Customer Reviews for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2

Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
5 of 12(42%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Review 1 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 2, 2013

Not happy

"Pic and sound not very good. Worked for 30 mins then remote died. Changed batteries and still won't work. Not a good buy!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mass.
Date:March 25, 2013

Not worth it

Pros: costco had the best price.
Cons: picture isn't as sharp as i had hoped., takes too long to turn on.
Model Number: Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
"If I could have put off buying a smart TV, I would have. The picture isn't that sharp and it takes several minutes to turn on!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 25, 2013

Vizio 40" Razor Led Smart TV

Pros: great picture
Cons: sound quality could be better
Model Number: Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
"The sound quality isn't the same as my Sony but it's OK. It would have been helpful to know it needed additional cables to connect to the cable box. I would have purchased them from Costco when I ordered the TV."
Review 4 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 17, 2013

What a Piece of Junk

Pros: none
Cons: everything
Model Number: E401i-A2
"We purchased this TV in mid-January, only to find out that we had a defective remote. After almost a month of dealing with Vizio's "Customer Service", we finally got a new one. Yesterday, after less than one month of use, the TV died. Before it died, we also were dealing with the sound cutting out and thought it was our cable connection. After reading the reviews here, I now believe it was probably the defective TV.It will be returned to Costco and we will NEVER purchase another Vizio TV."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2013
Pros: great picture
Cons: lousy apps and poor log in methods.
Model Number: E401i-A2
"I thought that an LED did not have reflections but this set has a slight screen reflection. Most of the APPS are useless to me. I want different APPS if possible and eliminate useless APPS"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2013

Horrible and disappointing

"I too had problems with the remote (because of my Sonos system) and the VERY slow turn on. However, the TV was defective (broken cable) after owning it for 3 days. We called Vizio. They are aware of the "defect", but said that it was not covered under warranty and refuse to fix the problem. DO NOT BUY THIS TV (or any by Vizio). JUNK!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013

Incompatible with Sonos sound system

Pros: wifi-enabled
Cons: dim display, incompatible with sonos music system
"Bought this 40" model because of previous good experience with 47" Visio 3D TV. Found picture to be rather dull and dim, even in a dark room with brightness control turned all the way up and auto-dimming function disabled.
However, the remote control stopped working after about 1 minute. Only button on remote that worked was the power switch. After waiting about a minute, the TV would turn on again, but remote continually stopped functioning after a few minutes. Called Visio support and after telling them the model number and symptoms the first question they asked was "do you have a Sonos sound system?" When I said yes, they stated that there is a known incompatibility between the DLNA implementation in some Vizio models that causes the problems I experienced when a Sonos system is present. Vizio suggested changing the broadcast channels on the Sonos to another frequency, but this did not work.
I called Sonos and they said that they too were aware of the problem, and that the Vizio TVs were the only brand that has this problem. Although Sonos offered a strange fix that involved signing up for the "last.fm" service, this did not work either. The Sonos tech elevated my case to a higher level of support, but by this time I was leery of the Vizio TV and returned it.
Bottom Line: If you have a Sonos system, or plan to get one, check carefully to see if your Vizio TV will function properly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:February 19, 2013

So far so goood.

Pros: wifi, netflix, thin, connector placement and power cable size
Model Number: Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
"Easy to setup and mount on bedroom wall. Connected to downstairs wifi easily enough (others may have an issue with encryption used (wep vs WPA2)). Streams Netflix really well. Once we disabled ambient light sensor picture was bright and sharp. Sound is a touch flat, but so far we like it. This replaces a Westinghouse that died after 2 weeks. Also, the connectors are much better located than on other manufacturers, don't know why they all do follow this pattern."
Review 9 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:February 10, 2013

Disappointed with this T.V.

Pros: costco's 90 day return policy
Cons: dull picture, poor sound, takes 18 seconds to turn on, wifi won't connect
Model Number: E401i-A2
"This TV takes 18 seconds to turn on. Picture was dull, and paled in comparison to the cheap Westinghouse it replaced. No amount of adjustment rendered a decent picture. Sound was poor. Wifi wouldn't connect with repeated efforts. Took it back today and got a Samsung"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica
Date:February 2, 2013

great value for wi-fi enabled television

Model Number: E401i-A2
"Purchased at Costco store one week ago. Sharp picture, decent audio, connected right away to our wi-fi and NetFlix account. Very low price considering all the features. A Vizio sales rep at the store helped us make our selection -- but there was really no alternative unless we wanted to spend WAY MORE on a Samsung model."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:February 1, 2013

Very happy so far

Pros: easy set up and operation.
Cons: nothing so far.
Model Number: E401i-A2
"We had just purchased a 65" Vizio smart TV for our living room and wanted to get something for our bedroom. This 40" fills the bill nicely. It was easy to set up, has a great picture and the sound is pretty good, too. We may be adding external speakers but for now, it is really just fine."
Review 12 for Vizio 40" Class (40.00" Diag.) Razor LED™ Smart TV E401i-A2
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2013

Sound & Internet connectivity issues

"Bought at local Costco today will be returning tomorrow. Easy to set up,good picture but sound goes out frequently and was unable to use wifi connection. Very disappointed with my first "Smart" TV purchase."