Customer Reviews for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras

Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
4
10 of 19(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Review 1 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2013

Works well; requires knowledge to work remotely

Pros: good camera resolution
Cons: weak documentation
"The product was easy to install and worked well after it was set up. Camera resolution is excellent. User interface is relatively easy to use. Documentation is a little weak.
One camera died on me after a few weeks. I called Swann Tech Support and they promptly sent me a new camera. No questions asked.
Requires knowledge of computer networks to get the remote access to work - and there is very little documentation on this subject included with the product. So, be prepared for that reality. Each Internet router can be different. So, by trail-and-error, I got my DSL router configured eventually.
A note: DSL does not provide good remote access - the upload speeds are too slow; a cable Internet connection is much better suited for this application!"
Review 2 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wayne, PA
Date:August 6, 2013

Best Purchase ever

Model Number: Swann 8 channel HD NVR security system
"We love it, it is a great product. The cameras could not be any better. The tech support were phenomenal, well mannered people. The setup was so easy even I could do it, and I am not very computer savvy. Of course with the help of the tech support. Watching my home from work live is as clear as it comes with the HD quality. I thank Swann for the product that they provided for us. Even though it is a little bit loud because of the HD quality. But I put up with it for the better picture. I also just purchased one for my business as well because I loved it so much."
Review 3 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis
Date:June 6, 2013

Great system for the money

Pros: excellent daytime picture, capable technical assistance
Cons: lacks good documentation, software could be better
"I've owned this system for about 3 months. Basic setup was a breeze. All it required was to plug in the cameras and turn on the NVR. Getting it connected to the internet was more difficult. The very detailed documentation is confusing. Luckily, their technical assistance team was very helpful and patient. One of the main issues is that their default IP setting for the NVR interferes with some routers (I have an old G rated model from Linksys). Once that was changed, everything we could connect to the internet for remote access.
Another issue I had at first was very slow remote access. The problem was that I had set up the remote access to send the full 1080p images. By using the "sub-stream" instead, I can now watch in real-time. The sub-stream image quality is similar to what you might get with a 480-600 line analog system. My system still records at 1080p, and I can remotely view the recorded images at 1080p, but when I view real-time, I watch the lower quality images. This works just fine, and I would expect to see similar results from most manufacturers of consumer systems. The fact is that the NVR has limited computing power, so it directs most of its resources toward recording (which is the correct choice).
Another issue I had was that after 2.5 months, all my camera's temporarily stopped recording at night. I checked the settings on the NVR, reset the recording parameters, and everything began working again. This system has a 3 year warranty, so I'm not concerned.
I wish the software was better. I've experience Q-See's software. I Find the Swann software a little better (a bit more intuitive). Unfortunately, neither company makes really good software."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:April 11, 2013

NVR ok but cameras poor

Pros: nvr seems ok
Cons: very poor cameras
Model Number: nvr8-7200
"I set up one camera pointing at my driveway to evaluate the system. The cameras that come with system produce images that are very noisy. The daytime image was poor. I could almost not tell it was me when I walked past the camera (15 feet from camera). Years ago I had a 640x480 cheap camera outside my door that produced a better image than these cameras. The night time image was worse. My head looked like a glowing blob. No cantrast/brightness correction would improve the night image. What good is a security camera if you can't tell who the person is from the image? I returned the system."
Review 5 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

Good product / very good value

Pros: picture quality, price, features
Cons: manual
Model Number: nvr8-7200
"Technologically the product seems very good.
The manual is horrible, however the SWANN technical support (contrary to some reports in here) was fast, competent and able to resolve all the issues. In fact they send you a detailed e-mail on how to set up your wireless device for remote monitoring.
I do not have a PC, Mac only. There is no need for SWANN software installation after an appropriate Safari plug-in is installed.
The only problem I encountered was remote monitoring on iPhone 3GS - did not work (probably too old, too slow). It works fine on iPhone 4S and Samsung Galaxy S3.
"
Review 6 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:April 4, 2013

returned

Pros: hd image
Cons: remote access issue loud noise
Model Number: NVR8-7200
"Returned it because remote access does not work. It can be seen only from local network, not away from home. Costco concierge tryed all settings, none of them worked."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:March 31, 2013

Noisy and not fully Mac os compatible

Pros: excellent user interface (ui) with mouse on nvr, easy set up for standard operation, complicated set up options are easy with ui
Cons: noisy, zero camera information
Model Number: Item # 730186
"Before ordering this NVR, I called Swann Technical Support to verify that the NVR was compatible with Mac os and that the iPad app could view live video and recorded video from the NVR. I was told yes.
When I received the NVR, I did a temporary set up in my living room using my 60 inch HDTV as a monitor. The first thing I noticed was the load noise from the NVR. I did get a nice HD picture from the one camera.
There is no Mac os information or software provided with the NVR and if the NVR was fully compliant with the Mac os, no extra documentation or software would be required. With the exception of no video from the NVR, the NVR seemed to work with Safari Browser. The NVR requires a special Safari Plug-in from an unidentified developer for video display from the NVR. I did change my Mac os security setting to allow installation of software from any developer and I did install install the special Safari Plug-in. With the special plug-in, I could use the Safari Browser to view video from the NVR and change the NVR settings. If I traveled to another location and wanted to use a Mac that was not mine, I would not be allowed to install the special plug-in.
If I kept this NVR, I would not want it in my computer room. I would install it in my basement. The NVR noise may not be objectionable to PC users.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:california
Date:March 31, 2013

Returned product

Pros: cameras had good resolution
Cons: swann tech support
Model Number: Swann 4 camera recorder product # 728636
"I received this product quickly. I was happy with the cameras performance. I tried to test the system prior to installing the cameras, only to find out that the system would not load. I contacted the tech support at Swann. I was told to remove the cover and try to fix the hard drive. The conversation was annoying and I told the technician I will return the product instead. Costco took it back no problems. I Liked how Costco handled the situation, but I did not like how the technician at Swann treated me."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 29, 2013

LOUD Fan

Pros: poe, 1080p hd cameras
Cons: loud fan, could not connect remotely
Model Number: CONVR-A81080P
"Swann 8 channel NVR- Fan is LOUD and runs non-stop even when the unit is not recording. What is the point of having a surveillance system if a thief can hear it running as soon as they break-in. It will be the first electronic they grab. Called Costco Concierge and she heard the fan over the phone and said the same thing before I could even say it! They connected me to Swann support who said that was a “normal” fan noise. Camera quality is very good and POE is nice, however that does not compensate for the LOUD fan. Could not connect remotely because AT&T U-verse router does not support PnP and when I forwarded the port manually I still could not connect. Can’t believe Costco is selling this unit. I am returning it."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2013

good w/ the bad

Pros: night vision, clear daytime photos, poe, motion capture
Cons: loud, documentation is lacking, remote viewing has issues, iphone app doesn't work properly/clunky interface
"The cameras in this kit are great. I have nothing to compare it to but both night vision & daylight provide "perfect" pictures. Before I started drilling holes in the exterior of my house I set a camera up inside and was pleasantly surprised to see the timeline highlighted whenever there was motion. The fan is a little noisy, but no louder than my PC when its encoding video.
I have a CS degree and know my way around a network and its hardware, but getting the NVR to actually stream anything remotely was a huge pain in the rear. I never did get it to work, except when connecting to the NVR locally. Not being able to monitor these cameras off-site defeats the purpose of having them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 26, 2013

Excellent Value

Pros: excellent resolution, good night vision, 30fps at 1920x1080 on all channels is terrific, ipad app works well, simple wiring, easy setup, recorder supports onvif cameras
Cons: fan noise is similar to an older pc
"I have had several 640x480 IP cameras for some years and I was shopping for a higher resolution addition when I noticed this system. I had hoped I could either integrate my old cameras with this system, or add the cameras from this system to my old setup. Neither could be done. These are not what I imagined to be internet protocol cameras. They don't have a mac address, so they can't be accessed directly from a browser. That means the cameras have to be directly connected to the recorder, so it's more like a network connected digital video recorder than a NetworkVideoRecorder. On top of that the fan in the box is apparently designed for a worst case environment, rather than adjusting for load and temperature. It could easy be better designed. I have my system located in an equipment room, so not a big issue for me.
All that said, this system is a fantastic value and I am keeping it. I can't find anything this good anywhere near this price point. This is so much better than my existing camera system that I can easily overlook the shortcomings.
As far as additional cameras go, this system appears to support ONVIF cameras as well as the Swann models. My old system's cameras predate the ONVIF standard, but newer models are compatible. Still, I have not been able to find ONVIF cameras that have 1920x1080 resolution near the per camera price of buying this system. I am buying a second system to get four more cameras and I consider it an excellent deal.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:March 26, 2013

First security camera system!

Pros: costco concierge services for added support., crisp clear and detailed 1080p video quality., power over ethernet makes installation a snap., iphone app means you can watch from anywhere.
Cons: documentation could use refinement, swann support can be a bit challenging but works.
Model Number: 730186 (Swann NVR8-7200)
"I live in a nice neighborhood, but several recent break-ins prompted me to protect my property with a security camera system. Having four young kids playing in the yard was also a motivating factor. I went with this system for four specific reasons: 1) Costo stands behind their products, 2) This NVR8-7200 system offered the latest 1080p video quality, 3) the cameras connected to the recorder with PoE (Power over Ethernet) cabling, and 4) I could monitor with an iPhone app. Physical installation of the system is very simple, and could be done without instructions for the average Joe; however, its the network connectivity that will get complicated for most. You'll need basic understanding of your router, IP addressing, and port forwarding to do the more complex part of the installation. That's were the Costco Concierge Service is extremely important. If you cant figure it out, they can walk you through it or get Swann support. Be patient, because Swann can be challenging to work with if you need 2nd tier support. I connected my system to an Airport Extreme router, connected to a cable modem, and used a 4G phone to monitor the cameras. Here are a couple of tips not readily found in the documentation: the correct app is the SwannView NVR (not SwannView or SwannView Pro). Also, search the WEB for the Swann DDNS service and setup an account - you'll need that to remotely monitor your system. Figure out how to forward port 8000,85, and 554 on your router. There are plenty of resources on the WEB to show you how. Lastly, there are several folks complaining about the fan noise being loud as a hairdryer, which is an exaggeration. Yes, you can hear the fan, but that is because the NVR is also supplying power to the cameras as well, which means a strong power supply is needed. That, in turn requires significant cooling. Yes, you can hear the fan, but if you have a HEPA air cleaner on your home, its more comparable to that. You'll love this system...get it!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 25, 2013

Don't recommend this

"I don't know if this is just my luck or it's really a horrible product.
Turned it on with one camera to test but the recorder only lasted for one night.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:March 25, 2013

Great system for home security

Pros: works great and has huge 2tb storage, clean look / professional quality system, remote access via iphone/ipad, power over ethernet (network) cable
Cons: fan on unit is a little loud
Model Number: CONV8-A10804C
"Read several reviews on Swann security (most not great) but took a chance on this new generation of products they now offer (1080 HD video). Plus with Costco, felt comfortable that I had a way to undo it if they were not good.
Product arrived quickly and install was straight forward. The quality of video is outstanding. I also use the iPad/iPhone app to view remotely (works great). So far no negatives about the product.
Highly recommend!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 25, 2013

No cameras available for purchase

"Purchased this system and have not been able to purchase another 4 cameras to set up to the 8 channels. Page 25 of the instruction book that came with it reads:
"Note: You will see a window on the top left-hand side of the screen with a Quick Add and Search buttons. As the NVR is designed to work with the supplied cameras only, you cannot add additional network cameras; therefore this feature has been disabled."
Although I have been told I will be able to add 4 cameras that remains to be seen. I have been told different answers from different people when they might be available. Costco told me I could purchase another unit to get the additional cameras. Still waiting...
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:March 15, 2013

Major upgrade from 600TVL cameras

Pros: video clarity, features, price, wide viewing angle of cameras
Cons: dvr fan noise
"I bought this to replace my Q-see QC444 system which I had for over two years now. That system has 480TVL cameras. This unit is plug n play like others, but as soon as I hooked it up and saw the clarity of the video, I was amazed. My original plan was to keep some of my old cameras up and running and add this system for more coverage until more cameras were available for purchase.
The difference in clarity was so much that I couldn't even look at the video from my old cameras. It literally would hurt my head having to adjust my eyes from the vibrant colors and clear video of this system to the dull color and pixelated video from my old system.
Furthermore, the viewing angle on these cameras is amazing. I was able to cover my entire backyard fence to fence with one of these cameras, where I would have had to have two of my old cameras on opposite side of the yard for full coverage.
This system is a true HD experience; however, don't think that the clarity of these videos will match those of your standard HD Sony Handycam designed for shooting home movies because it won't. Don't get me wrong, it is very close, but when you zoom in you are still going to get some pixilation and you are not going to be able to clearly see license plate details on cars driving down the street, but you can see a very clear picture of the car, and even the color of the clothes and descriptors of the occupants if the windows are clear or if tinted, they are down when it passes!
The night vision is very clear as well, but it does not match the clarity of the daytime video. The IR lighting in night vision mode is very good, but it is very concentrated. So if your cameras are angled down more than out, you are only going to get a circle area of IR light coverage if in complete darkness, not a corner to corner IR light coverage. But again, that is all you need if you are trying to capture clear video of burglars or possible intruders walking through your covered area.
One thing to get used to is the sometimes constant movement of pixels on the video feed. This happens sometimes when the video is trying to process HD video in certain shaded areas that are next to sunlight areas. This is normal and is just what you get when dealing with a HD video feed. It's nothing to bring on buyer’s remorse and it doesn't interfere with the ability to capture crystal clear images of people or objects, which is the goal of surveillance videos. Don't get caught up with unreasonable expectations, you're not making a blu ray home movie here.
I haven't had the time to set up the remote viewing capabilities of this system, but I imagine that they are going to be at least on par with my old system, but with a heck of a lot more clarity.
Lastly, the fan noise of the DVR. Yes, this is going to be the number one complaint of this system, and quite frankly ALL of the HD systems out there at this time. It sure is my number one complaint. However, it is NOT noise equivalent to a hair dryer! It is very audible though and if you want to enjoy complete silence in your living room then do not put this DVR there. It is not loud to the point where you can’t hear your TV or people talking next to you, but it is going to be heard. But if you look around at other NVR HD systems from various manufacturers, they all have complaints of the fan noise. I am no electronics expert, but I assume that this is a necessary thing to keep your unit cool. I can’t imagine a company would knowingly put the fan noise in there as a design only. It must be necessary to cool a unit that is working hard processing all of the HD footage.
I see this as being something that goes away in due time as technology advances and more and more HD surveillance systems come out, but for now, it is what it is. I don’t like it, but it is a small sacrifice to make in exchange for the awesome quality you get with this system. It is not noise that you will hear in other rooms nearby. It is not going to keep you up at night or disturb quiet time in other rooms in the house. Don’t let that be the sole reason you do not buy this system. If you don’t like it, put it in another room altogether. Think outside of the box and work with it. You won’t be disappointed in the return you get, which is the best clarity in surveillance video on the market in this price range!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:March 15, 2013

This is what I wanted!!

Pros: 1080p cameras with wide angle
Cons: short cable/ wire.
"Had Qsee before which is going back!!! These have wider viewing angle of 75 and very easy to install. They could have sent 100' ethernet wire instead of 60'. Hopefully there is no problem with software or remote viewing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 14, 2013

First Timer

"This is the first surveillance system that I have tried so I don't have too much to compare it to. Seems like night IR works well. I tested this indoors and shut off all the lights and the image was still good. I was looking for an IP camera and this camera has decent resolution from about 10-20 feet away. However, when I zoom in to try and get a close-up on a face, it becomes quite distorted.
Again, nothing to compare this to but was expecting HD to be able to have a clearer picture.
Fan noise is loud but not as loud as a blow dryer as the previous reviewer commented on.
Cameras seem to get quite hot.
Easy set-up as I was recording and testing within 10 mins. Downloaded the mobile app and tried to get it to work but was unsuccessful. May try and read the instructions tomorrow to figure it out.
Will try it out for a few days and may also purchase the AvertX product to compare. I'm on the fence for now..."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Swann 8 Channel HD NVR Security System with 2TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p IP Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maui
Date:March 12, 2013

Very loud fans in recording unit

Pros: nice camera resolution., quality packing.
Cons: loud power supply and cpu fan.
"Just wanted to get a quick review in and let everyone know that the (power supply and CPU) fans in the recording unit is very loud. Hair blow dryer LOUD! I will be returning it today. For those interested - unit draws 30 watts with one camera hooked up."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.