Customer Reviews for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The large-scale Canby modular sectional features an adaptable design with a versatile look that makes it an attractive addition to any traditional or contemporary décor. The Canby is the pinnacle of comfort with premium foam encased pocketed coils seating, 8-way hand-tied springs, and back cushion webbing. The exterior frame is solid wood-encased, which ensures a quality tailored appearance and prevents fabric from stretching. The plush microfiber cover is soft to the touch and easy to clean. This transitional sectional will bring a remarkable combination of fashion and function to your home. 7-pc Modular Includes: 2 ottomans, 2 corner sections, 3 armless chairs 2 matching pillows included Color: Coffee Material:  Bella Microfiber Modular concept allowing a variety of arrangements adaptable to any space Covered in high performance microfiber for easy spot cleaning Solid wood and plywood frame construction for strength and longevity 8-way hand-tied coil springs providing superior comfort and durability Back-webbing for maximum support Premium seat cushions with individual foam encased pocketed coils   Corner Section Dimensions: 37.8” W x 37.8” D x 34.4” H Weight: 63 lbs. Armless Chair Dimensions: 33.5” W x 37.8” D x 34.4” H Weight: 50.6 lbs. Ottoman Dimensions: 33.5” W x 33.5” D x 18.9” H Weight: 32 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
10 of 16(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Review 1 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:December 27, 2013

We finally got the couch we wanted!

Pros: great price quality versatility & comfort
"We just finished our basement and had been looking at various furniture stores for a couch/sectional for our main entertainment room. Yes there are better couches out there but for 3X the cost of this one. My sister also purchased this couch and when we went to visit we decided this is what we wanted but of course they were no longer available through Costco! We waited 3-4 months for them to come back to Costco and they are finally in stores for three hundred less than online! (Due to shipping I'm sure) Some of the frame work squeaks a bit out of the box but overall seems STURDY and of good quality. Comfy to sit on but it's more of a FIRM comfort than a sink deep into the soft cushion type. Very VERSATILE which made it fit to our room exactly the way we wanted. Don't notice any weird smells, just smells like a new couch. OVERALL this is a great couch and for the price it's hard to beat!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:January 3, 2014

Crushed

Pros: beautiful color. idea of 7 pieces is fantastic.
Cons: not rigid enough to stand up to kids??
Model Number: 569588
"I've been looking to purchasing this sectional since August. Reading the reviews we decided to buy. Twice we went to purchase and they were sold out. Finally in December they had them in store and cheaper. 8 days before Christmas hauling 3 gianormous boxes 30 miles home. Christmas day family sitting on sectional. 10yr old says she heard a crack. She wasn't jumping up and down on it. Upon closer inspection, 3 of the backs were broken. Just didn't seem to be put together well. Clearly the boxes had to have been dropped or something. Sad story. Wish it had a better ending. Watch those backs. They're thin."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St George, UT
Date:February 11, 2014

Disapointed

Pros: big, comfertable, interchangeable
Cons: cheaply made, not worth $1000, you will return it
"Bought this couch the first of the year 2014. We were really excited about our purchase. That was short lived when the back of one of the sectional broke in three days. When I finally got someone from our local Costco to speak to me, a month later, they told me to bring it in an they would exchange it. That same night after the exchange I was sitting in the corner section and tried to readjust a bit further back in the chair and it broke in same place the other one did. Cheap, cheap, cheap. I can't believe Costco even sells this junk of a couch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Citrus Heights, CA
Date:November 16, 2013

Solid Purchase

Pros: great flexability
Cons: sitting in-between each module is not comfortable
"The couch is great! We love the flexibility of it being modular. One thing we did not consider in the store before purchasing was that with it being modular, there are a lot of joints in between each section, this can make laying across multiple sections uncomfortable, unless you get it just right. Overall though we use this set for sitting (not laying/sleeping) so this is not a deal breaker. Fabric is great and comfy to sit in."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central OH
Date:February 13, 2013

very comfy

Pros: good support and comfort
Cons: memory foam odor
"Great support and comfort, plus the convenience of a modular sectional. Bottom cushions as supportive as typical mattresses. Color is more of a cappuccino, darker and less drab than pictured. Despite comfort, came close to returning this item due to off-gassing with a strong memory foam odor. Gave it a few days to dissipate and it is improving. Should have left it out in the garage for a few days, then brought indoors. Pieces can be fastened into place with metal clamps (included) or left loose to rearrange. Size, flexible design and comfort consistent with furniture usually found in higher price ranges."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Paradise
Date:February 16, 2014

Disappointed

Pros: attractive; modular is awesome for space planning.
Cons: seat cushions are hard and uncomfortable
"The sofa looks great but it's anything but comfortable. Sofa delivered 12/23/13 and the foam on the armless chair I sit in is already collapsing despite that I am only a 120 pound senior - so that doesn't bode well for the long-term durability of this sofa."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint Clair Shores, MI
Date:February 20, 2014

Worst Couch Ever

"We purchased this couch in July of 2012 because of the convenience of the entire couch being 7 separate pieces. We did not even have the couch for 6 months before it started to break down. Each piece is supposed to click together and that was a fail after the first time we moved the couch around to hide the first broken down piece. I have had a company quote the repair of the couch and they stated that it would cost me $1500 at least to be fixed. They stated that the couch was filled with the lowest grade of foam. I would not recommend this couch to anyone and I wish that I would of been an online shopper and seen the reviews on this but instead I sat on it inside the warehouse and made the purchase because we were in terrible need of a couch."
Review 8 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Springfield, MA
Date:February 27, 2014

Complete Junk

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap, poor materials, not comfortable
"We contemplated purchasing this sectional for a little while - I came home and found it in the living room so I guess we decided to go with it.
In the store it looked nice and sat well. Felt pretty sturdy. After putting it together it was a different story. It felt very cheap, the sections moved all over the place and didn't stay together tight. To top it off, I sat in the corner piece, put my arm up, leaned back and the back snapped. I'm not a small guy - but I didn't jump in the corner, I just leaned back. This furniture is junk. Doesn't waste your money."
Review 9 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2014

Nice Durable Couch

Model Number: Canby
"I bought this couch in the summer of 2012 and it still looks great. I wasn't wild about the beige color because I wanted to redo my family room in taupe but I finally bought the couch because of Costco's return policy. I was tired of paying thousands of dollars for furniture that looks like trash in a few years. It's been a year and a half with teenagers and dogs and it still looks brand new. The fabric wipes off easily and the beige color can be accented with lots of colorful throw pillows. I love it."
Review 10 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:November 20, 2013

Excellent!!!

Pros: great couch, beautiful
Cons: nothing
"Just received it, wonderful fabric, like ultra suede. Firm, love the way the sections snap together. Color is camel/mocha/mushroom. Seams are beautiful, for the price a real deal! No smell, Bravo Costco, thank you for the superb communication about shipping and the great products you offer!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:November 17, 2013

Mediocre

Pros: big - fills a large room
Cons: padding got compacted, framing broke on one piece
Model Number: Canby 7-Piece Sectional
"Couch was OK but the cushions started to compact and a corner of one of the ottoman pieces broke so it was sloped down. It was returned."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2013

Very comfortable

Pros: comfortable, versatile, neutral color
Cons: only two small pillows included
"Overall very pleased with this sectional. Versatile in arrangement possibilities. I would describe the color as mocha, a darker beige that would go with most decors. I have not encountered any odors as noted in another review."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 27, 2013

Excellent Sectional - Very Good Quality for Price

Pros: good quality, good price
"Like how you can change the sectionals around and the quality is very good for the price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:January 15, 2014

Great Sectional For The Price

Pros: comfortable, huge!, easy to connect the pieces, many ways to rearrange, dog fur comes off easily, easy to keep clean
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 569588
"So far, so good. Since Costco has such an amazing return policy, I felt this sectional was an okay gamble. We got the sectional in late December 2013, so we've only had it about 3 weeks. The pieces are firm and cushy, and none of that has decreased over time. It's not the most comfortable couch I've ever sat on, but it's more than acceptable and hasn't compressed in any area yet from use. The two pillows (identical color to the couch) are also nice and cushy.
As our 4 kids are all now tweens & teens, the amount of seating in our living room has decreased to the point the 6 of us really can't all fit on furniture. I've been looking for a low-cost, contemporary, comfortable sectional, and this was perfect for our needs. Besides the 2 ottomans that just move around, the other 5 pieces connect with pre-attached, ready-to-use connectors, so they won't slide apart. If you don't want to use the connectors, you don't have to. We've had no issues with any of the pieces detaching, even with 6 people and 2 dogs hopping on and off of it as much as we all do.
Fur and the occasional drool mark from our two dogs - a mini pitbull and a chocolate lab - was a concern for me. I have to say neither issue has been bad at all. It's easy to brush the fur to one side of a sectional piece with your hand to wipe off, or vacuum, or use those sticky rollers -- all three methods get the hair off easily. I do this every 2-3 days and collect little each time. The hair doesn't seem to stick like crazy, like it does to my exercise pants. I swear, by the time I get into workout gear and out the door, I look like I have furry pants on from the knees down. That has NOT been happening to the sectional. Which is good, because the dogs L-O-V-E to lay on this. They didn't like the feel of the leather furniture we previously had, it seems. As far as messes go, the dogs have made very few marks on the couch, and I've been able to wipe them off with water and a fabric cloth, or a baby wipe. I just bought 6 cans of fabric protector, however, and I'm going to spray the sectional to help with any surprise stains from the dogs, the kids, or God forbid my husband or me.
One note about getting it home: We have a 2012 Nissan Quest, which has an amazing amount of volume for transporting big stuff like this. It took us 3 trips to get the 3 big boxes home, and on one of the trips we couldn't get the trunk door closed. Check the measurements of each box and figure on multiple trips and/or a huge vehicle for transport. You could probably take all the pieces out of the boxes to make less trips if needed. Each of the 7 pieces is protected in a big thin cotton drawstring bag, and the feet/screws for each piece are actually zipped up in a mini storage pocket under each sectional piece, so they won't get damaged on the way home out of the box. Each piece length x width is about 3' x 3', with heights ranging from about 20" to 35". Dimensions of each piece are listed in the description of the product."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:November 28, 2013

Comfortable and Versatile Set-up

"Very happy with purchase- sturdy, firm, quality fabric. Product will last for many years- seems well built; Lots of options for pieces to fit together in any type of room"
Review 16 for Canby Fabric 7-piece Modular Sectional
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Knoxville, TN
Date:November 6, 2013

We LOVE it!

Pros: comfortable, easy on the eyes, versitile, soft
Cons: wish it was a little darker in color
"This couch is awesome. My husband and I had on our eye on it for weeks and it finally went on sale and we got the last one. It is one of our best purchases! The couch is SUPER comfy and looks great. We love that it is modular so we can make it to accommodate any space we want. We did not experience any "smells" like one of the other posts referred to. It has been an excellent addition to our home and we HIGHLY recommend!"