Customer Reviews for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. This luxurious extra-thick memory foam mattress offers the ultimate sleeping experience. Three layers work interactively for the perfect balance of comfort, support and the optimal sleep temperature. The plush top layer features our new, advanced formula of gel-infused memory foam that keeps cool throughout the night. The middle layer of air channel foam provides enhanced airflow and further adds to the perfectly cool comfort. Finally, the base layer of special support foam provides long-lasting durability and helps reduce tossing and turning. The mattress is finished with a luxurious, quilted cover that is beautifully tailored for a rich look and feel. Mattress: Mattress thickness: 14" Top layer: 3 inches of 3 lb. density gel memory foam for cool, cradling comfort Middle layer: 3 inches of 2 lb. density air channel foam for enhanced air flow Bottom layer: 8 inches of 2 lb. density base foam for long lasting support Box spring not included Features: Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633-Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Helps reduce tossing and turning for a restful night’s sleep Provides superior pressure point relief, evenly distributing body weight Holds its shape with no flipping or rotating needed Medium feel Quilted, plush cover is flame retardant and conforms to strict Federal standards Memory foam made in the USA 100% hypoallergenic foam 20-year limited warranty Compressed and packaged for easy transport and delivery with simple instructions for setup, use and care King Mattress dimensions: 76" W x 80" L x 14" H; Weight: 103.8 lbs The Novaform® mattress comes compressed and packed for delivery, with simple instructions for setup, use and care. If you have any questions regarding this product please contact Sleep Innovations at 1-888-999-0499.
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
13 of 16(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Review 1 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:November 11, 2014

Best Purchase EVER! Life Changing!

Pros: great for getting thru small hallways, price
Cons: little heavy
"I have to admit we were very hesitant on purchasing a mattress that came out of a box, but it has been life changing in a GOOD WAY! Living in a small 1930's home with a very small stairway... the novaform box was our only option to get a KING size mattress. The mattress does not smell, maybe smells new in a good way for the first few minutes. The bump in the middle of the mattress went away after a few nights we can barely notice now. I can move around without disturbing my fiance, we don't wake up in pain anymore....its been life changing. It is just firm enough, sleeps like a DREAM! Honestly I don't see much difference between this mattress and the $3,000 dollar tempurpedic bed my friends bought. If you need a new mattress this is the BEST way to go!"
Review 2 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:November 7, 2014

no more aches and pains

Pros: best mattress ever; no more aches and pains
Cons: none
"I used to wake up in the middle of the night and just be awake for hours. Then I realized it was because of my old mattress. It caused just enough discomfort that my body was not able to relax and fall back to sleep. (It's so mild, you're not even aware you're uncomfortable). My father had the same issue. Since getting this mattress, if I wake up, I fall right back to sleep. This mattress doesn't " feel" amazing or anything, but I sleep through the night and don't have aches and pains when I wake up. Adding a mattress pad I bought from costco does make it feel a little softer; they sell it intermittently throughout the year, but I don't remember who makes it.
The customer service guy told me this is their firmest mattress even though the description states it's a medium. It feels firm and you sink in just a little bit.(I like firm mattresses) It really does disperse your weight evenly, so you don't end up with focal pressure points. I did have to swap out my memory foam contour pillow to a down alternative pillow. For me, a memory foam mattress requires a different pillow than a traditional mattress. Since you sink into the mattress just a little from your body heat and your head doesn't (bcuz your head is not directly on the mattress, it does not sink along with your body), you may need a lower profile pillow.
We bought this mattress from the warehouse in September and slept on it an hour or so after we opened it. I have a very keen sense of smell but didn't have a problem with the odor. It's neither too warm nor too cold for us. This is a great mattress. I loved this mattress so much, I ordered one for my 73yr old father. He, too, loves this mattress. His hip pain has improved significantly since sleeping on his new mattress. Just a side note, my father and I are both back sleepers. My husband is a side sleeper and thinks the mattress is just ok, but he doesn't mind it though.
I typically don't leave reviews, but this mattress has greatly improved my sleep that I had to. I hope my review helps others.
"
Review 3 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:King of prussia, PA
Date:October 31, 2014

Worst Purchase

"Using this bed for past 6 months, after 3 months i feel i sleep in some pothole, so i turned the bed, my leg side become my head place, first couple of months okay no issue, then started again, now i no need pillow, because body place lower than head place. When i wake up in the morning, feeling heavy pain of back pain, not getting proper sleep."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 23, 2014

Low quality, bad odor

Pros: costco delivery and warranty price
Cons: quality manufacturer quality control odor.
"I do not understand why there are reviews for King and separate for CAL-King size of the same mattress. However, after a week and having to tow it back to the warehouse, here are my two cents:
Quality; is low. No label on the side or anywhere, no handle to move although pretty heavy. On mine, one corner was missing some interlayer material cause it never expended. The cover material is cheap and threads are coming out of it from the manufacturer(no QC?). The surface got never flat, even after two days of "breathing".
Support; I would rate it to 7 firm, although the top memory foam is deceiving. You lay on it, and slowly sinking. Try moving at night; take some effort. I am sure this would be nice for under 150 lb pounds person, but I am 200, so the top layer gets all the way down to the much supportive layer underneath, and that's giving the impression of being firm. I tried sleeping on it; I felt it warm and my neck hurts in the morning(it might be my too high pillow I used with my old mattress). All in all, I was not impressed.
Odor; this alone made me decide to return it. After leaving it breathe for two days we tried sleeping on it. If it would be proven pleasant, I would be asking the manufacturer for a replacement anyway for the defects it came with. But at night, the room filled with that chemical odor to the point I got up and woke up my wife just to remove it as I could not stand it anymore. It is bad, some kind of chemical that turn your stomach upside down. I never ever experienced any odors with mattresses before. Something is wrong with this material. If you sleep on your stomach and put your nose into it, is even worse. My wife slept ok and for her the odor was not that strong. Some are saying that they got used to it, but I can not imagine leaving with that odor in my bedroom.
So if you're a heavy person, if you like plush mattresses or ultra-firm mattresses, or if you know you are sensitive to odors and like fresh air in your room, this mattress is not for you.
I would not recommend it to anybody, and actually I am wondering why Costco keep selling it. At this price I had much better quality by SEALY.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chicago il
Date:November 5, 2014

god product and good value

"Amazing product. I was skeptical but after taking a chance with reassurance of amazing return policy by costco the best mattress purchase ever. Try it."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Murfreesboro, TN
Date:September 4, 2014

Totally Satisfied

"This mattress may be the best purchase I've ever made, considering I bought online. Consumer Reports gave it a high rating and I now know why. Very firm but not hard. Came quickly and well packaged. No smell. Full size within 24 hours."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westchester, CA
Date:November 13, 2014

Best Mattress with No Back Pain After Sleep

Pros: comfort price no pain!
Cons: it's a heavy mattress.
Model Number: 727387
"Wow! We've had this mattress for just over two months. It's amazing! I used to wake up night after night w/pain in various areas of my back. I thought someone was kicking my butt at night! My chiropractor recommended a firmer gel or memory foam mattress from Costco. He informed me of their amazing return policy too. So Iread all the reviews I could. This mattress is a godsend! I wake up every morning and feel like I should after sleeping! NO PAIN! And my wife loves it too. She says it's the most comfortable mattress she's ever had. I would say it's a medium/firm, but it is still soft enough to make you feel comfortable and plush. The kids are a little bummed that they can't jump on M&D's bed like they could before. But we're head over heals for it. We let it sit out in the living room for 1 day before lugging it into the bedroom. It really didn't have any weird smells that bothered either one of us either. You can't go wrong w/Costco and their return policy either. Take the chance and purchase this mattress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:October 20, 2014

amazing deal

Model Number: Gel memory foam 14 " king size mattress
"we bought this mattress 3 weeks ago from Costco knowing their excellent return policy if problems. The mattress box is cumbersome but has wheels. husband and son moved it upstairs. Mattress installed at 11 am, after reading the reviews we decided to give a full 24 hours before using it. We opened the windows.By evening, the overall smell was minimal, mattress was fully extended and we decided to sleep on it. First night was an adjustment, I was too hot, my hubby was too cold. But since then, we just can't believe how good it feels. No more hip or back pain when getting up. Best decision made at a fraction of what a similar mattress would have cost elsewhere."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:October 5, 2014

Great value

Pros: ideal for back sleepers
Cons: firmer than expected
"I purchased this product about a month ago and am sleeping the best I've slept in years. Good deep sleep. However, the mattress is firmer than I expected and it took some getting used to."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SSF
Date:October 4, 2014

Good, but not for us.

Pros: very comfortable
Cons: to hot
Model Number: Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress
"Very comfortable. Not too hard and not to soft. We would have kept it if it didn't get so hot. We recommended to our friends that sleep cold."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:October 4, 2014

Great bed purchase

Pros: very comfortable
Cons: limited flexibility once opened, very heavy and non-flexible for moving later
"The box comes with wheels at the bottom so that made it easier to transport home from the store. There was no chemical smell at opening and we slept on it the first night. Writing this review at the 3 week point and the bed is excellent in every respect. No hot spots and no lumps. Not the standard mattress depth so you will need bedding sheets that fit/14 inches from top to bottom. Extremely heavy mattress and the thickness makes it seem difficult to bend for moving, so when we move to our next location, moving this mattress will not be easy. We did not research the return policy before purchasing (and we will not be returning it because we like the mattress) but that may be a problem for those that don't like it. Moving this mattress once it is down is not an easy task."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nipomo Ca
Date:October 26, 2014

Best Mattress

Pros: firm, never sags
Cons: heavy
"It did take a bit for it to air out to get rid of the smell but this is the best money we have ever spent on a mattress. We honestly couldn't be happier. I waited 5 months to review because I wanted to give it a fair chance...LOVE IT!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:October 12, 2014

Great price for a great mattress

Pros: great price comfortable
Cons: heavy
"This was delivered to our door in the middle of winter. We had already removed our old mattress and were worried how we would sleep that night. It was very heavy, but we got it onto the bed and cut off all of the plastic. It made a giant "W". Over the next few hours, it exploded to life. By the time we were ready to go to bed, it was lying flat.
This mattress is so comfortable...we just love it! It is very heavy, so making the bed with fitted sheets is a bit of a struggle, but we do it together.
If there was a chemical smell, we were not offended by it.
I would definately recommend this mattress if a good night's sleep is important to you."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:November 6, 2014

Incredible Mattress - Better Value!

Pros: comfort, price, value, durability, coolness
Cons: weight
Model Number: 727413
"As someone who has always slept on soft/medium box spring mattresses, I was a bit hesitant about getting a memory foam mattress that so many have described it as unbearably firm. But after 8 months, I could not be happier with this purchase!
I would describe the mattress as a good medium/firm, but it is still soft enough and not uncomfortable in any way. Not once have I woken up to pain. The mattress provides excellent support and has relieved any soreness I became accustom to after waking up on my traditional soft box spring mattress. The mattress gently cradles you but does not allow you to sink in and end up sleeping in a pit. Furthermore, the foam has an excellent response time.
Inevitably memory foam mattresses retain heat more than box spring mattresses, but I have not noticed significant heat retention. This was a great concern for me as I am a person who sleeps very hot, but I have been fine with the AC or fan on during the summer.
The foam smell was very minimal during initial unpacking. I opened the mattress after work one evening to unfold and it was ready for sleep by 9PM that evening.
The only con I can think of is the weight. It is a heavy mattress that could prove difficult for future moving. But then again, what memory foam mattress isn't?
All in all, I highly recommend purchasing this mattress. I am extremely satisfied with my purchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia, MD
Date:October 29, 2014

Cradled in Comfort

Pros: availability, costco, price, comfortable
Cons: sitting on the edge is not so comfortable
"When I sat on the bed I thought it seeped down lower than what I was use to, but when I sat my weight on the bed not just on the edge, I was amazed and how I did not sink down so much. It felt a little cradling.
I could move and change my position and I found it easy to fall asleep. I woke up with no aches for the first time in 18 months.
I'm use to FIRM mattresses and I would say this is medium.
I'm not spring chicken and I do have arthritis this bed helped me get over aches faster. I paint, I run and I cycle. This is great sleeping mattress."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 11, 2014

Worst purchase ever

Pros: does not smell after removing from the box.
Cons: not 14". only 11 and 12". uneven and deformed., deformed corners. defective sides, poor cover quality, poor customer service from the manufacturer.
Model Number: Novaform 705717
"Not 14" but is only 12" after 72 hours.
Very poor quality cover like a usable grocery bag material.
Uneven and deformed, defective corners and sides.
Looks and feels like 20 years old mattress. Mfr. doe snot stand by the warranty and has no contact information except online form, which they never reply back.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.