Customer Reviews for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. This luxurious extra-thick memory foam mattress offers the ultimate sleeping experience. Three layers work interactively for the perfect balance of comfort, support and the optimal sleep temperature. The plush top layer features our new, advanced formula of gel-infused memory foam that keeps cool throughout the night. The middle layer of air channel foam provides enhanced airflow and further adds to the perfectly cool comfort. Finally, the base layer of special support foam provides long-lasting durability and helps reduce tossing and turning. The mattress is finished with a luxurious, quilted cover that is beautifully tailored for a rich look and feel. Mattress: Mattress thickness: 14" Top layer: 3 inches of 3 lb. density gel memory foam for cool, cradling comfort Middle layer: 3 inches of 2 lb. density air channel foam for enhanced air flow Bottom layer: 8 inches of 2 lb. density base foam for long lasting support Box spring not included Features: Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633-Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Helps reduce tossing and turning for a restful night’s sleep Provides superior pressure point relief, evenly distributing body weight Holds its shape with no flipping or rotating needed Medium feel Quilted, plush cover is flame retardant and conforms to strict Federal standards Memory foam made in the USA 100% hypoallergenic foam 20-year limited warranty Compressed and packaged for easy transport and delivery with simple instructions for setup, use and care King Mattress dimensions: 76" W x 80" L x 14" H; Weight: 103.8 lbs The Novaform® mattress comes compressed and packed for delivery, with simple instructions for setup, use and care. If you have any questions regarding this product please contact Sleep Innovations at 1-888-999-0499.
Average Customer Rating:
3.69 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
20 of 29(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Review 1 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 8, 2014

Good for the price!

Model Number: 727413
" We've had our new mattress for almost 2 months and definitely took some getting used to. The top layer was pretty soft for someone that prefers a firmer mattress and the rest of the mattress was fairly firm for someone that likes a softer mattress, but both of us have grown accustomed to it and both love it now. It does hold heat, so if you run hot, it may not be the right fit for you (or you need to find 'cool' sheets). Would definitely recommend and buy again! "
Review 2 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Twin Mattress.
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 27, 2014

CONFORTABLE From First Night!!!

Pros: comfy comfy comfy!!!!!
Cons: expensive for a twin but worth it.
" We all know that a mattress usually is not feeling it's best on the first night. It takes time to sleep on it and break it in. But, for me this mattress the first night really felt good. I slept all night I hardly moved, and had no pressure points. I would not describe it as firm and I would not describe it as soft it is right in the middle. To give you a reference point I used to like pillow top mattresses that were soft. This is the equivalent without springs but it is soft medium not soft. I am looking to see if they have this in a queen for my guestroom. I bought a twin. I have had mattresses before that retained heat I did not have that problem with this one. I actually spent over $7000 on a Tempur-pedic for my master bedroom and that one does retain a little heat. This mattress does not at all it is very nice. "
Review 3 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:November 23, 2014

Horrible for us

Pros: easy return, cost
Cons: not supportive
" We bought the mattress knowing it would be easily returned if necessary. It went in the room well enough and was fun to watch "bloom" into a mattress. We first tried it on the floor, then on a bed with slats. We added 2 different mattress toppers. We walked on it, we slept in every different configuration. We gave it 5 months and then gave up (after I slept in the guest room for 3 weeks). If you're used to Tempurpedic, this is NOT equivalent (in our opinion). Fortunately, it did fold in half and we secured it with heavy-gauge fishing line to get it in the back of our SUV, and back to the store. Lots of looks in the warehouse but the return went much more smoothly than I expected. If you're up for an experiment, I'd recommend giving this mattress a try, in case it works better for you, solely because of the ease of the return, if necessary. Provided, of course, that you have a way to get it back - it DOES NOT go back in the original box!! "
Review 4 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:November 7, 2014

no more aches and pains

Pros: best mattress ever; no more aches and pains
Cons: none
" I used to wake up in the middle of the night and just be awake for hours. Then I realized it was because of my old mattress. It caused just enough discomfort that my body was not able to relax and fall back to sleep. (It's so mild, you're not even aware you're uncomfortable). My father had the same issue. Since getting this mattress, if I wake up, I fall right back to sleep. This mattress doesn't " feel" amazing or anything, but I sleep through the night and don't have aches and pains when I wake up. Adding a mattress pad I bought from costco does make it feel a little softer; they sell it intermittently throughout the year, but I don't remember who makes it.
The customer service guy told me this is their firmest mattress even though the description states it's a medium. It feels firm and you sink in just a little bit.(I like firm mattresses) It really does disperse your weight evenly, so you don't end up with focal pressure points. I did have to swap out my memory foam contour pillow to a down alternative pillow. For me, a memory foam mattress requires a different pillow than a traditional mattress. Since you sink into the mattress just a little from your body heat and your head doesn't (bcuz your head is not directly on the mattress, it does not sink along with your body), you may need a lower profile pillow.
We bought this mattress from the warehouse in September and slept on it an hour or so after we opened it. I have a very keen sense of smell but didn't have a problem with the odor. It's neither too warm nor too cold for us. This is a great mattress. I loved this mattress so much, I ordered one for my 73yr old father. He, too, loves this mattress. His hip pain has improved significantly since sleeping on his new mattress. Just a side note, my father and I are both back sleepers. My husband is a side sleeper and thinks the mattress is just ok, but he doesn't mind it though.
I typically don't leave reviews, but this mattress has greatly improved my sleep that I had to. I hope my review helps others.
"
Review 5 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia, MD
Date:October 26, 2014

Best Sleep In Years

Pros: cost, return policy
Cons: sit and sink
" I was downsizing from a King size 5 year old Simmons BeautyRest, Extra Firm. I wasn't ready for a big investment, so I thought the "intro" price was great to see what all the buzz was about. I've been sleeping MUCH better from night ONE. I'm not a spring chicken, I have arthritis in my hip and I've been waking up pain free and stiffness free. I fall asleep faster, I'm in a deep sleep and wake up more refreshed.
I don't like the way the mattress sinks when you sit on the edge, but when you lay on it or sit most of your body on the bed, the weight is evenly distributed with no sinking feel.
I know what I have and I may keep it, but I believe the Black Diamond may be the firmness I seek. "
Review 6 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Franklin, VT
Date:October 4, 2014

Great Mattress for the price

Pros: sleep great; no aches and pains in the morning, easy to haul home; set up with the box with wheels
Cons: glue smell for a couple days
Model Number: 14" Gel Foam
" When I was thinking of purchasing this mattress; there were mixed reviews of either 5s or 1s so I was nervous. I saw it at my local Costco on sale for a price I couldn't pass up. Brought it home; opened it up and saw the bump in the middle; pulled up on each sides and it took the line out. I have been sleeping on this mattress for two weeks and wake up feeling great every morning. Not an ache or pain; unlike our old mattress. You can't beat this mattress for the price. It is easy to haul home in the box. I would totally recommend this mattress for sure. "
Review 7 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San jose ca
Date:November 30, 2014

Worst purchase ever

Pros: good support
Cons: bad design
" First night on this Novafoam bed and its 4am. I am switching back my old mattress. This bed kept me awake all night. It body that is in contact with the mattress feels warm. This is going back to the warehouse tomorrow. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:King of prussia, PA
Date:October 31, 2014

Worst Purchase

" Using this bed for past 6 months, after 3 months i feel i sleep in some pothole, so i turned the bed, my leg side become my head place, first couple of months okay no issue, then started again, now i no need pillow, because body place lower than head place. When i wake up in the morning, feeling heavy pain of back pain, not getting proper sleep. "
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 23, 2014

Low quality, bad odor

Pros: costco delivery and warranty price
Cons: quality manufacturer quality control odor.
" I do not understand why there are reviews for King and separate for CAL-King size of the same mattress. However, after a week and having to tow it back to the warehouse, here are my two cents:
Quality; is low. No label on the side or anywhere, no handle to move although pretty heavy. On mine, one corner was missing some interlayer material cause it never expended. The cover material is cheap and threads are coming out of it from the manufacturer(no QC?). The surface got never flat, even after two days of "breathing".
Support; I would rate it to 7 firm, although the top memory foam is deceiving. You lay on it, and slowly sinking. Try moving at night; take some effort. I am sure this would be nice for under 150 lb pounds person, but I am 200, so the top layer gets all the way down to the much supportive layer underneath, and that's giving the impression of being firm. I tried sleeping on it; I felt it warm and my neck hurts in the morning(it might be my too high pillow I used with my old mattress). All in all, I was not impressed.
Odor; this alone made me decide to return it. After leaving it breathe for two days we tried sleeping on it. If it would be proven pleasant, I would be asking the manufacturer for a replacement anyway for the defects it came with. But at night, the room filled with that chemical odor to the point I got up and woke up my wife just to remove it as I could not stand it anymore. It is bad, some kind of chemical that turn your stomach upside down. I never ever experienced any odors with mattresses before. Something is wrong with this material. If you sleep on your stomach and put your nose into it, is even worse. My wife slept ok and for her the odor was not that strong. Some are saying that they got used to it, but I can not imagine leaving with that odor in my bedroom.
So if you're a heavy person, if you like plush mattresses or ultra-firm mattresses, or if you know you are sensitive to odors and like fresh air in your room, this mattress is not for you.
I would not recommend it to anybody, and actually I am wondering why Costco keep selling it. At this price I had much better quality by SEALY.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 11, 2014

Worst purchase ever

Pros: does not smell after removing from the box.
Cons: not 14". only 11 and 12". uneven and deformed., deformed corners. defective sides, poor cover quality, poor customer service from the manufacturer.
Model Number: Novaform 705717
" Not 14" but is only 12" after 72 hours.
Very poor quality cover like a usable grocery bag material.
Uneven and deformed, defective corners and sides.
Looks and feels like 20 years old mattress. Mfr. doe snot stand by the warranty and has no contact information except online form, which they never reply back.
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chicago il
Date:November 5, 2014

god product and good value

" Amazing product. I was skeptical but after taking a chance with reassurance of amazing return policy by costco the best mattress purchase ever. Try it. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Murfreesboro, TN
Date:September 4, 2014

Totally Satisfied

" This mattress may be the best purchase I've ever made, considering I bought online. Consumer Reports gave it a high rating and I now know why. Very firm but not hard. Came quickly and well packaged. No smell. Full size within 24 hours. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2014

So far, fabulous!

" We've only had this for a week, but so far it's great! It's firm, but not too firm. I've slept like a baby since we've had it and I normally suffer from terrible insomnia. It was easy to set up and seemed to have fully expanded after just a few hours. The odor was very bad at first so I opened my windows (41 degrees outside!) and used a fan. Within two hours the mattress was odor free and we were able to sleep on it the first night. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:December 27, 2014

Returning the Mattress

Cons: way too hard too thick and bad memory foam.
Model Number: 14" Gel Memory Foam
" I purchased this full size mattress because I own another Novaform queen size mattress which I like a lot. This full size was nothing like the one I already own. It was incredibly hard and the memory foam was very slow to react and not supportive in the right ways. It seems like there are major inconsistencies among Novaform mattresses that have the same name. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wexford, PA
Date:December 26, 2014

Super for me

Pros: very comfortable and very durable (for 4 years)
Cons: don't know
" I have two novaform 14" gel memory form queen size mattresses. One is for me and wife, another is for parents in law. Ours has been used for 4 years and has been still good. I read a couple of cons opinions about durability of flatness. But, ours is still good. It may be related with the weight because we are asians with rather light weight than westerns. My weight is around 155~160 lb. I am not sure my hypothesis is true or not. Anyway, I love this mattress very much and I'd like to buy it for kids. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:December 24, 2014

Not the old Novaform from Costco

Pros: great price., great packaging and easy transport (home)., costco warranty and return policy.
Cons: not consistent with the older models., no full size demo at store to test before purchase
Model Number: 727407
" I've purchased two queen Novaform mattresses from Costco about 7 years ago (master bedroom and guest bedroom). They were excellent. I've also suggested these mattresses to friends. We simply decided to upgrade from a queen to a king and this was the only king size mattress at the local store. Brought it home and it's much firmer than the other two. My girlfriend is waking up with no circulation to her arms in the night. I am sure I can get used to this mattress (after carrying it up 4 flights of stairs) however I don't think she will adjust. I wish this was just a larger version of the older mattress. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
This review is fromNovaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam Queen Mattress.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 23, 2014

How long for this mattress to lay flat?

Pros: good for my back
Cons: does not lay flat hard on shoulder for side sleep
" This mattress arrived last Monday. We let it air out for 2 nights before we slept on it. We tried it for two nights before our guests arrived. It is a firm mattress, but we both noticed that our backs were not as stiff and sore as our conventional mattress we purchase less that a year ago. The mattress still has a "hole" in the middle and still has not laid flat on the bed. It still looks like a taco. Even with both of us laying on the bed, my side is still 4 inches above the box spring and I weigh about 35 pounds more than my wife. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Merritt Island, FL
Date:November 23, 2014

This mattress drove my partner out of bed

Pros: costco customer service
Cons: uncomfortable, unreliable, painful, smells terrible for the first week
" I recently replaced my 7 year old Novaform queen mattress with this king mattress. The mattress I was replacing is still as comfortable today as it was 7 years ago when I first purchased it; so I had no doubts about buying it again (just larger). The new one was amazingly comfortable in the beginning, however it has worn extremely poorly in the short 13 months we have had it. There are 2 deep craters in the bed where each of us sleeps, and a huge hump in the middle. We literally have to climb out of the bed in the morning. We have tried rotating the mattress, that didn't help. About 6 months ago my partner started having shooting pains in his back and legs that only came on when he got in the bed. It has gotten so bad that he now sleeps in the guest room (on the old Novaform mattress) most nights. Save yourself time and money and avoid this mattress at all costs. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:November 11, 2014

Best Purchase EVER! Life Changing!

Pros: great for getting thru small hallways, price
Cons: little heavy
" I have to admit we were very hesitant on purchasing a mattress that came out of a box, but it has been life changing in a GOOD WAY! Living in a small 1930's home with a very small stairway... the novaform box was our only option to get a KING size mattress. The mattress does not smell, maybe smells new in a good way for the first few minutes. The bump in the middle of the mattress went away after a few nights we can barely notice now. I can move around without disturbing my fiance, we don't wake up in pain anymore....its been life changing. It is just firm enough, sleeps like a DREAM! Honestly I don't see much difference between this mattress and the $3,000 dollar tempurpedic bed my friends bought. If you need a new mattress this is the BEST way to go! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Novaform® 14" Gel Memory Foam King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:October 20, 2014

amazing deal

Model Number: Gel memory foam 14 " king size mattress
" we bought this mattress 3 weeks ago from Costco knowing their excellent return policy if problems. The mattress box is cumbersome but has wheels. husband and son moved it upstairs. Mattress installed at 11 am, after reading the reviews we decided to give a full 24 hours before using it. We opened the windows.By evening, the overall smell was minimal, mattress was fully extended and we decided to sleep on it. First night was an adjustment, I was too hot, my hubby was too cold. But since then, we just can't believe how good it feels. No more hip or back pain when getting up. Best decision made at a fraction of what a similar mattress would have cost elsewhere. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>