Customer Reviews for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System

Energy efficient and extremely quiet, the Blueair 270E air purifier with HEPASilent technology is the most compact Blueair system for people living with allergies, asthma or other respiratory conditions, filtering out 99.97% of airborne contaminants.  The 270E features built in sensors that automatically adjust fan speed to handle varying levels of air pollutants making this the ideal air purifier for anyone who wants cleaner, more breathable air.  The On/Off timer and remote control enable discretionary operational control, including a manual setting.  All of this performance is bundled in a compact, Swedish design award winning air purifying unit with steel construction that has withstood the test of time. Features: AHAM certified for rooms up to 240 sq. ft. Gradient structure filter with HEPASilent technology captures 99.97% of airborne particles as small as 0.1 micron such as dust, pollen, smoke, pet dander, bacteria, fungi and mold spores. Electrostatic and mechanical filter technology Filters made of bacteria-resistant, waterproof polypropylene and are recyclable Low energy consumption 35-80 watts ENERGY STAR rated 5 air changes per hour Near silent operation – 32-56 dB(A) Galvanized steel housing Built-in carry handles Auto or manual fan speeds Automatic gas and particle sensors to automatically adjust fan speed based on contaminant level in the room Digital display Filter change indicator No assembly required 5 year limited warranty (with product registration) Model: 270E
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Review 1 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SD, CA
Date:December 27, 2012

Odd smell, Sensors seem to be backwards

Pros: quiet, well built
Cons: filters smell, sensors out of whack, unattractive back of machine needs to face out
Model Number: 270e
" This machine would be a good buy if it didn't have an odd smell coming from the filter. It dissipated somewhat after 2 weeks but still doesn't smell like clean air coming from it.
The smell sensor seems to pick up on dust and the dust sensor seems to do nothing. Odd.
Also, the back of the machine really needs to face the room because that's where the dusty air enters the machine and it isn't nice to look at. What you see in the pic is really the front of the machine.
"
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northeast
Date:January 8, 2013

Not the perfect machine but pretty good overall

Pros: silent, effective
Cons: expensive filter, no cycle on/off mode
Model Number: 270E
" I bought this for my asthma cat. She appreciates the clean air right away but you have to turn it on high/loud at the beginning to clean up the air. The Auto mode is a nice concept but it doesn't detect that quickly. Also, I usually start it high at 2 or 3 for 10-15 mins instead of 2-3 in auto mode before switching back to 1 - the silent mode.
I try to run it on for an hour or 2 hours, then off for an hour(like how I run my dehumidifier) but the timer/preset mode only let you turn it on once and then off once. It would be nice to have an on/off cycle mode.
The filter on these machines are expensive. I bought the most expensive, best furnace allergen, odor filter which runs the whole house and it is about 50-60% less than this machine's filter cost for a year.
The machine has a clean curvy design in the front but utility criss cross fence look in the back - the back could have been designed better as another reviewer pointed out.
It uses sturdy steel for frame construction so vibration/noise is minimal compare to other competitors. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 29, 2013

Quality product

Pros: quality
Cons: expensive
Model Number: 270e
" I received this air filter for Christmas and it as been one of the best gifts I have received. The design and technology in this air filter is pure quality . It is a little big I will add but it isn't an eye sore. Filters are rather expensive but they work , you lay fr what you get these days. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 22, 2013

Allergy Relief!

Pros: very quiet on low setting, easy to move to different locations
Cons: blue lights are bright - need covering up at night
Model Number: Blueair 270E
" Purchased the Blueair 270E for our bedroom with hopes of alleviating nightly nasal congestion, asthma and other allergy symptoms (including cat allergies). We have only used it the past two nights and the difference has been incredible! No, snoring, wheezing, congestion or sore throat in the morning! Only reason not giving 5 stars is first unit delivered was damaged (face plate dented) and fan did not work which made me wonder about Blueair quality control but Costco immediately refunded cost and the new unit was ordered and so far is great! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dusty brownstone Brooklyn
Date:March 1, 2013

Very Satisfied

Pros: sucks up dust
Cons: big but looks nice
Model Number: 270E
" I have had 2 of these for several months now - one in the living room and one in the bedroom - and I love them. The Auto function kicks in on high whenever I cook or even open the blinds - it registers dust & smells immediately and effectively removes them. My building is very dusty, and this Blueair has reduced the visible amount of dust on my tables and such to an amazing degree. This never happened with the air purifiers I owned previously (Orecks).
I had a question for the Blueair people and they were very helpful. They also noted that the Costco price for this model was really good. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:March 8, 2013

Quality purifier

Pros: quiet, automatic sensor
Cons: cost
" I got this for Christmas hoping to deal with stale and stinky air in my apartment. It works wonders! Not only does the auto function keep smells at bay (even when the cat does her business) the amout of hair a dust has been reduced to a minimum. The air is now crisp and clean smelling every time I come home, even when I've been out of town. Picking the right purifier was quite challenging and although I'm not looking forward to the replacement filter costs I'm satisfied with the purchase and it's a true case of 'you get what you pay for.' I'll be getting a second for the bedroom while they are on sale! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:March 8, 2013

BlueaIr air machine

Pros: great air cleaning, extremely quiet
Cons: cost of replacement filters., made in china not sweden
Model Number: Blueair 270E
" This is the second BlueAir system that I've owned. Its extremely quiet and just does the job its supposed to do. If you have breathing problems, the BlueAir is a great way to help. That alone makes the cost worth it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:March 12, 2013

Great Air Purifier

Pros: machine is very quiet., delivery was surprisingly fast.
Cons: filters are expensive.
" The Blueair Air Purifier System has made it possible for my husband to get a good night's sleep. "
Review 9 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:March 20, 2013

Outstanding Value

Pros: good value quiet improves air quality
Cons: small remote expensive replacement filters
Model Number: 270E
" I purchased the Blueair 270E because I've had long standing problems with allergies and more recently suffered pneumonia. My doctor advised I look into air purifiers for my bedroom to alleviate breathing problems stemming from my allergies and pneumonia. I installed the Blueair in my bedroom. I experimented with multiple settings such as 3 during the day and 1 at night then returned to the Auto mode. After two weeks, I've noticed a significant improvement in my sleep and my breathing. During my medical follow up, the doctor indicated the Blueair most likely accelerated my recovery from pneumonia by 2-3 weeks because my cough and congestion had cleared up ahead of schedule. I'm glad I purchased the replacement filters at the same time as I will put this purifier to extensive use. The unit is quiet, unobtrusive and the visual display is easy to read and follow. The small remote is easy to use (though easy to lose). I highly recommend this unit for anyone suffering from respiratory problems or dirty air. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:seatle, wa
Date:June 12, 2013

Excellent Air filter, best we've tried

Pros: notice the air difference immediately, durable very long lasting
Cons: filter replacement cost, some models lack filter replacement indicator
" We've used many air filters over the years for allergies, pollen, pets, etc. but the Blue Airs have really performed the best. Both my wife and I agree. We've tried the Honeywell, Sharper Image Ionic Breeze, and others, but these have really worked the best.
The only downside to Blueair and other reviews have noted this too is the expensive filter replacements. Fortunately, Costco.com carries the filter replacements, but they're still not cheap. Just be aware that you need to change the filters every six months. We own four of these units and filter replacements really add up. But factoring in your health, allergies and improved indoor air quality, it's worth it, especially given how much time people spend indoors
That said, it's an excellent filter, the only reason I don't give it 5 stars is the expensive filter replacements. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:August 21, 2013

Wears Out Quicker Than Expected

Model Number: 200 Series
" Wears out before warranty and costly to repair if even repairable. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:December 8, 2013

Blueair 270E 5 Stars after 1 year

Pros: effective air cleaner, proof of effectiveness = dirty 270e filters, minimal noise on setting 1 or 2, remote control
Cons: blueair filters are not cheap
Model Number: 270E
" Purchased qty (2) 270E's from Costco.
Great air filters - remote controls are handy, quality construction. Minimal noise at Speed 1 & 2. Fair amount of noise at Speed 3 - but for us, no problem sleeping through Speed 3 due to soothing "white noise" sound. We also have the 455EB from Costco. Although the 455 can process and clean more air than the 270's we much prefer the design and size of the 270's. 270's in our kids room and the 455 in the master. We much prefer the 270's design as they pull the air in from the side and clean air is expelled upward, which in theory would not to "disturb," lint, dust and sediment from the floor/carpet... The 455 pulls in the air from the bottom of the unit and for some reason, clean air is also expelled from the bottom of the unit. Seems so very random that the clean air from the 455 is released from the bottom side portion of the unit, where the clean air can kick up lint, dust, etc., from under dressers, tables, beds... I know the air in the room will be cleaned but seems like a poor clean-air-egress design in my opinion. If I had to do over again, would have stuck with all 270's... Kids like the BlueAir "BLUE LED Light" at night it serves as a night light, we cover ours up.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita CA
Date:January 21, 2014

Finally no marathon A.M. sneezing!

Pros: works beautifully! and very quiet
Cons: big, price
Model Number: 555EB
" I think we got over zealous when we bought this filter. IT's huge! It was on-sale and came with bonus filters. My son has bad allergies & asthma. Every morning he would wake up to sneeze after sneeze after sneeze. 10 days n a row at times. Second day with this filter and the AM sneezes stopped. My cleaning lady even said there is no dust in his room compared to the other parts of the house. The filter is 4x the coverage needed so it was big and I know we don't need the one this size. I was thinking of down scaling just for size but am afraid to change it out! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 28, 2014

Better breathing.

Pros: quitely does it job
Model Number: 270 E
" I am happy with my purchase. It is quite and I sleep better at night. I keep it on auto most of the time. "
Review 15 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, California
Date:February 1, 2014

Great Product

Pros: very quiet
Cons: none
Model Number: 455E
" I bought the Blueair Air Purifier to control my asthma at night. After a week, I noticed that if I put it on 3 auto - it would only recycle down to 2 auto. It was supposed to recycle down to 1 auto - which it never did. I called the company and they tried to help me figure it out, but eventually I had to send the unit back to the company and they sent me a brand new Blueair - same model, except this one had a 'plate' over one of the air intakes. It works perfect now and I love it. I plan on buying another one for the downstairs den. "
Review 16 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SF
Date:February 25, 2014

Great air filter

" This is the just the right filter for the open public space in our house. It removes odor and airborne irritants very well. Relatively quite depending on the setting. The replacement filters are expensive though. "
Review 17 for Blueair 270E HEPASilent™ Air Purifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:scahumburg, il
Date:May 25, 2014

ineffective removing smoke in nursery

Pros: looks cool
Cons: ineffective for smoke with smokestop filters, replace every 6 months for warranty to remain vali, not true hepa filter, no prefilter
Model Number: 270e
" I bought this to remove smoke from downstair neighbor in the nursery for my newborn. It was not effective even with the smokestop filters. I even tried the larger model. What I also disliked was there was no prefilter and require replacement every 6 months for warranty to remain valid. I ended up with an iqair plus which has a true hepa filter unlike blueair, a charcoal filter, and a prefilter, and can purchase an additional pre pre filter. The unit is cpl hundred more than blueair but in the long run is worth it bc it is more effective than blueair. The hepa filter goes down to 0.003 micron sized particles and the unit is used in several hospitals worldwide. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.