Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Westinghouse WH7000EC (EPA & CARB compliant) electric start generator includes the Westinghouse 420cc OHV engine, designed for power, durability and quiet operation with our low tone Pulse-Flo™ muffler. Utilize this generator’s full power output with Westinghouse’s 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp power cord.  Generator also includes electric EZ Start™ one-touch system and simplified color-coded user controls. Includes never-flat tires, 12V battery for electric start, high-leverage handles, assembly tool kit, first liter of oil and funnel to get you up and running fast and supported with a 3-year limited warranty. Features: 7,000 Running Watts / 8,500 Starting Watts with Electric Start and 12V Battery Main Features: Powerful Westinghouse 420cc, air cooled OHV engine One-touch electric start system with 12V sealed gel cell battery 20 foot, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp,twist-lock plug and four standard household outlet power cord Rugged 32mm steel frame for increased protection High leverage handles and wheel kit allows for easy mobility EPA & CARB Approved for sale in California Exclusive VR System™ for consistent voltage regulation Low loss high efficiency alternator increases electrical output and decreases fuel consumption Unit Weight: 194 lbs Assembled Dimensions: 27.5"L x 25.5"W x 26"H Package Dimension: 31.5"L x 21.4"W x 23.2"H Specifications: Generator: Rated watts: 7,000 Watt Surge watts: 8,500 Watt Frequency: 60 Hz Outlets: (4) 120v 5-20R, (1) 120/240V L14-30R twist-lock receptacle Automatic voltage regulation Smart Charge 12V (12Ah) battery is automatically charged while generator is running Fuel tank capacity: 6.6 US Gallons Run time @ 50% load: 11 hours Engine: Engine Model: Westinghouse 420cc with plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Displacement: 420cc Engine type: Overhead valve design offers highest engine performance and durability Engine cylinders: Plateau honed cast iron cylinder sleeves for lowest oil consumption Engine pistons: Forged pistons and connecting rods provide greatest strength and durability Oil tank capacity: 1.05 Quart / 1.0 Liter 3600 RPM: maintains a constant speed even under heavy loads for fuel savings and noise reduction Start system: One-Touch electric start (battery included) / Recoil Included in the Package: 20’, UL listed, 10-gauge, 30amp twist-lock power cord Never-flat solid tires High-leverage handles Assembly tools 1.05 Quart of oil Oil funnel 12V Battery Model: WH7000EC AC/DC Power: DC Power Air-Cooled: Yes Brand: Westinghouse Start Type: Electric Tank Capacity: 6.6 gallon Includes Wheels: Yes Length: 27.5 in. Width: 25.5 in. Height: 26 in. Weight: 194 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.835 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(497 Reviews) 497
(out of 497 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (497 reviews)
5 stars
422
4 stars
70
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
495 of 497(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Review 101 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scio, Oregon
Date:April 15, 2014
Model Number: WH7000EC
"We lost our power during the recent ice storm , after the power company informed us that we would be without power for hours , we went right to Costco to purchase a generator . I was reading all the information on all of their selection of generators , when one of the Costco sales people walked by . I say hello and stated that I needed a generator . He asked me had I looked at the Westinghouse , I say no , had owned a Honda and it was a good one . He say , he had one of the Westinghouse 7000 and loved it . loked over the product information , purchased it and took it home . Within a very short time had it running and have loved it . The directions were easy to read and very detailed . The important points on the generator are colored , easy to spot . I have been a Costco member for a very long time, and this is the reason why , they carry great products and are very helpful . Thanks Westinghouse , great product ."
Review 102 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:HUNTINGDON VALLEY, PA.
Date:April 15, 2014

GREAT VALUE

Pros: easy assembly quiet running
Model Number: WH7000EC
"PURCHASED OUR NEW GENERATOR AFTER LOSING POWER DUE TO A WINTER STORM. ASSEMBLY WAS EASY, THE GENERATOR STARTED ON THE FIRST TRY, AND IT RAN FOR 10 HOURS ON A TANK OF GAS. IT WAS BIG ENOUGH TO RUN PORTABLE HEATERS, OUR KITCHEN APPLIANCES, AND LIGHTS FOR OUR HOME."
Review 103 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stephens City, VA
Date:April 15, 2014

Great purchase

Pros: excellent value, easy to read instructions, easy to start
Cons: heavy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I had previously purchased a different brand generator from Costco - after putting it together it leaked oil and the oil cap did not fit properly. I returned that and then purchased the Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator with 20' Power Cord. I am 100% pleased with the Westinghouse generator - it is exactly as advertised. The directions were clear for putting together. Great product at a great value. Easy to use."
Review 104 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:April 15, 2014

Lots of value for the price.....

Pros: lots of capacity for the price
Cons: noisy but in my case not an issue
Model Number: WH7000EC
"The generator arrived, well packaged. It was very simple to assemble. After assembly and reading the manual on operating, it started immediately. I've put nearly a full load on it and it just hums along.
This isn't an issue with the product, but with the shipper. They were very slow and the tracking number provided was basically useless."
Review 105 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, Tn
Date:April 15, 2014

Excellent Generator - Perfect Price!

Pros: electric start, easy assemble, great value, included heavy-duty power cord
Cons: no watt meter, very heavy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Purchased at my local Costco after a recent ice storm knocked out power. After much research, decided on the Westinghouse because of excellent reviews and value. Unpacked the unit and easily attached the wheels and handles, added oil and gas and it started right up with a push of a button. Smooth running, a little loud but no louder than others. Plenty of power to run everything needed in an emergency. Unit seems very well built and with a 3 year warranty - at least 1 to 2 years longer than other generators I feel peace of mind owning this equipment. I haven't ran a full load on it yet (only about 60%) thus far it has had no problem handling it. The heavy duty electrical cord that comes with it was really a plus."
Review 106 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Painesville, Ohio
Date:April 15, 2014

Best deal for the Money

Pros: portable built in u.s. runs a long time on a tank., powerful for any use.
Cons: no hour meter ( small thing)
Model Number: WH7000EC
"After losing power for 20 hours not once but twice It was so cold in the house I opened the ref ridge so I could keep my food cold. I decided enough is enough. A friend told me about this generator. After researching it I bought it. Everything was there to get you up and running right out of the box (except gas) The power will run my entire house except for the 220 items. It was simple to put together and it started right up, didn't haver to charge the battery. Told a friend and he bought one also. Great unit! I can't wait for the next power outrage so I can sit back and be warm and entertained!"
Review 107 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warmister
Date:April 15, 2014

Great Generator

Pros: the electric start
Cons: it's weight - but i planned on it
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Purchased this for an incoming ice storm.. It worked flawlessly .I highly recommend this product!!!!"
Review 108 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:April 15, 2014

Great Generator - Great Value

Pros: great price
Cons: better price in store
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I shopped around for quite some time trying to find a good quality generator at a good value. The Westinghouse was it. Very solid construction, dependable and a great cost per 1K watt of power. Highly recommend especially with the bonus of the power cord."
Review 109 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 14, 2014

Great value in a generator

Pros: very good price well built easy to assemble
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I bought this in the warehouse for a great price compared to similar offerings from other generator manufacturers. Assembly was a snap and it started right up when I tested it. I think you get a lot of bang for the buck with this choice. I bought it for emergencies and I would be happy if I never had to use it but I feel confident it will work should I need it. Don't hesitate if you are looking for a dependable generator at a very good price."
Review 110 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:April 14, 2014

GAMBLER123

Pros: electric start power runs 30 amp, electrical and pull cord available
Cons: too heavy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I OWN A CONSTRUCTION COMPANY AND THIS IS TOTALLY A COMMERCIAL GRADE PRODUCT. I LOVE IT, IT WORKS GREAT AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. IT RUNS MY WELDERS, JACK HAMMERS, CEMENT MIXERS ALL AT THE SAME TIME. THE ELECTRIC START IS HANDY WHEN THE PULL CORD DOESNT WORK. I WOULD GIVE THIS PRODUCT A 5 STAR ALLDAY."
Review 111 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Levittown , PA.
Date:April 14, 2014

Best deal I could find

Pros: 1 touch start., all the tools you will need including oil, wheels are included
Cons: heavy
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I want to start by saying the only reason I am only giving 4 out of 5 is because I have only ran this generator for an hour. After storm SANDY I searched for a low cost, high out put generator to run my whole house incase of another power outage. We were down for 7 days from sandy. After a lot of visits to all the chain stores and hours online (online purchases this large even with free shipping you need to have someone home when they deliver it.) a friend told me about Costco and the great deal on this generator. It has 1 touch start, more than enough power to do my whole house. It is so so on noise but it is making power so how quite can it be. It has nice wheels and handles to move it around. I tell everyone how happy I am with it."
Review 112 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:eastern PA
Date:April 14, 2014

Just what I was looking for!

Pros: quiet easy to start and well built.
Cons: if i had to pick something the wheels seem cheep
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I did a lot of research and this generator came out on top in most categories! This is large enough to run everything I need, and is a lot quieter than all the others I looked at. I also called my local repair center and they told me these are not trouble prone. They said a good solid generator! Shipping was surprisingly fast."
Review 113 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warminster,PA
Date:April 14, 2014

Great generator

Pros: the electric start is a great feature
Cons: not so sure i found one yet
Model Number: 7000
"I purchased this in the wake of an ice storm.. It operated like a champ! It started on the first turn over , and ran flawlessly for almost a full week . The only breaks it received was when I shut it down to re fuel.."
Review 114 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LANCASTER PA.
Date:April 14, 2014

GREAT PRODUCT

Pros: easy to assemble and easy to move
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT AFTER A WINTER STORM. VERY EASY TO ASSEMBLE AND STARTED RIGHT UP. DID NOT GET TO USE IT YET BUT PLAN ON RUNNING WHOLE HOUSE OFF OF IT. AFTER READING OTHER REVIEWS I AM SURE IT WILL DO A GREAT JOB."
Review 115 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northeast Oregon
Date:April 14, 2014

Peace of Mind

Model Number: WH7000EC
"Purchased this generator as a backup for power outages and needed one large enough to run the pump on the well. I also wanted/needed electric start since starting a generator of 5KW or bigger by pulling a starter rope is getting harder for me every year. The product was delivered in about a week and only took about an hour to assemble, start and test. I modified the supplied outlet cable so that it can be plugged from the generator to a 220 volt outlet in my shop. When the power goes out, I flip the master breaker switch OFF and start the generator. Works Great, runs the pump and the rest of the house."
Review 116 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colchester, vermont
Date:April 14, 2014

Good running generator

Pros: starts very easy and runs quietly.
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I purchased a Westinghouse WH 7000 EC after losing my power for five days including Christmas. It was manufactured with all the requirements I needed."
Review 117 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jefferson MD
Date:April 14, 2014

Very good value

Pros: well built
Cons: did not have an hour meter
Model Number: WH7000EC
"The generator started easily. The connecting cable was an adequate length. The user guide was well written and easy to follow. The unit handled my whole house without a problem."
Review 118 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Desert, CA
Date:April 14, 2014

Great Deal, Nice Generator

Pros: forged piston and connecting rod, low oil shut off, wheel kit included, 3 year warranty, electric and manual start, gel battery included
Cons: no engine hour meter
Model Number: WH7000EC
"Generator is great compared to other name brands. Low oil shut off, Forged piston and connecting rods, battery, and wheel set included. Most other brands don't include all this stuff. Runs great. Plugged in my 20 amp air compressor, a 10 amp heater, and a large fan, it worked just fine. Only have a few hours on the engine but it seems well built. Highly recommended........"
Review 119 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Orion, Mi.
Date:April 14, 2014

WestingHouse Portable Generator Model WH7000EC

Pros: weight and power output
Cons: none
Model Number: WH7000EC
"I purchased the model #WH7000EC for several reasons. The power output was reasonable and the weight factor below 200lbs was a big plus. I'm 71 years old, so heavier weight would not be acceptable.
This was my first generator. I've operated it twice due to power outage. First by pull cable and second with battery power. Both started were easy without any problems. The generator performed very well with adequate power to run the house.
I recomment this generator to anyone wants a small, but adequate one to run the house during power outage.
"
Review 120 for Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable Generator With 20’ Power Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:April 14, 2014

Great Buy

Model Number: Model Number: WH7000EC
""Recently purchased a Westinghouse 7000/8500 generator. This generator carries a 3 year warranty which gives me piece of mind. The unit was very easy to put together, using the set of tools that came with the it. The owners manual has excellent description of all the maintenance they recommend, and storage procedures. The push button start is great!""
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 25 next>>