Customer Reviews for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras

Model: C0DVK-8100004-US
Average Customer Rating:
3.395 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
25 of 38(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Review 21 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Date:January 25, 2013

Swann is the only company I would buy

Pros: support..
Cons: it will be really hard without them to help
"I bought 6 of these so far. The support is #1 the best.. you will need it I promise. They pick up the phone quick, they can log on to your PC.. and know exactly how to help. I bought others in the past and dumped them because no one to help."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:January 24, 2013

Bad out of the box

Pros: none found since system never worked
Cons: unable to get the system to work.
Model Number: codvk-810004
"System failed to work right out of the box. On first turn-on, cameras came on and looked good, then went off and never came back on. HD kept hunting but never stopped. Tech support was unable to get it going."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

Mobile phone is not working

"Mobile phone is not working for this product. Support is terrible. Know nothing about mobile, just want to change IP address, router! waste your time!"
4 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Centreville, VA
Date:February 19, 2013

Difficult figure it out.

Model Number: H.246 DVR
"It does record sometimes and black..
I could not watch from my monitor.. it just black..what the remote control doing?
difficult figure it out the operations.
"
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:February 15, 2013

2 kits Dead on Arrival

Cons: they don't work, poor customer response time
Model Number: 8100
"I plugged it in, booted it up, the camera would flick on, then off to a blank screen. Hmmm, maybe I got unlucky. So I tried a second DVR purchased at the same time. Same problem. Both dead on arrival. Called Swann and the hold was too long. Tried their chat line, but then the chat says no tech was available. So I emailed them. About 10 days (!!!) later, they finally respond that it could be the HDMI connection, which others have found to be a problem. I have not bothered trying a different video connection because if this doesn't work out of the box on TWO sets, I'm very concerned about the design and reliability going forward. So back to the store they will go."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:union city california
Date:February 6, 2013

one of your best products

"you have very good products and customer service, would buy from you in the future"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brandon, FL
Date:October 9, 2013

Poor quality. HORRIBLE tech. support.

Pros: reasonable price. easy to install.
Cons: poor quality. poor reliability. cheap materials.
Model Number: C0DVK-8100004-US
"Initial impression was good. System worked as advertised for about 6 mo.
Then all input was lost. I contacted Swann first level support (located in Manilla, Phillipines) where it is difficult to understand them and they are not technically proficient. They read from a scripted flow chart to try to isolate your problem. After many calls and many hours, my trouble was escalated to their second level support. This consisted of swapping e-mails with a tech. in Australia. Each contact adds a full day to your downtime due to the time zone differences. The impression I got was that you would get tired of this and just go away - no help at all. If it weren't for Costco Concierge Service, the system would have been returned. With their help and influence, Swann was much more co-operative. This was the help I needed to get Swann to send replacement parts to repair my system. It turned out that all four cameras were dead.
They all went down at the same time and I still do not understand why. The power supplies are backed up by a UPS, so I don't suspect a power surge. The only other common point for the cameras is the DVR. My system is now back on-line, but I don't have great confidence in it. If it fails again, I will definitely work with Costco to resolve the issue.
Costco Concierge Service is EXCELLENT. Their tech. took ownership of my problem and made sure it was resolved to my satisfaction.
"
Review 28 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:June 20, 2013

Not Bad for the Price

Pros: price
Cons: picture quality isnt great
"These swann 600 TVL cameras have an okay picture. Not great but okay. My biggest concern is that the cameras have changed from black to a rust orange color. My cameras are mounted under the soffit on my home. They are protected from rain but appear they are rusting maybe due to the humid weather in south florida. The quality on the camera appears to get worse with time. I have owned the cameras for about 1 year."
Review 29 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:February 19, 2013

Good product, BUT...

Pros: picture quality, an intiuitive setup
Cons: too noisy
Model Number: C0DVK-8100004-US
"Excellent setup and video is HD and night vision is great. The only problem is the machine is noisy. The ventilation fan is loud and annoying."
Review 30 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:February 15, 2013

Great Value Quality Product Awesome Customer Serv

Model Number: C0DVK-8100004-US
"All in all I am very happy with this system and also with Swann. I have the 8 channel Swann D1 DVR recorder with 4 of their stationary night-vision Pro series cameras and was very happy with it. I'm so glad I didn't go with a system that requires power outlets for each camera (Logitech). Yes, running the BNC cables provided with the cameras (video and power) through my attic and down the wall to my DVR was not trivial (some swearing was involved for sure) but once you're done and you see the camera mounted under your eaves (ran the cables out the vents without having to drill any holes in my exterior) with no wires or anything protruding you'll realize it's well worth it. Functionality is great. The apps have a few quarks to them but they are navigated through easy enough."
Review 31 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:HB, CA
Date:February 14, 2013

Almost

Pros: price
Cons: extremely poor motion detection
Model Number: C0DVK-8100004-US
"You can't beat this price when shopping for the same hardware elsewhere. I knew what to expect regarding quality of video and cameras, but I can't afford a digital setup. My biggest gripe, and maybe the deal-breaker for me, is the motion detection. It is terrible to the point I would say it doesn't work. It won't catch me walking past the camera, but it will record every flash of light or the camera switching from daylight to night-vision mode. It only works when setting the sensitivity to high, but then I get hours of video triggered by car lights, reflections, dust particles flying in front of the lens, etc. This is probably all due to cheap cameras, but it has been very disappointing since it was the main feature I wanted to use."
Review 32 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Coast, CA
Date:February 8, 2013

Great deal - Excellent Product

Pros: excellent starter package with growth potential., great cameras for this special price point., very user friendly interface.
Model Number: DVR8-1000
"Received the unit 2 days after ordering. First evening, I had it all assembled and plugged in my living room to set-up the network features and test the function of the system. This took very little effort and time. Everything was A-Okay right off the bat!
Next day, I spent the majority of the day in and out of the attic drilling access holes and pulling the camera cables for a very professional install. I wanted all the wires completely hidden to eliminate their access to easy cutting. By the next day (Sun) everything was complete and all my mounting details were finalized. It's up and running for almost a week now.
Still have to contact Swann for a little help on the email set up as that has been a stumbling block but Networking and DDNS set-up was done with ease and I'm no computer guru."
Review 33 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 8, 2013

Working great.

Model Number: Swann PRO-530
"Excellent product, worked very clear, I highly recomended this Swann product."
Review 34 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:February 8, 2013

Much better than expected

Pros: easy to use software, good instructions, incredible price, dns set up and use is very easy
Cons: has a wired mouse and can't get a wireless to work, dvr remote interfears with my vizo tv, have to use task killer to shut down swanview
Model Number: Pro-Series D1
"Assembling the system was extremely easy and the hardest part for me was installing the cameras where I wanted them but that's only due to working in the the attic of my home, so there is nothing short of hiring somebody that could make that part any easier. Within a very reasonable time I was able to view the cameras on my pc in my home network and it was even easier to get SwannView to work on my Droid. All the instructions can appear to be overwhelming but I found all the answers were there to make it work as intended. I think if you were able to set up you're in home router it will be fairly easy to get you're pc and smart phone viewing the cameras. If all you intend to do is hook up a monitor directly to the DVR it's plug and play. I found viewing the recordings quite simple and having the cameras only record on motion really keeps you from waisting time looking at an empty scene. Quality of picture is what you would expect from a 600tvl camera so I suggest viewing Youtube videos of that caliber camera so you will know what to expect."
Review 35 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:February 7, 2013

Not quit there

Pros: easy to set up price customer service
Cons: motion sensor recording does not work all the time
Model Number: DVR8-1000
"Out of the box I was able to get this system easily working. Easy instruction and connections etc. as mentioned in other reviews. Where this system falls apart is in effectiveness of motion triggered recording. I have a driveway between my house and pasture with large animals beyond. Over the course of two days I checked when someone left the house and when someone came down the driveway only to notice that the motion sensor did not pick up vehicles 30' +/- away; however, when one of my kids stood in front, it was able to sense that movement ~5' away and when one of the animals in the pasture beyond moved it sensed them. I thought that maybe there was something with vehicle motion that made a difference. That is not the case, I had my son run up and down the driveway several times with no motion sensed. I adjusted the sensor to the most sensitive no better than the default setting. The feature that makes sense with a surveillance system is not continuous recording but rather motion sensed recording and this system just did not have the ability to perform 100% of the time or even 50% of the time. I wonder what good this system is if it does not record activities as they happen. For that reason I give this a poor rating as it does not work as described. Do not buy this if you want accurate recording based on motion sensed."
Review 36 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Miami, Florida
Date:February 7, 2013

very good product

Pros: very good daylight quality
Cons: average in the dark-every moth triggers the motion
"Very good product.
Worked right out of the box, the first time.
Lots of features
"
Review 37 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2013

Good product

"Every thing works great..remember to follow set up instructions and go to Swann site to get your IP address for your IPhone or other mobile device.download the ap and put in that IP address not the one for the DVR."
Review 38 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB HDD and 4 600TVL Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:rural Arizona
Date:January 25, 2013

good product

Pros: easy to use
"Ordered this when I was in need of quick to install and easy to use security system. Price was affordable and it was received in a matter of few days. Installed three cameras in one day and have a fourth for a spare. Happy with the purchse."
<<prev 1 2