Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Westinghouse WH7000EC (EPA & CARB compliant) electric start generator includes the Westinghouse 420cc OHV engine, designed for power, durability and quiet operation with our low tone Pulse-Flo™ muffler. Utilize this generator’s full power output with Westinghouse’s 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp power cord.  Generator also includes electric EZ Start™ one-touch system and simplified color-coded user controls. Includes never-flat tires, 12V battery for electric start, high-leverage handles, assembly tool kit, first liter of oil and funnel to get you up and running fast and supported with a 3-year limited warranty. Features: 7,000 Running Watts / 8,500 Starting Watts with Electric Start and 12V Battery Main Features: Powerful Westinghouse 420cc, air cooled OHV engine One-touch electric start system with 12V sealed gel cell battery 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp,twist-lock plug and four standard household outlet power cord Rugged 32mm steel frame for increased protection High leverage handles and wheel kit allows for easy mobility EPA & CARB Approved for sale in California Exclusive VR System™ for consistent voltage regulation Low loss high efficiency alternator increases electrical output and decreases fuel consumption Unit Weight: 194 lbs Assembled Dimensions: 27.5"L x 25.5"W x 26"H Package Dimension: 31.5"L x 21.4"W x 23.2"H Specifications: Generator: Rated watts: 7,000 Watt Surge watts: 8,500 Watt Frequency: 60 Hz Outlets: (4) 120v 5-20R, (1) 120/240V L14-30R twist-lock receptacle Automatic voltage regulation Smart Charge 12V (12Ah) battery is automatically charged while generator is running Fuel tank capacity: 6.6 US Gallons Run time @ 50% load: 11 hours Engine: Engine Model: Westinghouse 420cc with plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Displacement: 420cc Engine type: Overhead valve design offers highest engine performance and durability Engine cylinders: Plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Engine pistons: Forged pistons and connecting rods provide greatest strength and durability Oil tank capacity: 1.05 Quart / 1.0 Liter 3600 RPM: maintains a constant speed even under heavy loads for fuel savings and noise reduction Start system: One-Touch electric start (battery included) / Recoil Included in the Package: 20’, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp twist-lock power cord Never-flat solid tires High-leverage handles Assembly tools 1.05 Quart of oil Oil funnel 12V Battery Model: WH7000EC AC/DC Power: DC Power Air-Cooled: Yes Brand: Westinghouse Start Type: Electric Tank Capacity: 6.6 gallon Includes Wheels: Yes Length: 27.5 in. Width: 25.5 in. Height: 26 in. Weight: 194 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.834 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(499 Reviews) 499
(out of 499 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (499 reviews)
5 stars
423
4 stars
71
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
497 of 499(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Review 41 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ramona, CA
Date:January 7, 2014

Couldn't Be Happier

Pros: cost, set-up, durability
Cons: heavy, a little noisy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"We recently moved into what is considered wild fire country. One of the issues we needed to deal with is the loss of power. After investigating whole house generators and finding them cost prohibitive, we looked for a portable generator.
This product was perfect. Easy to store and easy to use. It will meet all our projected needs without an exorbitant cost.
Absolutely everything I needed to set-up and use the generator was included much to my surprise. Although the unit is heavy, it is easily moved on level ground. Periodic maintenance is recommended but not complicated.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Weed, California
Date:January 6, 2014

Westinghouse 7000 watt electric start generator

Pros: has both electric and pull start capabilities
Cons: the fuel tank could use a drain valve
Model Number: Westinghouse 7000 watt generator
"As with many others, our rural area also has frequent power failures. Not knowing much about generators, I relied solely on the Costco reviews. Westinghouse had the best reviews and ratings of all the others I researched. I received my generator in 3 days which was a lot quicker then estimated. Appears to be well built. Comes with oil, a oil funnel, tool kit, and extension cord. Easy to assemble, and started right up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, CT
Date:January 6, 2014

I would Recommend

Cons: waiting for the delivery but it was prompt.
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Purchased a WH7000EC without issue. Delivery was prompt, set-up was effortless, it runs like a top."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:January 5, 2014

Best Bang for the Buck

Pros: many features reasonable price 3-yr warranty, never-flat tireseasy electric start quiet.
Cons: weight, unit is quite heavy and cannot be lifted easily
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I chose this unit based on other consumer reviews, feature comparisons to other brands, and design specifications. It has the features that were important to me. I like the fact that it was designed in the US."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:delray beach florida
Date:January 5, 2014

Feeling Safe

Pros: price...., portable
Cons: heavy and loud
Model Number: WH7000EC
"We moved into a new house in May 2013 in delray beach Florida...although there have not been any bad hurricanes in a few years...one time my mother in law was with out power for almost two weeks...to avoid that happening we purchased the Westinghouse WH7000EC portable generator...that baby will keep everything running...dont have to worry about losing air conditioning or any food...good price hard to pass up...hopefully we will never need to use it but we are ready...SO BRING ON THE STORMS!!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Skillman, NJ
Date:January 2, 2014

Very good value

Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"The generator came with just a few items to install, which took 15 minuets at most. Started right up with the battery, runs smoothly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2014

Quality Generator

Pros: touch start button, 20 foot power cord
Cons: noisy but so are all generators
"This generator is a great buy. Runs smooth , tires were easy to assemble, delivered in a timely fashion. Quality generator from a brand name for a great price. Touch start button is a great feature, and comes with the 20 foot power cord which goes for a decent price in the stores."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 31, 2013

great product and service

Pros: e-z start system is fantastic
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Purchased this model from Costco.com at a great price with 3 year limited warranty. The delivery company called within 5 days requesting a schedule for delivery time. Assembly, only including the installation of rubber pads, never-flat tires and handles, simple. The engine started right up on first button push with the electric EZ Start system. Had our electrician wire it to my house without problems. I have owned the unit for about 5 months. Had to use it once with no issues at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:December 30, 2013

Great Buy

Pros: great value
Cons: heavy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Ordered this generator after reading the great reviews and the sale price. Arrived on time and was easy setup. Started up easy and ran quiet (compared to my previous generator). Tested it on a few items and ran everything okay. Haven't used it since and hope I don't have to."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:December 30, 2013

AS advertized

Pros: easy assembly and startup.
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"The generator was delivered as advertized. The only difficulty was getting it out of the box since it was so heavy. Assembly was minimal and went smoothly. I have tested it several times and each time it starts right up. Easy to move around once the handles are attached. Ready for the next power outage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glen Head, NY
Date:December 28, 2013

Great Value

Pros: electric start, easy to maneuver and use, great price
Model Number: WH7000EC
"After shopping around I found great reviews and a great deal on this model on Costco.com. I went with Costco because I know they offer great customer service. Shortly my delivery was scheduled and it was delivered as promised. My generator came with an assembly kit (tools, oil, funnel) which made it easy to put together. The generator is a great value and comes with a 3 year limited warranty, never-flat tires and handles. The engine started right away using the electric EZ Start system. The generator runs smoothly and is quieter than I expected. We are now ready for the next power outage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Auburn, wa.
Date:December 6, 2013

excellent generator for the money

Pros: quality delivery ease of use, brand name, costco behind the product
Cons: included cord must be modified with l14 end
Model Number: WH7000ec
"I have just purchased a second one. The quality / price is not available anywhere else. Generator is quiet for its size, and will power most home needs in an emergency. Just remember, it you buy a generator, you must remember to maintain it regularly if you want to depend on it when you really need it. Note, included cord will not connect to a transfer switch, I just changed the end with a common L14 female."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Novi, MI
Date:October 24, 2013

So Far So Good

Pros: lots of power for the money, electric start, well built sturdy, easy to maintain & start with color-coded prompts
Cons: heavy but in line with the power capacity offered
Model Number: Westinghouse WH7000EC
"I wanted to replace my previous generator with an electric start model. So I did some serious research and shopping before settling on the Westinghouse WH7000EC. Many four and five star reviews on several sites verified my conclusion that the WH7000EC seemed to offer good value, function and quality for the money. Majority of buyers expressed that they were satisfied. Also, I liked Costco's free delivery service to your house since the unit weighs about 200 lbs.
The WH7000EC arrived in good condition, found it easy to install the wheels and handles. Added oil and gas and the generator started on the first crank. Connected several electrical loads to it in series. The unit ran smoothly. Seemed not as loud as my old unit.
Upon inspecting the manufacturing details of the generator closely, I found it to be well made. Seems Westinghouse has put a priority on quality and customer satisfaction. Only feature I wish it had is an extra fuel valve tee dedicated to draining the unused fuel in the tank. But most generators don't have this and one can add it yourself or siphon the fuel out.
Overall, very satisfied at the moment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:October 15, 2013

Great portable generator

Pros: electric start for the less muscle bound
"Bought this after seeing it listed on sale at the Costco website and doing research around the web. While Honda gens are the ones everyone wants this generator has been rock solid. I have been running it on a house construction site at over 6500 ft in below freezing weather without any issues for two weeks now. Not sure how it will do long term but so far it has been great and everyone who has used it has loved it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ft. Myers Fl
Date:September 25, 2013

Best Generator for the $

Pros: easy start
Cons: wish it were quieter
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Easy set up. Just follow instructions. Started first push of starter switch waited 2/3 weeks started again 1st push. Put under load [refrigerator, light, fan] No difference in motor speed! 3rd test connected to transfer switch everything went just fine. Very happy so far. Major power shortage will be real test"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:August 5, 2013

Easy to use out of the box

Model Number: WH7000EC
"Bought this unit a few months ago, assembled it easily - instructions were easy to follow. Grumbled at the fact the nuts were metric, but discovered a set of metric tools were provided. Didn't start it up until yesterday, after I finally completed a transfer switch installation to power most of the house (excluding central air and 220V clothes dryer). Unit started up quickly (using battery start) and ran smoothly - powered up the selected circuits with no problem. Also tested how difficult it was to manually pull-start - it turned right over with just a little effort. Never owned a generator before, but this one looks like it will do the job and last for a while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:July 7, 2013

Great generator!

Pros: great quality for price, 30 amp to 3 household outlet extension cord, runs smoothly, electric start
Cons: no remote start
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I actually got this generator for emergency use from Costco last December in place of a Champion model 41532 that had been recalled. We have not had any power failures, but I've run power tools off of it with no problem just to test it it out. Setup and the oil change were easy. I run it 20 minutes a month and it has started up the first try every time. It also idles much smoother than the Champion did. Finally, the extension cord which adapts the 30 amp connector to 3 standard 120V household outlets is excellent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:July 3, 2013

WH7000EC,The way things should be

Model Number: WH7000EC
"I ordered this generator on June
7 and it arrived in Houston on June 11. My 14 year old grandson was able to assemble this unit with my casual observation in one and a half hours. It worked perfectly on the first push of the electric start button. This is a good, well built,American product with an easy to read and follow manual.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Merrick, NY
Date:June 10, 2013

Excellent Generator Great Price

Model Number: WH7000EC
"I ordered this generator and it was received about a week and a half later. The delivery was great. The driver unloaded the box and brought it right into my back yard. It starts right up and is quieter then others I have heard. I am working on getting an interlock for the main panel and building a shelter for it. It is made very well and feel it will serve many purposes but mainly keep us out of the dark when necessary.
Great customer service!!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:May 30, 2013

Great Generator

Pros: easy to use
Model Number: WH7000EC
"We lost our generator during hurricane Sandy. We were without power for over two weeks. When we lose power we do not have water either since we use an electric pump to get water from our well. We bought this generator to replace the one we lost. It arrived on time as promised. Easy to use. Much quieter than our last generator. Like the fact that it came with a 25' power cord. Adequate to run everything we need. Highly recommend this generator."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>