Customer Reviews for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack

Average Customer Rating:
3.422 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
13
45 of 64(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Review 1 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:April 16, 2013

Not The Best Tech Support

Pros: easy installation
Cons: lview is needed to view remotely on office comp
Model Number: LNC104
"Cameras were easy to install via wireless router. However, after following step by step instructions to register cameras I was led to believe that I could view cameras via a unique URL. After not being able to access that URL I called tech support. Finally was able to speak with someone after 25 minutes on hold only to be transferred to another tech support person and told that the URL is not necessary for this camera and the only way I could view it remotely was via an app (for my phone or tablet) or by installing LView on my computer (for example, my office computer). I'm very disappointed in their instructions and lack of clarity in setting up the cameras. I'm taking them back to Costco for refund."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York City
Date:March 15, 2013

Nice if it worked

Pros: able to return
Cons: no tech support
Model Number: LNC104
"Was able to get an image on my smart phone, but was unable to access any of the camera settings making the camera not workable. I called tech support was told to hold and was disconnected, called a second time, told to hold and 45 min. later was disconnected. I then packed the unit up with the intention of returning it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:August 7, 2013

No So Good

Pros: easy set up
Cons: didn' last long poor support from the manufacture
Model Number: Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
"Set up was easy, but only lasted about 30 days and then started having problems with the motions detection settings. Made several attempts to contact tech support, but after being on hold for over 30 minutes I decided it would be easier to just return the cameras."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Date:August 22, 2013

Lorex Live Ping LNC-104 It Works!

Pros: easy setup., good data rates and good resolution., android smartphone connection really easy.
Cons: tech support could be better., ftp and nas setup not explained., serial number too small to read.
Model Number: LNC-104
"Lorex Live Ping LNC-104
I do not understand why all the bad reviews. Probably problems with their home network. I have four of the LNC-104 cams and it was easy to set up. I have all on my Android v3.2 smartphone, easy peasy I have L-View (Lorex, free software) on my laptops (Win XP Pro) and can view the cams anywhere I have WiFi access.
I have decent data rates (best on smartphone). I can talk into my smartphone and can hear excellent quality sound at the LNC-104 with my optional speaker plugged in. Cam resolution (640x480 max) and data rate are settable. This is a trade off between data rate and resolution since it is going over the LAN and internet but I have a 1GB LAN so locally it is fast. That is a lot of data for four cams but my LAN supports it. You can view four cams at once with L-View but only one at a time on the smartphone.
Wish these were outdoors cams. But with a little thought I got the cams to work through the windows for both day and night vision. Night vision is excellent. Day vision color pops on (640x480 res max) at sunrise and is very good until dark when B&W night vision takes over.
The documentation could be better regarding setting up FTP and NAS recording. I used WPS on my router to connect. Two button pushes for each cam and I was connected. Amazing!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:August 10, 2013

Camera is good but software is terrible

Pros: picture quality email notification
Cons: buggy software push notification doesn't work
Model Number: LNC104
"The quality of the camera is decent. Setup is supposed to be easy, but there're some major bugs in the software that wasted a lot of my time. First of all when you use non alpha-numeric characters for you password it will accept it but then complains later. I reset the admin password, wrote it down carefully too, but was unable to use the new or default password to log back in. Had to reset the camera and start over. Turned out it didn't like the special character in the password.
Was never able to get the push notification to work on both my iphone and ipad. The "Alarm notification" tab keeps giving an error after I click "Update".
Tech support is closed on the weekends. There are also other obvious bugs with the IOS app. Overall, this camera has lots of potential but it falls short on the software side which makes it an inferior product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:July 31, 2013

Camera is fine, Mac and iPhone needs improvement

"I was able to get the cameras set up in a few minutes as advertised. The picture is fine.
What is not fine is the software for Mac makes it so that you can't take advantage of all of the promised features. If there is a way to set the alerts from a Mac, I haven't been able to figure it out.
When the iPhone app works, it's great. But it has a lot of bugs and doesn't always work. It often will fail to load and I have to reboot my phone to get the system to connect.
The tech support is as dismal as described in other reviews. I submitted a "ticket" and waited two days for a response, which was that I had to call the tech support number for an answer. I haven't bothered because I don't expect them to be any help, either.
For the price I paid, the system is adequate. It would be a five star review if the software and app lived up to the promises."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2013

Don't Buy

Pros: none
Cons: just awful
"Don't be fooled by the video on Costco's website claiming it can be installed in minutes. Not the case and certainly not that easy to set up. Had to Call Tech Support. The have little or no experience with this camera. Terrible instructions and no trouble shooting information. Finally got it to work and faced it out to the front of my yard and couldn't get a clear picture. Only works when camera is facing indoors. The whole remote viewing on our PC was constantly an issue and not simple. Not dealing with it! It's ridiculous. On my way to Costco to return!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Date:July 25, 2013

Disappointed

Pros: great marketing, fairly easy to initially get started.
Cons: inadequate instructions., horrible tech-support...non existent.
Model Number: LNC104
"I purchased the LNC104, with high expectations that it would do Everything it claims.
First of all, it is fairly easy and quick to get started with using a Wifi router and Android phone, once you download their app. Picture is adequate. But once you get to that point, you're pretty much on your own.
There are NO instructions on how or even a menu that comes with the phone app. to allow you to register you email address or text, so that you could receive "motion" activity. All in all, other than manually loging in and viewing the camera, that is all you can do!
They claim, that their Web site has the download for Mac users. When I downloaded their version of support, my Mac (OSX version 10.5.8) would not recognize that download.
OK, so I called Tech-support. After being given a Ticket # I was on Hold for over an hour, when I finally hung up.
After doing more research on the net and seeing some of the reviews, I must agree that once you buy the product, your pretty much on your own.
Now, if you have a PC, it may be a lot better...but unfortunately or fortunately I don't. Recommend, No. I'd look at others and I'm thinking of returning this one.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 6, 2013

Mobile Apps very poor

Pros: easy to setup
Cons: mobile apps poor
"Mobile app to monitor cams is very unreliable. They had huge problems with mobile apps crashing in Nov 2013. Their app hans't been available on Google Playstore for tablets since but is available for Android phone (with poor ratings).
Cameras work OK. I have pictures emailed when there's movement but I need to reboot cams every 2-3 days to function properly. There are few (affordable) options for wifi cams on market and these are the best my family has tried. Sure wish Lorex would improve their apps and bring it back for tablets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:September 29, 2013

Great camera

Pros: easy set up
"This thing set up easily and works perfectly. The picture quality is good. I am not sure what else you can ask in a camera this price range."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:September 27, 2013

Almost good

Pros: sturdy, well designed, well documented
Cons: low resolution, no tilt/pan control
Model Number: LNC 104
"Cameras(2) arrived safe, sound and expeditiously. However, one power adapter was inoperable. Still (2-weeks) waiting for resolution."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:September 9, 2013

Great product, if I can get it to keep working

Pros: great picture resolution both day and night!, accessible through the internet to manage., small and easy to manipulate., long power cord
Cons: not as easy to setup as indicated in the video, does not stay connected to the internet, crashes the wireless access point, no end user documentation anywhere., no description for functions of available settings
Model Number: MCNC100
"I bought this last week. Setup was not as easy as they show in the video. I suspect he already had it setup and all he was doing was adding a new camera which was already added to his online account. The video is very misleading, in my opinion. It actually took me about 3 hours to get it setup completely, and I am technologically sound.
Since I have connected them to my wireless access point, my access point crashes constantly. There is absolutely no user documentation describing what the different settings on the camera do. Nor is there anything telling what to do about the problem I am experiencing.
When searching for solutions to my problem, several websites say to setup Port Forwarding. I tried that and it didn't work. The manufacturer’s website says to lock the wireless channel on the router. I will try this tonight. If that doesn't work, I'll have to call the manufacturer for assistance."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:September 1, 2013

Okay entry level camera

Pros: price
Cons: picture quality
"We bought two, one so my wife can watch her birds while she is away from the house (T-Mobile unlimited data plan let's her check her pets anytime). The other is meant to be more of a security cam. We've tried having it point out a window because they are meant to be used inside the house. That doesn't work so good. We tried to set up the camera so it will send us an email alert when anyone comes up to the house. Instead, we only get the alerts when car lights trip it at night. (Apparently, it uses IR for motion detection, which doesn't work well looking out of windows.) The email alert does work, we're getting emails with pictures of car lights at night. So, the security cam will need to be moved to the inside.
Audio works fine. My wife enjoys hearing her birds chirp when she's away. We plan to buy a couple of cheap speakers to plug into the cameras so we can communicate with the birds (and intruders?). Picture resolution is okay (standard VGA). Motion frame-rate is adjustable up to 30 fps. Of course, faster frame rate means higher bandwidth is needed. Night picture quality is good up to about 15 feet in black and white. We had an extra 2 gig micro-SD card and put it into the camera pointing out the window. The card filled up in about 2 days, again triggered with car lights passing. The camera motion detection can be fine tuned so I'll have to play with that.
The camera software, including the Android app and PC set up software, works well. It took me about 20 minutes to go over all the different parts of the software and play with it to see what each part does. I've heard stories of baby-cams being hacked so outsiders can see (and talk to) other people's children. This software forces you to change passwords on first use. That should be helpful.
Bottom line -- it's great for the price, but realize you're not getting HD quality picture resolution and it's an inside camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:MIlwaukee
Date:August 13, 2013

Good but....no push notifications and poor support

Pros: it was easy to set up...in under 3 minutes., images are great for price, email notifications work fine, works remotely
Cons: push notifications stopped working after 2 days, tech support is a joke non existant., your on your own
Model Number: lorex Ping 2 pack
"Good Hardware, poor software.
Push notifications stopped working after 2 days for both our iphones. and as we found out after hours and days of trying, Lorex support sadly does not exist. Everything else seems to be working fine. I hope nothing else breaks..
WIFI connection is rock solid, remote connectivity is excellent, setup was a breeze. Fails to deliver advertised feature (push notifications).
Bottom line, if it works in your environment--Great, if it does not work--don't expect any lorex support, its non-existent and your on your own.
I gave it 3 stars because advertised feature does not work and there is no product support."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:August 13, 2013

Pretty Good

Pros: reliable wireless
Cons: poor image
Model Number: LNC104
"Picture quality is not too good, hard to make out faces if you don't know who you are looking at.
But, the wireless system works well and I can always connect to it from anywhere I have at least a cell phone signal.
I've been using it for a few months and it seems very reliable. The software works great, but it is a little difficult to set up with a NAS (but it can be done).
Overall this is a wireless camera that will let you see what is going on in a given area at any time of day, from anywhere you have internet/cell. So, yeah it is not too shabby."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mile high city
Date:May 2, 2013

Good camera for certain uses

Pros: easy set up good day time video.
Cons: lower quality night video, automatic alerts only work on one camera.
Model Number: Lorex Live Ping LNC-104
"Purchased this pair of camera's to monitor my residence while I was on an extended vacation. Camera set up was easy and installed quickly on my window based computer, both Vista 32 bit/Windows 7 64 bit and my older Linksys 54G WiFi router. Played around with the settings before leaving. All can be programmed for e-mail alerts and video trigger to be recorded to SD card on cameras or computers hard drive. Only negative here is only one camera on the network can be armed for the alert e-mail and video triggers. ( you can arm both but only one works) I was able to monitor the system from my android tablet with the Lorex app. which worked well. Also was able to monitor camera through web based ip address through windows explorer. Each camera has separate ip address. Video quality during day was good, mostly clear and bright. Note: if set by window where sunlight directly comes in there is going to be some washout. Definitely do not point these directly out a window as it will wash the video completely. Night vision was viewable but fuzzy. (This could be my routers fault not being a super strong connection plus the added quality of the infrared camera ability. All in all I am happy with the purchase for my application."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Date:March 27, 2013

I would like it if it works

Pros: save $$ - don't have to pay $9.99 a month to use
Cons: no solid wifi connection
"Like I said, I would like it ALOT if it works. It was easy to set up, I watched the YouTube video. It worked once, then it stopped working. I don't know if it's the actual unit or my WiFi. I don't think it's my WiFi. It needs consistent solid WiFi connection (solid blue light) to access on my iPhone but the blue light on the Lorex unit BLINKS - which means not a solid WiFi connection. I have to look into it this weekend or off to Costco to return."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati,OH
Date:February 22, 2013

Works BETTER than expected!

Pros: 1 button connection., crisp clear image.
Cons: none yet
"Perfection! Excellent price, works right out of the box, 1 button WPA connection, located immediately when powered up. People with problems must have other issues with router or wi-fi connection. Also, worked immediately when connecting remotely. Couldn't be more satisfied!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, California
Date:February 7, 2013

WHAT A GREAT CAMERA DEAL!

Pros: easy setup, night vision, wifi, remote connectivity
Cons: none so far
Model Number: LNC42B
"Another winner from Lorex! Very easy to setup, it's really a plug and play viewing system. Great vision in the night. I'm using it in my babies room and can see her closely. I'm very happy about this system and am going to buy another package!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lorex LIVE Ping Wireless Network Camera 2-pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:May 31, 2013

trouble with the wifi connection

Pros: nice picture
Cons: wifi connection very unstable
Model Number: LNC104
"set up was difficult (and i just set up my whole house multimedia system so ip addresses and wifi was fresh in my mind). mac address printed on back of machine is for the wired connection not the wifi. i needed to find it to add to the "allowed" mac addresses for my router. Found it on the web configuration page after discononecting the ethernet.
the wifi connection is very unstable. if the signal is interrupted either with a camera settings change or a router issue, the unit is able to reconnect only half the time. Plugged into the ethernet port, it works great, but that's not why i bought it.
I downloaded the Ipad app and it is also glitchy many times losing the connection to the camera. the most frustrating thing is that it works half the time.
i will trouble shoot it this weekend and come back and rerate if I can figure this out. but i wanted to put this on here to let people know it is far from a plug and play issue."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>