Customer Reviews for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. This luxurious extra-thick memory foam mattress offers the ultimate sleeping experience. Three layers work interactively for the perfect balance of comfort, support and the optimal sleep temperature. The plush top layer features our new, advanced formula of gel-infused memory foam that keeps cool throughout the night. The middle layer of air channel foam provides enhanced airflow and further adds to the perfectly cool comfort. Finally, the base layer of special support foam provides long-lasting durability and helps reduce tossing and turning. The mattress is finished with a luxurious, quilted cover that is beautifully tailored for a rich look and feel. Mattress: Mattress thickness: 14" Top layer: 3 inches of 3 lb. density gel memory foam for cool, cradling comfort Middle layer: 3 inches of 2 lb. density air channel foam for enhanced air flow Bottom layer: 8 inches of 2 lb. density base foam for long lasting support Box spring not included Features: Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633-Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Helps reduce tossing and turning for a restful night’s sleep Provides superior pressure point relief, evenly distributing body weight Holds its shape with no flipping or rotating needed Medium feel Quilted, plush cover is flame retardant and conforms to strict Federal standards Memory foam made in the USA 100% hypoallergenic foam 20-year limited warranty Compressed and packaged for easy transport and delivery with simple instructions for setup, use and care King Mattress dimensions: 76" W x 80" L x 14" H; Weight: 103.8 lbs The Novaform® mattress comes compressed and packed for delivery, with simple instructions for setup, use and care. If you have any questions regarding this product please contact Sleep Innovations at 1-888-999-0499.
Average Customer Rating:
3.404 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
12
32 of 52(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Review 1 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:March 16, 2014

undecided after 3 weeks

Pros: very comfortable great value
Cons: warm
"This is my first purchase of a memory foam bed. It's very comfortable and the price makes it a great value. Unfortunately for me, I am one of those people who finds this mattress warm. We live in a tropical climate and I made this purchase in the cooler winter months but still waking several times at night quite warm. Ironically, my wife who is usually the hot one, has not noticed a difference. I also have chronic back pain that I was hoping might be improved with a memory foam mattress but that has not been the case. My wife is now complaining of neck discomfort which may or may not be related to our change in mattresses. Even though this already claims a gel layer to keep you cool, I ordered a "gel cooling pad" (also from Costco) to see if it helps since I would prefer not to return this. I will try to update my review after I give that a try. If it does not improve my sleep, I will return and go back to traditional box spring and mattress set which I think "breathe" better, at least for our climate."
Review 2 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Millburn, NJ
Date:July 12, 2013

Good matress, great value

Pros: value
Cons: smell
Model Number: 727407
"I bought this mattress two months ago because it's a Consumer Reports best buy. I wasn't disappointed. Mattress arrived in a large 102-pound box delivered by UPS. We rolled the box to the upstairs bedroom and unpacked it partially to let the form fumes vent for a day by the window. Once on our old box springs, the mattress quickly expanded to its full shape. It helped that it was a hot day. Our sheets, however, barely cover the 14" mattress. Yes, it's a low VOC foam mattress, but the smell is still very noticeable for the first several weeks. Keep the head out from the covers and you can't smell it as much. I'm 155 lbs and 5'11" and this is not a firm mattress as other assert. Consumer Reports calls it medium and I agree. Getting rid of the old mattress myself was a pain. Strapped it to the top of the car and took it to the town dump. This mattress costs 30% less than a Tempur-Pedic and has the same Consumer Report overall rating. Great value."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:March 6, 2013

Love it!

Cons: took a good two weeks to adjust to the firmness
"We had a pillow-top mattress that seemed to be buckling and wanted to move to a foam mattress, BUT didn't want to spend the money some other brands cost. After getting 8 inch twin-size Novaform mattresses for the kids, we decided to purchase this mattress for us. I wasn't loving it the first few nights, it was a big adjustment from what we were used to. My husband loved it right away and was sleeping better the first night. We looked into it and decided to purchase a feather topper Costco carries as well as the memory foam essence pillows they just started to carry. I liked the firmness of this mattress but was missing the comfy feeling you get climbing into bed. We have now had the pillows for two nights & the feather bed for one and we absolutely love it now (to be fair, my husband loved it all along). We have stayed in a hotel that has amazingly comfortable feather beds, and we now feel like that's what we have (but for a lot less). We are very happy with the combination we have put together!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AL
Date:September 19, 2013

Great mattress, great value!

Pros: value comfort quality
Cons: sleeps slightly warmer than an innerspring
Model Number: 727379
"I bought the king sized, Novaform 14" gel memory foam mattress online from Costco. First off, the ordering was simple and I received it by UPS 4 days later.
It's heavy, so have a friend around to help set it up and unwrap it. It opened easily, just like the directions showed. It was full shape in an hour and I slept on it the first night. I noticed no odor, whatsoever.
This mattress is a dream! It's like sleeping on a cloud! It has the perfect combination of a medium/firm feel, giving plenty of support, with just enough sink factor to cradle you. It feels like a hug when you lay on it! No more aching back and hips when I wake up!
It's easy to move around on and to get in and out of. The edge of the bed is sturdy, no caving in when sitting on it. I do notice it sleeps slightly warmer than my innerspring mattress, but that is not an issue for me.
Great mattress and a great value, I couldn't ask for more than that! Thank you Costco for carrying a quality product!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:February 22, 2013

Returning product this weekend

Pros: the box it came in had wheels for easy movement
Cons: mattress was extremely firm
"We purchased the Novaform 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress a couple weeks ago and absolutely can't stand it. We gave it an honest effort to get used to it and hoped it would soften up some, but all that happened was extreme sleep deprivation, baggy eyes, and back aches. Unless you prefer sleeping on a super firm surface, stay away from this mattress. We had the house temp at around 70 degrees, so it wasn't because the house was too cold either. BTW - There was a small sample section at COSTO and it seemed OK (i.e. not too firm) when I sat on it (much too small to lay down on), but the real thing turned out to be much harder when laying flat. Bottom line - I never would have bought this if I could have laid down on it at the store and I will never buy another mattress again that I cannot "test drive." The only good thing was the box it came in had wheels so it was easy to move. Of course, I doubt I will get it back in the box for the return, so only time will tell how that works out."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:March 28, 2013

Amazingly Comfortable

Pros: comfortable, softly supportive, low voc
Model Number: Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
"Once the plastic sleeve was removed, the mattress opened like a flower, quickly. Very low VOC; I only smell the slight chemical odor when my face is on the mattress. First night, I spent a lot of time re-arranging myself, as it felt 'weird' to not be in a mattress depression. A good weird, but it took some getting used to. I knew it was a good purchase when I didn't wake up with severe hip pain. Second night = pure magic. Every night since = pure magic. Easy to get in, easy to get out, even for an overweight, height-challenged person with rheumatoid arthritis. Very little movement when hubby turns over. Though he typically prefers a firm mattress and I prefer a soft-to-medium mattress, we are both very happy with the Novaform 14" Gel Memory Foam Mattress. Neither of us has noticed being hot, which was a concern. Only con is that it is heavy and takes 2-3 people to put it into place, then wrangle the plastic outer- and inner-sleeves. But that was clearly explained on the web site, and the included instructions are very straightforward and easy to follow."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

Great for me; maybe not for you

Pros: great support of whole body., compressed packaging allowed it to go up staircase
Cons: delay in use = delay in disposing of old mattress.
"It is a heavy product when it shows up on your doorstep, all compressed into a difficult to manage cardboard box. When you cut the wrapping and release it from confinement, it audibly breathes relief and quickly begins expanding, exhaling its chemical odor and puffing up to fill its allotted space, just as the instructions said it would. The process takes a couple of days and the odor is greatly reduced after several more days - your sensitivity to it is an individual call - some will be more bothered than others. It is firmer than some folks will like but it does quickly fill the negative curves in my arthritic body and I am sleeping much better than before. It's a keeper and I'm glad I took a chance on it."
Review 8 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Dakota
Date:November 27, 2013

Love the mattress

Pros: really great support for our back.
Cons: take a while to get use to.
"We had a very soft pillow top mattress that we had spent 5k for and we were both waking up with sore backs and not getting a good nights sleep. So we thought we would give this mattress a try. It definitely took some getting use to since it is very firm, but now after a month we absolutely love it. We did end up also purchasing the Novaform mattress foam topper from Costco and placed it on top of the novaform matress to try and get it a little softer and that seemed to really help. We live in a very cold part of the country and we let our bedroom temp get down into the 50 degree range at night, but the problem is that the mattress feels like laying on a slab of cement till it starts warming up from body heat. We recently added a heated matress pad and now it's absolutely PERFECT!! Nice and soft and we sleep perfectly!! It even fixed my problem of waking up in the middle of the night.... now I sleep all night long. Could not be happier.
One last comment... I have been married to my wife for close to 30 years and she has always struggled to fall asleep right away when she goes to bed.... now she's sleeping in a matter of minutes.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:March 13, 2014

Sleep Better Tonight?!? Pshaw!

Pros: wheels on the box
Cons: harder than rocks
Model Number: 727379
"We found this bed in our local Costco store and were excited to get it home. The packaging is amazing. We felt like two denizens of the future as our innovative new mattress expanded before our very eyes into a perfect rectangular prism shape. However, after a few hours of laying on this bed, we knew that we had been had. I would say this mattress is about an 8.5 on Mohs hardness scale just below diamond and corundum. The only way that you would sleep better tonight was if you spent the previous night on the concrete floor. I also woke up with a sore throat from the fumes coming off the bed. The literature says to wait for the bed to be broken in, but I can't imagine it getting any better. If I decide to keep this mattress and it gets any better, I will revise my review."
Review 10 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shawnee Mission, KS
Date:March 25, 2014

Sleep at last!

Pros: comfortable beyond belief
Cons: need strong friends and neighbors to move
"We had been hesitant about purchasing a memory foam mattress, mostly because we feared it would be too hot. We were very restricted in the mattress we could purchase because of a narrow stairway entry into our bedroom. We are so happy we purchased this mattress! Because it came compressed, we could get it up the stairs. (I would say easily, but it does weigh 100 lbs.)It is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. It is difficult to describe, but it gives you firm support in the most comfortable sort of way. We have not overheated at all yet. We also liked that would could return it if it did not work out, but it would be a beast to repack to return. We love this bed!"
Review 11 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 31, 2013

YOU must be right for this bed.

Pros: cooler sleeping than other memory foam mattresses.
Cons: way too firm for heavy people.
Model Number: 554625
"Okay, I surrender. I've had this mattress for about a year and a half, having purchased it after reading dozens of reviews about scads of similar mattresses, but am now having to abandon it.
Being the eternal optimist, I always believed it would "break in" some day. It probably did and I just did not notice it. There was nothing in the literature to clue me in that the unit probably would not work for a hefty (240 lb.) side-sleeper like me. I awake with severe pains in my shoulders, hips and elbows. While the gel memory foam layer is quite comfy and much cooler than other MF mattresses I had tried, I think I am heavy enough to bottom it out and simply be then sleeping on the pressure points created by the seemingly extra firm support from the sub-layers of foam.
Overall, I think this is probably a decent mattress for anyone whose weight does not bottom out 3" of gel memory foam. In that case it would seem relatively cushy. Otherwise, beware. Of course, if you don't crush 3" of gel memory foam, why do you need a 14" mattress. I'm just saying."
Review 12 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:May 2, 2013

14" Gel-Memory Foam King Mattress

Pros: costco return policy and price
Model Number: 14" Gel-Memory Foam King Mattress
"Best choice. The price is unbeatable, and the mattress is undeniably great. I totally disagreed with previous reviews that the mattress was too firm. I have been using it for 2 months, and so far my backache was gone, and I have been sleeping through the nights. For those who complained it was too firm, it's because they used to sleep on the plush (medium) ones, so this mattress is NOT designed for them. They simply didn't do their homework. The website http://novaformcomfort.com/mattresses.html clearly specifies this mattress is medium/firm. If they like softer mattress, go buy 12" Flex Tech or Valentina or Deluxe Comfort or Sarafina... and for those who like firm mattresses, this is it, no look further."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:February 22, 2014

Did Not Feel Like Memory Foam

Pros: store was very gracious to return
Cons: did not change comfort level and "break in", did not feel like a memory foam bed, very hot
"This bed was extremeley firm. We let it inflate per instructions but one corner did not fully inflate (1.5") so we put it on the bottom. Woke up every morning with a back ache and hoped it would "break-in" but it never did. Felt like we were sleeping on an air bed that was way over inflated. No give whatsoever."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:March 17, 2014

Expected a lot, got as expected

Pros: price, body support, ingenuity
Cons: none
Model Number: M-14G3LAYQ
"Owned a Novaform topper for a few years and loved it, best sleep this aging body could want. Bought this bed two days ago. Opening the vacuumed bag of mattress was pure magic. There was no smell at all and it was fully expanded in two hours. First night a little strange, was firmer than I was used to from the previous topper. Second night I'm all ready used to the mattress and very happy with the purchase. Will never go back to a conventional mattress."
Review 15 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:March 23, 2013

Awesome

Pros: getting softer every time we walk on it, i am actually sleeping through the night
Cons: like sleeping on the floor until broken in
Model Number: 14" memory foam/gel mattress
"This mattress was very easy to set-up. There was no unpleasant odor. This mattress is like sleeping on the floor with a sheet it was so HARD. We were ready to return it. After a week we went to a mattress shop and could not believe how comfortable the memory foam mattresses were. The sales lady told us that, every morning after they put out a new mattress they walk barefoot all over it to open the memory foam cells. We got home and did just that. After walking on it 3 times (without sheets/mattress protector) It is WOW!!!!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin TX
Date:January 8, 2014

Best (Firm) Mattress Ever

Pros: great back support perfectly firm
Cons: none
"If you like a firm but comfortable mattress with good back support, this one is perfect. We had the Novaform Primafina and just exchanged it after two months for this one because the Primafina was way too soft and squishy. I don't get all the reviews complaining that this mattress is hard as a rock, it was perfectly comfortable for us from day one. (I only can think those reviewers are used to the "give" of spring mattresses.) Extremely happy with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:March 2, 2014

Excellent buy

Pros: great comfort at bargain price, recovers completely after use
Cons: no handles to move around
Model Number: Costco 705718
"This is an excellent mattress, among the best we ever tried. It is a bargain for this comfort with just the right stiffness. Completely recovers in a few minutes after you get off it. Would have received 5 stars if it would have handles to help move it."
Review 18 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 13, 2014

Not so great for us

Pros: box with wheels made getting it home easily, attractive design, costco accepts returns easily!, i didn't think the odor was that bad, great price
Cons: can't turn over in bed easily, back hurt in the morning
"My husband and I bought this mattress after we were told by a family member how wonderful it was. For us, it was not comfortable at all to lay in for more than an hour. It may be that we just don't like memory foam... Its really difficult to turn over in bed while laying on memory foam, you definitely get a sinking feeling. This was annoying for me as I like to sit on the side of the bed to fold laundry, etc. I felt like the bed sunk too much when I sat on it. Also, both my husband and I had achy lower backs in the morning. We are definitely going back to an old-school mattress."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:October 24, 2013

Good but FIRM mattress

Pros: disperses body heat very well, provides a firm bed and support
Cons: may be too firm for some people, never fully achieved a flat upper surface
Model Number: Novaform 14" Gel King Mattress Item # 727407
"This was a very firm mattress that took some getting used to after a much softer mattress previously used. It took a week+ for my wife not be sore. She did get used to it, but never really liked it. The gel foam really dispersed heat well and we did not get too hot like our mattress we were replacing. The product never did expand fully to be flat after expanding from the box. We finally had to return the mattress after getting the more expensive and comfortable Novaform 14" Altabella Memory Foam/Gel King Mattress, which we like."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 20, 2014

Love this firm mattress

Pros: firm and comfortable, good value compared to the "high end" mattress
Cons: none that i can think of
Model Number: Novaform Cal-King 14" Memory Foam Mattress
"We bought this Cal-King size mattress to go with our new bedroom set, also from Costo. My wife and I absolutely love it. We were looking for a firm mattress, and this mattress fits the bill. I weight around 170lbs and my wife weights 130lbs. She mostly sleep on her side and I mostly on my back. Very comfortable, I really feel refreshed in the morning. After airing it out in the back yard when we first removed it from the box and let it decompress for about 6 hours we then moved it inside. There was a faint smell the first couple nights but it didn't bother us at all as we slept like babies. Hopefully, the firmness will hold for years to come - only time will tell I guess."
1 2 3 next>>