Costco On-Line quick and easy! It was delivered about a week later directly into my garage without any problems! It took 20 minutes to mount the wheels and pull bars, connect the negative battery terminal and load in a quart of oil that comes with the unit. After putting 6.5 gals of gas in the tank, it started with the push of a button in 3 seconds and ran quietly, like a well muffled lawn mower but with a lot more power. It is perfect for a practically-whole house emergency power unit. We have a well pump, 2 refrigerators, a grinder sump, a regular sump, a forced-air natural gas furnace, radon mitigation blower, wi-fi/cable electronics and a 50" HDTV hooked up through a 6-circuit (30 Amp) transfer switch available at one of the box stores. Even with all that we are only using about 3500 watts. Lots of reserve available! I'm thinking of getting another transfer switch to make anther 6 lighting circuits available. We have power outages due to transformers being knocked off their poles on the nearby main streets by cars and weather even though our neighborhood has all underground wiring. So, emergency power gives the fresh water, warmth and drainage safety we need during cold and rainy weather. Another gratifying and financially rewarding 5-star Costco experience!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountains of Utah
Date:October 4, 2013

Excellent Buy

Pros: well built.
Cons: wheels a little poor.
"I expected a typical Chinese product and while it is manufactured there, it has obviously been designed/improved upon in the U.S. You might want to replace the supplied wheels if you are going to move it a lot, but they are adequate for moving it around in the garage etc. Aluminum castings for the engine are high quality. It takes all of the liter of oil supplied. I filled it with oil and a little gas, pulled the sparkplug lead and cranked it for about 20 sec. for some prelube, then connected the sparkplug up, turned on the gas, turned on the choke and it fired right up. All in all a nice, fairly quiet generator that appears to be a quality item. Fast delivery @ 8 days from being ordered"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2013

Power on the Go

Pros: great starter and runs smoothly., nice solid wheels that do not need air., excellent value compared to other similar systems.
Cons: none
Model Number: Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator
"Received my unit in great new boxed condition. Started it easily and ran smoothly. Tested it by powering home and worked as expected. Have not run more than 10-minutes total."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clarkston, Michigan
Date:March 4, 2014

Great investment and peace of mind

Pros: great value, designed in the usa, westinghouse customer service has been great, well made
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I have wanted a generator for a long time. The ice storm at Christmas this year that knocked out our power for days was enough to convince me it was time. I saw this generator at Costco and it fit the bill.
I did some research and read the reviews and decided I couldn't go wrong. I ordered the generator and shipping went smooth and the generator was delivered in perfect condition.
It was very easy to do the small amount of assembly that was required. I added the oil and some gas and the generator started almost immediately and ran smooth and relatively quiet.
I added an hour meter to keep track of maintenance intervals.
I did contact the Westinghouse customer service with a couple of questions and they were very prompt at getting back to me and answering my questions.
I am now ready of the next power outage.
I have the wiring done to the home service panel and can safely transfer the generator power using an interlock switch.
This generator should meet all my needs and it was a great price.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lehigh Valley, PA
Date:September 24, 2013

Good Product for Peace of Mind

Pros: great value, compact design, ease of use
Cons: lack of a built-in hour meter
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I decided to purchase this model from Costco due to its good customer reviews, features/capacity suiting my needs, and a bargain price with 3 year limited warranty (consumer application). After the on-line order was placed, the carrier called within 6 days requesting a schedule for delivery and delivered on time. Assembly, only including the installation of rubber pads, never-flat tires and handles, is relatively straightforward. The engine started within a couple of seconds using the electric EZ Start system. I tried the recoil start in another time and the cold engine started at the 3rd pull in an about 70 degree F atmosphere. The unit runs smoothly and the noise is comparable to my 6.5HP lawn mower (quieter than I expected). It powered up the selected circuits in my house without problems. I have owned the unit for about 3 months and hope I would never have to use it. But I have felt much better confident that it would be there when an emergent electrical backup is needed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FAIRFIELD COUNTY, CONNECTICUT
Date:February 17, 2013

MY PICK AFTER THOROUGH SEARCH

Pros: fuel efficiency simplicity noise quality warranty
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7500E
"AFTER "SANDY" AND 5 DAYS WITHOUT POWER, I WANTED TO MAKE THE BEST POSSIBLE CHOICE IN PURCHASING A HOME GENERATOR. AFTER A THOROUGH SEARCH OF MANY AVAILABLE MANUFACTURERS, WESTINGHOUSE MODELS HAD THE BEST COMBINATION OF FEATURES IMPORTANT TO ME: ELECTRIC START, LOW NOISE (NONE ARE QUIET - THIS ONE IS JUST NOT AS NOISEY), FUEL EFFICIENCY, AMPLE POWER, VOLTAGE REGULATOR TO SAFEGARD MY COMPUTERS AND TVs, FAIR PRICE AND A 3-YEAR WARRANTY FROM A WELL-RECOGNIZED COMPANY. WHILE I HAVEN'T NEEDED TO USE IT, I AM PLEASED BY THE QUALITY OF THIS GENERATOR. THE SET-UP OF THE TWO WHEELS, FOLD-DOWN HANDLES, WIRE CONNECTION TO THE BATTERY (INCLUDED), AND ADDING OIL (ALSO INCLUDED) COULDN'T HAVE BEEN EASIER. BEFORE THE FIRST ELECTRIC START, I THOUGHT I WOULD JUST COAT THE MOVING PARTS WITH OIL BEFORE ACTUALLY HITTING THE START SWITCH, AND VERY SLOWLY PLULLED THE CORD. TO MY SURPRISE, JUST THAT LIGHT TURNOVER STARTED THE GENERATOR! DOESN'T REALLY NEED THE ELECTRIC START, BUT CHOSE ONE WITH THAT FEATURE SO MY WIFE COULD EASILY START IF NECESSARY. THE 3-YEAR WARRANTY ALSO SETS THIS MODEL APART FROM MOST OF THE OTHERS. IT SEEMS CLEAR THAT WESTINGHOUSE INTENDS TO SUPPORT THIS RELATIVELY NEW PRODUCT WITH HIGH LEVELS OF ENGINEERING AND SERVICE."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:January 14, 2013

Great value

Model Number: Westinghouse 7000
"Compared the Westinghouse 7000 with several other portable generators in the same class. Easy to assemble. Simple to use. Easy start. Tested unit out with water well pump, kitchen recepticals, refrigerator, freezer and master bedroom lights. Ran everything just fine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsbouough, NJ
Date:January 8, 2013

Excellent Generator

Pros: ease of assembly, easy to start ( electric starter)
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000E
"We purchased the Westinghouse WH7000E about a month after hurricane Sandy. The unit arrived in excellent condition. It took 2 people to assemble it due to its weight. The supplied oil was added and we added our gas and it started on the first try using the electric starter. We have a ten circuit transfer switch and all circuits were running on generator power."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Howell, Michigan
Date:December 31, 2013

Outstanding Product...Great Price

Pros: the battery charges when the generator is running., a very large fuel tank. enough to run all night.
Cons: have not found a con
"Generator was easy to assemble, and started right up. It has enough power to power our entire house (Minus the air conditioner and clothes dryer), which is a must, especially in our Michigan Winters. It's very comforting to know that if we loose power when the temperature is sub-zero (which has happened before), we can now run the furnace, the hot water heater, and the well pump."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ypsilanti, MI
Date:December 30, 2013

Easy to set up and use

Pros: easy to assemble, started right up
Cons: no cons
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Just as other reviewers mentioned, the generator arrived in good condition, was easy to assemble, had everything I needed and started up the first time. A good purchase (so far)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 26, 2013

Great generator for the price

Pros: runs great; easy setup
Cons: wish the manual listed capacity of crankcase
Model Number: Westinghouse WH7000EC Portable Generator
"I purchased this generator on the strength of its reviews .
The unit arrived in sturdy packaging that is designed to handle freight shipping from Wisconsin to New Jersey. It is easy to assemble: two feet, two wheels, two handles, and connect the negatine (black wire) to the battery, tools are included. The required oil is also included along with a specially made funnel to add it. After adding gas the unit fired up on the first press of the start button and ran smoothly from the get-go. For its size I would say the generator is on the quiet side. My small 2000 watt generator is louder than the 700 watt generator. It is an excellent product. The included 25' extension cord is well-made and very heavy-duty. The instruction manual was well written and easy to understand. I am very pleased with this purchase. One last note, my wife looked at the gerator and said that she liked it because of the blue color of the generator - go figure.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 20, 2013

Great Electric Start Generator

Pros: easy to assemble started immediately runs quietl
Model Number: WH7000E
"Because of recent storm power outages we ordered on line two of the Westinghouse Portable Generators (WH7000E), one for the house and one for the out buildings and well. The shipping was fast and efficient. The assembly was painless and both generators started immediately. They run extremely quiet. Thank you for the prompt and courteous treatment and an excellent product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reisterstown, MD
Date:January 18, 2013

great unit and worth the money

Model Number: WH7000EC
"Purchased the WH7000EC at the end of 2012, online from Costo.com. Some of the features that I liked about the WH7000EC that made me decide on purchasing the unit were:
- 7000 Running Watts / 8500 Starting Watts w/electric start and 12v Battery (included)
- The automatic shutdown if the oil level gets to low
- Low noise level (approx. 70 db) for this size generator ( with max load, I was told by Westpro - the noise level would be 70-74 db)
- 3-year warranty (I plan on starting the unit up once a month to make sure the engine starts up, and put a load on to insure that the electrical portion is operating properly).
The product was delivered to my home about a week later, the delivery company called my home a day before delivery to make sure of directions and to make sure someone would be home, I thought that was polite and professional. When I got delivery of the unit, assembly was easy and didn’t take much time at all. When I started the unit, I did so manually (first pull) and electrically (one touch) and the unit started with no problem – easy as could be. I was able to add a small load on the generator to test the electrical portion – this also worked great with no noise difference. What I was really impressed with was the noise level. Westpro told me 70-db (approx.) but I could swear that this unit was at or less that 70-db, considering the size of the unit (7000-watts running), I was impressed (I think is because of the large muffler with carb). Noise level is a very important to me, I can sleep with this – I don’t like a “jet engine” sound in my ears, when I’m trying to sleep at night.
I’m very optimistic. I pray that the unit will continue to operate just as well in the future. I can recommend this product, the price of the unit is excellent, setup is easy – so far, great unit and worth the money.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:March 14, 2014

A good deal on a durable generator

Pros: electric start, wheels and "wheel-barrow" like handles, included power cord
Cons: heavy - but this was not unexpected
Model Number: WH7000EC
"This is a well built unit with good overall performance. The very little assembly required was simple to do. Our first attempt at start was in the middle of a cold Idaho winter day. The electric start worked very well. We loaded it with about a 50% load and then turned on our 1/2HP furnace fan (for gas heated forced air furnace) and the generator performed very well - even during startup of the fan there was no noticeable "lug" of the generator. Measured frequency and voltage output of the generator and all matched specs very well. Overall this is a good solid generator for around the home and emergency use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:February 28, 2014

So Far, So Good

Pros: solidly built., easy to assemble, instant starting
Cons: heavy, a little loud
Model Number: 461225
"After doing a lot of research, I decided on the Westinghouse 7000W generator. The reviews on the Costco site were especially useful. The price was very reasonable. I'm not sure why it takes so many weeks from the time of order to arrival.. almost 3 weeks. The generator is very HEAVY at almost 200 lbs. The unit was easy to assemble with the tools that came in the box. It would nice if they told you how much oil it needed without having to pour, check, pour, check, etc. I ended up putting in the full quart of oil that came with it. Filled the tank with gas, hit the starter and it fired up immediately. The very next day, the power company was out doing maintenance on the lines and we were able to use it for a few hours. We didn't put much of a load on it. It is about as loud as my lawn mower. Tolerable. With the wheels and the handles, its not too hard to move in a level location. Getting it up a small hill was a chore."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>