Customer Reviews for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan

Average Customer Rating:
2.469 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
11
10 of 32(31%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Review 1 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:August 25, 2013

Good AC, dehumidifier has major design flaw

Pros: ac
Cons: dehumidifier
Model Number: DeLonghi Pinguino 12,500 BTU AC/Heater
"I use this unit to cool my living room, which is about 15' x 50.' I have used this unit for a few months now. It keeps the room's temp from going over 80 pretty well, but it basically just runs and runs to accomplish this. However, that is because my house is over 100 years old and has no insulation to speak of, so the unit is competing with hot eastern Oregon summers.
I feel this unit does as advertised in terms of AC. It keeps the air dry and my living room cool when in AC mode. I didn't find the unit louder than other units I have experience with, ie floorstanding AC units w/ the hose out the window. Do I wish the air vent oscillated? Not really. That isn't something I care about. I just want it to push out nice and cold air. In addition, I did not notice a big jump in my monthly electric bill running this unit either. Just a modest summer jump, and mine is the 12,500 BTU unit. That was a relief.
HOWEVER, the dehumidifier is a bad joke. I own a true dehumidifier as well. The dehumidifier I got a few years ago, and that one came with a PROPERLY sized reservoir that holds at least 2-3 liters of fluid. This Pinguino unit holds at best a cup and a half. Then it shuts down and needs to be emptied. You can not bypass this, nor can you switch to another mode until the reservoir is emptied. I measured it just now when I got the warning light that the reservoir is full. Sure enough, just over 1.5 cups. And emptying it is a pain. The way this unit seems to be designed is that you are supposed to put it in a location where you can leave the rear drip hole open so water drips out constantly. Uhhh...the only place that would work in my house is in my bathtub and it certainly isn't going in there. So what I had to improvise just to test this out before writing this review, is what would happen if I left the vent hole open and the dehumidifier running. To do this I had to get my toolbox out of the garage, sit this Pinguino on the tool box, then have a large plastic tub behind the AC unit, so it could dribble water into the tub and avoid the problem of the mouse-sized reservoir filling up, which it would otherwise do in less than an hour. But now my toolbox is trapped under the unit. Granted, being that the Pinguino filled the reservoir quickly must mean this is a good dehumidifier, but because the reservoir is comically small, using this product as dehumifier is a joke unless you have a place to sit it with a dedicated drain. The drain plug is so low on the unit too you can't just back up a tub to the spout, you have to elevate the heavy unit to get the tub UNDER the spout. I am 6'4" and was able to lift it. My mother or sister would not be able to lift this unit without risking their backs. And seriously, the spout really is less than 2 inches from the ground. This unit should have at least a 2 qt reservoir that pulls out like a drawer and is easily emptied. How could the designers overlook this?
So I say buy this unit for the AC, but DO NOT buy it to use as a dehumidifier unless you can sit it somewhere where it can drain the whole time it is running.
That all being said, I don't know how it does it, but in AC mode it dries the air, yet mysteriously does not fill the reservoir.
The fan is not worth commenting on because that is not why anyone would buy this.
I haven't used the heat function yet."
Review 2 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:August 5, 2013

No match for the heat wave

Pros: heat pump (not tested), easy to install
Cons: not cool, not dry
"This looks good and is convenient to install. However, my 12,500 BTU model failed to cool down even a 250 sq ft room despite of its claim of 460 sq ft.
Poor dehumidifying capability might be the culprit. During the humid heat wave in NYC, the failure to dry the air makes the everything worse.
I've returned two of these units and am happy for the new window units with the same BTU. For those who still want to try: putting two 12,500 BTU units in one room does cool it down, so they are working but just not powerful enough.
"
Review 3 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:imperial valley,ca
Date:August 5, 2013

no good in desert areas

Pros: portable
Cons: doesn't really cool
Model Number: 14,000psi
"well... i live in imperial valley... not sure if maybe that's why... we get temp. usually at 100-120*F so yeah... but this unit was absolutely NO GOOD for our area... going to return it... gave it a try... for over a month... and NOPE... no good... (will return asap just haven't gotten to it because i have a really small car and need help to take it back to costco... but will return within the next couple days)"
Review 4 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2013

All of the negative reviews are true!

Cons: the entire a/c unit
Model Number: DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU
"Believe all of the negative reviews, they are all true -
- draining the unit from every couple of days, to daily, to every few hours;
- bright blue light - too bright at night when sleeping;
- strange clicking noise, sounded like the motor was going to break;
- the vents do not move, so you cannot direct the air
- it weighs a ton so it's a pain to lug back to Costco.
Hopefully Costco will see all these negative reviews and decide to pull the remaining units from their shelves."
Review 5 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:July 27, 2013

Don't doubt negative reviews

"I purchased the 14,000 BTU unit by this manufacturer (not available at this moment) It cooled very well but the water reservoir filled up very quickly and the window brackets were very, very poorly designed, so unless you are planning on attaching a drain hose and building your on window brackets, forget it"
Review 6 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, Nevada
Date:July 23, 2013

Very Effective Unit

Pros: small and efficient, easy to setup
Cons: somewhat noisey on highest settings
Model Number: DeLonghi Pinguino 12,500 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
"We use this cooler in our upstairs Master bedroom and it is very effective in our dry climate. When left on for an hour before going to bed and with the door shut...it will drop the room tempature from 78 degrees to 67-68 degrees."
Review 7 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ.
Date:June 15, 2013

Great unit & quiet

Pros: the unit is quiet and installed easily.
Cons: none
Model Number: DeLonghi PAC AN125HPEC
"I bought the 12000 BTU which is actually a 12500 BTU(even better). I put the window vent in, hooked up the hoses and turned it on. It's quiet and blowing cold air. Quieter than the old window unit."
Review 8 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 8, 2013

Good supplemental A/C in hot, arid climate.

Pros: good room cooling for dry heat.
Cons: it's not a stand alone unit for muggy temps.
"I live in a drought-prone region with hot, dry weather. When operating in tandem with the my house's central cooling unit, it performs better than expected. However, if high humidity is an issue, I have noticed such conditions will cause malfunction if the temperature is set below 72 degrees."
Review 9 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:May 29, 2013

My second faulty unit

Cons: rubbish do not purchase
Model Number: PAC AN125HPEC
"Ive been on hold with Delonghi customer service for well over 1 hour now!!!
I purchased this unit on at Costco online, and after about 1 hour the warning light came on. I had to drain the water out of it. I use it now lifted with a large bucket under it and empty it every day! I returning it to Costco, and decided to get the one they have in the store. Same problem!! I use it for both cooling and heating. Now Im going to return it to Costco, AGAIN!
"
Review 10 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Garden City, NY
Date:June 25, 2013

Doesn't Function As Promised

Pros: there are no pros to this product
Cons: water tank constantly fills up, the unit shuts off every 20 minutes, loud with a bright display light
Model Number: Delonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU - Item Nbr729562
"I purchased this portable air conditioner in early June of 2013. From the beginning I have had an issue with the unit. It does not function as promised because the water tank is constantly filling up, the automatic alarm goes off and the unit shuts down after maybe 20 minutes of use. The air conditioner is supposed to recycle the water that it takes in and the water tank should never fill up. The instruction manual indicates that you should only have to empty water from the unit at the end of the season. This is a blantant lie. If you want to constantly spend your time draining water from the air conditioner every 20 minutes then this is the product for you. Don't waster your time purchasing this Delonghi portable air conditioner. The condensate recirculation doesn't happen. Don't buy this unit!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:June 6, 2013

Ideal unit

Pros: quiet and effiecient
Cons: only made up to 42 inch window. i have an 48 inch
Model Number: PAC AN120HPE
"This was an ideal unit cools, quiet, no water mess. Works great with ceiling fan to circulate throughout apartment. Arrives well packed to eliminate damage."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA, USA
Date:July 5, 2013

Excellent for room cooling, heating, dehumidifying

Pros: efficient. durable. good value. remote control
Cons: heavy. remote has no backlight
Model Number: PAC AN125HPEC
"This is an update to a previous review. I purchased my unit six months ago. I use it to comfort a 12' x 25' master bedroom with ceiling fan. If you are purchasing this unit, plan on locating it near a window with a grounded plug. Although the manual recommends putting it on a dedicated outlet, I put mine on a shared outlet and have had no problems. Installing the vent tube through my window took less than 15 minutes. I insulated around the extension panels included with the unit using inexpensive roll insulation you can get at any chain hardware store. I wrapped the extension panels with insulation and cut a hole for the vent so there are no air gaps.
As to operations, during an unseasonable cold snap in May, I used the heat pump rather than heat the entire house. Despite night time temps in the 40s and day time temps in the 50s my room stayed a toasty 70 degrees while the rest of the house dropped to 62. During wet, spring days, I used the dehumidifier. The unit kept the room comfortably dry but the air it put out was much cooler than expected. As to reviews saying it's impossible to drain because it's too heavy, I addressed this by putting a standard sized cookie sheet under the unit and tilting the drain tube into the pan. I'm 60 so it's possible even for an "older" person. It's now Summer and the days are upper 80s, low 90's. I haven't turned my unit off in over two months. I have my central AC set to 76. Because of poor insulation and a Southwest orientation, my upstairs gets eight degrees hotter than the downstairs. The DeLongi keeps my bedroom at a very comfortable 72 degrees. I've been so pleased with my DeLongi that I purchased a second unit, same model for my kids bedroom. None of us have any problem hearing TV or sleeping with the background noise. We live in a suburban area of Northern Virginia with no noticeable outside noise. Overall, I give this unit top grades for quality, value and performance. I'm now considering purchasing a third unit for the storeroom in my restaurant."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:June 23, 2013

Cool but noisy

Pros: very cool and efficient
Cons: noisy uneven clicking in compressor motor.
Model Number: PAC AN125HPEC
"We are returning our unit for the second time. Tried the first and thought it was probably a fluke...second unit, same thing: noisy smasmodic clicking at infrequent intervals other than when it's kicking on or off. It woke me up several nights in a row and I was ready to throw out the window! It cooled beautifully but we live in dry climate, so humidity is not a problem. The good thing is Costco always allows a return, no questions asked. Maybe they won't carry this unit again after all the returns."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago suburbs, IL
Date:May 20, 2013

Worked well for 2 weeks...then it started clicking

Pros: dripless cools well
Cons: loud "clicking" when compressor turns on
"Yes, this is a dripless unit. Yes, it cools well. We didn't have any issues with it leaking, as did one of the other reviewers. However, within 2 weeks, the unit was loudly and annoyingly "clicking" intermittently, and not the clicking between the compressor turning on and off. Clicking loud enough that I want to take the unit into the yard and go all "Office Space" on it. I'm hoping this is just a unit fault - we are planning to replace it with the same model and return this one."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:May 18, 2013

Lets Talk About the One Really Bad Point First

Pros: did a good job of cooling of the downstairs room
Cons: lacks front access condensation bucket
Model Number: returned our unit to the warehouse last year, thank you
"You will need a floor drain near the window unless you have two big guys to empty the tiny tank in the back of this very heavy unit every time it fills up. The AC must vent outside the window so do not think about moving it to a floor drain without a window in sight. If you think you can by pass this quirk, watch out -- putting the hose into the bucket to empty several times a week will by pass any auto turn off feature this unit may or may not have. If someone leaves a window open on a hot day, you might find yourself with a soaked carpet. We returned ours. I was surprised to see them back in the warehouse. I saw a similar review last year. I do not know why Costco deleted it."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange county, CA
Date:May 22, 2013

like it so far!

Pros: super easy set up. cools like a charm.
Cons: none yet other than the hose is a little bulky
"I read the other reviews and while I've only installed it for a day, it cooled my room like a charm. I have it upstairs in my master bedroom, with vaulted ceilings, which is normally 10 degrees hotter than my downstairs. I bought the unit to save money. Every year i was paying to AC my entire house when really only my upstairs was a problem. I was able to set it up by my window and did it all within 10 minutes (i'm a single girl). I guess I havent had time to see if it leaks but it definitely cools quickly. It brought my room down 6 degrees in under 20 minutes. The whir of the machine is no louder than a box fan. So far I am very happy i got this, just in time for summer."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lykens, Pa
Date:April 12, 2013

air conditioner

Pros: quite real quite
Cons: doesn't do the job won't cool down our bedroom
"put this in on April 9th and took it out April 12. While you can't hear it running this unit does not cool down the bedroom. My wife bought this since it can be rolled around and installed in the window easily. While that's a pro it's a con if the unit can't cool down the bedroom on the first day it got into the eighties here in Pennsylvania. I sure was looking forward to it working better. I'm writing this revue at three in the morning it was too hot to sleep it the bedroom with the new AC running on high."
20 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:westford,MA
Date:July 16, 2013

not good,not recommend

Model Number: DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU,
"bought it June/2013 and return it today.
1. it is noisy
2. can not cool down the kitchen . basically I have to sit close to it(2 feet) to feel some cold air
3. if you choose dehumidifier, it only run for about 20 minutes and stop. then you need empty the water out of it. it is ridiculous.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sequim, WA
Date:June 29, 2013

Cheap and Difficult

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: can't put it together. pieces don't stay put.
"I found this unit to be made of cheap materials and impossible to put together. I'm returning it. Cheap is expensive in the long run."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:May 31, 2013

Not as Efficient as I Expected

Pros: filters the air, creates crisp cool air, allows the windows to remained safety-locked, quick to setup and remove
Cons: loud fan, less energy efficient than a window unit, pulls in air from surrounding rooms
"I bought this air conditioner several weeks ago, because my double-hung windows can't be easily secured by a window unit. Although it does a great job of creating nice, clean, cold air, it also creates a significant vacuum in the room, bringing in warm air from adjoining rooms. The problem is that it uses inside air for both cooling the room and cooling the compressor (or condenser). The heated air is blown out the window, leaving a vacuum that pulls warm air from other rooms of the house. This vacuum will also bring outside air into the rest of the house wherever air can enter. So, if the house is warmer than the outside temperature (usually this occurs at night), this air conditioner does a great job for both cooling the room and removing the hot air from the rest of the house. But in the daytime, it will bring hot, outside air into the house, while cooling the room less efficiently."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>