Customer Reviews for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic

The Cabidor® Classic Storage Cabinet By: Hingenuity® Simple, immediate, portable and affordable: the Cabidor® Classic.  The Cabidor® Classic is the latest in innovative, space-making storage solutions.  The Cabidor® creates additional storage in your home or office without sacrificing any floor or wall space, or leaving any holes in any surface.  How is this possible? The Cabidor® conveniently mounts behind any standard door simply by using your hinge pins and the Cabidor’s patented hanging hardware. The Cabidor’s award winning design enables you to hang the storage cabinet behind any door within minutes without requiring any special skills or tools.  The Cabidor offers the storage capacity of 5 standard medicine cabinets, yet can be quickly and easily moved to another door if you decide.  The Cabidor is perfect for the bedroom, laundry room, kid’s room (video game storage!), garage or for storing sewing or crafting supplies.  The Cabidor is a natural in the bathroom, especially for bathrooms with pedestal sinks and no vanity storage.  Kitchen cabinets overflowing?  Create a pantry on the back of your kitchen door with the Cabidor Classic! Features: Completely Portable! Installs in Minutes! Maximizes Living Area! Organizes Clutter! Great for College Dorms! Adjustable Shelves! Perfect for Any Room Specifications: Dimensions: 70” Tall x 16” Wide x 4” Deep Weight: 32 lbs. Includes: 6 adjustable shelves, 2 fixed shelves and 8 retention rods for taller items If you are installing the Cabidor on a door in a corner you must have at least 3 ½” from the center of your hinge pin to the side wall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Review 1 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Johnstown, CO
Date:June 26, 2013

Very Useful

Pros: relatively easy to install.
Cons: the door is heavy.
"Like some others noted, the first one to arrive was damaged, cracked at the handle area. It was nice to be able to take it to the local Costco for return rather than ship it back. We ordered another one and the 2nd one came in fine. It holds a LOT and we're very happy with it. We have it in our bathroom since we don't have a medicine cabinet, and this more than takes care of what we needed."
Review 2 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:June 13, 2013

Perfect storage solution

Pros: easy to install, functional
"I was looking for a medicine type cabinet in a really small powder-room with almost no wall space. This works perfectly! It installed really easily, probably took me (by myself) about 20 minutes. The hardest part was getting the hinge pins out. Otherwise, only real tool you need is a hammer and a screwdriver. The magnetic closure works nicely and it's perfect for my needs. I had exactly 3.5 inches between my wall and my hinge, so it just barely met manufacturer specs, but it does work perfectly. I do have a little chair rail that bumps out, and if you try to open the cabidor all the way, it bumps the chair rail but the 1/2 inch doesn't impede my ability to use or access the stuff. The shelves are great and the little bars are good so stuff doesn't tip off the shelves. I think I'm gonna buy 2 more for other doors in the house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 30, 2013

Gift wrap doesn't fit

"I bought this mainly to store our gift wrap as shown in the picture. However, my gift wrap all seems too long for it. Yes, it has adjustable shelves for the most part but beware that the center shelf is fixed and cannot be moved. Measure your gift wrap beforehand. Alas I did not and now I have installed the thing - which took a long time for us. Our door hinges must be tighter than most. It took forever to force them out and then get them back in. Keep in mind that you run the risk of having your door hang not quite as well as it did before you started messing with the hinges. Do to my apparently oversized gift wrap, this isn't fulfilling the purpose I had envisioned but I am not returning it because my husband refuses to help me take out the door hinges again.... it was touch and go for us to get them back in."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:May 10, 2013

Nice idea but...

Pros: holds a lot of items
Cons: doesn't stay open
"I only gave this 4 stars for the following reasons: the hardware that was included differed from that which was shown in the included instruction brochure. This led to a bit of confusion when installing as I put the wing nuts on the wrong side of the door and had a hard time tightening them later(I did not feel like removing the door and repositioning the nuts, as I did this by myself). Also, the cabidor does not stay open on its own when the host door is completely shut-- I have to hold it open. In addition, the included brochure states "see our helpful installation video..." This video doesn't actually show much at all and is not helpful. Otherwise this is a great space saver."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burbank, CA
Date:May 1, 2013

Truly functional

Pros: a technology solution
Cons: more shelves (2) would be good.
Model Number: Cabidor Classic
"We have been looking for an easy to reach spice container solution. This is it. No more looking for spices buried in the center of a carousal- up high."
Review 6 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 25, 2013

Wow!

Pros: very easy to install, nice quality
Cons: none
"Wow! What a great idea! We've been looking for a simple solution to the lack of storage in our tiny bathroom and this really fills the bill. Just as advertised, install in about 20 minutes with any special tools. The cabinet holds an amazing amount of toiletries. My bath counters are now completely clear of all the "stuff". When my wife came home she was so excited that I had solved our storage nightmare. Guy do yourself a favor and install one of these. She'll never forget it! Nicely done Cabidor!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 12, 2013

Purchased 3 so far....

Pros: good quality & easy installation!
Cons: wish additional shelves were available.
"I love the Cabidor so much that I've already purchased 3 and plan to purchase more! Such a clever invention! If you're short on space this is the answer! And of course, Costco has the best price!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TEXAS
Date:March 9, 2013

Great use of wasted space...

Pros: store little items too. customize the shelves., easy installation, use in bedrooms closets storage rooms bathrooms
Cons: cosmetic blemishes though might not bother you.
"We got this product a few days ago and the package was hosed. I refused to open it because I just knew what to expect & I didn't feel like dealing with making the call to Costco right now. Costco has always had #1 customer service, but with the busy life we lead, I just wasn't up to putting on the life-breaks, looking up all the customer information, filing the claim, and waiting for a new box to be delivered. So I sat on it...then last night, I walked past the huge box in the living room for the last time. And so it began...
PACKAGING: So guess what? To my surprise, there wasn't even a scratch on the product! They had packed it SO WELL, that there was no evidence of any sort of delivery abuse at all. This company should be very proud of that alone!
CONSTRUCTION: For one thing, it is very sturdy. It is not made of cheap plywood that makes you feel as if it's going to sway and break. It's of pretty good construction!
BLEMISHES: Here is the reason I can't give it "5 stars" though. There were 2 factory defects/imperfections that bothered me (I;m slightly OCD, so maybe they won't bother you?). And in a regular situation, where the store is right down the street or in the next town, I would have returned this product and insist this be exchanged for another one.
However, this is not that situation. It took almost a week to get it delivered to me, which is not bad at all, but it's not right down the street, and I will not be looking at this every day, my son will (and he does NOT have any OCD tendencies---as I can see every time I pass by his unclosed bedroom door)...so in order to return this, I would have to deal with repackaging (yes! There is a LOT of packaging!) and then get it sent out. Not my cup of tea if you ask me. If they would have just checked their product before sending it out, that would have been nice. But because this is a product that hides behind a door and these blemishes are really hidden behind the door once installed, I decided to keep the unit.
INSTALLATION: I personally have no idea how installation went. My 16 yr old son installed it for me/him. That was nice of him to help keep me out of his room for as long a possible! :0) He says it went well, and I know it didn't take long at all. Before I knew it, I was "checking" on him, and he was already installing the magnet connectors!
I must add also that this was just going to be a test area for the night...meaning, in the morning I was going to take it out of my son's room and move it to it's real home, as my son seemed a little annoyed with having this behind his door...at first. Once it was on & he realized it's benefits, GAME OVER! It was love at first shelf...
The hardest part was us figuring out what size he needed the shelves to be...and that's just because that meant we went looking around his room for the things meant for his new storage cubbie...YUCK! Then he popped the question..."can we keep this in here and just get Lauren (his sister) a new one?" LOL...there it was! There's your testimony folks, lol!
This is a genious product...perfect for those items that take up so much precious real estate in our house, especially in the older homes. We are a family of six, in an older home where the bedrooms were made to be the size of a closet and they have only 2 bathrooms. I say that so you know this, the kids have all their personal products in their rooms. These will help eliminate that wasted space if you have found yourself in our position!
Girls, you can now store, at your fingertips:
fingernail polish, nail polish remover, cotton pads, hairspray, gel, deodorant, perfume, body spray, lotion, acne medicine, room sprays, make-up, water bottles, etc.
Guys, you totally can use them too! I have THREE boys...11, 16, & 18. Let's see if I can help them out too:
cologne, deodorant, FOOT SPRAY, room spray, hair spray/gel, acne medicine (now it's hidden), cans of leather protectant (you know, for your brand new soccer cleats and leather coat), cans of WD-40, super glue (why do my sons always have this stuff on hand?), X-Box & wii remotes (Betcha didn't know those would fit!!!)!
You can even make the shelves small enough to store medicine! Be creative... if you need a place to store it, I bet this is your solution! I plan on getting each child their own. I only hesitated because it's a bit of an investment for something that "might" work. So I got just the one. Well, at least 3 more will be ordered. And THANKS to Costco for getting it to us for a LOT cheaper then "elsewhere"...elsewhere is $189.99 to be exact! I nearly fainted!
Anyway, if it sounds like you might have a few uses for one, get one and ENJOY! It's only been a few hours and I am already anticipating ordering the next ones!"
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Date:March 5, 2013

Easily Solved A Space Problem

Pros: provides a simple storage solution
Cons: instructions could be more accurate
Model Number: Classic
"The Cabidor solved a space problem created by too many small medical supplies. It is well made and was installed with a minimum of effort."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2013

Shelves are VERY narrow -- doesn't hold much

Pros: fantastic idea
Cons: not useful in a laundry room
"I had such high hopes for this product. Got it yesterday, opened it today -- hopes dashed. The dimensions state that the product is 4 inches wide -- what they don't state is that the shelves are only about 3 1/4 inches wide. I wanted to use this to de-clutter the laundry room, but most laundry products are much wider than 3 1/4 inches, so this product does not do much for a normal sized laundry room. It would probably be useful for storing gift wrap and bows (as shown in the promo) but I do not need to store gift wrap and bows, so that feature does not benefit me. Bummer. On the plus side, it seems well made and sturdy. Have not tried to install it yet, so I can't comment on how easy or hard that might process will be."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabidor® Hinge-Mounted Concealed Door Storage - Classic
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 8, 2013

Great shelf!

Pros: sturdy, great useful space!
Cons: more expensive than other options
"Easy to install for 2 people, but I did it by myself - with some struggling. It's bigger and a bit deeper than I expected, and very sturdy! I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who needs more storage - and have just run out of room. There are easier options, but I've definitely run out of room - and this is a great, unconventional option!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.