Customer Reviews for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR

Model: E502AR With more entertainment to enjoy and more exciting ways to watch, the VIZIO E-Series 50” Class LCD Smart TV is the perfect upgrade everyone will love. Packed with the latest must-have features — VIZIO Internet Apps® (V.I.A.) and stunning picture quality of 1080p Full HD and 120Hz effective refresh rate with smooth motion — this HDTV turns any room into your getaway to an exhilarating world of movies, sports and entertainment on demand. Enjoying favorites like Netflix®, Hulu Plus™, Youtube™, Skype™ and more is easier than ever with built-in WiFi and the included smart remote. The VIZIO E-Series 50” Class LCD Smart TV gives you more of what you love about TV with all of the brilliant picture quality and world-class service you’d expect from America’s LCD HDTV company. Features: Costco extends manufacture warranty to 2 years   Screen Size: 50"" Class (50.00"" diagonal)   Resolution: 1920 x 1080   Refresh Rate: 120Hz   Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 100,000:1   Response Time: 5.5ms   Ambient Light sensor   Viewable Angle (HxV): 178° x 178°   ENERGY STAR Qualified    Wall Mount Compatibility: 300mm x 300mm   Weight: 39.24 lbs (w/ stand), 36.16 lbs (w/ out stand)   Dimensions (WxHxD): 45.65"" x 29.00"" x 9.42"" (w/ stand), 45.65"" x 27.7"" x 3.9"" (w/ out stand)   Audio: Speakers: Built-in 10W x 2 Speakers   SRS TruSurround HD™    SRS TruVolume™   SRS StudioSound™   Inputs/ Outputs: HDMI with HDCP x3 Component x1   Composite Video x1 (shared with component) Computer VGA x1   RF Connector for Internal Tuner x1   Enternet x1   SPDIF Digital Optical x1   Analog Audio Out x1 USB 2.0 x 1 (MP3 & JPEG)
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 of 10(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Review 1 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hesperia, CA
Date:April 4, 2013

Love it

Model Number: E502AR
"Bright, clear image. So happy with other features, beside TV, at my fingertips. Great value."
Review 2 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:March 26, 2013

Best purchase EVER!

Pros: will probably buy another one in the fall.
Cons: none!
Model Number: E502AR
"I can't say enough about the Vizio 50" LCD Smart TV that I purchased. It was everything I was hoping it would be and more. The picture clarity, size, ease of use, is perfect. My son-in-law set it up for me. If you are so inclined, you could probably do it yourself, as well. I had read other reviews, prior to my purchase, and
it really helped me to make the choice that I did.
"
Review 3 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:March 7, 2013

Great Tv , Great price.

"What can I say TV works flawlessly. 10 mins to setup. Picture is so crisp."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:January 26, 2013

Systemic software flaw - 50" Vizio Smart TV E502AR

Pros: none
Cons: volume controls disable after 15 min. of viewing, boot up time is over 40 seconds
Model Number: E502AR
"This unit has a flawed design - DO NOT purchase. I purchase my first unit at Costco on 11/23/12 and set it up immediately - no issues except that it takes about 40 seconds to boot up. (way too long) Several days later the phone rang after I had been watching for about 20 minutes - I attempted to adjust the volume and discovered the remote volume controls and physical volume controls on the side of the unit were disabled. All other controls worked fine. After several troubleshooting calls with tech support Vizio shipped a new unit. Same problem. Next, Vizio sent a technician to replace the mother board. Same problem. Next they claimed that my in home Verizon Wifi is causing interference and that I should disconnect my wifi router. Hello - I bought the smart tv to connect to the internet via wifi!!! I'm thru with Vizio."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

Good Budget TV

Pros: great picture as long as you do a little digging, great price
Cons: slow on startup
"Visio has a reputation for making a good product at a cheap price. I'm in agreement with this assessment. This television is a great screen for a reasonable amount of money.
I cannot comment on how it compares so TV's costing twice as much as this one, as I haven't used them. I CAN say:
1. the WiFi works as advertised. We used the Netflix app and...well...our AppleTV works better. Again, this is about the cheapest TV that includes any applications, so I'm not that surprised.
2. Playing a HD movie (The Avengers) originally seemed like watching a soap-opera. Changing the Video settings for the TV to 'movie' removed the 'over sharp' effect these TV's can have.
3. Dish Network's remote supports this TV
About the only gripe I've got is the initial start up time. We have a Dish Network Joey on this TV in our bedroom. You have to press the TV power, wait about 10 seconds, THEN turn on (or wake up) the Joey to have everything act as expected. Not a big deal."
Review 6 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond., VA
Date:January 14, 2013

Great all-around TV

Pros: great all-around performance
Cons: none so far
"I purchased a Toshiba 50L2200U 50" LED LCD TV at Costco a week ago. I was very unhappy with this TV. It was fine for high def shows, but did not do any edge smoothing on lower res video like cartoons, WII, etc. The Vizio E502AR is $50 less and does a great job on all types of video."
Review 7 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Beaverton OR
Date:January 2, 2013

Buttons become unresponsive

Pros: picture sound are great
Cons: the occasional unresponsive tv
Model Number: E502AR
"The TV looks great and works fine most of the time. But, occasionally, when switching inputs, the TV becomes unresponsive to the remote control or the buttons on the TV. The only thing I have found to work around it is to unplug it and plug it back in. This problem sounds similar to one posted in another review but his problem seemed to be an all-the-time issue whereas my issue only happens infrequently. I will be taking this back to Costco."
Review 8 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Date:December 18, 2012

Not worth bringing home

Pros: easy setup
Cons: poor picture and cheaply made
Model Number: E502AR
"The product has a lot of desirable features and the set up including wireless connectivity was easy. However, the sharpness was not there at all. The colors were nice but the picture was no where near as sharp as expected of a 1080 HD set.
The real deal killer was when I tried to attach the optical audio cable. The connection did not work at all. The cable just fell out. I tested the cable several times with other equipment and it was fine.
I had been reluctant to buy a Vizio as a few years ago one review stated Vizio used cheap connectors to hold down cost. Well, apparently this is still the case."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:December 11, 2012

A smart TV at a smart price

Pros: smart tv features stunning image quality price
Cons: non-led illumination
Model Number: E502AR
"I had decided on a 50 inch LCD TV (plasma has too many reflections for my taste). My requirements were at least 3 HDMI inputs, 1080p with 120Hz refresh and optical digital audio out. My wish list included LED illumination, smart TV apps, built-in wireless, and the ability to stream video from a USB stick. I was delighted to find that the Vizio E502AR had everything on my list except LED lighting and for a price that left some cash in my wallet for Christmas shopping as well!
So it's not LED lit which means it uses traditional compact florescent lamps instead. The back light is uniform and is controlled by room lighting. If you don't like that feature, you can disable it. Even with CFL lighting, the energy use on this set is on the (very) low side for TVs of this size.
When you boot it up for the first time, it takes you through some setup options which include agreeing to the terms of service for some of the built in apps. All navigation and data entry is done via soft, on-screen keyboards. Some of the Vizio's have a keyboard on back of the remote, but this budget concious set doesn't. Most people are used to this pokey method of entering text, but I can see how it would frustrate the fumble fingered among us.
Once I entered my wireless password, I was able to go right into Netflix. I was very pleased to see the icons were large and the response was fast. Other apps like YouTube were similarly responsive. It comes pre-loaded with a number of apps, and you can also shop for more from their app store. Yes, downloadable apps on a TV at this price. Amazing. This set also features Yahoo Widgets, so you can create various on-screen displays of things like your local weather forecast. In summary, I found the smart TV feature to work quite well.
Image quality was, well, stunning. The realism made the scenes look like you were there on the set where they were being filmed. Some folks will want to reduce the sharpness a bit, but I'm enjoying the vivid images for now. We watched MIB 3 using an up converting DVD player via HDMI and I would be hard pressed to tell it from Blu-ray. Although this is not a 3D set, the perspective of depth was amazing in many of the scenes. My Blu-ray player looked great too, perhaps a bit softer and less stark.
I also tested playing a video file and some photos from a USB stick. It performed quite well for both. Most TVs at this price will only show photos, so the video playback is a real nice plus. The USB port is in a bit of an odd place, however. It was in the back whereas the side would be more accessible.
Since it isn't LED lit, it is substantially thicker than one that is. Still, at less than 40 pounds, it's not too hard to handle either. So if your wish list includes all the features above, and you can live without LED lighting, you won't find more TV for the money in my book. I purchased mine in-store."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vizio 50" Class LCD Smart TV E502AR
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West County, MO
Date:November 26, 2012

Did not work correctly out of the box

Pros: nice size
Cons: long lag time to turn on/off channel change
Model Number: E502AR
"Spend three hours setting up and hanging on the wall only to find that the remote/tv buttons did not work correctly. Tried a bunch of fixes, but same thing happened: after 30 seconds or so remote stopped working and physical buttons on tv did not respond.
Spent 30+ minutes on tech support phone, but they could not fix the problem. Offered to set up a repair, but I returned the tv to Costco. I expect a new tv to work correctly out of the box.
On the positive side, all tech support people I talked to seemed to be US based.
I replaced this TV with a 47" LG."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.