Customer Reviews for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan

Average Customer Rating:
2.469 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
11
10 of 32(31%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Review 1 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lykens, Pa
Date:April 12, 2013

air conditioner

Pros: quite real quite
Cons: doesn't do the job won't cool down our bedroom
"put this in on April 9th and took it out April 12. While you can't hear it running this unit does not cool down the bedroom. My wife bought this since it can be rolled around and installed in the window easily. While that's a pro it's a con if the unit can't cool down the bedroom on the first day it got into the eighties here in Pennsylvania. I sure was looking forward to it working better. I'm writing this revue at three in the morning it was too hot to sleep it the bedroom with the new AC running on high."
20 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 28, 2013

Portable A/C

Pros: cools room well
Cons: loud
"I've had this unit for about 5 weeks. I live in Phoenix and the weather is HOT! This unit cools my bedroom down really well. I have vaulted ceilings so that makes the square feet even larger. The room still stays cool without a problem. Set up was very easy. The only complaint I have is the unit is pretty loud. The unit makes a clicking sound when it switches from A/C mode to compressor only mode. The unit is always running (and making noise) until it's turned off. The clicking sound is enough to wake me up sometimes if I am not in a deep sleep."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Princeton, NJ
Date:May 17, 2013

High Maintenence Product

Pros: costco's unconditional return policy
Cons: it tends to leak, its heavy at almost 70 lbs., it requires frequent cleaning
Model Number: PAC 120E
"Other vendors are selling this product and the major complaint from purchasers is that the unit leaks, causing soaked carpets and warped floor boards, and requires frequent maintenance. Clearly the Delonghi is not "dripless" as claimed. I suspect that Delonghi wanted to unload this product and Costco was able to buy out the warehouse at a significant discount. Perhaps you'll be lucky and get a unit that runs properly. If not, you can always return it to Costco and buy a window unit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerAppliancesMay 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the Delonghi Pinguino Portable Air Conditioner. There is an internal tray to collect the condensed water from the air, which is recycled to cool down the compressor for better efficiency. The unit is designed to not leak the water, but there is an issue, please check the following points. Ensure that the air conditioner is level and stable in position. If it is tilted, there may be a leak. Also, there is a rubber stopper inserted into the drainage area on the bottom rear of the unit. If the rubber stopper is missing or not securely in the drainage port, this will cause leakage. Again, thank you for your feedback regarding the air conditioner.
Review 4 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:May 18, 2013

Lets Talk About the One Really Bad Point First

Pros: did a good job of cooling of the downstairs room
Cons: lacks front access condensation bucket
Model Number: returned our unit to the warehouse last year, thank you
"You will need a floor drain near the window unless you have two big guys to empty the tiny tank in the back of this very heavy unit every time it fills up. The AC must vent outside the window so do not think about moving it to a floor drain without a window in sight. If you think you can by pass this quirk, watch out -- putting the hose into the bucket to empty several times a week will by pass any auto turn off feature this unit may or may not have. If someone leaves a window open on a hot day, you might find yourself with a soaked carpet. We returned ours. I was surprised to see them back in the warehouse. I saw a similar review last year. I do not know why Costco deleted it."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago suburbs, IL
Date:May 20, 2013

Worked well for 2 weeks...then it started clicking

Pros: dripless cools well
Cons: loud "clicking" when compressor turns on
"Yes, this is a dripless unit. Yes, it cools well. We didn't have any issues with it leaking, as did one of the other reviewers. However, within 2 weeks, the unit was loudly and annoyingly "clicking" intermittently, and not the clicking between the compressor turning on and off. Clicking loud enough that I want to take the unit into the yard and go all "Office Space" on it. I'm hoping this is just a unit fault - we are planning to replace it with the same model and return this one."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:The county north of Memphis
Date:May 21, 2013

Shares a common problem

Pros: costco policies, quiet, cools well
Cons: bright backlight display, can't turn off bright backlight display
Model Number: PAC AN125HPEC
"I just bought this and installed it. I waited the 24 hours before plugging it in because I had to lay it on its side to transport it. First big disappointment, and one that is shared with all other window AC units only this is the worse one so far, a super bright display.
If it is plugged in, the display is on and it is way too bright to use in a bedroom. The blue backlit color is also the worse color light according to sleep experts for getting a good nights sleep. The backlight should turn off automatically after a few seconds of no activity and turn on automatically when any button is pushed.
I taped a small piece of cardboard over the display, tape on one side to act like a hinge, a tacky way to solve this problem.
Other than that, it does a good job of cooling and is fairly quiet. It should have an energy saver mode to turn off the fan when not needed, but the stops and starts of the fan might be more disruptive that the steady drone of the fan.
If it gets my floor wet as other reviewers have noted, it will go back. I live in a hot humid climate and I was a little concerned about that but the product literature convinced me that it would be OK."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange county, CA
Date:May 22, 2013

like it so far!

Pros: super easy set up. cools like a charm.
Cons: none yet other than the hose is a little bulky
"I read the other reviews and while I've only installed it for a day, it cooled my room like a charm. I have it upstairs in my master bedroom, with vaulted ceilings, which is normally 10 degrees hotter than my downstairs. I bought the unit to save money. Every year i was paying to AC my entire house when really only my upstairs was a problem. I was able to set it up by my window and did it all within 10 minutes (i'm a single girl). I guess I havent had time to see if it leaks but it definitely cools quickly. It brought my room down 6 degrees in under 20 minutes. The whir of the machine is no louder than a box fan. So far I am very happy i got this, just in time for summer."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edison, NJ
Date:May 23, 2013

Good unit and idea but maintenance is way too much

Pros: cooling, aesthetics, installation ease, all-in-one
Cons: water collection and drainage system, no child lock for controls on unit
"Purchased it 2 days ago. Installation is nice and easy, all necessary parts are included. They could have included some padding for window which would keep the windows sealed better after installing the vent unit.
Unit runs well and cools very well. However, for me drip tray got full after only few hours of use and a troubleshooting sign appeared. Manual says that moisture is expelled through vent but doesn't seem so. I don't have a drain in bedroom and can't live with waking up every morning and lifting and tilting the heavy unit to drain water. Thankfully Costco has great return policy and generally great products, but not this one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:May 24, 2013

Noisy

Pros: cools well
Cons: very loud
"The machine cools adequately, but was far too loud for a small room."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:May 29, 2013

My second faulty unit

Cons: rubbish do not purchase
Model Number: PAC AN125HPEC
"Ive been on hold with Delonghi customer service for well over 1 hour now!!!
I purchased this unit on at Costco online, and after about 1 hour the warning light came on. I had to drain the water out of it. I use it now lifted with a large bucket under it and empty it every day! I returning it to Costco, and decided to get the one they have in the store. Same problem!! I use it for both cooling and heating. Now Im going to return it to Costco, AGAIN!
"
Review 11 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:May 31, 2013

Not as Efficient as I Expected

Pros: filters the air, creates crisp cool air, allows the windows to remained safety-locked, quick to setup and remove
Cons: loud fan, less energy efficient than a window unit, pulls in air from surrounding rooms
"I bought this air conditioner several weeks ago, because my double-hung windows can't be easily secured by a window unit. Although it does a great job of creating nice, clean, cold air, it also creates a significant vacuum in the room, bringing in warm air from adjoining rooms. The problem is that it uses inside air for both cooling the room and cooling the compressor (or condenser). The heated air is blown out the window, leaving a vacuum that pulls warm air from other rooms of the house. This vacuum will also bring outside air into the rest of the house wherever air can enter. So, if the house is warmer than the outside temperature (usually this occurs at night), this air conditioner does a great job for both cooling the room and removing the hot air from the rest of the house. But in the daytime, it will bring hot, outside air into the house, while cooling the room less efficiently."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2013

Steer clear!

Pros: easy to move around..., costco return policy!
Cons: does cool a tiny room, noisy
Model Number: DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU
"This item was purchased to keep a small room cool. However it did not cool it off at all and was quickly returned. Purchased another (window mounted) A/C with the same BTU rating and it cools the room and an additional room with ease."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:June 5, 2013

THIS IS SUCH A PIECE OF JUNK!

Pros: no pros
Cons: read the review for the cons.
Model Number: DeLonghi Pinguine 12000 BTU
"Save your money and if possible go right to purchasing a window a/c that will work and cool your home.
This sounds like the insides are being crushed in a garbage truck, you have to empty the drain pan about every 20 minutes when the unit is on or it stops working....and the drain is very difficult to get to.....and it doesn't cool!
I took it back and installed a window a/c and am literally chillin' now.
Don't waste your time or money!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:June 6, 2013

Ideal unit

Pros: quiet and effiecient
Cons: only made up to 42 inch window. i have an 48 inch
Model Number: PAC AN120HPE
"This was an ideal unit cools, quiet, no water mess. Works great with ceiling fan to circulate throughout apartment. Arrives well packed to eliminate damage."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 8, 2013

Good supplemental A/C in hot, arid climate.

Pros: good room cooling for dry heat.
Cons: it's not a stand alone unit for muggy temps.
"I live in a drought-prone region with hot, dry weather. When operating in tandem with the my house's central cooling unit, it performs better than expected. However, if high humidity is an issue, I have noticed such conditions will cause malfunction if the temperature is set below 72 degrees."
Review 16 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ.
Date:June 15, 2013

Great unit & quiet

Pros: the unit is quiet and installed easily.
Cons: none
Model Number: DeLonghi PAC AN125HPEC
"I bought the 12000 BTU which is actually a 12500 BTU(even better). I put the window vent in, hooked up the hoses and turned it on. It's quiet and blowing cold air. Quieter than the old window unit."
Review 17 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:June 23, 2013

Cool but noisy

Pros: very cool and efficient
Cons: noisy uneven clicking in compressor motor.
Model Number: PAC AN125HPEC
"We are returning our unit for the second time. Tried the first and thought it was probably a fluke...second unit, same thing: noisy smasmodic clicking at infrequent intervals other than when it's kicking on or off. It woke me up several nights in a row and I was ready to throw out the window! It cooled beautifully but we live in dry climate, so humidity is not a problem. The good thing is Costco always allows a return, no questions asked. Maybe they won't carry this unit again after all the returns."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Garden City, NY
Date:June 25, 2013

Doesn't Function As Promised

Pros: there are no pros to this product
Cons: water tank constantly fills up, the unit shuts off every 20 minutes, loud with a bright display light
Model Number: Delonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU - Item Nbr729562
"I purchased this portable air conditioner in early June of 2013. From the beginning I have had an issue with the unit. It does not function as promised because the water tank is constantly filling up, the automatic alarm goes off and the unit shuts down after maybe 20 minutes of use. The air conditioner is supposed to recycle the water that it takes in and the water tank should never fill up. The instruction manual indicates that you should only have to empty water from the unit at the end of the season. This is a blantant lie. If you want to constantly spend your time draining water from the air conditioner every 20 minutes then this is the product for you. Don't waster your time purchasing this Delonghi portable air conditioner. The condensate recirculation doesn't happen. Don't buy this unit!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sequim, WA
Date:June 29, 2013

Cheap and Difficult

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: can't put it together. pieces don't stay put.
"I found this unit to be made of cheap materials and impossible to put together. I'm returning it. Cheap is expensive in the long run."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DeLonghi Pinguino 12,000 BTU, 4-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner/ Heater/ Dehumidifier/ Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 30, 2013

Worst COSTCO purchase ever.

Pros: removes a lot of humidity from the air, fairly good at cooling but noisy
Cons: does not vent moisture to the outside, only runs 20-30 min before water tank is full, very hard to empty water out of machine, very noisy, has a very noticable rattle when running
Model Number: PAC AN125HPEC
"Even after reading the other reviews on this product I was still stupid enough to try it. It is VERY noisy, you can't even carry on a phone conversation in the same room while this unit is running. The instructions say you ONLY need to empty the condensation tank at the end of the season and that the moisture is vented to the outside. This in the biggest lie, I can only run this unit for 20-30 min before I need to empty the water out of the tank."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>